Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #5
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Nice Course

1    3/8/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has both long and short tees on many holes. Tee boxes are marked nicely with yardage. Most baskets are easily seen from tee boxes. Baskets are in good shape. Water is in play on 4 holes, but easy enough to drive over. A Lot of natural obstacles placed strategically. One basket is raised up higher than all others, interesting touch.
Cons: Since the course is placed throughout a park, there is a lot of foot traffic Most holes are reached easily enough by a driver.
Other Thoughts: Although the conditions were windy, the natural surroundings cut the wind quite a bit. I enjoyed this course much more than Morgan Sports Complex and Chain Dragon. I saw a blue heron in the river also. I would play this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ferry Park

5+    2/12/2016   2/12/2016
Review By: scotems1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, very well maintained, nice baskets, well marked hole numbers, absolutely beautiful scenery. Short but challenging course. Also challenging because there is lots of water.
Cons: Very heavy traffic. Ferry Park also has a walking/jogging course, baseball fields and children's playground. Just a little rain can cause the course to get very wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice, challenging course. Great for working on your finesse game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ferry Park Disc Golf Course

2-4    10/4/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: calebwilliams507
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well-maintained
- Concrete tees (pro and ameteur tees)
- Multiple pins
- Innova DisCatcher baskets
- Beautiful scenery
- Not an extremely long course
Cons: - adjacent to fenced backyards
- Lots of walkers, runners, etc
- Often many other disc golfers, leading to waiting to tee off
Other Thoughts: The Ferry Park disc golf course is a well-maintained disc golf course, however its location in a heavily-used park means that players often must wait to tee off to to walkers and other pedestrians. It is all too easy to throw a disc into someone's backyard with all of the trees, especially when playing from the red tees. There is a great variety of holes, and the course is never boring. If it weren't for the risk of losing a disc in a backyard, I would rate the course at a 3.5. I would rather lose a disc in a lake and not be able to see it then be able to see a disc in a someone's yard, but not able to reach it . . .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun

1    7/16/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: mateo4815
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Very fun
- Well marked
- Nice Little Park
- Lots of people playing
- Very Nice Tees
Cons: - A little short for a full 18 hole course
- Lots of people playing
Other Thoughts: While I was here there were lots of people playing. We had to wait several times to get to the next hole. However, its nice having other people on the course to point you in the right direction.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course was well taken care of! No problem finding our way around! Nice way to spend a couple hours while on vacation! Ace hardware had a great selection of disc.
Cons: Marsh area was kinda sketchy. Some guy was telling me of some baby snakes back there. Hate snakes so i was on the watch lol
Other Thoughts: My son,his friend and myself had a blast at this course. If I ever get back down this way It will be on my play list!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Short & Sweet

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: cadillac77jk
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean park, good directionals between baskets, Pro/Am pads, very well taken care of, friendly locals, really NO reason you should lose a disc
Cons: mostly short holes even from the Pro pads, lots of repetition and similar shaping shots (mostly straight), course could be played with only a stable midrange (Roc/Shark/Buzz) and still manage par or better - who doesn't love a good one disc challenge anyways :)
Other Thoughts: Definitely play this course if you are in the area! With a few exceptions, most holes range between 190-250 feet, so leave the distance drivers in the car. Since playing it once will take you about an hour, go ahead and put a few more mid range discs in your bag and play each pad 3 times with different shot shapes. It won't take you more than an extra minute or so and you'll get more bang for your buck without all the extra walking.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Play It If In Town

1    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 78  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many pros to its name: good course layout, nice park, fun and easy, good tees and tee signs, Pro and amateur tees, good baskets. Overall, the course is very enjoyable as a short 18 hole par 3 layout. The holes weave through the park, giving you a nice walk through woods and open areas. Good place to just take a mid range and hone that part of your game. If you are a first timer then just play the shorter tees as it gives you the best opportunity to ace a hole (as many have done).
Cons: Sometimes, next hole signs would be beneficial but for the most part the course is easy to navigate. Most distances marked on the tee signs are incorrect, so take with a grain of salt (or sand in this case). Since it is a short course there is little variety in disc choice.
Other Thoughts: I would not go out of my way to play this course but if you are a disc golfer vacationing in the Destin/Fort Walton area then it is definitely worth the drive. For the most part I am not partial to beach area disc golf courses as they usually do not lend to any sort of elevation changes or interesting views/throws (only exception Blue Angels DGCs) but I would say that this is probably the best 18 hole course option in the Gulf area (if you're not going to Blue Angels). This is a very enjoyable course that has woods, water, and aces. The course is easy to find and navigate, so enjoy it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A golf course in my home town!?!?

5+    5/3/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: NickRappazini
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Signage... A complete course map at hole 1. Tee signs on each hole, with distance. +1

Baskets, Tee pads. Check and check. +1


Trash, Benches, Water and Restrooms...

The activity center was closed, so no water or restrooms, but plenty of trash and benches. +.5

Course design... You must have a OUT and IN to be a professional course. Other than that, for being a short course the throws are varied and the difficulty still exists. Aces are possible on most holes, but so are bogies!!! +.5
Cons: Signage ... Other than an empty mailbox where scorecards would be, it's great.

Would like to have a Restroom and water, especially around hole nine. -.5


The course is in a multi-use park and doesn't have hole nine and ten around the clubhouse. Also the transition to hole three goes through the green of hole #4 and the tee pad of #5, probably the worst transition I've ever seen -.5

Other Thoughts: Although this is a great course in a small park out of the way, I can't see giving it an *extra* point for anything special. I cannot think of an epic hole, or any really special for that matter.

So total points - 3 . Worth going out of your way for, but not too far.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A waltz through a neighborhood...

1    9/28/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: Bimbambogart
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The water shots are great and setup to where its hard to lose a disc.
There's nets so you don't throw into peoples yard.
This course was a lot of fun.
Cons: I've got nothing.
Other Thoughts: A drink machine would be cool...

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Compact

1    12/19/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 421  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Just over half the holes have two concrete (12' long) tees, with red farther from basket than blue.
Cons:
Walking path often comes into play in this popular, midst-of-neighbourhood park
Other Thoughts:
Course is located in a very flat, fairly open, multi-purpose park, split in the middle by a small stream. In addition to the water, both random and copses of trees are used to define fairways, and provide obstacles. The water likely won't come into play for experienced players, but a beginner might manage to find it.

If bombing is your thing, you won't find it here, as the shorts average ~215', the longs ~240', with only three holes >300'. If twisting and turning your disc through tight paths and narrow windows is your preference, your won't find that here either, as even the tight holes aren't that tight, and are only tight for a limited duration. However, if you want to work on your ~225'+/- game, needing mostly straight throws, with a smattering of late rights or lefts to have many birdy chances, then this is a course you'll want to play.

Despite the absence of a map, there are lots of directional signs, and the course was fairly easy to navigate, as long as you realize to:
- cross a bridge to find holes 3, 4, and tee-5.
- cross a bridge to find tee-7, but you'll be throwing back across from whence you just came.
- after basket-16, go left for a bit of a walk to tee-17.
- after basket-17, go left for a bit of a walk to find tee-18.

It is actually kinda amazing the designers fit in an 18-hole course w/o the holes interfering with one another - holes 3&4 do a bit, but that's about it. Stop by for a round if you want to work on your short game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.