Fort Walton Beach, FL 
Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: searle4 Hole #7
3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 First In Florida

1    3/16/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: redmanhmg
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: With my short experience this was a smooth course. Nice layout easy to get to the next tee box. well manicured just an overall great appearance. In a nice part of town, you don't have one eye on your disk and one on your truck.
Cons: I think it has some sewage over flow that runs through the park, really nasty. Just play those holes short and be careful. If you do hit the muck use the cane poles that are in the white pvc pipes. It only took once to figure out what they were for.
Other Thoughts: A must play for any one beginners will have a blast,, though you won't need a big arm.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/10/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: thekid0717
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/6/2012
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: home course. i throw my jk aviar or my 10x aviar on every hole.
Cons: Busy park. lots of people on the walking trail.
Other Thoughts: 1-short hole. nice little finger pop through the gap.
2- nice little turnover shot. i throw a 10x kc aviar
3- wide open. trees on right. i throw a jk aviar
4- short s shot. i throw a 10x aviar
5-low hanging tree in front. lots of people throw fingerpop. i throw a firebird slow
6-short. i throw jk aviar.
7- long hanging trees near basket. i throw a jk aviar
8- lots of people throw down sidewalk. i throw a slow firebird.
9- pretty long with low hanging tree. a definite buzzz hole
10- short. i throw a 10x aviar.
11- fingerpop s shot. i throw a slow destroyer. good luck throwing bachand.
12- slight hyzer. easy jk aviar shot
13- s shot. i throw a 10x aviar
14- big hyzer. i throw a sky hzer gator.
15- straight with guard trees easy ace i have hit basket and chains 6 times w/ one ace
16- fingerpop shot. i throw skip x-cal
17- 2nd longest. i throw a tee bird straight at it
18- straight route or big any. i throw a teebird and let it flip.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Fun

1    4/17/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Tee Pads and a few holes even have pro and am.
Baskets are Discatchers and in good condition.
A great course to just throw mids and putters.
Some shots require you to throw over water and keep the disc low or you will be in the tree.
Cons: Quite a bit of foot traffic. busy park but everyone was nice.
not this best signage from hole to hole.
plays very short but this was great for a change.
would be a great course for those just beginning.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great little course

5+    1/29/2010   1/30/2010
Review By: rkbraves
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice little course with the amount of space granted. Trees, water, technical shots with some longer holes for semi big throws. Cement tees, DISCatchers, hole markers and benches. Great parking,and bathrooms at ballfield.
Cons: Busy course depending on time and day. Walkers, joggers,bikes. Some holes are muddy if it has rained alot.
Other Thoughts: This a great little course for practice or new golfers starting out. A little patients takes care of the walkers,joggers, and bikes. Nice park and well maintained.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not very impressed with this short course...

2-4    12/29/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: chain-addicted
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Safe, family oriented park very close to Floridas' beautiful Emerald Gulf Coast. A short drive from one of the countries most visited family vacation destinations.

* Park amenities include tennis courts, handball court, baseball/softball field.
* Very nice concrete, tapered tee-pads.
* Benches at almost every hole.
* Innova Disc-catcher baskets.
*Course map and golf-pencils/scorecards at the kiosk near the first tee-pad.

Fairly easy course for the beginner to moderate player.
Cons: Only course in the area as of this review. Not very easy to navigate (i.e. no "next tee" signs). Water hazards on alot of the holes though the water is not very deep and disc retrieval is very possible. No trash cans at any of the tees.

Poor design on some of the holes, in my opinion. For example, on holes #6 & #10 they had an exercise station that was in the fairway/line to those baskets.

In another example of this courses poor design, you have to walk right next to (or across the fairway of) basket #4 just to get to tee-pad #3.

Fences in the way of some drives. Very muddy on some of the fairways causing some of the holes to be rendered unplayable. Overcrowded and several fairways have a walking/jogging path cutting through some of the fairways causing you to have to yield to path users. Stepping in canine fecal matter is possible on this course so watch your step!
Other Thoughts: I used to live in Ft. Walton Beach but started playing DG when I moved to Charlotte in 2008, so getting to play this course when I came back down to visit my folks was high up on the "to do" list.

I give it an "A+" for effort and feel that it is at least SOMETHING for the locals who want/need to be exposed to the sport yet it came off as a course that was just "shoved in" to an already existing park.

Make sure you check out the areas top-rated beaches while you are in the area! It is a must in the spring/summer time.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Came Out Ahead

1    11/3/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: LoneGraffitist
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised when I played this course, as it was much more challenging than I expected, given the distances. That or I was just under my game. For my first time playing, I got around fine, they have a nice map at the start, so take a good look at the beginning and again when you come around after hole 5 and you will see the tricky bits. Overarching trees make the short approaches challenging. Just enough water to add stress to your life. I lost a boss in the water (never had the arm for it anyways) but found a champion leopard and a viper when i looked for it, so I think I came out ahead. restroom was nice at the rec center.
Cons: locals have taped out what appears to be out-of-bounds lines, but i like the course better without it... plenty of natural boundaries.
Other Thoughts: course and park really fit in the old neighborhood. plenty of shade from the heat.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Lol wats the title for?

5+    8/25/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: joeski8
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: They did a very good job with the amount of space there is at the park.

Cons: Expect alot of people on the pathways.
Other Thoughts: Great course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 FUN BUT FRUSTRATING

5+    8/11/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun to play, short, cement tees, fairly easy to find your way around, great first throw will lead to a bird.
Cons: Jogger, dog walkers in the way, could use directional signs, hole 5 is a pain....too many beginners are starting to play making it a drag for us advanced players
Other Thoughts: Fun for beginners

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

1    8/3/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long but narrow concrete tees, some have 2 most just have one. Nice baskets, nice signs though there is no map on each sign so you have to look to where the basket is.
A good, quick round with some challenge and risk but mostly short holes.
Cons: Needs a few next tee signs. The 2-3 transition (as covered before) is kind of rough.
Other Thoughts: While mostly short holes there are some risky shots with the water in play. It was a very hot day and the wooded holes were very welcome. They all have a clearly defined fairway and quite a few holes have water in play. We found it odd that the blues were the easier tees here.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Biaoni Beach Bash 2009

1    7/30/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very nice tee pads. The concrete pads were the longest I've seen and they flared out on the ends.

-Excellent signs. There was a nice map of the entire course posted on the large board near hole 1 and each hole had high-quality metal signs designating the hole number and distance.

-Some unique hole types. The one that comes to mind is hole 5. You play along a creek and you must decide to cross the creek early or late.

-Good locals. Charlie played a while with me and showed me around. He even let me use his phone since I had forgot mine.
Cons: -Lack of challenge. The course was fairly simple and pretty short. Also it didn't have much variety.

-Course flow. The trip from the basket on hole 2 to the tee on hole 3 is the worst. The rest of the course is not that bad, but there are a few bad spots.

-No benches or trash bins that I recall.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly young according to the one local I played with, so some of those cons can get corrected over time. The course was pretty fun even though it lacked variety.

Not being from the area, it was neat to play amongst the palms and other plants and trees native to Florida.

The parking seemed adequate and it was free to play. I could see other park traffic being a problem during a weekend round.

They saved the best for last. Hole 18 is my favorite of that course.

Overall I had fun and was glad to meet Charlie.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.