Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #6
3 / 213ft.   3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Good Course TERRIBLE People

5+    3/27/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: vadive
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is fun for the better players that want to work on their short game. I honestly am about average on my skill level and I only used drivers on 3 holes and one of them was just a light shot so I could skip it in close to the pin. There are grabbers for water holes so when you throw your disc in the water you can retrieve it in shallow water. It is laid out pretty well and there is a good mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Many holes are aceable, which makes it interesting for those who are really accurate with their midrange and putters.
Cons: The cons definitely outweigh the pros of the course. My only reason for playing was because it was 4 miles away while on vacation. I had MULTIPLE run ins with the locals and their poor etiquette. Also there are many many people using the park and it is a very high foot traffic park and there were many waits to throw because of people walking through. Only once in a total of 10 rounds were we allowed to play through a large group that was playing very slow. There is also a group of kids who thinks it is funny to yell while you are trying to putt and call you names as you walk to the next hole. Many of the holes are too easy there isn't need for a distance shot and it was not tight enough to qualify for a need of a good controlled midrange shot. I am more disappointed in the character and drug use of the locals. To have a course 4 miles from the beach front you would think that they would take pride in sharing the course with travelers but apparently they do not care.
Other Thoughts: My other thoughts about this course is basically what I have stated previously. If the locals were not so primal in their actions and selfish the course would definitely receive a higher score however, the behavior was unacceptable and even unlawful.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My First course

5+    1/8/2011   1/10/2011
Review By: joe_kool315
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As mentioned, this is a good course to learn the game on. Big arms will get board unless they concentrate on making everything "approach shots". Beginners can get out there and really work on form with the left and right turning holes and the many holes that you have to keep the disc flight 6' or lower to get under the tree path
Cons: only 3 holes 300' or longer, another 4 in the 260' range. Better players will be throwing approach putters on 9 to 11 holes or backing off mid-ranges. Again a good course to concentrate on form and bettering your short game.
Other Thoughts: New players can grab a low speed stable to understable driver, slow straight mid-range and a putter and have a blast. Good players can get a firm approach/putter, soft putter, maybe a very slow mid-range(buzzz, Roc, Skeeter) and a Teebird like disc and shoot very well if your accurate

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 amazing

1    8/7/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: cullen50
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: well maintained, beautiful, so close to the beach u can hear the boats. uses its space great. close to disk shop.
Cons: short holes. i almost got lost trying to find one of the holes. but other that that one hole the signs were easy to read.
Other Thoughts: this course has an amazing setting. i really enjoyed shooting around the palm trees and finding the sea shell on the course. make sure u dont sling a disk in the water. we saw people searching each water hazard. lol.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 First In Florida

1    3/16/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: redmanhmg
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: With my short experience this was a smooth course. Nice layout easy to get to the next tee box. well manicured just an overall great appearance. In a nice part of town, you don't have one eye on your disk and one on your truck.
Cons: I think it has some sewage over flow that runs through the park, really nasty. Just play those holes short and be careful. If you do hit the muck use the cane poles that are in the white pvc pipes. It only took once to figure out what they were for.
Other Thoughts: A must play for any one beginners will have a blast,, though you won't need a big arm.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/10/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: thekid0717
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/6/2012
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: home course. i throw my jk aviar or my 10x aviar on every hole.
Cons: Busy park. lots of people on the walking trail.
Other Thoughts: 1-short hole. nice little finger pop through the gap.
2- nice little turnover shot. i throw a 10x kc aviar
3- wide open. trees on right. i throw a jk aviar
4- short s shot. i throw a 10x aviar
5-low hanging tree in front. lots of people throw fingerpop. i throw a firebird slow
6-short. i throw jk aviar.
7- long hanging trees near basket. i throw a jk aviar
8- lots of people throw down sidewalk. i throw a slow firebird.
9- pretty long with low hanging tree. a definite buzzz hole
10- short. i throw a 10x aviar.
11- fingerpop s shot. i throw a slow destroyer. good luck throwing bachand.
12- slight hyzer. easy jk aviar shot
13- s shot. i throw a 10x aviar
14- big hyzer. i throw a sky hzer gator.
15- straight with guard trees easy ace i have hit basket and chains 6 times w/ one ace
16- fingerpop shot. i throw skip x-cal
17- 2nd longest. i throw a tee bird straight at it
18- straight route or big any. i throw a teebird and let it flip.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Fun

