Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #5
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Nice Course

1    7/12/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: JNash16
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has very nice concrete tee pads. Most holes even have 2 tee locations. The holes are very well thought out.
Cons: There were several pedestrians running/walking through the course, but it was not a big deal at all.
Other Thoughts: On hole 3 a squirrel fell about 30 feet out of a tree.... was AWESOME!!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ferry Park

1    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Toy Cannon
Played: 136  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park with a nice surrounding. The park has good double chain baskets with concrete tee pads. This a short course but with many trees and a good variety of shots. They have nice tee signs and two sets of tee boxes.
Cons: This course is a little to short and a lot of pedestrians. Some holes are hard to see so may need a spotter.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Too Short

2-4    5/24/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed given the small park it occupies.
Cons: Very short course. Lots of pedestrian traffic that frequently interferes with play.
Other Thoughts: No need to bring your driver. A putter and a mid-range will more than suffice for this small, community park based course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Job on Limited Land

1    4/29/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: hooboy
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park has done the best they could with limited land. The holes are mostly short, but well laid out. Need to turn the disc both ways here, and mainly keep it low under lots of branches. Usually two tees per hole, some cement, distance markers at every tee box. I could see where they are working on this course, i.e. molds for cement tee boxes. This is the only course close to Destin / Ft. Walton. You can definitely make birdies here with accurate throws.
Cons: The course is short, and somewhat crammed in. Big arms will be bored. At times you feel like you are in someone's backyard. Big potential to lose discs in a creek / canal that runs through the course. Holes 12-16 have you "trapped" on one side of the canal. On one hole my disc kicked the wrong way, across the creek, had to hike back several holes to get to the other side of a fairly narrow waterway - group behind me did the same. Some walks to next tee not well marked, I got lost a few times. Tees not consistent, not always cement, and not always two per hole. There is a walking path with exercise stations that come into play on several holes. I played on a weekday morning, but still had to wait for several walkers.
Other Thoughts: I was frustrated as I had to search a long time for two lost discs, and/or walk a long way around the creek. Found them both, but you can lose discs easily here. All in all, it seems they have done they best they could with limited space. Not bad for a little practice, but be careful with your throws!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/10/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of a nice city park. Multiple tees on most of the holes. There is plenty of variety and good use of the stream meandering thru the park. It's a relitively short course but requires shapeing you shots. Good beginner course but plenty of trouble available for errant shots.
Cons: Tees are all natural and well worn with tree roots in many. With the trip hazard I found myself useing what ever flat spot I could find. The tees really need to be upgraded. The signs only give hole number and distance. There is a real potential to hit someone with a disc as the park is very busy. Hole # 10 requires a shot directly over one of the many kiddy play areas. Fortunately it was not being used at the time I was playing. I would not recomment the risk if kids are playing here.
Other Thoughts: Even though this is a relitively short course there is plenty of challenge in the form of water and obsticles. With the addition of the second nine hole there are now two 300 + holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in Florida

2-4    12/2/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets, nice tee signs, fun hole variety, great use of park land, multiple tee pads.
Cons: Dirt/rutty tee stations, difficult to navigate hole to hole for first timer, no course map, could not see many baskets from tee, no practice basket. Not first timer friendly, no long holes to let 'er rip.
Other Thoughts: Just to begin, the directions need updated. Do as they say, but follow Hughes street until you come to Ferry Street. Turn right (south) on Ferry street, cross the bridge, and then turn right into the recreation area parking lot. The first hole is in the back right corner of the parking lot. I spent 20-25 minutes looking for the first hole when I parked next to the baseball fields across from the school. Do not park here, park at the Recreation building.

After finally finding the tee station for hole 1, I had to walk half way up the fairway to even see where the basket was. This was the case for several of the holes for my first time to play the course.

After completing the course for the first time, I played through 2 more rounds. I really enjoyed the variety of holes: dogleg lefts, dogleg rights, over the creeks, through the woods, under the trees.

All tee stations were dirt or sand; number 6 had many roots from the trees sticking up. I had to tee off in front of the actual tee area to avoid tripping.

Number 13 as mentioned has the 6 foot high fence where you could lose a disc into the treatment plant, but that would require a pretty bad toss.

Most of the holes were under 225 (short tees) making for some great ace runs.

If you play this course for the first time, don't get too frustrated on your first round. Play it again and you'll see that it is a fun course and not too difficult. I really enjoyed the design of the course (not so much on my first time to play) and appreciated the wildlife and vegetation.

I would recommend playing this course to anyone that is in the area. Just remember to park in the recreation building parking lot in the back right corner to find the first tee. Otherwise you may be looking for awhile.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 First Time Here

1    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: loledu
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety basket to basket. Just enlarged from 9 to 18 baskets. Most baskets are under 300' so it's great for beginners who don't have the arm for distance drives.
Cons: Tee pads are grass and many are littered with roots.There is no sign directing you to the first pad and there is no course map. The signs at the tee pads only have a county/park logo and distance, there is no directional assistance.

Basket 13 was previously mentioned as being a flawed basket. To reach the basket you must avoid a 8' fence that encloses a piece of Federal Property. I lost a disc here, so if anyone finds a black lightning hookshot #2...
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed what little time I played the course. I'm sure after a few visits I would enjoy it more. My enjoyment is lessened when I have to guess where the baskets are.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short course

5+    8/5/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is some variety with open shots and some fairly heavy woods and also water comes into play on several holes. In a park with ball fields so there are bathroom facilities available. Fairly easy to follow. Good signage. 2 sets of tees
Cons: Not many. It is a multi use park so you have to watch for other users. There was a great deal of traffic and you occasionally had to wait for a second or 2 but not a big issue. I went after a rain and the course held some water but only in a few places and all holes were playable.
Other Thoughts: If you like long open courses,it's not for you. In spite of the cons it is a fun little course. Despite the shortness of the course there is some hazard and risk/reward largely due to the water. There are a lot of birdies to be had if you can be accurate but if you miss a shot the course can make you pay. For example I played 5 rounds there and 4 of them were under par but the other round was 5 over with 2 penalty strokes for water. In one sense it could be considered beginner friendly because of it's shortness but on the other hand the water makes it easy to lose discs. I lost 2 and I haven't lost one all summer to this point.UPDATE: the course is now 18 holes

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.