Disc Golf Store
Festus, MO 
West City Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #13 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 367ft.   4 / 417ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Going Long

1    5/11/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 119  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of long bomber holes (a lot of the holes are over 400 or 500 feet long, with some reaching 700 to 800 feet).
-Nice long tee-pads ensure that you have plenty of room for your run-up on the long holes.
-Very good tee-signs that show distance the distance of the hole and a good layout of the hole.
-The available elevation is incorporated into the holes well.
-Holes 10-14 were a lot of fun. They were some fun tightly wooded holes.
-Water comes into play on several holes. There is a river that flows by some of the holes and then holes 9 and 18 have a lake in play.
-Gateway Titans that are in good shape and catch well.
-Multiple tee-pads on each hole.
-Most holes have out of bounds on them, which helps to add some challenge to the course.
-Mostly plays in its own field area and stays out of the way of other park areas, except for hole 18.
-Pretty park
Cons: -The start of the course is really hard to find, it is at the way edge of the park down a one way road, in which you have to drive all the way to the end of the road to find. There aren't any signs pointing toward the disc golf course. We actually ended up starting on Hole 10 because we found it before we found Hole 1.
-Navigation is hard on this course. There are long walks between a lot of the holes and it is not always clear which direction the next tee-pad. Directional arrows at each basket pointing to the next tee would really help this course out.
-We played this course have it had rained and it was really muddy, and I could see it being muddy for a few days after a good amount of rain.
-The area around hole 4 was really nasty. It was very smelly and there was a ton of dead fish in the drainage area.
-A lot of the baskets blended in with the foliage, so that a lot of walks up the fairway to actually see where the baskets were located.
-Course got quite repetitive on the front nine and holes 15 and 17. Holes 3 to 7 are basically a shot across a long open field to a basket hidden in some tree and underbrush, which starts to get a little boring. Hole 7 and 17 feel almost like the same hole, except holes 7 has more of a change of going into out of bounds areas. Though holes 10 through 14 provide a nice change from the rest of the course.
-Course was very overgrown. There was lots of tall grass on many of the holes. It looks like from the pictures that the course may get mowed sometime, but it definitely hadn't been mowed in a while, and took away from the enjoyment of the round.
-There is a picnic pavilion, bench and parking area in play on hole 18, which could conflict with other park users.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad we ended up starting on the back 9 rather than at hole 1, because I found the back 9 a lot more compelling than the front 9. If you like lots of longer holes, this is the course for you, but I wouldn't go out of my way to play it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid StL course

2-4    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: brekko
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every type of hole you could want exists on this course. Tight line wooded holes, wide open bombs, short skip shots, sweeping downhill shots, water shots, etc.

Right now hole 3 and 4 are somewhat overrun with water, but we just picked a decent spot to tee off and hole 4 is actually really fun with a sort of island pin surrounded by the current standing water.

The holes are for the most part secluded from the rest of the park, save a few out in the open, but the don't interfere with major features except potentially people fishing.

The entire course is well manicured and signed, as long as you get a map to direct you across some of the awkward transitions from hole to hole it's relatively painless.
Cons: Current wet conditions make 3 a lot tougher than normal, and the pad for four is entirely underwater.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area this is the course to play. I played 5 other courses in the area (Jefferson Barracks, Crystal City, Endicott, and Logan) and this was my favorite of those top rated contenders.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Open Bombers & Tight Woods

5+    11/2/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple Pads, Multiple Pin Placements, Scenic Park, Water Holes, Nice Baskets, Good Flow, Mostly Easy to Follow, Not Crowded, Bathrooms & Trashcans, Course Area dedicated to Disc Golf

