Oak Ridge, TN 
Groves Park - The Mounds Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #13
3 / 171ft.   3 / 171ft.   3 / 339ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign: Blue tee on the left.



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Wide Open!

2-4    7/19/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: Dickie B
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Beautiful scenery.
Well manicured fairways.
I think this used to be a ball golf course which would explain its lay.
One hole, I can't remember which one, the tee box is on top of a 30 ft mound. You get to really huk one from here and watching a disc in flight across this course is a pretty awesome thing.
Another hole that plays across a creek has a blackberry patch that was so loaded, we just stopped and basically had lunch. I know, I know, "careful what you eat from the land in Oak Ridge", but I'm okay, so I think it's safe to eat the black berries :)
A challenge that requires all the shots and discs in your bag as well as all the finess and power in your arm!
The course is easy to find.
Cons: Unless you have someone with you that has played the course a few times, you might need a map.
Need more trash cans. There were a few tee boxes that had left-over containers.
Need concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I only get to play this course when I visit Knoxville, my home town. Unfortunately, this only happens a few times a year,
Be prepared to walk on this course. It is a long one.


1    4/26/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: BTPdiscgolfer75
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
Pros: -Long Holes
-Good baskets
-Beautiful scenery
-True mix of all shots
-Challenging
-Downhill and uphill shots
Cons: -Poorly marked, played with a friend who had played multiple times and still got confused on where the next tee box is.
-The wooded shot is a total chance shot, since they changed the tee location.
-Toxic sludge but seriously if a disc goes in the water might as well leave it and buy a new one.
Other Thoughts: It would have been an awesome experience if it was well marked but the poor marking made it very frustrating. Takes a while to play which was fun, but you definitely need a couple hours to play the entire course.

Open with 4 Tee Choices

2-4    3/31/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: Gibbsinator
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 Front holes. 9 Back. Skill can help you choose your tee off color, and move up in the future. Signage is pretty good. Open course with many good Tee offs.
Cons: Can be Muddy in many spots. Dirt Tee Pads. Water Hazard on 10 is the entire hole.
Other Thoughts: The 4 Tee pads make playing scale-able and easier to hit par. Check out maps before going. Great park for Oak Ridgers. Worth trying for other areas.

http://www.ci.oak-ridge.tn.us..._brochure.pdf

http://www.knoxdiscgolf.org/i...moundsmap.jpg

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

a work in progress

5+    2/1/2013   2/9/2013
Review By: Impssble
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of distances to throw from on each hole, the challenges are finding them. Usually having one or two clear Tee's marked. It is the biggest course I know of with 27 holes. 9 are in the woods near the pond. The entrance being at basket 8. Which is just awesome, but not marked very well, I am sure due to finances. There are plenty of restaurants near by to grab a bite to eat before or after the game.
Cons: You really need to go with someone who has thrown here before if you have not played it yet.
Course gets muddy due to terrain layout and the Tee's are mostly dirt so if it's rained for a day you might want to wait on this course till it dries out. It's a golf course, easy to lose some discs if you are an aggressive thrower like me, but that's part of the fun. I don't think one can complain about high grass and foliage, this is disk golf. :-)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite Victor Ashe

