Festus, MO 
Jokerst Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #5 (Taken 2/2009)
4 / 219ft.   4 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Red Tee (plays across shallow, often dry creek to L to R downsloping green)



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Disc Golf Heaven

5+    8/7/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2012
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: >Cement Tees, Multiple Tees, Multiple Pin Positions.

>Well kept, only real place once can lose a disc is left on #4.

>Great elevation changes. Enough trees to make you adjust.
Cons: >Only 9 holes

>Front pin positions on 1, 6, and 8 WAY too easy, all putter runs.
Other Thoughts: I met with a few dilemmas rating this.

1 - Can a 9 basket course get a 5 rating? - I believe being 9 should at least get a -0.5, out of fairness to the 18 hole courses that had to pay 2x as much for everything. 4.5

2 - Easy Pin Positions - They have multiple positions, and the other positions are not 'easy' on those holes, so no penalty. 4.5

3 - NO Grip and Rip holes. A lot of generous par 4's, but the holes are wooded and uphill. Number 4 in the back pin position is good length, so it's not lacking the length, you just have to avoid a tree most all the time. 6 and 7 give some nice downhill flight views, so no penalty. 4.5

For a 9 basket course, they do not get much better. 4.5

*After playing Deer Lake in PA, and seeing what a true 5.0 course is, it is wrong to rate this 4.5. I am taking it down to 4.0, which is still high for a 9 basket course, but it is a awesome 9 hole course.

*Ending my personal debate.
A Par 9 should always be -0.5 of a 18+ course of equal stature. For what Jokerst is, a limited amount of land for a small 9 hole course, it is at it's full potential. While I am rating it a 3.5, it's truly more comparable to the 4.0 courses I rate, it is just lacking the extra 9.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best 9 Hole Courses

5+    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: Dthunderchicken
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 41.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of trees and terrain make this a fun and challenging course.

Multiple tee pads on most holes and multiple pin locations on all holes make this course a little different every time.

Nice mix of long and short holes.

Very little extraneous traffic.

Skate/bike park located on property.
Cons: Benches between holes 4-5 and 8-9 would be nice.

Score card supply spotty. (Very minor gripe. The course is easily navigated without a map.)
Other Thoughts: While most 9 hole courses I've played are kiddie courses, this one is my favorite. I often play it as an 18 hole using the different tees.

Large pavilion and BBQ grills make this a nice tournament site.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun For A 9-Hole Course

1    12/14/2008   12/14/2008
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good balance of uphill/downhill, left/right, pins in/out of trees shots.

Nice big concrete pads.

Great maintenance save for one problem (see cons).

Gnarly wind created by the valley-esque shape of the park can fubar even the best-thrown shots.

Straightforward layout of the holes means it's easy to follow from one pin to the next tee, even though there are no signs of the sort.

Good maps on the tee signs to show you where you're throwing.
Cons: Could use a couple more benches and trash cans.

Signs from one hole to the next aren't necessary, but newbies could use the help.

Pars overestimated.

Someone hacked up a few dead trees to clear some flight paths (thanks!), but just left the debris on the ground.

A porta-john wouldn't hurt.
Other Thoughts: In my (limited) experience, this is the best 9-hole course in the St. Louis area.

As long as you're already in Festus, hop across the highway and go play West City Park and make it a full day of fun.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center