Course Extinct
Pinconning, MI 
Blizzard Hills Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #12 (Taken 4/2010)
-- / 377ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 a work in progress

5+    7/23/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: BlizzardHillsCrew
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 11/2/2010
Pros: great 18 hole course but here's the news - Blizzard Hills ALWAYS closes on November 1st for deer season. The unfortunate news is that the course will remain closed until further notice and the fate of the property is determined. If coming from any distance, please call ahead to see if the course has been reopened for 2011 or if it will stay closed.
Cons: great 18 hole course but here's the news - Blizzard Hills ALWAYS closes on November 1st for deer season. The unfortunate news is that the course will remain closed until further notice and the fate of the property is determined. If coming from any distance, please call ahead to see if the course has been reopened for 2011 or if it will stay closed.
Other Thoughts: great 18 hole course but here's the news - Blizzard Hills ALWAYS closes on November 1st for deer season. The unfortunate news is that the course will remain closed until further notice and the fate of the property is determined. If coming from any distance, please call ahead to see if the course has been reopened for 2011 or if it will stay closed.

 Prepare for the horror

1    3/27/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: Pickles
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The first nine holes were fine. The fairways were carved out well enough and they were relatively easy to navigate too. There is a bar right on the property with the course built around it. Drinks were cheap too.
Cons: My gosh, where to begin? The last 9 holes are impossible to find and aren't marked with any signage at all. I have a feeling that the course won't ever be "finished". And if it is finished then that is just sad because the back 9 was a mess. Be careful throwing over the large bodies of water too. My buddies lost some of their discs to the gross swampy waters. Pros may appreciate this course, but amateurs will not, so don't waste your time.
Other Thoughts: I will probably never go back to this course, because every other course I have been to puts this one to shame. I couldn't even keep track of my score because we were too concerned about finding the next hole. I hope this provides some info for people and I do feel somewhat bad for giving this course a poor rating because the first 9 holes were ok, but the rest was a disastor. Obviously time and money were spent on this course though and I do appreciate the effort!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Blizzards hills have eyes

1    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: dgguy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first nine holes weren't too bad; tight holes pretty well marked and easy to navigate. the long hole across the corner of the swamp was difficult, but able to be parred. other than that they weren't too difficult to play
Cons: 10-15 were pretty much a garbage set up, albeit it may be because they have not completed marking the holes and making it easy to follow, very little needs to be done to make this a lot more clear. the campers and the people fishing were quite close to some of the holes, making it more or less awkward to throw on them, perhaps even dangerous for them.
Other Thoughts: may play again if i see it being reviewed as the back nine being marked.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/28/2010   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Had some real challenging holes, I really enjoyed throwing over the pond, (the second time that is, the first shot went in the woods to the right, right before the river). This course when it is finished has some real potential. The bar right where it is can be very helpful.
Cons: Can be little confusing finding where you have to throw to. My advice is to walk the course first, was a lot easier finding our way the second time through. Bring bug spray you will see giant man eating mosquitos.

**UPDATE** I hear the course and the bar are both closed now. Its a real bummer because they were really on the verge of making something really nice.
Other Thoughts: I cant wait to play it when it is finished.....Well I finally played the finished course, and honestly I was disappointed. The first nine holes were great, marked well, easy to navigate, okay signage. But the last nine holes were difficult to find, little to no signage. There are a lot of holes that present plenty of difficulties throwing through trees. Oh there are also plenty of holes that have the hazard of losing a disc in the water. There aren't any pads to shoot from, and footing was difficult on a few holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Goldenrod Jr.

2-4    6/19/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: --This is a technical course that's very well designed with its surroundings. The are a few signature holes that really stand out here. Hole #8 forces you to throw a hard hook around a river. Also, holes 12 and 17 both make you throw over water with accuracy.

--With the course now set up to 18 holes, it flows a little better from hole to hole than before. There still is a little work to be done on the new part of the course, but playing here makes you appreciate how much work had to already been done to make this land playable.
Cons: --Still a good amount of trees that need to be cut down to improve the course even more. Theres no tee pads either, and a couple of the tees can be uneven.

--This course is not for big arm bombers with no accuracy. I prefer technical courses my self, but this course defines technical. Theres no open fairways anywhere in sight, besides hole #17 which is over a canal.
Other Thoughts: --Nice people and nice bar to have a couple drinks or grab something to eat in between rounds.

--Blizzard Hills may be overwhelming for some people to play with all the trees, but it's an abstract course that's worth a stop if your in the area.

--My Rating for this course would go up a lot if improvements and finishing touches were made

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center