West City Park is a large park in Jefferson County that has made room for a big, long open bomber disc golf course. Each hole has Pro & AM concrete tee pads as well as 2 basket locations. If you play the Pro pads and the baskets are in their long positions, this course can really stretch out. Even though you get a lot of practice throwing big bombs out here, there are also quite a few technical holes (primarily on the back 9) that will test your accuracy.
There is a scenic lake (that loves to eat discs) situated right between the baskets for hole 9 & 18. Most of the rest of the holes are safe, but you can run into trouble with the river on holes 5, 6, 13,14,15 & 16. I'd recommend bringing a couple discs that you wouldn't mind losing for your first visit. Some of the greens can be very fast and you can go from putting for a 3 to pulling your putter out of the river 100' down the hill if you're not careful. The last hazard to watch for is wind. Since a lot of the course is set in open large fields, there are huge gusts of wind that you'll have to contend with.
Though the course area is mostly dedicated to disc golf, there is a walking path around the park as well as soccer fields and playgrounds, so be careful and be courteous.
Cons: Somewhat Redundant, No Running Water, Open Fields, Prairie Grass

Overall, this is a great course, but it can get a little repetitive throwing across open fields on a bunch of holes. Luckily, there are numerous technical holes tucked in the woods that split up the big open bombers. There is also a good use of elevation here, so even the big open holes usually force you to hit a gap and play up to the basket about 150' The only problem is, you typically can't see the basket from the pad and have to walk a bit to find it. That said, common sense will almost always point you in the right direction. Also beware the tall prairie grass scattered throughout the bottom bowl of the course. Its not as bad as it used to be, but it does still love to eat discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and the best option for this part of town. If you're going to be South of St. Louis, West City and Jokerst are off the same exit and worth the trip to play. The local club, the Jefferson County Sharpshooters is made up of some great guys that would typically be happy to guide you around if you need it. Just search for them on facebook.

Traveler's Tip: As you Exit Hwy 55 and head down Route A, you'll pass numerous fast food restaurants. When you get to the bottom of the hill (where you turn right), there will be a Phillips 66 on your left. This is the last place to get food/drink before you get to the course. Take advantage of the stop for the bathroom and food/drinks.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/1/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: Broll
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: cool views with some fairly nice layouts. you really have the chance to throw the disc. some very long holes followed by short holes. a good mix
Cons: there are some 800' foot holes that are challenging, be ready to walk. there is a lot of vehicular traffic along with pedistrians, so be careful

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!!

2-4    5/28/2011   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The length of the course along with a great mix of open bombs, tight control shots, and ultra tight greens make this a course that can destroy your confidence. Water comes into play on most holes so make sure you have an ample amount of discs.
Cons: It is too far away from me. I prefer to play courses within 10-15 miles and this is 40 miles away. Floods frequently. Parking is not in the best location for the course.
Other Thoughts: Needs to have some landscaping done!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and a little too open

1    4/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in an out of the way section of a large park. A handful of holes play in tightly wooded areas. They offer some different lines with narrow gaps to hit and some nice punishment for errant shots. A few holes bring the river into play, with rollaway potential on some greens and a couple drives where a bad kick could easily end up wet. There is some rough, mostly not too thick but thick enough that you'll pay for errant shots.

Many of the holes play fairly open. There are a few reachable shots and some longer holes where you can really air it out. Some have pins tucked into tree lines, so you have to set up your approach and can end up taking extra strokes if your drive cuts in early or late. A couple others bring some ponds into play, again with roll away potential around the water. The large hill between the upper and lower fields is used a couple times to make some fun hillside pin placements and add a little challenge.

Dual tees on each hole is a nice touch, especially when they're all solid concrete pads. Signage at the tees is decent, with hole layout and distances for all tee and pin combinations. A few of the dual pin placements changed things up significantly, as did a handful of the dual tee locations. Gateway titans are some of my favorite baskets, and the ones here are fairly new and in good shape.
Cons: There are some safety issues, with the park road and walking path coming into play on several holes, and a couple holes that play alongside one another in the field without much separation. On long holes where players are going for max distance, accuracy is likely to suffer and exacerbate the safety problems.
Some of the alternate tees and pins don't really change the hole, I would like to see short tees that made the longest holes a little more beginner friendly (I don't really see the need for 750' and 800' tees on the same hole).

