Green, OR 
Green Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider   (Taken 3/2009)



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Green Oaks No More???

1    6/26/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Once a beautiful little practice course in a park setting littered with trees, Green Oaks is now overgrown and rundown. Although I was able to get in a quick round, the baskets had been pulled so it was object golf at this point. The trees were still marked, although confusing as hell due to the overuse of graffiti and lack of tee pads. There were natural tees marked with logs but it was clear that this was more safari than anything. It was easy to see what once was and how it was the ideal spot to work on tight lines, upshots, and putts, assuming the baskets are present.
Cons:
With the small stream as you enter, the colorful canopy of oaks high up above, and the gentle breeze off the hills in the distance, this course gave a sense of peace and tranquility. However, due to vandalism, litter, and lack of maintenance, it was obvious that the city has let this place go. Perhaps there are plans in the works for Green Oaks and the course is about to get an overhaul? Or, perhaps they have other plans that don't involve disc golf. I fear the worst and believe it will be extinct sooner than later.
Other Thoughts:
As a course bagger I felt compelled to play this course considering I was on a road trip already to Whistler's Bend to play their famous doubles tournament and this course was a quick play on the way. I also managed to play Riverfront, a fun short course that provided a great alternative for locals not wanting to make the trip out to Whistlers. I highly recommend avoiding this course all together unless you are looking to "bag" another course like me and play ANYWHERE else nearby. Disc golf is great in the Roseburg/Eugene area and you don't want to waste a second playing here so keep your head down and keep on driving!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Shipwreck99
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 6 baskets, playground for the kids, store for Beer, Soda, Lunch within throwing distance Plenty of trees to get in the way but not overwhelming.
Cons: Hard to navagate, no sings, no par info no teepads what sings there is is spraypainted on trees making the park look worse then it is
Other Thoughts: Could be a nice little warm up for Riverfront or Whistlers Bend with some work the playgorund could get in the way if a lot of kids were around but if you brought your own kids you could let them play and see them from anywhere on the course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Safari through the Oaks

1    9/6/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Green Oaks disc golf course is probably more aptly described as a 'practice-area'. The 6 baskets that make up the course are scattered through a small park bordered by a little creek and filled with beautiful swaying (oak?) trees. The park area is nicely manicured grass and all underbrush has been beaten back to the very edges of the playing area. The 'tees' for the course consist of numbers of different colors which have been spray painted on trees. The layout is nothing special and you could probably develop an equally good way to work your way to different baskets by simply making up new tees on the spot.

All that said, this is a very fun place to throw some safari golf - most to all of the holes you could create will be tightly wooded and there aren't any brush or thorns around to ruin the fun.
Cons: Tees - I kind of alluded to this point earlier, but there isn't really a need for 'tees' here and the spray paint that someone has put on the trees ruins a lot of the beauty of the park. Spray paint is relatively permanent and is an eyesore - I'd recommend sunken bricks as a temporary solution to marking tees. Sure navigation will be more difficult, but likely no one traveling here is looking to play some sort of 'official' layout.
Other Thoughts: This course made for a pleasant stop on our way to Whistlers' Bend and would be a pretty fun place for locals to practice upshots and putting in an empty, peaceful park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Little Course!

1    5/30/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm not sure if this little throw quite earns the moniter of course. There's only five baskets. There are no teepads, nothing in the way of signs. We finally guessed and teed off from some worn spots. I guess a pro is that this is about a 15 minute round. Obviously that could rate as a con also. It actually a pretty little park. Squeezing more than 6 holes in here wouldbe a mistake. So I guess the designers orginally selected the correct number of baskets to install here.
Cons: 13 baskets less than a normal 18 hole course. 18 fewer teepads. 18 fewer tee signs and about 17 fewer next tee signs. But it's kind of a cute little park.
Other Thoughts: If Iived close, I would at least try to mark some teepads. But this wouldn't be the worst place to get some practice in. This course could benefit from some TLC from someone.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  green oaks park

1    12/23/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: miah77
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: baskets, clean, not crowded
Cons: short, only four baskets and poorly marked
Other Thoughts: I live very close to this park and will do what I can to mark the course alot better, create definitive pads, add maps at course and keep this couse clean as my home field for others to come and practice. I will keep you posted as changes are made to this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Waste of baskets

1    8/14/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You can come here and not find other people on the course so for practicing this is a good place to go if you are desperate. The trees and multiple tees make for some interesting shots.
Cons: I'm not sure where the other two baskets are but I searched for them and only counted four all together. Navigation is provided by spray painted trees that are quite an eyesore and don't even do a great job. You just play the same four baskets over and over and it gets boring.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the drive from anywhere! I would practice mid range and putting if I lived next door and I had a couple minutes of daylight.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well, at least it has baskets

1    3/12/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- It has baskets
- Lots of trees but no brush
Cons:
- Not marked well
- No tee pads
Other Thoughts:
Supposedly, this course has 6 baskets with three tee placements each, making a total of 18 "holes." But when you get there, there's no sign or kiosk announcing the course, just the six baskets in seemingly random locations. I saw no teepads, no buried 2x4's, no colored stones on the ground, nothing. The only way to tell where you're supposed to throw is numbers spray-painted on trees, in varying hard-to-see colors. (The highest number I saw was 16, so assumably these are indeed the launch areas.)

The park has some potential as a short course (the photos give a good feel for the open yet tree-filled terrain), but it really needs to be easier to follow. Even if they don't want to commit to installing teepads, a map or permanent signs would go a long way toward making this a worthwhile stop.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Green

5+    12/29/2008   1/9/2009
Review By: EclipticOne
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Small course, easy to see where to go. Baskets are well placed for the space they had to work with. It is nice to come over after work and throw a few holes to keep ya loose and accurate.
Cons: They are really short holes..

Lots of leaves on the side of park and creek to lose your disks into.

Only 6 holes so you will have to play 3 times for a full game.

P.S. Basket 5 in the corner was STOLEN! Yeah gay, that makes this course very sad now. i thought it was kinda cool but no i would just rather go to riverfront.
Other Thoughts: It is a cool little course and really nice when you live by it to just go and throw your disks around. Its good to check out along with riverfront and whistler's bend.

Some of the signage or marking problems are cause the lions club owns this and have opened it so they can get the druggies out, we mostly tee off from the basket and replay 3 times

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  good course

5+    11/21/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: qtip123
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: alot of long shots andalot of trees to make it a little harder and challenging. Easy to navigate. friendly people there. realy good place to meet people. and to hang out.
Cons: there is a river running right next to the course.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.