Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #2
3 / 171ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A golf course in my home town!?!?

5+    5/3/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: NickRappazini
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Signage... A complete course map at hole 1. Tee signs on each hole, with distance. +1

Baskets, Tee pads. Check and check. +1


Trash, Benches, Water and Restrooms...

The activity center was closed, so no water or restrooms, but plenty of trash and benches. +.5

Course design... You must have a OUT and IN to be a professional course. Other than that, for being a short course the throws are varied and the difficulty still exists. Aces are possible on most holes, but so are bogies!!! +.5
Cons: Signage ... Other than an empty mailbox where scorecards would be, it's great.

Would like to have a Restroom and water, especially around hole nine. -.5


The course is in a multi-use park and doesn't have hole nine and ten around the clubhouse. Also the transition to hole three goes through the green of hole #4 and the tee pad of #5, probably the worst transition I've ever seen -.5

Other Thoughts: Although this is a great course in a small park out of the way, I can't see giving it an *extra* point for anything special. I cannot think of an epic hole, or any really special for that matter.

So total points - 3 . Worth going out of your way for, but not too far.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A waltz through a neighborhood...

1    9/28/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: Bimbambogart
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The water shots are great and setup to where its hard to lose a disc.
There's nets so you don't throw into peoples yard.
This course was a lot of fun.
Cons: I've got nothing.
Other Thoughts: A drink machine would be cool...

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Compact

1    12/19/2012   12/27/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 448  Reviewed: 360  Exp: 8.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Just over half the holes have two concrete (12' long) tees, with red farther from basket than blue.
Cons:
Walking path often comes into play in this popular, midst-of-neighbourhood park
Other Thoughts:
Course is located in a very flat, fairly open, multi-purpose park, split in the middle by a small stream. In addition to the water, both random and copses of trees are used to define fairways, and provide obstacles. The water likely won't come into play for experienced players, but a beginner might manage to find it.

If bombing is your thing, you won't find it here, as the shorts average ~215', the longs ~240', with only three holes >300'. If twisting and turning your disc through tight paths and narrow windows is your preference, your won't find that here either, as even the tight holes aren't that tight, and are only tight for a limited duration. However, if you want to work on your ~225'+/- game, needing mostly straight throws, with a smattering of late rights or lefts to have many birdy chances, then this is a course you'll want to play.

Despite the absence of a map, there are lots of directional signs, and the course was fairly easy to navigate, as long as you realize to:
- cross a bridge to find holes 3, 4, and tee-5.
- cross a bridge to find tee-7, but you'll be throwing back across from whence you just came.
- after basket-16, go left for a bit of a walk to tee-17.
- after basket-17, go left for a bit of a walk to find tee-18.

It is actually kinda amazing the designers fit in an 18-hole course w/o the holes interfering with one another - holes 3&4 do a bit, but that's about it. Stop by for a round if you want to work on your short game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, fun, fun!

2-4    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 72  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you're bringing a newbie out to teach the game, this is the course for you! If you need a course to put confidence back in your game, this is the place! If you need a course to test your arm...go some where else! But for me, a guy with moderate power and finesse, this course was perfect. I played 2 rounds back-to-back in a little over an hour and wasn't the least bit winded.

And with the majority of the holes being putter-shots, all I took was my putter, a buzzz and my trusty eagle. I shot 8-10 down every round.

The course is also very easy to navigate with hole 7 being the only tricky one. Lots of tee signs and markers with distance.
Cons: Walkers, walkers, walkers. Did I mention walkers? Lots of 'em! That and walkers with dogs. We are the red-headed step children (no offence to red-headed step children!) in the sports world and don't get no respect! The walkers completely ignore you and trudge right down the fairways and where you are looking to throw. So you gotta be real careful before you chunk a shot out of sight.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/5/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 197  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 very nice baskets in a multi purpose park. There were concrete tee pads at each hole, some holes even had an alternate, longer tee pad for more of a challenge.

This was probably one of the easiest courses to navigate that I have been to. The signs at each hole were clear and the next tee pad was never more than 10' away from the last hole.

The locals out on the course were very nice and helpful. One group of guys were playing an alternate version of the course that is widely accepted among the locals and it makes this course very challenging if you meet the right people.

