Disc Golf Store
Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #7
3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Compact

1    12/19/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Just over half the holes have two concrete (12' long) tees, with red farther from basket than blue.
Cons:
Walking path often comes into play in this popular, midst-of-neighbourhood park
Other Thoughts:
Course is located in a very flat, fairly open, multi-purpose park, split in the middle by a small stream. In addition to the water, both random and copses of trees are used to define fairways, and provide obstacles. The water likely won't come into play for experienced players, but a beginner might manage to find it.

If bombing is your thing, you won't find it here, as the shorts average ~215', the longs ~240', with only three holes >300'. If twisting and turning your disc through tight paths and narrow windows is your preference, your won't find that here either, as even the tight holes aren't that tight, and are only tight for a limited duration. However, if you want to work on your ~225'+/- game, needing mostly straight throws, with a smattering of late rights or lefts to have many birdy chances, then this is a course you'll want to play.

Despite the absence of a map, there are lots of directional signs, and the course was fairly easy to navigate, as long as you realize to:
- cross a bridge to find holes 3, 4, and tee-5.
- cross a bridge to find tee-7, but you'll be throwing back across from whence you just came.
- after basket-16, go left for a bit of a walk to tee-17.
- after basket-17, go left for a bit of a walk to find tee-18.

It is actually kinda amazing the designers fit in an 18-hole course w/o the holes interfering with one another - holes 3&4 do a bit, but that's about it. Stop by for a round if you want to work on your short game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty

2-4    6/9/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 88  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a pleasant neighborhood park. It is well manicured, has concrete tees, dual pads on many of the holes, and 18 new discatchers. Navigation was a snap between holes, and all of the holes themselves were straightforward. As far as basic amenities, this course was great.
Cons: Not a whole lot to say here. The lengths were a bit repetitive, all par three, mostly flat, and most around the 200' mark. From a course design standpoint, some of the holes got a little closer to other park users and folks' backyards for my tastes.
Other Thoughts: For me, the reason this course is a 2.5 comes from a technical perspective. Most of the holes were short, fairly open, and right around that 200' mark. This makes the course a great tune-up for your short game, but it just isn't very challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but fun

1    6/22/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Shaded, a big pro for hot, sunny Florida
- Nice concrete tee pads
- Not real challenging, but it's always fun to get a low score
- Bamboo poles w/ hooks in strategic locations along the creek
Cons:
- Very short, no real need for a driver
- Flat, somewhat repetitive wooded shots
- The creek running through smells quite foul
- Unfriendly signs all around the neighboring backyards
Other Thoughts:
I played this course while on vacation, and it kind of felt like my arm was on vacation too. Just a lot of short, moderately technical shots. Not a big test, but still fun. Make sure to stay out of the water, it smells like death. The tee pads are nice, but the "long" pads are kind of a joke.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Biaoni Beach Bash 2009

1    7/30/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very nice tee pads. The concrete pads were the longest I've seen and they flared out on the ends.

-Excellent signs. There was a nice map of the entire course posted on the large board near hole 1 and each hole had high-quality metal signs designating the hole number and distance.

-Some unique hole types. The one that comes to mind is hole 5. You play along a creek and you must decide to cross the creek early or late.

-Good locals. Charlie played a while with me and showed me around. He even let me use his phone since I had forgot mine.
Cons: -Lack of challenge. The course was fairly simple and pretty short. Also it didn't have much variety.

-Course flow. The trip from the basket on hole 2 to the tee on hole 3 is the worst. The rest of the course is not that bad, but there are a few bad spots.

-No benches or trash bins that I recall.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly young according to the one local I played with, so some of those cons can get corrected over time. The course was pretty fun even though it lacked variety.

Not being from the area, it was neat to play amongst the palms and other plants and trees native to Florida.

The parking seemed adequate and it was free to play. I could see other park traffic being a problem during a weekend round.

They saved the best for last. Hole 18 is my favorite of that course.

Overall I had fun and was glad to meet Charlie.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Job on Limited Land

1    4/29/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park has done the best they could with limited land. The holes are mostly short, but well laid out. Need to turn the disc both ways here, and mainly keep it low under lots of branches. Usually two tees per hole, some cement, distance markers at every tee box. I could see where they are working on this course, i.e. molds for cement tee boxes. This is the only course close to Destin / Ft. Walton. You can definitely make birdies here with accurate throws.
Cons: The course is short, and somewhat crammed in. Big arms will be bored. At times you feel like you are in someone's backyard. Big potential to lose discs in a creek / canal that runs through the course. Holes 12-16 have you "trapped" on one side of the canal. On one hole my disc kicked the wrong way, across the creek, had to hike back several holes to get to the other side of a fairly narrow waterway - group behind me did the same. Some walks to next tee not well marked, I got lost a few times. Tees not consistent, not always cement, and not always two per hole. There is a walking path with exercise stations that come into play on several holes. I played on a weekday morning, but still had to wait for several walkers.
Other Thoughts: I was frustrated as I had to search a long time for two lost discs, and/or walk a long way around the creek. Found them both, but you can lose discs easily here. All in all, it seems they have done they best they could with limited space. Not bad for a little practice, but be careful with your throws!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/10/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of a nice city park. Multiple tees on most of the holes. There is plenty of variety and good use of the stream meandering thru the park. It's a relitively short course but requires shapeing you shots. Good beginner course but plenty of trouble available for errant shots.
Cons: Tees are all natural and well worn with tree roots in many. With the trip hazard I found myself useing what ever flat spot I could find. The tees really need to be upgraded. The signs only give hole number and distance. There is a real potential to hit someone with a disc as the park is very busy. Hole # 10 requires a shot directly over one of the many kiddy play areas. Fortunately it was not being used at the time I was playing. I would not recomment the risk if kids are playing here.
Other Thoughts: Even though this is a relitively short course there is plenty of challenge in the form of water and obsticles. With the addition of the second nine hole there are now two 300 + holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.