Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #7
3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun

1    7/16/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: mateo4815
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Very fun
- Well marked
- Nice Little Park
- Lots of people playing
- Very Nice Tees
Cons: - A little short for a full 18 hole course
- Lots of people playing
Other Thoughts: While I was here there were lots of people playing. We had to wait several times to get to the next hole. However, its nice having other people on the course to point you in the right direction.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/11/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course was well taken care of! No problem finding our way around! Nice way to spend a couple hours while on vacation! Ace hardware had a great selection of disc.
Cons: Marsh area was kinda sketchy. Some guy was telling me of some baby snakes back there. Hate snakes so i was on the watch lol
Other Thoughts: My son,his friend and myself had a blast at this course. If I ever get back down this way It will be on my play list!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Sweet

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: cadillac77jk
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean park, good directionals between baskets, Pro/Am pads, very well taken care of, friendly locals, really NO reason you should lose a disc
Cons: mostly short holes even from the Pro pads, lots of repetition and similar shaping shots (mostly straight), course could be played with only a stable midrange (Roc/Shark/Buzz) and still manage par or better - who doesn't love a good one disc challenge anyways :)
Other Thoughts: Definitely play this course if you are in the area! With a few exceptions, most holes range between 190-250 feet, so leave the distance drivers in the car. Since playing it once will take you about an hour, go ahead and put a few more mid range discs in your bag and play each pad 3 times with different shot shapes. It won't take you more than an extra minute or so and you'll get more bang for your buck without all the extra walking.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Play It If In Town

1    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 57  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many pros to its name: good course layout, nice park, fun and easy, good tees and tee signs, Pro and amateur tees, good baskets. Overall, the course is very enjoyable as a short 18 hole par 3 layout. The holes weave through the park, giving you a nice walk through woods and open areas. Good place to just take a mid range and hone that part of your game. If you are a first timer then just play the shorter tees as it gives you the best opportunity to ace a hole (as many have done).
Cons: Sometimes, next hole signs would be beneficial but for the most part the course is easy to navigate. Most distances marked on the tee signs are incorrect, so take with a grain of salt (or sand in this case). Since it is a short course there is little variety in disc choice.
Other Thoughts: I would not go out of my way to play this course but if you are a disc golfer vacationing in the Destin/Fort Walton area then it is definitely worth the drive. For the most part I am not partial to beach area disc golf courses as they usually do not lend to any sort of elevation changes or interesting views/throws (only exception Blue Angels DGCs) but I would say that this is probably the best 18 hole course option in the Gulf area (if you're not going to Blue Angels). This is a very enjoyable course that has woods, water, and aces. The course is easy to find and navigate, so enjoy it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A golf course in my home town!?!?

5+    5/3/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: NickRappazini
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Signage... A complete course map at hole 1. Tee signs on each hole, with distance. +1

Baskets, Tee pads. Check and check. +1


Trash, Benches, Water and Restrooms...

The activity center was closed, so no water or restrooms, but plenty of trash and benches. +.5

Course design... You must have a OUT and IN to be a professional course. Other than that, for being a short course the throws are varied and the difficulty still exists. Aces are possible on most holes, but so are bogies!!! +.5
Cons: Signage ... Other than an empty mailbox where scorecards would be, it's great.

Would like to have a Restroom and water, especially around hole nine. -.5


The course is in a multi-use park and doesn't have hole nine and ten around the clubhouse. Also the transition to hole three goes through the green of hole #4 and the tee pad of #5, probably the worst transition I've ever seen -.5

Other Thoughts: Although this is a great course in a small park out of the way, I can't see giving it an *extra* point for anything special. I cannot think of an epic hole, or any really special for that matter.

So total points - 3 . Worth going out of your way for, but not too far.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A waltz through a neighborhood...

1    9/28/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: Bimbambogart
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The water shots are great and setup to where its hard to lose a disc.
There's nets so you don't throw into peoples yard.
This course was a lot of fun.
Cons: I've got nothing.
Other Thoughts: A drink machine would be cool...

