Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #5
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Half sandy/Half wet

5+    6/16/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: HumDyn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Easy travel time to get to course.
2. Trees make it challenging
3. A sidewalk for walkers winds thru the course
Cons: 1. Heavy use has rendered the first six holes very sandy which makes walking difficult.
2. The second half of the course is swampy. If you go after a recent rain, you will have to hop from dry spot to dry spot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Relaxing Ace Runs

1    8/14/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 46  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great course map right at the course entrance.
- Some holes had multiple pin placements and most had multiple tee pads
- Reasonable tee boxes (concrete). some had seating, and most had a place to set your bag.
- Great ace run opportunities. I'm sure the local's are racking them up.
- Fairly easy to navigate, I only had to reference my map once between hole 16/17. go left there's a small path between the fence and creek.
- Overgrowth was mostly in check, i never spent more than 10 seconds searching for my disc.
- Great parking and restrooms facilities at hole one tee.
- Fairly nice park setting. there were other park amenities in the park.
- Park patrons were friendly.
Cons: - Not challenging enough and too short for advanced players. don't get me wrong, i enjoyed playing the course as i found it relaxing.
- Most of the shots were pretty straight, or only had a slight jog. they did sometimes use the trees effectively to make up for the shortness and straightness though.
- The creek going thru the course looked extra silty and muddy, i could be wrong but i would have hated to put my disc in it.
- Course is tightly packed and you may need to stop a few times for joggers or others disc golfing groups on other holes.
- Extremely Flat course, typical for Florida. one basket was elevated.
- Hot and extra humid during the summer.
- Could use a few more spots for garbage collection.
Other Thoughts: - I'm pretty sure i would play this course a lot if I lived nearby. this course is perfect for beginners and rec players or those who prefer shorter courses. pros and advanced players will walk away wishing they just brought only a putter or that they went somewhere else.
- if your the exploring type of disc golfer or a vacationer, check this course out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ferry Park Disc Golf Course

2-4    10/4/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: calebwilliams507
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well-maintained
- Concrete tees (pro and ameteur tees)
- Multiple pins
- Innova DisCatcher baskets
- Beautiful scenery
- Not an extremely long course
Cons: - adjacent to fenced backyards
- Lots of walkers, runners, etc
- Often many other disc golfers, leading to waiting to tee off
Other Thoughts: The Ferry Park disc golf course is a well-maintained disc golf course, however its location in a heavily-used park means that players often must wait to tee off to to walkers and other pedestrians. It is all too easy to throw a disc into someone's backyard with all of the trees, especially when playing from the red tees. There is a great variety of holes, and the course is never boring. If it weren't for the risk of losing a disc in a backyard, I would rate the course at a 3.5. I would rather lose a disc in a lake and not be able to see it then be able to see a disc in a someone's yard, but not able to reach it . . .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play It If In Town

1    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many pros to its name: good course layout, nice park, fun and easy, good tees and tee signs, Pro and amateur tees, good baskets. Overall, the course is very enjoyable as a short 18 hole par 3 layout. The holes weave through the park, giving you a nice walk through woods and open areas. Good place to just take a mid range and hone that part of your game. If you are a first timer then just play the shorter tees as it gives you the best opportunity to ace a hole (as many have done).
Cons: Sometimes, next hole signs would be beneficial but for the most part the course is easy to navigate. Most distances marked on the tee signs are incorrect, so take with a grain of salt (or sand in this case). Since it is a short course there is little variety in disc choice.
Other Thoughts: I would not go out of my way to play this course but if you are a disc golfer vacationing in the Destin/Fort Walton area then it is definitely worth the drive. For the most part I am not partial to beach area disc golf courses as they usually do not lend to any sort of elevation changes or interesting views/throws (only exception Blue Angels DGCs) but I would say that this is probably the best 18 hole course option in the Gulf area (if you're not going to Blue Angels). This is a very enjoyable course that has woods, water, and aces. The course is easy to find and navigate, so enjoy it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A golf course in my home town!?!?

5+    5/3/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: NickRappazini
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Signage... A complete course map at hole 1. Tee signs on each hole, with distance. +1

Baskets, Tee pads. Check and check. +1


Trash, Benches, Water and Restrooms...

The activity center was closed, so no water or restrooms, but plenty of trash and benches. +.5

Course design... You must have a OUT and IN to be a professional course. Other than that, for being a short course the throws are varied and the difficulty still exists. Aces are possible on most holes, but so are bogies!!! +.5
Cons: Signage ... Other than an empty mailbox where scorecards would be, it's great.

