Disc Golf Store
Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #2
3 / 171ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good course

1    4/7/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: NightRavenKW
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well marked directions to next tee.
-Baskets are well maked.
-Good use of trees to make the course a little more interesting.
-All concrete tees.
Cons: -Course feels cramped. Many tees are close to homes.
-Busy park and you have to be aware of runners or people working out at the fitness stations.
-Water hazards are not really a factor.
Other Thoughts: This course is well laid out for the park that it is in. It is a small community park with a lot of activites; running/walking trails, baseball field, tennis courts, and more. The course and park feel small and the high population cause you to take more time with your throws.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good for Beginners

5+    2/29/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: Auto4Short
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly course. Has pro and am tee boxes. Nice long concrete tees.
Cons: Longest hole is about 367. More experienced players looking for a challenge may not get as much of a challenge from this course.
Other Thoughts: I began disc golfing 2 years ago and this is my hometown course. This is a good course for beginners to start on because of the short holes and the holes that require accuracy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun

5+    12/20/2011   1/14/2012
Review By: TeeJay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: it is all concrete tee pads
it has a practice basket
it has clear navigation
it has some challenging holes
it has a good club that takes care of the course Playground Disc Golf Club.
it has bamboo poles placed along the edge of holes that have water hazards.
it has bathrooms at the baseball fields by 7 and 17.
has am and pro tee pads
Cons: the holes are short
the water smells
the water is kind of murky so even if you have the pole you still might not be able to see your disc.
The bathrooms are a good distance away.
Other Thoughts: this course all in all is very fun i played my first tournament here and i enjoyed it alot so i would reccommend people play this course at least one time to see if they like it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    11/29/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: MrRob
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Wonderful layout
*Easy to find next tee
*Test your short / med game
*Home of Play Ground Disc Golf Club which takes care of the part. (( i.e. trash, dead fall, ect ect ))
Cons: *Walkers , It's a park. So there are walkers on the walking path that snakes it's way through the course. Also there or some work out stations that if someone is working out on you may either have to wait or just skip the hole and come back to it.

*Only other con I can think of is.. if you played here and only here it will... how do I say this. Not make you realize how far a normal course is. Thus your never really throwing that hard which in turn when you go to another course and your so used to 200-300ft holes when you come across a 350-700ft..
Other Thoughts: Yes the course is short. But it's what we have here in FWB and it's more then enough. This " short " course will test anyone and will help develop your short - mid range game a ton. It's just tight enough to punish you for a miss played shot but just open enough for some exciting ace runs and low scores.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Busy Course

2-4    10/22/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good location
-Good shade along the course
-Nice variation of play
-Good 3 par course
-Friendly locals
-Regular and Tournament play tee pads
Cons: -Tee pad signs need to show where basket is
-Not sure if distance on all signs is correct
-Some of the next basket tee pads are difficult to find
-Bathrooms would be nice, especially on an 18 basket course
-Would like to have had a par 4 or 5 distance
Other Thoughts: Only been playing disc golf for about four months when I first played this course, so keep that in mind.
We really enjoyed playing here in the middle of October, great weather. First tee is there as soon as you park your car. There is map of the course at the first tee, but unless you remember all 18 baskets it does not do a whole lot for you once you get started. I say this because although the signs at each tee pad are great the only thing I wish they would have had is a layout of where the basket was for that fairway.
The locals were great. We saw quite a few people out there that day and everyone got along well, really nice to see out there.
As I mentioned before bathrooms would be nice. Someone mentioned there were bathrooms on the baseball field, on the other side of the park. There is also a tennis court as well.
Did enjoy the different types of play. There are a few basket with water on them, which they seem to be more for intimidation than anything else, and they worked as I went in the water twice. There is also a walking trail spread throughout and you have to be aware of pedestians along the way. The course is lined with some houses, but never really had problem with any of them or their owners. I was informed they did move a basket or two as it was causing problems, but have since been relocated. But as I mentioned we saw no problems.
I think this is a fun course for all players and would enjoy going back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but fun