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Compact

1    12/19/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Just over half the holes have two concrete (12' long) tees, with red farther from basket than blue.
Cons:
Walking path often comes into play in this popular, midst-of-neighbourhood park
Other Thoughts:
Course is located in a very flat, fairly open, multi-purpose park, split in the middle by a small stream. In addition to the water, both random and copses of trees are used to define fairways, and provide obstacles. The water likely won't come into play for experienced players, but a beginner might manage to find it.

If bombing is your thing, you won't find it here, as the shorts average ~215', the longs ~240', with only three holes >300'. If twisting and turning your disc through tight paths and narrow windows is your preference, your won't find that here either, as even the tight holes aren't that tight, and are only tight for a limited duration. However, if you want to work on your ~225'+/- game, needing mostly straight throws, with a smattering of late rights or lefts to have many birdy chances, then this is a course you'll want to play.

Despite the absence of a map, there are lots of directional signs, and the course was fairly easy to navigate, as long as you realize to:
- cross a bridge to find holes 3, 4, and tee-5.
- cross a bridge to find tee-7, but you'll be throwing back across from whence you just came.
- after basket-16, go left for a bit of a walk to tee-17.
- after basket-17, go left for a bit of a walk to find tee-18.

It is actually kinda amazing the designers fit in an 18-hole course w/o the holes interfering with one another - holes 3&4 do a bit, but that's about it. Stop by for a round if you want to work on your short game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun, fun, fun!

2-4    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 27  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're bringing a newbie out to teach the game, this is the course for you! If you need a course to put confidence back in your game, this is the place! If you need a course to test your arm...go some where else! But for me, a guy with moderate power and finesse, this course was perfect. I played 2 rounds back-to-back in a little over an hour and wasn't the least bit winded.

And with the majority of the holes being putter-shots, all I took was my putter, a buzzz and my trusty eagle. I shot 8-10 down every round.

The course is also very easy to navigate with hole 7 being the only tricky one. Lots of tee signs and markers with distance.
Cons: Walkers, walkers, walkers. Did I mention walkers? Lots of 'em! That and walkers with dogs. We are the red-headed step children (no offence to red-headed step children!) in the sports world and don't get no respect! The walkers completely ignore you and trudge right down the fairways and where you are looking to throw. So you gotta be real careful before you chunk a shot out of sight.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/5/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 very nice baskets in a multi purpose park. There were concrete tee pads at each hole, some holes even had an alternate, longer tee pad for more of a challenge.

This was probably one of the easiest courses to navigate that I have been to. The signs at each hole were clear and the next tee pad was never more than 10' away from the last hole.

The locals out on the course were very nice and helpful. One group of guys were playing an alternate version of the course that is widely accepted among the locals and it makes this course very challenging if you meet the right people.

There were restrooms and water nearby.

This course can be played in about an hour which can be a pro if you are on vacation and only have a limited amount of time to go out and play.

Almost all 18 holes are Ace Runs which can add a bit of excitement here.
Cons: The course is very short. There is nothing over 300' and quite a few holes are under 180', there is no opportunity to rip throws and it is hardly necessary to bring anything faster than a mid range due to the shortness of the course.

Although a creek does run through a few holes it is not a huge problem but if you happen to shank a drive and it lands in the water, getting it back would be a problem as the water smells very bad and there is no visibility.

A few of the first holes play extremely close to the backs of some houses almost to the point where it makes you think twice about going for the ace.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation at Fort Walton and came to play here and it was very enjoyable. I will look forward to each summer coming back here so I can play at Ferry Park.

If you are in town be sure to go to Key Chains Bike and Disc Store that is about a five minute drive from the close. They have a good selection of discs; they are also very helpful and if you have the time to play, they will invite you to the weekly mini that they have at Ferry Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty

2-4    6/9/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 88  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a pleasant neighborhood park. It is well manicured, has concrete tees, dual pads on many of the holes, and 18 new discatchers. Navigation was a snap between holes, and all of the holes themselves were straightforward. As far as basic amenities, this course was great.
Cons: Not a whole lot to say here. The lengths were a bit repetitive, all par three, mostly flat, and most around the 200' mark. From a course design standpoint, some of the holes got a little closer to other park users and folks' backyards for my tastes.
Other Thoughts: For me, the reason this course is a 2.5 comes from a technical perspective. Most of the holes were short, fairly open, and right around that 200' mark. This makes the course a great tune-up for your short game, but it just isn't very challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.