Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #6
3 / 213ft.   3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Came Out Ahead

1    11/3/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: LoneGraffitist
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised when I played this course, as it was much more challenging than I expected, given the distances. That or I was just under my game. For my first time playing, I got around fine, they have a nice map at the start, so take a good look at the beginning and again when you come around after hole 5 and you will see the tricky bits. Overarching trees make the short approaches challenging. Just enough water to add stress to your life. I lost a boss in the water (never had the arm for it anyways) but found a champion leopard and a viper when i looked for it, so I think I came out ahead. restroom was nice at the rec center.
Cons: locals have taped out what appears to be out-of-bounds lines, but i like the course better without it... plenty of natural boundaries.
Other Thoughts: course and park really fit in the old neighborhood. plenty of shade from the heat.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Lol wats the title for?

5+    8/25/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: joeski8
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: They did a very good job with the amount of space there is at the park.

Cons: Expect alot of people on the pathways.
Other Thoughts: Great course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 FUN BUT FRUSTRATING

5+    8/11/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 29  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun to play, short, cement tees, fairly easy to find your way around, great first throw will lead to a bird.
Cons: Jogger, dog walkers in the way, could use directional signs, hole 5 is a pain....too many beginners are starting to play making it a drag for us advanced players
Other Thoughts: Fun for beginners

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

1    8/3/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long but narrow concrete tees, some have 2 most just have one. Nice baskets, nice signs though there is no map on each sign so you have to look to where the basket is.
A good, quick round with some challenge and risk but mostly short holes.
Cons: Needs a few next tee signs. The 2-3 transition (as covered before) is kind of rough.
Other Thoughts: While mostly short holes there are some risky shots with the water in play. It was a very hot day and the wooded holes were very welcome. They all have a clearly defined fairway and quite a few holes have water in play. We found it odd that the blues were the easier tees here.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Biaoni Beach Bash 2009

1    7/30/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very nice tee pads. The concrete pads were the longest I've seen and they flared out on the ends.

-Excellent signs. There was a nice map of the entire course posted on the large board near hole 1 and each hole had high-quality metal signs designating the hole number and distance.

-Some unique hole types. The one that comes to mind is hole 5. You play along a creek and you must decide to cross the creek early or late.

-Good locals. Charlie played a while with me and showed me around. He even let me use his phone since I had forgot mine.
Cons: -Lack of challenge. The course was fairly simple and pretty short. Also it didn't have much variety.

-Course flow. The trip from the basket on hole 2 to the tee on hole 3 is the worst. The rest of the course is not that bad, but there are a few bad spots.

-No benches or trash bins that I recall.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly young according to the one local I played with, so some of those cons can get corrected over time. The course was pretty fun even though it lacked variety.

Not being from the area, it was neat to play amongst the palms and other plants and trees native to Florida.

The parking seemed adequate and it was free to play. I could see other park traffic being a problem during a weekend round.

They saved the best for last. Hole 18 is my favorite of that course.

Overall I had fun and was glad to meet Charlie.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/12/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: JNash16
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has very nice concrete tee pads. Most holes even have 2 tee locations. The holes are very well thought out.
Cons: There were several pedestrians running/walking through the course, but it was not a big deal at all.
Other Thoughts: On hole 3 a squirrel fell about 30 feet out of a tree.... was AWESOME!!!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ferry Park

1    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Toy Cannon
Played: 140  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park with a nice surrounding. The park has good double chain baskets with concrete tee pads. This a short course but with many trees and a good variety of shots. They have nice tee signs and two sets of tee boxes.
Cons: This course is a little to short and a lot of pedestrians. Some holes are hard to see so may need a spotter.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Too Short

2-4    5/24/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed given the small park it occupies.
Cons: Very short course. Lots of pedestrian traffic that frequently interferes with play.
Other Thoughts: No need to bring your driver. A putter and a mid-range will more than suffice for this small, community park based course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Job on Limited Land

1    4/29/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: hooboy
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park has done the best they could with limited land. The holes are mostly short, but well laid out. Need to turn the disc both ways here, and mainly keep it low under lots of branches. Usually two tees per hole, some cement, distance markers at every tee box. I could see where they are working on this course, i.e. molds for cement tee boxes. This is the only course close to Destin / Ft. Walton. You can definitely make birdies here with accurate throws.
Cons: The course is short, and somewhat crammed in. Big arms will be bored. At times you feel like you are in someone's backyard. Big potential to lose discs in a creek / canal that runs through the course. Holes 12-16 have you "trapped" on one side of the canal. On one hole my disc kicked the wrong way, across the creek, had to hike back several holes to get to the other side of a fairly narrow waterway - group behind me did the same. Some walks to next tee not well marked, I got lost a few times. Tees not consistent, not always cement, and not always two per hole. There is a walking path with exercise stations that come into play on several holes. I played on a weekday morning, but still had to wait for several walkers.
Other Thoughts: I was frustrated as I had to search a long time for two lost discs, and/or walk a long way around the creek. Found them both, but you can lose discs easily here. All in all, it seems they have done they best they could with limited space. Not bad for a little practice, but be careful with your throws!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/10/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 112  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of a nice city park. Multiple tees on most of the holes. There is plenty of variety and good use of the stream meandering thru the park. It's a relitively short course but requires shapeing you shots. Good beginner course but plenty of trouble available for errant shots.
Cons: Tees are all natural and well worn with tree roots in many. With the trip hazard I found myself useing what ever flat spot I could find. The tees really need to be upgraded. The signs only give hole number and distance. There is a real potential to hit someone with a disc as the park is very busy. Hole # 10 requires a shot directly over one of the many kiddy play areas. Fortunately it was not being used at the time I was playing. I would not recomment the risk if kids are playing here.
Other Thoughts: Even though this is a relitively short course there is plenty of challenge in the form of water and obsticles. With the addition of the second nine hole there are now two 300 + holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.