Ogallala, NE 
Ogallala Optimist Course Share
Uploaded By: Whisker Biscuit   (Taken 5/2011)
Park overview from parking lot



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Excellent Pit Stop On Your Drive Across Nebraska!

1    8/11/2016   8/11/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Opitimist Park in Ogallala is a small city with lush green grass. The course mostly in clockwise direction around the park with a children's play area in the center. There is just enough elevation and trees to keep things interesting. The course can probably be classified as a Pitch n' Putt with hole lengths ranging from 145' to 290'. Most every hole is an ACE run although # 5 with trees protecting the basket and # 9 with it's sharp hyser to basket around and by the community garden, are more challenging.

The course decent concrete tees, old school fiberglass signs giving hole #, par and distance. The DGA baskets have the number on top.

The bathrooms were locked but there two porti potties by the entrance gate.

This is really an ideal course to bring a beginner to. There is no searching for discs in the brush, the park is lovely and there is just a slim chance of losing a disc (there is a possibility of hacking one over a neighbor's fence or into the community garden on # 9. Recreational players and families will enjoy the simplicity of the course and the exclusive ACE is ever present in any players mind.
Cons: It's a 9 hole rec course.

Very little challenge for many players.

Could be a problem with park users present.

Slight possibility of discs landing in neighbor's yards.

I didn't much care for # 9 and having players attempt to throw over the community garden. Many discs will find a landing space in the garden.
Other Thoughts: I'm giving this fun little 9 hole recreation the same rating that I dish out to every other enjoyable little 9. This course has it's place is disc golf. I think you will always find golfers on this course. There are about a million disc golfers out there who show up with one disc, have a great time and have never heard of DGCR. This course is made for them!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Midrange Course

5+    7/20/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: washabh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well Maintained
Not Busy
Easy To Navigate
Great Baskets
Nice Tee Pads
Impossible To Lose Discs
Nice Elevation on a Few Holes
Cons: Lot's of Similar Shots
Short Holes
Very Open
Other Thoughts: Great beginner course to get your DG fix! The park is well maintained and taken care of.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Aces

1    9/3/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 364  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of ace runs.
-Surprising amounts of elevation that come into play on most holes
-Nice baskets
-Concrete tees
-Signs that tell you how short you have to throw
-Good for beginners, kids, families
-Playgrounds and walking paths as well as a porta-potty here. Adequate parking.
-Good break up of I-80. Fairly isolated from any other disc golf courses.
Cons: -Could throw over the fence on a few holes and have to hop it to get your disc back. Hole 9's best route involves throwing over the fence.
-Other park activities could get in the way a little bit.
-They mounted the signs into the tee and it kind of gets in the way.
-Not many trees on most of the holes. The main obstacle was the little bit of elevation.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice simple course in a smaller city park. It has short holes with hills that let you run for the chains most of the time. You can play a round in about 15 minutes with one disc if you want to. If you need a break from I-80 then you can stop here. It's not a must stop by any means but it won't disapoint if you read this review and know what to expect. I would stop and play again to try for some more aces.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/26/2010   5/11/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great break up of Interstate I-80..Ogallala has a neat setting just a couple miles North of the Interstate. Great quick course that poses well placed Pin Locations for a short 9 Hole... It's Quick (Can be played in 15 minutes)....The Park is very well groomed and the Course layout is well marked and very easy to find your way around.
Cons: The course doesn't offer much diffuculty for an experienced player. If there are Town's people out on the course, it can cause for multiple delays in what you'd want to be a quick refresher course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Ogallala seemed like a Fun Town with a very unique History ( America's Largest Aquifier). I enjoyed the course, as it was a nice refresher along, the otherwise, somewhat dull, I-80. If you're looking for a challenge this is not the course, but if's it's not out of your way I'd recommend stopping and throwing a couple of quick Rounds...You'll only need a Fairway Driver and Putter Here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Road Trip

1    7/16/2009   7/9/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 92  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course was tiny, but I loved how remote it was. I always appreciate the courses that do the most with the most limited resources. Great stop for long road trips.
Cons: Obviously small. In the middle of nowhere. Not a major stop for serious disc golf.
Other Thoughts: I was on a road trip with a friend and we stopped off a few times to play disc golf in Nebraska.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 optimist

1    10/3/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ogallala Nebraska is a town of about 5000 people just above the north east corner of Colorado. Its sort of the I-80 gateway to the panhandle. Most people find themselves in Ogallala because of Lake McConaughy, of course, disc golf addicts like us will be there for a brief round at Ogallala Optimist Course.

The course is well marked. The park is nicely manicured, and the tee pads are concrete. Let the ace runs fly! If you are traveling through I-80 and you want a break than this is a perfect park in which to break up a trip. A player should have no problem figuring out the flow of this course. There is a restroom and water in the park. Its pretty easy to find the park as long as you are looking for the water tower. Parking is also no problem at all
Cons: Most of the tees are marked out on the sidewalk. There is some tight spaces and potential for interferences between a couple of neighboring fairways Some fairways are close to the neighborhood yards. There are not many obstacles in the park although most pins are near the few trees that are in the park. There is one or two holes that play near playground equipment. If there were other functions going on at Williams Park, forget about it, the place is too small. There is a sidewalk going through much of the course.
Other Thoughts: When I played there were a couple of parks and rec guys mowing and laying down fertilizer. They did not look at me like I was playing a game for aliens so I got the feeling that people do play DG in Ogallala NE. Also, it was quite windy (early October) I'm not sure how common the wind presence is. All in all, the course description of a "great learn to play course" seems dead on. For a nine hole small town park course its on the short to typical side. Yet, I have no qualms about stopping in for another round if I am ever near Ogallala again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.