There is some repetition here, it's fun to air out long drives, but there are too many holes where that's the only challenge and there aren't really any obstacles. The course seemed a little heavy on RHBH hyzers, both in the woods and on many of the approaches to the holes with pins tucked into tree lines. It would be nice to have the pin position marked on the kiosk or the tee signs, with otherwise accurate signage it's frustrating to have to guess where the basket is.
There are some long walks between holes, and no signage to aid in navigation. Make sure you print a map or have it pulled up on your phone to avoid some wandering and frustration.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a nice mix of challenges, and definitely caters to big armed throwers. Beginners might find the length frustrating, though the shorter wooded holes offer a nice break from that (and also more potential frustration with some thick rough). More experienced players will definitely be challenged here, with length, water and some technical shots. I would recommend a stop here if you're in the area, especially if you want the chance to rip some drives.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    4/7/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 415  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a busy city park that has a lot of other activities present. A busy road/walking path, some paths through the woods, baseball diamonds, etc. Most of the disc golf is far enough away to avoid interference, but it's definitely possible.
- A section of the course is in the woods, or amongst trees, to force some tight lines. The most obvious are #12, a snaking, tight fairway with a small hump in the middle. Tough to stay clean. #13 isn't quite as tight, but still requires an accurate shot to stay out of the rough. #10 and #11 are set within a dense grove of smaller trees, not easy to get through here. #2 is a sharp blind hyzer into the woods, and #8 is a tight RH flick shot up the woods.
- A bunch of other holes come out of, or shoot into the woods as well. #3 is a gap shot from the woods, then back in the woods to the pin. #5 is a long hyzer out of a gap as well. #7 and #17 both finish uphill into woods, and #18 is tucked behind some mature trees.
- On top of the wooded holes, there are lots and lots of bomber shots here. Lots. Plenty of elevated teepads for BOMBs; even the biggest arms will find many chances to air them out. With 6 holes at or above 700', it is a distance competition on many holes.
- Water is present in many spots, and is definitely in play. To the right of #13 and #14 especially, and also by baskets like #5, #6, #15, and #16. Also in play to the left of the basket on #18. Some sloped greens make it even easier to roll/slide in on upshots.
- Nice dual concrete pads, good signs, great baskets. Navigation can be a little tricky, like around #13-#14, having a map makes it easy.
Cons: - While it is nice to have long holes, this course takes it to the extreme. Lots of long, wide open shots that are great for bombing, but pretty boring otherwise. Little to no obstacles, it gets pretty repetitive.
- Some pro pads are just longer, and don't add too much. Not a big deal, some are very different. It would be nice if the shorts were a little shorter, to be honest. Ha.
- #7 and #17 are almost the identical hole, and are right next to each other. Heads up for stray shots here!
Other Thoughts: - A well balanced course, with length, length, and length! Pretty much split between open bombers and wooded to semi-wooded holes. Seriously though, bombs away. Definitely lots of character with water, pretty big elevation changes here and there, sloped greens and protected baskets. The only real knock is some wide, wide open holes, and others that are pretty open. Beginners might get frustrated with the long length and some bad hazards.
- Really torn between a 3.5 and a 4... I'm going 3.5. Too many similar shots I guess.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential, but it ends up being just a long hike across open fields...

1    3/10/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * This course has a couple of good pin placements and a few cool shots, 1,3,7,10,17 are the best examples.
* Having multiple tees is a plus.
* Having a mix of long/short holes is also a plus.
* Park itself is very nice, with lots for family to do if they don't want to play disc golf.
* Well maintained

Cons: I hate to dock any course with more cons than pros, but this course just feels like a place that fails to live up to its rating, and, far more importantly, it just fails to be fun.

* In playing ~200 courses, I've never spent so much time throwing max-D drives across a flat, open field. This course feels like a waste of time and of energy.