1    6/22/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Shaded, a big pro for hot, sunny Florida
- Nice concrete tee pads
- Not real challenging, but it's always fun to get a low score
- Bamboo poles w/ hooks in strategic locations along the creek
Cons:
- Very short, no real need for a driver
- Flat, somewhat repetitive wooded shots
- The creek running through smells quite foul
- Unfriendly signs all around the neighboring backyards
Other Thoughts:
I played this course while on vacation, and it kind of felt like my arm was on vacation too. Just a lot of short, moderately technical shots. Not a big test, but still fun. Make sure to stay out of the water, it smells like death. The tee pads are nice, but the "long" pads are kind of a joke.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Vacation from your Vacation

2-4    5/7/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice short course in which the beginner can learn to throw all kinds of shots and not have to be intimidated by those guys that throw 350+ bombs. The experienced player can work on their putt and midrange game. Setting is cool as a park surrounded by a housing addition. Some water hazards as well as tight fairways make for challenging pin placement.
Cons: This course is NOT a course where you want to work on your distance shots. Houses are too close and nearly every yard has a 'keep out' sign and a fence/net so it's obvious that folks are tired of their yards and homes being hammered by a barrage or Rocs and Putters being flung their direction. Keep your bag simple: Midranges, Putters, and maybe two drivers.
Other Thoughts: I was there with family vacationing in Destin/Fort Walton Beach area. Bear in mind this isn't a 'championship' level course, but it's a great place to go first thing in the morning before the rest of your family gets up to go to the beach. The locals are friendly and the baskets look cool with all of the ace grafitti on the yellow part of the disc catchers. It is also the closest park to the area for about 20 miles so make the best of the course and use it to your advantage: pin placement and lowering your score.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good Course TERRIBLE People

5+    3/27/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: vadive
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is fun for the better players that want to work on their short game. I honestly am about average on my skill level and I only used drivers on 3 holes and one of them was just a light shot so I could skip it in close to the pin. There are grabbers for water holes so when you throw your disc in the water you can retrieve it in shallow water. It is laid out pretty well and there is a good mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Many holes are aceable, which makes it interesting for those who are really accurate with their midrange and putters.
Cons: The cons definitely outweigh the pros of the course. My only reason for playing was because it was 4 miles away while on vacation. I had MULTIPLE run ins with the locals and their poor etiquette. Also there are many many people using the park and it is a very high foot traffic park and there were many waits to throw because of people walking through. Only once in a total of 10 rounds were we allowed to play through a large group that was playing very slow. There is also a group of kids who thinks it is funny to yell while you are trying to putt and call you names as you walk to the next hole. Many of the holes are too easy there isn't need for a distance shot and it was not tight enough to qualify for a need of a good controlled midrange shot. I am more disappointed in the character and drug use of the locals. To have a course 4 miles from the beach front you would think that they would take pride in sharing the course with travelers but apparently they do not care.
Other Thoughts: My other thoughts about this course is basically what I have stated previously. If the locals were not so primal in their actions and selfish the course would definitely receive a higher score however, the behavior was unacceptable and even unlawful.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My First course

5+    1/8/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: joe_kool315
Played: 63  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As mentioned, this is a good course to learn the game on. Big arms will get board unless they concentrate on making everything "approach shots". Beginners can get out there and really work on form with the left and right turning holes and the many holes that you have to keep the disc flight 6' or lower to get under the tree path
Cons: only 3 holes 300' or longer, another 4 in the 260' range. Better players will be throwing approach putters on 9 to 11 holes or backing off mid-ranges. Again a good course to concentrate on form and bettering your short game.
Other Thoughts: New players can grab a low speed stable to understable driver, slow straight mid-range and a putter and have a blast. Good players can get a firm approach/putter, soft putter, maybe a very slow mid-range(buzzz, Roc, Skeeter) and a Teebird like disc and shoot very well if your accurate

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 amazing

1    8/7/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: cullen50
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: well maintained, beautiful, so close to the beach u can hear the boats. uses its space great. close to disk shop.
Cons: short holes. i almost got lost trying to find one of the holes. but other that that one hole the signs were easy to read.
Other Thoughts: this course has an amazing setting. i really enjoyed shooting around the palm trees and finding the sea shell on the course. make sure u dont sling a disk in the water. we saw people searching each water hazard. lol.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center