Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #2
3 / 171ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Play It If In Town

1    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many pros to its name: good course layout, nice park, fun and easy, good tees and tee signs, Pro and amateur tees, good baskets. Overall, the course is very enjoyable as a short 18 hole par 3 layout. The holes weave through the park, giving you a nice walk through woods and open areas. Good place to just take a mid range and hone that part of your game. If you are a first timer then just play the shorter tees as it gives you the best opportunity to ace a hole (as many have done).
Cons: Sometimes, next hole signs would be beneficial but for the most part the course is easy to navigate. Most distances marked on the tee signs are incorrect, so take with a grain of salt (or sand in this case). Since it is a short course there is little variety in disc choice.
Other Thoughts: I would not go out of my way to play this course but if you are a disc golfer vacationing in the Destin/Fort Walton area then it is definitely worth the drive. For the most part I am not partial to beach area disc golf courses as they usually do not lend to any sort of elevation changes or interesting views/throws (only exception Blue Angels DGCs) but I would say that this is probably the best 18 hole course option in the Gulf area (if you're not going to Blue Angels). This is a very enjoyable course that has woods, water, and aces. The course is easy to find and navigate, so enjoy it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A golf course in my home town!?!?

5+    5/3/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: NickRappazini
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Signage... A complete course map at hole 1. Tee signs on each hole, with distance. +1

Baskets, Tee pads. Check and check. +1


Trash, Benches, Water and Restrooms...

The activity center was closed, so no water or restrooms, but plenty of trash and benches. +.5

Course design... You must have a OUT and IN to be a professional course. Other than that, for being a short course the throws are varied and the difficulty still exists. Aces are possible on most holes, but so are bogies!!! +.5
Cons: Signage ... Other than an empty mailbox where scorecards would be, it's great.

Would like to have a Restroom and water, especially around hole nine. -.5


The course is in a multi-use park and doesn't have hole nine and ten around the clubhouse. Also the transition to hole three goes through the green of hole #4 and the tee pad of #5, probably the worst transition I've ever seen -.5

Other Thoughts: Although this is a great course in a small park out of the way, I can't see giving it an *extra* point for anything special. I cannot think of an epic hole, or any really special for that matter.

So total points - 3 . Worth going out of your way for, but not too far.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun, fun, fun!

2-4    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're bringing a newbie out to teach the game, this is the course for you! If you need a course to put confidence back in your game, this is the place! If you need a course to test your arm...go some where else! But for me, a guy with moderate power and finesse, this course was perfect. I played 2 rounds back-to-back in a little over an hour and wasn't the least bit winded.

And with the majority of the holes being putter-shots, all I took was my putter, a buzzz and my trusty eagle. I shot 8-10 down every round.

The course is also very easy to navigate with hole 7 being the only tricky one. Lots of tee signs and markers with distance.
Cons: Walkers, walkers, walkers. Did I mention walkers? Lots of 'em! That and walkers with dogs. We are the red-headed step children (no offence to red-headed step children!) in the sports world and don't get no respect! The walkers completely ignore you and trudge right down the fairways and where you are looking to throw. So you gotta be real careful before you chunk a shot out of sight.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/5/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 118  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 very nice baskets in a multi purpose park. There were concrete tee pads at each hole, some holes even had an alternate, longer tee pad for more of a challenge.

This was probably one of the easiest courses to navigate that I have been to. The signs at each hole were clear and the next tee pad was never more than 10' away from the last hole.

The locals out on the course were very nice and helpful. One group of guys were playing an alternate version of the course that is widely accepted among the locals and it makes this course very challenging if you meet the right people.

There were restrooms and water nearby.

This course can be played in about an hour which can be a pro if you are on vacation and only have a limited amount of time to go out and play.

Almost all 18 holes are Ace Runs which can add a bit of excitement here.
Cons: The course is very short. There is nothing over 300' and quite a few holes are under 180', there is no opportunity to rip throws and it is hardly necessary to bring anything faster than a mid range due to the shortness of the course.

Although a creek does run through a few holes it is not a huge problem but if you happen to shank a drive and it lands in the water, getting it back would be a problem as the water smells very bad and there is no visibility.