There were restrooms and water nearby.

This course can be played in about an hour which can be a pro if you are on vacation and only have a limited amount of time to go out and play.

Almost all 18 holes are Ace Runs which can add a bit of excitement here.
Cons: The course is very short. There is nothing over 300' and quite a few holes are under 180', there is no opportunity to rip throws and it is hardly necessary to bring anything faster than a mid range due to the shortness of the course.

Although a creek does run through a few holes it is not a huge problem but if you happen to shank a drive and it lands in the water, getting it back would be a problem as the water smells very bad and there is no visibility.

A few of the first holes play extremely close to the backs of some houses almost to the point where it makes you think twice about going for the ace.
Other Thoughts: I was on vacation at Fort Walton and came to play here and it was very enjoyable. I will look forward to each summer coming back here so I can play at Ferry Park.

If you are in town be sure to go to Key Chains Bike and Disc Store that is about a five minute drive from the close. They have a good selection of discs; they are also very helpful and if you have the time to play, they will invite you to the weekly mini that they have at Ferry Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty

2-4    6/9/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 91  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a pleasant neighborhood park. It is well manicured, has concrete tees, dual pads on many of the holes, and 18 new discatchers. Navigation was a snap between holes, and all of the holes themselves were straightforward. As far as basic amenities, this course was great.
Cons: Not a whole lot to say here. The lengths were a bit repetitive, all par three, mostly flat, and most around the 200' mark. From a course design standpoint, some of the holes got a little closer to other park users and folks' backyards for my tastes.
Other Thoughts: For me, the reason this course is a 2.5 comes from a technical perspective. Most of the holes were short, fairly open, and right around that 200' mark. This makes the course a great tune-up for your short game, but it just isn't very challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

1    4/7/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: NightRavenKW
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well marked directions to next tee.
-Baskets are well maked.
-Good use of trees to make the course a little more interesting.
-All concrete tees.
Cons: -Course feels cramped. Many tees are close to homes.
-Busy park and you have to be aware of runners or people working out at the fitness stations.
-Water hazards are not really a factor.
Other Thoughts: This course is well laid out for the park that it is in. It is a small community park with a lot of activites; running/walking trails, baseball field, tennis courts, and more. The course and park feel small and the high population cause you to take more time with your throws.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good for Beginners

5+    2/29/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: Auto4Short
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly course. Has pro and am tee boxes. Nice long concrete tees.
Cons: Longest hole is about 367. More experienced players looking for a challenge may not get as much of a challenge from this course.
Other Thoughts: I began disc golfing 2 years ago and this is my hometown course. This is a good course for beginners to start on because of the short holes and the holes that require accuracy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun

5+    12/20/2011   1/14/2012
Review By: TeeJay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: it is all concrete tee pads
it has a practice basket
it has clear navigation
it has some challenging holes
it has a good club that takes care of the course Playground Disc Golf Club.
it has bamboo poles placed along the edge of holes that have water hazards.
it has bathrooms at the baseball fields by 7 and 17.
has am and pro tee pads
Cons: the holes are short
the water smells
the water is kind of murky so even if you have the pole you still might not be able to see your disc.
The bathrooms are a good distance away.
Other Thoughts: this course all in all is very fun i played my first tournament here and i enjoyed it alot so i would reccommend people play this course at least one time to see if they like it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    11/29/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: MrRob
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Wonderful layout
*Easy to find next tee
*Test your short / med game
*Home of Play Ground Disc Golf Club which takes care of the part. (( i.e. trash, dead fall, ect ect ))
Cons: *Walkers , It's a park. So there are walkers on the walking path that snakes it's way through the course. Also there or some work out stations that if someone is working out on you may either have to wait or just skip the hole and come back to it.

*Only other con I can think of is.. if you played here and only here it will... how do I say this. Not make you realize how far a normal course is. Thus your never really throwing that hard which in turn when you go to another course and your so used to 200-300ft holes when you come across a 350-700ft..
Other Thoughts: Yes the course is short. But it's what we have here in FWB and it's more then enough. This " short " course will test anyone and will help develop your short - mid range game a ton. It's just tight enough to punish you for a miss played shot but just open enough for some exciting ace runs and low scores.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.