Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #5
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
A Favorite Course Among The Locals With Some Nice Features

1    11/1/2016   11/1/2016
Review By: Majshark
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes are typically short that favors finesse over power. Narrow fairways between tees with the occasional water hazard provides some solid variety between the 18 holes.
Adequate signage for tee direction and location.
Although there is a lot of people traffic on and through the park (joggers, walkers, other players) the course is pretty clean.
Concrete tees. Nice, concrete paths between holes.
Cons: As mentioned above, this course is VERY busy with other park visitors, and thus patience is a virtue.
Missing the fairway on several holes could mean landing a disc in someone's backyard or in the drink.
Other Thoughts: This course is geared for those patient players who seek accuracy over slinging bombs. If you don't kind a crowded park with a nice variety of holes, this course is for you.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Half sandy/Half wet

5+    6/16/2016   8/17/2016
Review By: HumDyn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Easy travel time to get to course.
2. Trees make it challenging
3. A sidewalk for walkers winds thru the course
Cons: 1. Heavy use has rendered the first six holes very sandy which makes walking difficult.
2. The second half of the course is swampy. If you go after a recent rain, you will have to hop from dry spot to dry spot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Relaxing Ace Runs

1    8/14/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 73  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great course map right at the course entrance.
- Some holes had multiple pin placements and most had multiple tee pads
- Reasonable tee boxes (concrete). some had seating, and most had a place to set your bag.
- Great ace run opportunities. I'm sure the local's are racking them up.
- Fairly easy to navigate, I only had to reference my map once between hole 16/17. go left there's a small path between the fence and creek.
- Overgrowth was mostly in check, i never spent more than 10 seconds searching for my disc.
- Great parking and restrooms facilities at hole one tee.
- Fairly nice park setting. there were other park amenities in the park.
- Park patrons were friendly.
Cons: - Not challenging enough and too short for advanced players. don't get me wrong, i enjoyed playing the course as i found it relaxing.
- Most of the shots were pretty straight, or only had a slight jog. they did sometimes use the trees effectively to make up for the shortness and straightness though.
- The creek going thru the course looked extra silty and muddy, i could be wrong but i would have hated to put my disc in it.
- Course is tightly packed and you may need to stop a few times for joggers or others disc golfing groups on other holes.
- Extremely Flat course, typical for Florida. one basket was elevated.
- Hot and extra humid during the summer.
- Could use a few more spots for garbage collection.
Other Thoughts: - I'm pretty sure i would play this course a lot if I lived nearby. this course is perfect for beginners and rec players or those who prefer shorter courses. pros and advanced players will walk away wishing they just brought only a putter or that they went somewhere else.
- if your the exploring type of disc golfer or a vacationer, check this course out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    3/8/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has both long and short tees on many holes. Tee boxes are marked nicely with yardage. Most baskets are easily seen from tee boxes. Baskets are in good shape. Water is in play on 4 holes, but easy enough to drive over. A Lot of natural obstacles placed strategically. One basket is raised up higher than all others, interesting touch.
Cons: Since the course is placed throughout a park, there is a lot of foot traffic Most holes are reached easily enough by a driver.
Other Thoughts: Although the conditions were windy, the natural surroundings cut the wind quite a bit. I enjoyed this course much more than Morgan Sports Complex and Chain Dragon. I saw a blue heron in the river also. I would play this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ferry Park

5+    2/12/2016   2/12/2016
Review By: scotems1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, very well maintained, nice baskets, well marked hole numbers, absolutely beautiful scenery. Short but challenging course. Also challenging because there is lots of water.
Cons: Very heavy traffic. Ferry Park also has a walking/jogging course, baseball fields and children's playground. Just a little rain can cause the course to get very wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice, challenging course. Great for working on your finesse game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ferry Park Disc Golf Course

2-4    10/4/2015   10/11/2015
Review By: calebwilliams507
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well-maintained
- Concrete tees (pro and ameteur tees)
- Multiple pins
- Innova DisCatcher baskets
- Beautiful scenery
- Not an extremely long course
Cons: - adjacent to fenced backyards
- Lots of walkers, runners, etc
- Often many other disc golfers, leading to waiting to tee off
Other Thoughts: The Ferry Park disc golf course is a well-maintained disc golf course, however its location in a heavily-used park means that players often must wait to tee off to to walkers and other pedestrians. It is all too easy to throw a disc into someone's backyard with all of the trees, especially when playing from the red tees. There is a great variety of holes, and the course is never boring. If it weren't for the risk of losing a disc in a backyard, I would rate the course at a 3.5. I would rather lose a disc in a lake and not be able to see it then be able to see a disc in a someone's yard, but not able to reach it . . .

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    7/16/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: mateo4815
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Very fun
- Well marked
- Nice Little Park
- Lots of people playing
- Very Nice Tees
Cons: - A little short for a full 18 hole course
- Lots of people playing
Other Thoughts: While I was here there were lots of people playing. We had to wait several times to get to the next hole. However, its nice having other people on the course to point you in the right direction.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course was well taken care of! No problem finding our way around! Nice way to spend a couple hours while on vacation! Ace hardware had a great selection of disc.
Cons: Marsh area was kinda sketchy. Some guy was telling me of some baby snakes back there. Hate snakes so i was on the watch lol
Other Thoughts: My son,his friend and myself had a blast at this course. If I ever get back down this way It will be on my play list!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Short & Sweet

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: cadillac77jk
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean park, good directionals between baskets, Pro/Am pads, very well taken care of, friendly locals, really NO reason you should lose a disc
Cons: mostly short holes even from the Pro pads, lots of repetition and similar shaping shots (mostly straight), course could be played with only a stable midrange (Roc/Shark/Buzz) and still manage par or better - who doesn't love a good one disc challenge anyways :)
Other Thoughts: Definitely play this course if you are in the area! With a few exceptions, most holes range between 190-250 feet, so leave the distance drivers in the car. Since playing it once will take you about an hour, go ahead and put a few more mid range discs in your bag and play each pad 3 times with different shot shapes. It won't take you more than an extra minute or so and you'll get more bang for your buck without all the extra walking.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Play It If In Town

1    8/10/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many pros to its name: good course layout, nice park, fun and easy, good tees and tee signs, Pro and amateur tees, good baskets. Overall, the course is very enjoyable as a short 18 hole par 3 layout. The holes weave through the park, giving you a nice walk through woods and open areas. Good place to just take a mid range and hone that part of your game. If you are a first timer then just play the shorter tees as it gives you the best opportunity to ace a hole (as many have done).
Cons: Sometimes, next hole signs would be beneficial but for the most part the course is easy to navigate. Most distances marked on the tee signs are incorrect, so take with a grain of salt (or sand in this case). Since it is a short course there is little variety in disc choice.
Other Thoughts: I would not go out of my way to play this course but if you are a disc golfer vacationing in the Destin/Fort Walton area then it is definitely worth the drive. For the most part I am not partial to beach area disc golf courses as they usually do not lend to any sort of elevation changes or interesting views/throws (only exception Blue Angels DGCs) but I would say that this is probably the best 18 hole course option in the Gulf area (if you're not going to Blue Angels). This is a very enjoyable course that has woods, water, and aces. The course is easy to find and navigate, so enjoy it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.