Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #4
3 / 173ft.   3 / 173ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Short but amazing course

5+    1/15/2017   1/23/2017
Review By: Cylemmulo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Phenomenal community around it.

The course is easily accessible. Great variety of shots that aren't too ridiculous or too likely to lose you a disc. Well upkept, in a great part of town.
Cons: Some holes are pretty short (though great for me because i'm a terrible driver)

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Favorite Course Among The Locals With Some Nice Features

1    11/1/2016   11/1/2016
Review By: Majshark
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes are typically short that favors finesse over power. Narrow fairways between tees with the occasional water hazard provides some solid variety between the 18 holes.
Adequate signage for tee direction and location.
Although there is a lot of people traffic on and through the park (joggers, walkers, other players) the course is pretty clean.
Concrete tees. Nice, concrete paths between holes.
Cons: As mentioned above, this course is VERY busy with other park visitors, and thus patience is a virtue.
Missing the fairway on several holes could mean landing a disc in someone's backyard or in the drink.
Other Thoughts: This course is geared for those patient players who seek accuracy over slinging bombs. If you don't kind a crowded park with a nice variety of holes, this course is for you.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Half sandy/Half wet

5+    6/16/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: HumDyn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Easy travel time to get to course.
2. Trees make it challenging
3. A sidewalk for walkers winds thru the course
Cons: 1. Heavy use has rendered the first six holes very sandy which makes walking difficult.
2. The second half of the course is swampy. If you go after a recent rain, you will have to hop from dry spot to dry spot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Relaxing Ace Runs

1    8/14/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 84  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.068 Rating) Scenic and relaxing, Ferry is the perfect vacation course.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes are highly aceable. You are probably 5 time more likely to ace here than at a normal course so I'm sure the locals are racking them up.
- CHARACTER - The course definitely has the feel that it has been taken care of well and has a good club presence. There is some seating, and several holes have a place to stow your bag. There's a restroom and a shelter with picnic tables, which is perfect for end of round relaxing. There are multiple pin placements as well. If I could add a few things, I'd add a few more seats and a few more trash cans.
- TEEING EXPERIENCE - Two sets of tees, and both are with their own hole signage. Pads are all concrete and are adequately long and wide for what anyone will need. Most tee areas are shaded as well. In all, the teeing experience was well above average.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues as a quick photo of the course map clears up most issues. There are some directional ques along the course layout as well. The one tricky spot is probably the transition from 16 to 17, in which a small path splits a baseball fence and the creek.
- CHILL AREAS - There are several partially secluded areas that have a greater than normal zen feel to them.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The park is very clean despite just a couple garbage cans along the layout. I didn't notice any areas that had significant overgrowth.
- RAW BEAUTY - The course in my opinion, is one of the more scenic short course I've played. It definitely added to the course experience.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 18 in under an hour. Groups of 4 probably would finish in under an hour and 45 minutes.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say but beginners should enjoy is regardless due to the short length. The fairways width are moderately spaced and should challenge rec and perhaps lower end intermediate players. Advanced and pros may come away less than challenged however.
Cons: No major issues with Ferry.
- DIFFICULTY - Too short and not a challenge to advanced/pro level players. Advanced players should have no problem being well under course par. Intermediate and Recreational players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish below par.
- ELEVATION - Really none to speak of. I know that this is typically for Florida, but this course is flat for even Florida standards. no more than 10' elevation change throughout the entire course layout. There is one elevated basket.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. If the course was full, there would be a few tees that could be reached by an errant throw because of little tree protection. A few fairways also feel partially shared.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. The course is quite short with only a few holes over 300 feet in length from the back tee. There aren't any doglegs, par 4s or 5s. No hole twists very much, perhaps one is 10 degrees. There is one blind basket, there are a few windows to hit. and a few holes that are guarded by trees. There is water in play, but I didn't really feel tested by it as a 900 rated played.
- CREEK - Although as stated above that the creek really doesn't come into play. Errant throws do happen and this creek looks extra nasty. I'm glad I didn't go in.
Other Thoughts: I'm pretty sure I'd play this course a lot if I lived nearby. This course is perfect for rec and intermediate players or for those that prefer to throw shorter courses or to throw ace runs. Pro and advanced players will come away untested and wish they only brought a putter.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    3/8/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has both long and short tees on many holes. Tee boxes are marked nicely with yardage. Most baskets are easily seen from tee boxes. Baskets are in good shape. Water is in play on 4 holes, but easy enough to drive over. A Lot of natural obstacles placed strategically. One basket is raised up higher than all others, interesting touch.
Cons: Since the course is placed throughout a park, there is a lot of foot traffic Most holes are reached easily enough by a driver.
Other Thoughts: Although the conditions were windy, the natural surroundings cut the wind quite a bit. I enjoyed this course much more than Morgan Sports Complex and Chain Dragon. I saw a blue heron in the river also. I would play this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ferry Park

5+    2/12/2016   2/12/2016
Review By: scotems1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, very well maintained, nice baskets, well marked hole numbers, absolutely beautiful scenery. Short but challenging course. Also challenging because there is lots of water.
Cons: Very heavy traffic. Ferry Park also has a walking/jogging course, baseball fields and children's playground. Just a little rain can cause the course to get very wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice, challenging course. Great for working on your finesse game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ferry Park Disc Golf Course

2-4    10/4/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: calebwilliams507
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well-maintained
- Concrete tees (pro and ameteur tees)
- Multiple pins
- Innova DisCatcher baskets
- Beautiful scenery
- Not an extremely long course
Cons: - adjacent to fenced backyards
- Lots of walkers, runners, etc
- Often many other disc golfers, leading to waiting to tee off
Other Thoughts: The Ferry Park disc golf course is a well-maintained disc golf course, however its location in a heavily-used park means that players often must wait to tee off to to walkers and other pedestrians. It is all too easy to throw a disc into someone's backyard with all of the trees, especially when playing from the red tees. There is a great variety of holes, and the course is never boring. If it weren't for the risk of losing a disc in a backyard, I would rate the course at a 3.5. I would rather lose a disc in a lake and not be able to see it then be able to see a disc in a someone's yard, but not able to reach it . . .

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    7/16/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: mateo4815
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Very fun
- Well marked
- Nice Little Park
- Lots of people playing
- Very Nice Tees
Cons: - A little short for a full 18 hole course
- Lots of people playing
Other Thoughts: While I was here there were lots of people playing. We had to wait several times to get to the next hole. However, its nice having other people on the course to point you in the right direction.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course was well taken care of! No problem finding our way around! Nice way to spend a couple hours while on vacation! Ace hardware had a great selection of disc.
Cons: Marsh area was kinda sketchy. Some guy was telling me of some baby snakes back there. Hate snakes so i was on the watch lol
Other Thoughts: My son,his friend and myself had a blast at this course. If I ever get back down this way It will be on my play list!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Short & Sweet

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: cadillac77jk
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean park, good directionals between baskets, Pro/Am pads, very well taken care of, friendly locals, really NO reason you should lose a disc
Cons: mostly short holes even from the Pro pads, lots of repetition and similar shaping shots (mostly straight), course could be played with only a stable midrange (Roc/Shark/Buzz) and still manage par or better - who doesn't love a good one disc challenge anyways :)
Other Thoughts: Definitely play this course if you are in the area! With a few exceptions, most holes range between 190-250 feet, so leave the distance drivers in the car. Since playing it once will take you about an hour, go ahead and put a few more mid range discs in your bag and play each pad 3 times with different shot shapes. It won't take you more than an extra minute or so and you'll get more bang for your buck without all the extra walking.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.