Oak Ridge, TN 
Groves Park - The Mounds Share
Uploaded By: mberg Hole #18
3 / 231ft.   3 / 318ft.   3 / 399ft.   3 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee: Basket protected by bush on right and trees on fairway.



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 the wooded 9 holes

1    1/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will not go into the regular 18 holes but rather the new 9 holes that are tucked away behind the pond. When you get to the cage on hole 8 you will be beside the pump house. There will be signs that point to the wooded 9. Once you get to hole 1, its a gradual uphill, straight about 300 ft. then curves right up to a pedestal where the cage lies. Hole two play to the top of the ridge, above hole 1. its a par 3 straight. Hole 3 lies downhill from 2's basket. This hole is tricky. serious dogleg left down a steep hill. Using a putter is recommended. Hole 4 is located over the hill from 3's cage. This hole plays uphill through trees, there are two lines to take on this hole. you can flick if you accurate or hyzer around the trees which could score big or cause a loss of disc in the brush. Hole 5 is another two line shot off the tee. You can rip it across a pit that is OB and very risky or follow the path around with a long hyzer drive. Hole 6 is called The Glory Hole and for good reason. You stand at the top of this ridge and you are shooting down the ridge to the cage straight and the trees are cleared out all the way down to the hole but if you throw off track...your in tree trouble. Hole 7 is a mando flick hole with a restricted tee box for flicking and this hole lies uphill and far to the right on top of the ridge. Hole 8 is called Ode to Richmond Hills and true in the title. This tee is posted on top of one side of the ridge and the cage sits on the opposite side of the ridge. Footage is about 350 to 400 ft. Straight on drive but this hole is not an easy par. Hole 9 is a sweet hyzer mid range drive. It tees off on top of the ridge and follows the ridge around to the left. I used a buzz on this hole and touched chains off the tee. Beware, if you overshoot this hole, there is a huge drop off 30 ft behind the cage. This is a beautifully made wooded 9 and brings variety to this wonderful course.
Cons: The wooded 9 do not have good signage or maps. Still in the making and probably gonna be a real sweet alternative to playing the back 9 or front. Wish they would concrete the regular 18 hole tees.
Other Thoughts: Still one of my favorite local courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Mounds...

2-4    2/19/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 274  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Golf Like. Because the Mounds is on what were formerly the grounds of a Ball Golf course, it has some ball golf qualities… and as a former ball golfer, I appreciate that.
- Great Holes. The Mounds uses the available elevation, vegetation and other obstacles to perfection, creating some great disc golf Holes. Sure, some of the Holes are wide open bombs… but that can be fun too; especially when the topography is used to make those bombs all that more fun to throw and watch.
- Multiple Options for Play. With 2-4 tee-pads on every Hole, there are multiple options for how you can play the course: Gold, Blue, Red, White. One great thing about the way the multiple tees are laid out is that they played from various angles, completely changing the way the Hole played… it's not like the shorts tees were simply shorter than the longs. (Note: the Gold Tees seemed less developed than the blues and reds).
Cons:
- Flow. As a person who has designed and installed a course, I was blown away by the poor design in terms of flow at the Mounds. For example… after Hole 6, you come out of the woods and land on a tee-pad, but nope… that's not Hole 7's tee-pad, it's Hole 8's tee-pad. What's worse is that after playing Hole 7, you have to practically retrace your footstep all the way back down the fairway to get to Hole 8's tee-pad which plays parallel to Hole 7, in the same direction?

Similarly, Hole 9 plays back toward the parking lot, which is usually a Pro; however, to get to Hole 10, you have to walk all the way back up Hole 9's fairway, past Hole 9's tee-pad to get to 10??? Why?

With that being said… Holes 7 and 8 and Holes 9 and 10 are really great Holes. And since there probably wouldn't have been a way to make those Holes work without having long walks backwards down the fairways, it's somewhat forgivable.

Here's how it goes… as your walking back down the fairway to get to the next tee-pad, you're cursing the designer, "What kind of idiot would design such a thing"… But, when you reach the next tee-pad, you think to yourself, or your playing partner, "This is a cool Hole!"