Would like to have a Restroom and water, especially around hole nine. -.5


The course is in a multi-use park and doesn't have hole nine and ten around the clubhouse. Also the transition to hole three goes through the green of hole #4 and the tee pad of #5, probably the worst transition I've ever seen -.5

Other Thoughts: Although this is a great course in a small park out of the way, I can't see giving it an *extra* point for anything special. I cannot think of an epic hole, or any really special for that matter.

So total points - 3 . Worth going out of your way for, but not too far.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, fun, fun!

2-4    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 70  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're bringing a newbie out to teach the game, this is the course for you! If you need a course to put confidence back in your game, this is the place! If you need a course to test your arm...go some where else! But for me, a guy with moderate power and finesse, this course was perfect. I played 2 rounds back-to-back in a little over an hour and wasn't the least bit winded.

And with the majority of the holes being putter-shots, all I took was my putter, a buzzz and my trusty eagle. I shot 8-10 down every round.

The course is also very easy to navigate with hole 7 being the only tricky one. Lots of tee signs and markers with distance.
Cons: Walkers, walkers, walkers. Did I mention walkers? Lots of 'em! That and walkers with dogs. We are the red-headed step children (no offence to red-headed step children!) in the sports world and don't get no respect! The walkers completely ignore you and trudge right down the fairways and where you are looking to throw. So you gotta be real careful before you chunk a shot out of sight.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Vacation from your Vacation

2-4    5/7/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice short course in which the beginner can learn to throw all kinds of shots and not have to be intimidated by those guys that throw 350+ bombs. The experienced player can work on their putt and midrange game. Setting is cool as a park surrounded by a housing addition. Some water hazards as well as tight fairways make for challenging pin placement.
Cons: This course is NOT a course where you want to work on your distance shots. Houses are too close and nearly every yard has a 'keep out' sign and a fence/net so it's obvious that folks are tired of their yards and homes being hammered by a barrage or Rocs and Putters being flung their direction. Keep your bag simple: Midranges, Putters, and maybe two drivers.
Other Thoughts: I was there with family vacationing in Destin/Fort Walton Beach area. Bear in mind this isn't a 'championship' level course, but it's a great place to go first thing in the morning before the rest of your family gets up to go to the beach. The locals are friendly and the baskets look cool with all of the ace grafitti on the yellow part of the disc catchers. It is also the closest park to the area for about 20 miles so make the best of the course and use it to your advantage: pin placement and lowering your score.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My First course

5+    1/8/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: joe_kool315
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As mentioned, this is a good course to learn the game on. Big arms will get board unless they concentrate on making everything "approach shots". Beginners can get out there and really work on form with the left and right turning holes and the many holes that you have to keep the disc flight 6' or lower to get under the tree path
Cons: only 3 holes 300' or longer, another 4 in the 260' range. Better players will be throwing approach putters on 9 to 11 holes or backing off mid-ranges. Again a good course to concentrate on form and bettering your short game.
Other Thoughts: New players can grab a low speed stable to understable driver, slow straight mid-range and a putter and have a blast. Good players can get a firm approach/putter, soft putter, maybe a very slow mid-range(buzzz, Roc, Skeeter) and a Teebird like disc and shoot very well if your accurate

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Fun

1    4/17/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Tee Pads and a few holes even have pro and am.
Baskets are Discatchers and in good condition.
A great course to just throw mids and putters.
Some shots require you to throw over water and keep the disc low or you will be in the tree.
Cons: Quite a bit of foot traffic. busy park but everyone was nice.
not this best signage from hole to hole.
plays very short but this was great for a change.
would be a great course for those just beginning.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Came Out Ahead

1    11/3/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: LoneGraffitist
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised when I played this course, as it was much more challenging than I expected, given the distances. That or I was just under my game. For my first time playing, I got around fine, they have a nice map at the start, so take a good look at the beginning and again when you come around after hole 5 and you will see the tricky bits. Overarching trees make the short approaches challenging. Just enough water to add stress to your life. I lost a boss in the water (never had the arm for it anyways) but found a champion leopard and a viper when i looked for it, so I think I came out ahead. restroom was nice at the rec center.
Cons: locals have taped out what appears to be out-of-bounds lines, but i like the course better without it... plenty of natural boundaries.
Other Thoughts: course and park really fit in the old neighborhood. plenty of shade from the heat.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.