Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #1
3 / 172ft.   3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 f/m Tee Box

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nice Course

1    3/8/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has both long and short tees on many holes. Tee boxes are marked nicely with yardage. Most baskets are easily seen from tee boxes. Baskets are in good shape. Water is in play on 4 holes, but easy enough to drive over. A Lot of natural obstacles placed strategically. One basket is raised up higher than all others, interesting touch.
Cons: Since the course is placed throughout a park, there is a lot of foot traffic Most holes are reached easily enough by a driver.
Other Thoughts: Although the conditions were windy, the natural surroundings cut the wind quite a bit. I enjoyed this course much more than Morgan Sports Complex and Chain Dragon. I saw a blue heron in the river also. I would play this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ferry Park

5+    2/12/2016   2/12/2016
Review By: scotems1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, very well maintained, nice baskets, well marked hole numbers, absolutely beautiful scenery. Short but challenging course. Also challenging because there is lots of water.
Cons: Very heavy traffic. Ferry Park also has a walking/jogging course, baseball fields and children's playground. Just a little rain can cause the course to get very wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice, challenging course. Great for working on your finesse game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/11/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course was well taken care of! No problem finding our way around! Nice way to spend a couple hours while on vacation! Ace hardware had a great selection of disc.
Cons: Marsh area was kinda sketchy. Some guy was telling me of some baby snakes back there. Hate snakes so i was on the watch lol
Other Thoughts: My son,his friend and myself had a blast at this course. If I ever get back down this way It will be on my play list!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Short & Sweet

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: cadillac77jk
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean park, good directionals between baskets, Pro/Am pads, very well taken care of, friendly locals, really NO reason you should lose a disc
Cons: mostly short holes even from the Pro pads, lots of repetition and similar shaping shots (mostly straight), course could be played with only a stable midrange (Roc/Shark/Buzz) and still manage par or better - who doesn't love a good one disc challenge anyways :)
Other Thoughts: Definitely play this course if you are in the area! With a few exceptions, most holes range between 190-250 feet, so leave the distance drivers in the car. Since playing it once will take you about an hour, go ahead and put a few more mid range discs in your bag and play each pad 3 times with different shot shapes. It won't take you more than an extra minute or so and you'll get more bang for your buck without all the extra walking.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2-4    8/5/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 185  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 very nice baskets in a multi purpose park. There were concrete tee pads at each hole, some holes even had an alternate, longer tee pad for more of a challenge.

This was probably one of the easiest courses to navigate that I have been to. The signs at each hole were clear and the next tee pad was never more than 10' away from the last hole.

The locals out on the course were very nice and helpful. One group of guys were playing an alternate version of the course that is widely accepted among the locals and it makes this course very challenging if you meet the right people.

There were restrooms and water nearby.

This course can be played in about an hour which can be a pro if you are on vacation and only have a limited amount of time to go out and play.

Almost all 18 holes are Ace Runs which can add a bit of excitement here.
Cons: The course is very short. There is nothing over 300' and quite a few holes are under 180', there is no opportunity to rip throws and it is hardly necessary to bring anything faster than a mid range due to the shortness of the course.

Although a creek does run through a few holes it is not a huge problem but if you happen to shank a drive and it lands in the water, getting it back would be a problem as the water smells very bad and there is no visibility.

A few of the first holes play extremely close to the backs of some houses almost to the point where it makes you think twice about going for the ace.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation at Fort Walton and came to play here and it was very enjoyable. I will look forward to each summer coming back here so I can play at Ferry Park.

If you are in town be sure to go to Key Chains Bike and Disc Store that is about a five minute drive from the close. They have a good selection of discs; they are also very helpful and if you have the time to play, they will invite you to the weekly mini that they have at Ferry Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good for Beginners

5+    2/29/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: Auto4Short
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly course. Has pro and am tee boxes. Nice long concrete tees.
Cons: Longest hole is about 367. More experienced players looking for a challenge may not get as much of a challenge from this course.
Other Thoughts: I began disc golfing 2 years ago and this is my hometown course. This is a good course for beginners to start on because of the short holes and the holes that require accuracy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/20/2011   1/14/2012
Review By: TeeJay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: it is all concrete tee pads
it has a practice basket
it has clear navigation
it has some challenging holes
it has a good club that takes care of the course Playground Disc Golf Club.
it has bamboo poles placed along the edge of holes that have water hazards.
it has bathrooms at the baseball fields by 7 and 17.
has am and pro tee pads
Cons: the holes are short
the water smells
the water is kind of murky so even if you have the pole you still might not be able to see your disc.
The bathrooms are a good distance away.
Other Thoughts: this course all in all is very fun i played my first tournament here and i enjoyed it alot so i would reccommend people play this course at least one time to see if they like it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    11/29/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: MrRob
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Wonderful layout
*Easy to find next tee
*Test your short / med game
*Home of Play Ground Disc Golf Club which takes care of the part. (( i.e. trash, dead fall, ect ect ))
Cons: *Walkers , It's a park. So there are walkers on the walking path that snakes it's way through the course. Also there or some work out stations that if someone is working out on you may either have to wait or just skip the hole and come back to it.

*Only other con I can think of is.. if you played here and only here it will... how do I say this. Not make you realize how far a normal course is. Thus your never really throwing that hard which in turn when you go to another course and your so used to 200-300ft holes when you come across a 350-700ft..
Other Thoughts: Yes the course is short. But it's what we have here in FWB and it's more then enough. This " short " course will test anyone and will help develop your short - mid range game a ton. It's just tight enough to punish you for a miss played shot but just open enough for some exciting ace runs and low scores.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Busy Course

2-4    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good location
-Good shade along the course
-Nice variation of play
-Good 3 par course
-Friendly locals
-Regular and Tournament play tee pads
Cons: -Tee pad signs need to show where basket is
-Not sure if distance on all signs is correct
-Some of the next basket tee pads are difficult to find
-Bathrooms would be nice, especially on an 18 basket course
-Would like to have had a par 4 or 5 distance
Other Thoughts: Only been playing disc golf for about four months when I first played this course, so keep that in mind.
We really enjoyed playing here in the middle of October, great weather. First tee is there as soon as you park your car. There is map of the course at the first tee, but unless you remember all 18 baskets it does not do a whole lot for you once you get started. I say this because although the signs at each tee pad are great the only thing I wish they would have had is a layout of where the basket was for that fairway.
The locals were great. We saw quite a few people out there that day and everyone got along well, really nice to see out there.
As I mentioned before bathrooms would be nice. Someone mentioned there were bathrooms on the baseball field, on the other side of the park. There is also a tennis court as well.
Did enjoy the different types of play. There are a few basket with water on them, which they seem to be more for intimidation than anything else, and they worked as I went in the water twice. There is also a walking trail spread throughout and you have to be aware of pedestians along the way. The course is lined with some houses, but never really had problem with any of them or their owners. I was informed they did move a basket or two as it was causing problems, but have since been relocated. But as I mentioned we saw no problems.
I think this is a fun course for all players and would enjoy going back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First In Florida

1    3/16/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: redmanhmg
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: With my short experience this was a smooth course. Nice layout easy to get to the next tee box. well manicured just an overall great appearance. In a nice part of town, you don't have one eye on your disk and one on your truck.
Cons: I think it has some sewage over flow that runs through the park, really nasty. Just play those holes short and be careful. If you do hit the muck use the cane poles that are in the white pvc pipes. It only took once to figure out what they were for.
Other Thoughts: A must play for any one beginners will have a blast,, though you won't need a big arm.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.