- Hole 6. Someone just wanted to get into the woods for a minute. Don't get me wrong, I love woods Holes, but Hole 6 has nothing to do with the rest of the course in terms of its style of play. Hole 6 also contributes to the bad flow.
- Colored Plastic Plates? The tee-signs were colored plastic plates that were stapled to the tee-post and labeled with sharpie. Plastic plates - really? Some of the plates were broken, cracked, blowing away, etc… Do you really want your awesome course to get slammed because your tee-signs were colored plastic plates? I hope someone who cares fixes this.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall… the shots were fun; actually the shots were pretty great. I was often mentally disturbed by the poor flow and design choices, but that usually went away when we played the Holes themselves. The old ball golf course property really lends itself well to disc golf, creating ball-golf-esque feeling Holes… which is a check plus in my book. The tee-pads and tee-signs were lacking considerably, and there weren't any other amenities in the park (bathrooms, water fountains, benches, etc…). So bring a lunch and plenty of water because, if you're like me, you'll probably want to go around twice: reds and blues.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The John Holmes of DG?

1    1/26/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Mostly open course. Very clean. Concrete tee pads. Readily accessible.
Cons: Serious lack of parking (gravel only). Finding the next 'primary' tee can be challenging.
Other Thoughts: Bring out the cannon's as this course is assuredly for those who like to grip 'n' rip! Although this course is a little out of the way per se, it's not like it's in the middle of nowhere either as you're only a couple of minutes from restaurants et al. For those who like technical courses this won't do at all; but for those who like a goodly amount of exercise it will as the course is very long from the pro pads.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: a lot of fun. very open. on an old ball golf course. i'd like to see more of these for sure. big arms will love it. i would definitely go back.
Cons: can be windy. too open. too much like victor ashe.
Other Thoughts: pro tees are HUGE shots. it's still not better than morningside.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long Throws and Deep Grass

5+    8/18/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee boxes, four on most holes. I like the option to play from a variety of tees, especially since my wife is always with me and she is able to play up a tee so it is more even between us. The baskets are all really nice. There are a lot of benches and there are hole layout signs on each hole (the distance might be off in some cases though). Nice scenery and you won't be bogged down by other golfers out there. Bring your drivers because you can cut it loose on most holes.
Cons: The times I have been out there, the fairway grass was really deep and the rough was rediculously deep. I had to search for several discs that I had thrown right in the middle of the fairway because that grass was above ankle deep. The tee boxes got a little haphazard on the last couple holes (I still don't know where the blue tee is on #17). Also we couldn't use some tees because they were basically bushes from overgrowth.
Other Thoughts: Let me say that if the grass wasn't so long EVERYWHERE then I could have rated this a 3.5 easily if not more. I would absolutely love to play this course when it has been cut and hasn't been raining constantly. This will be awesome when those other holes are done off of #6. If they'd improve at least the blue and white tees (maybe concrete) that'd be wonderful, and the grass really needs to be mowed (could just be the times I"ve been there though). I'll want to check this out in the fall. I liked the course more than it seems but I have to rate it honestly and will be happy to update the next time I play if it changes.
**UPDATE** I've changed to a 3.5 because I just played and all the grass was short, brush cut back and really a good course to play. The do need to update a sign or two though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nuke-town Beauty

1    12/27/2008   12/27/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 79  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful golf course feel. Nice Tee signs. Keosk at hole 1 with course maps. Multiple Tee pad positions with real separation to challenge novice to pro. Hand carved wood next hole markers. Painted pavers showing next tee are set in the ground around the basket. OB's, creeks, 'mando's & a pond. Not much elevation change but it's a long walk. Nice new Discatcher's to catch your disc.
Cons: No benches or bathrooms. Natural teepads were a bit muddy but we played in winter. It's probably not a problem other times of the year. Same with the parking lot. Like other reviewers here, I didn't like hole #6 either. But if I deuced it, I'd probably love it. Let's just say that it's "challenging".
Other Thoughts: I remember saying more than once "this place is beautiful". The pond & the mature trees. Clean, family entertainment. I look forward to throwing there again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

2-4    8/21/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: jettaria
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Setting
nice variety
Cons: flow of the holes
Other Thoughts: This was a ball golf course partially converted into a disc golf course. The potential is phenominal with a great setting and variety of shots. The layout is the only thing keeping the course from getting an excellent rating...and that's only a for a few holes. In the middle of a summer day, though it is probably the hottest place on the planet. I enjoy the course though, and if i weren't a lazy, fat man, I probably wouldn't mind the extra, unnecessary walking from pin to tee.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.