* The couple of holes that have trees--LOTS of trees--like 12,13,14--are set up to be virtually unfair -- plinko holes without clean lines. As if having too many trees on a few holes makes up for having few-to-none trees on most other holes.

* A lot of otherwise open holes are made more difficult by placing pins in tricky placements right next to the water -- this is interesting and creates score separation for a tournament, but is frustrating for casual play, since its the risk/reward of frequently losing discs.

* Signage is so-so. Finding your way from hole to hole without a map would be very frustrating ... especially when it can be several hundred feet of walking between most holes.

* Repetition is high on this course -- lots of holes feel the same and, effectively, are the same. Max-D drive, followed by max-D drive across a field. Or, when there is more interest to a hole, its still a virtually identical repeat of a previous similar hole -- max-D drive across open field, followed by a tricky, mostly-open RHBH hyzer to a basket with water behind it.

Other Thoughts: This is a course I really wanted to like. During a recent disc golf trip in St. Louis, my brother and I hit 9 of the top-rated courses in and around the city, and this was our least favorite of the bunch, by far. It was the only one that really failed to be FUN to play. When disc golf stops being fun, you should do something else. So that's one of the most damning things I can say about a course. It's just not fun to play.

Long, long walks across almost entirely open fields, repetitive upshots, and repetitive hole design make this a dull, uninspiring exercise in practicing your longest drives. A stack of drivers and a football field would give you a similar afternoon, and you would probably learn more from the experience.

I wish I had suggestions for how to improve this course. As it is, I think it would actually be a decent tournament course for big-arm pros... especially on a windy day, when it would make the basket placements high risk/reward. Still not necessarily fun, but at least it would give it purpose.

If I were making recommendations to improve this course, I would tighten it up and shorten it up (I love long courses, but they have to have the terrain to make it fun -- it needs to be placement golf). There are a lot more tree options in the borders of the big field in the back, and those tree options and elevation aren't being used as well as they could. The 13-14 area could use a little thinning out to make it fair, and if there were a way to put more holes in that part of the course--its beautiful there--it would help break up the monotony and make this a much better course for daily play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Good course coulf be great

2-4    2/27/2012   2/27/2012
Review By: J Rob
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Makes you play Golf! Lots of good golf holes. two pads per hole and two pin positions. Flows well for the most part. The park is great.
Cons: A few of the pins are in bad spots when considering saftey and weather. Hole 12 is a joke at best.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a blast and will be back, would love to see a lil adjustment on some pin placements.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, yet messy

2-4    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: >18 Basket course with professional level distance.

>Multiple Cement Tees w/ Multiple Basket Positions.

>Long open baskets, tight wooded baskets, elevated and protected positions of baskets. GREAT variety.
Cons: >#3 Basket to #4 Teebox, mudhole. NOT, just a mudhole, the wonderful aroma of dead fish. In this you either get to A, crawl through the woods where no real path is, or B walk through the mud and dead fish.

>Far too long of a walk between holes, and though the map helps, sometimes you have to wander around a bit to find the holes, so it is that much more walking.

>Too extreme angle hills for older players, becomes dangerous. Hey, I am all for a challenge, but I played one round with a older player who fell more than a few times, and quit after 9 vowing to never play the course again. This didn't happen on errant shots, but at basket locations and fairways. 2 basket, 3 fairway, 7 basket, 8 fairway. I hate to say it, but if you are not able to hike, you are not able to play this course. WARNING TO ALL OLDER PLAYERS!
Other Thoughts: I am rating this a 4 in spite of the fish aroma mudhole, because we have no control over mother nature. A lot of repetitive holes makes this park's highest potential a 4.5 to me. The lack of flood planning makes it's potential a 4.0. That is what I give it, and I am not going to penalize it any more for what I hope is a temporary condition.

*Only updating to say, the course drainage has not been as much of a problem as of late. The course can be very challenging, and is very very long. My rating stays the same.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.