A few of the first holes play extremely close to the backs of some houses almost to the point where it makes you think twice about going for the ace.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation at Fort Walton and came to play here and it was very enjoyable. I will look forward to each summer coming back here so I can play at Ferry Park.

If you are in town be sure to go to Key Chains Bike and Disc Store that is about a five minute drive from the close. They have a good selection of discs; they are also very helpful and if you have the time to play, they will invite you to the weekly mini that they have at Ferry Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Vacation from your Vacation

2-4    5/7/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice short course in which the beginner can learn to throw all kinds of shots and not have to be intimidated by those guys that throw 350+ bombs. The experienced player can work on their putt and midrange game. Setting is cool as a park surrounded by a housing addition. Some water hazards as well as tight fairways make for challenging pin placement.
Cons: This course is NOT a course where you want to work on your distance shots. Houses are too close and nearly every yard has a 'keep out' sign and a fence/net so it's obvious that folks are tired of their yards and homes being hammered by a barrage or Rocs and Putters being flung their direction. Keep your bag simple: Midranges, Putters, and maybe two drivers.
Other Thoughts: I was there with family vacationing in Destin/Fort Walton Beach area. Bear in mind this isn't a 'championship' level course, but it's a great place to go first thing in the morning before the rest of your family gets up to go to the beach. The locals are friendly and the baskets look cool with all of the ace grafitti on the yellow part of the disc catchers. It is also the closest park to the area for about 20 miles so make the best of the course and use it to your advantage: pin placement and lowering your score.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My First course

5+    1/8/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: joe_kool315
Played: 63  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As mentioned, this is a good course to learn the game on. Big arms will get board unless they concentrate on making everything "approach shots". Beginners can get out there and really work on form with the left and right turning holes and the many holes that you have to keep the disc flight 6' or lower to get under the tree path
Cons: only 3 holes 300' or longer, another 4 in the 260' range. Better players will be throwing approach putters on 9 to 11 holes or backing off mid-ranges. Again a good course to concentrate on form and bettering your short game.
Other Thoughts: New players can grab a low speed stable to understable driver, slow straight mid-range and a putter and have a blast. Good players can get a firm approach/putter, soft putter, maybe a very slow mid-range(buzzz, Roc, Skeeter) and a Teebird like disc and shoot very well if your accurate

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Fun

1    4/17/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Tee Pads and a few holes even have pro and am.
Baskets are Discatchers and in good condition.
A great course to just throw mids and putters.
Some shots require you to throw over water and keep the disc low or you will be in the tree.
Cons: Quite a bit of foot traffic. busy park but everyone was nice.
not this best signage from hole to hole.
plays very short but this was great for a change.
would be a great course for those just beginning.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Came Out Ahead

1    11/3/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: LoneGraffitist
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised when I played this course, as it was much more challenging than I expected, given the distances. That or I was just under my game. For my first time playing, I got around fine, they have a nice map at the start, so take a good look at the beginning and again when you come around after hole 5 and you will see the tricky bits. Overarching trees make the short approaches challenging. Just enough water to add stress to your life. I lost a boss in the water (never had the arm for it anyways) but found a champion leopard and a viper when i looked for it, so I think I came out ahead. restroom was nice at the rec center.
Cons: locals have taped out what appears to be out-of-bounds lines, but i like the course better without it... plenty of natural boundaries.
Other Thoughts: course and park really fit in the old neighborhood. plenty of shade from the heat.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

1    8/3/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long but narrow concrete tees, some have 2 most just have one. Nice baskets, nice signs though there is no map on each sign so you have to look to where the basket is.
A good, quick round with some challenge and risk but mostly short holes.
Cons: Needs a few next tee signs. The 2-3 transition (as covered before) is kind of rough.
Other Thoughts: While mostly short holes there are some risky shots with the water in play. It was a very hot day and the wooded holes were very welcome. They all have a clearly defined fairway and quite a few holes have water in play. We found it odd that the blues were the easier tees here.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ferry Park

1    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Toy Cannon
Played: 134  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park with a nice surrounding. The park has good double chain baskets with concrete tee pads. This a short course but with many trees and a good variety of shots. They have nice tee signs and two sets of tee boxes.
Cons: This course is a little to short and a lot of pedestrians. Some holes are hard to see so may need a spotter.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.