1    4/17/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Tee Pads and a few holes even have pro and am.
Baskets are Discatchers and in good condition.
A great course to just throw mids and putters.
Some shots require you to throw over water and keep the disc low or you will be in the tree.
Cons: Quite a bit of foot traffic. busy park but everyone was nice.
not this best signage from hole to hole.
plays very short but this was great for a change.
would be a great course for those just beginning.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great little course

5+    1/29/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: rkbraves
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice little course with the amount of space granted. Trees, water, technical shots with some longer holes for semi big throws. Cement tees, DISCatchers, hole markers and benches. Great parking,and bathrooms at ballfield.
Cons: Busy course depending on time and day. Walkers, joggers,bikes. Some holes are muddy if it has rained alot.
Other Thoughts: This a great little course for practice or new golfers starting out. A little patients takes care of the walkers,joggers, and bikes. Nice park and well maintained.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not very impressed with this short course...

2-4    12/29/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: chain-addicted
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Safe, family oriented park very close to Floridas' beautiful Emerald Gulf Coast. A short drive from one of the countries most visited family vacation destinations.

* Park amenities include tennis courts, handball court, baseball/softball field.
* Very nice concrete, tapered tee-pads.
* Benches at almost every hole.
* Innova Disc-catcher baskets.
*Course map and golf-pencils/scorecards at the kiosk near the first tee-pad.

Fairly easy course for the beginner to moderate player.
Cons: Only course in the area as of this review. Not very easy to navigate (i.e. no "next tee" signs). Water hazards on alot of the holes though the water is not very deep and disc retrieval is very possible. No trash cans at any of the tees.

Poor design on some of the holes, in my opinion. For example, on holes #6 & #10 they had an exercise station that was in the fairway/line to those baskets.

In another example of this courses poor design, you have to walk right next to (or across the fairway of) basket #4 just to get to tee-pad #3.

Fences in the way of some drives. Very muddy on some of the fairways causing some of the holes to be rendered unplayable. Overcrowded and several fairways have a walking/jogging path cutting through some of the fairways causing you to have to yield to path users. Stepping in canine fecal matter is possible on this course so watch your step!
Other Thoughts: I used to live in Ft. Walton Beach but started playing DG when I moved to Charlotte in 2008, so getting to play this course when I came back down to visit my folks was high up on the "to do" list.

I give it an "A+" for effort and feel that it is at least SOMETHING for the locals who want/need to be exposed to the sport yet it came off as a course that was just "shoved in" to an already existing park.

Make sure you check out the areas top-rated beaches while you are in the area! It is a must in the spring/summer time.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Came Out Ahead

1    11/3/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: LoneGraffitist
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised when I played this course, as it was much more challenging than I expected, given the distances. That or I was just under my game. For my first time playing, I got around fine, they have a nice map at the start, so take a good look at the beginning and again when you come around after hole 5 and you will see the tricky bits. Overarching trees make the short approaches challenging. Just enough water to add stress to your life. I lost a boss in the water (never had the arm for it anyways) but found a champion leopard and a viper when i looked for it, so I think I came out ahead. restroom was nice at the rec center.
Cons: locals have taped out what appears to be out-of-bounds lines, but i like the course better without it... plenty of natural boundaries.
Other Thoughts: course and park really fit in the old neighborhood. plenty of shade from the heat.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Lol wats the title for?

5+    8/25/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: joeski8
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: They did a very good job with the amount of space there is at the park.

Cons: Expect alot of people on the pathways.
Other Thoughts: Great course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.