1    5/19/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Groves Parks is a mixed bag course. There's potential for a solid course, but right now it's more of a conglomerate of confusion than anything else.
- The course is mainly wide open. If you want to swing your sword by showing off your big arm, this is the course for you. The course is on the grounds of an old golf course, and some of the hole layouts seem to follow the ball golf method.
- The course does a good job of using the terrain to provide a good challenge, taking an advantage of the limited obstacles that are prevalent. There are limited trees on the course, so you'll see a lot holes with baskets place behind them - holes #2, 3, 4, 5, etc. Are you noticing a theme? There's also use of water, from a creek on #4 & 5, to a pond in play on #8 & 10.
- The rolling hills (yes, they're more like mounds, or Mounds) provide a little more challenge. #7 is a great example of a tougher uphill shot. You'll also see baskets placed in between miniature mounds and/or rough - #9 & 18 are good examples here.
- Tee signs are great. A suggestion to improve their usefulness would be to place them at the same layout on each hole - i.e. the gold, long layout.
- And, this might be the best thing this course has to offer: this is a disc golf only piece of land. I haven't come across a public park that is nothing but disc golf. What a huge bonus, and a tremendous sign of support from the city. As an out-of-towner, I don't know if it will remain that way. But, for the time being, it's awesome to have this swath of land solely dedicate to disc golf.
Cons: This is where the confusion rears its ugly head. In essence, holes overlap each other, the signage is poor, hole distances are inaccurate, and there's a feel of repetitiveness. And that's just in the first five holes.
- The root of all these issues was the poor signage. Starting on hole #1, the listed distances are way off. My buddy and I teed off from the blue tee, which is listed at 471 feet. I threw a dud tee shot, and just cleared the red, short tee, which is listed 320 feet from the basket. I then landed my second shot, a Roc that I normally throw in the 225 foot range, 10 feet past the basket. Based on the listed distances, I threw my drive about 170 feet (from 471 ft tee to just past 320 ft tee), and my mid-range disc about 300 feet, or 75 feet longer than normal.
- On #2, we spot the tee sign, with no indication what layout it's located at, and then a blue tee about 40 feet behind it. We tee off from the blue tee, only to soon realize that was the blue tee for #4. We'd have known that if the signs were better marked. We finally found the blue, white and red tees, some of which were marked by with paper plates. Yes, on multiple holes, the tees are marked with numbered paper (or maybe they're Styrofoam) plates.
- On #3, the gold and blue tees are almost parallel to each other, but their distances are listed at 486 and 393 respectively. Hmmm.
- And issues like this kept creeping up throughout. When something like this comes up on almost every hole on the front nine, you quickly sour on your disc golf experience.
- The other 'negative' about the course itself is the thick grass. As soon as my disc hit the ground, it stopped right there. The lack of rolls/skips takes away extra distance, which makes some of these holes play even longer.
- When I say this is a disc golf only piece of land, I mean this is a disc golf only piece of land. There's a port-a-jon near the unmarked parking lot, and that's it for amenities here. No real bathrooms, water fountains, drink machines, etc. The parking is right off the side of the road, and if you're not careful, it'd be easy to miss the course.
Other Thoughts: Grove Park, in its current state, is an example of the parts being greater than the sum. I had high hopes for the course and was really disappointed. Knoxville's other
open course (Victor Ashe) does a great job of making an open course fun & challenging. Grove Park, on the other hand, comes up short.
- This seems to be a love/hate course. Some will love the wide open fields and the ability to let tee shots fly. Others will probably sour on the repetitiveness of the course, and the somewhat lack of variety here. Again, Victor Ashe succeeds in making similar, open holes feel different.
- This is the first course I've ever played where I walked off before finishing every hole. With nine extra holes, it now stands at 27. And with the frustration I was having here, I had gotten enough without playing all of those.
- Most of the problems I listed above can easily be fixed with a little work from the local DG club. Regular players tend to miss some of these issues because they're so familiar with the layout. Here in Charlotte, outsiders notice the poor signage at Renaissance, while most locals have never noticed the signs were wrong or missing altogether.
- As I said, a lot of holes, in and of themselves, are good. #1 is a fun starting hole; 2, 3 & 4 all offer some challenging layouts. But, when you're trying to sort through the clutter of finding tee pads and determining distances all the time, they lose their luster.
- #9 was a cool layout. Having the basket surrounded by mounds of tall grass gave a great risk/reward second shot.
- Despite all the issues, I can still recognize the positives this course has to offer. It probably speaks well of the course, that a low score for it is only a 3.0. That said, I feel this course should be closer to the 4.0 range. In due time, I hope it gets there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 the wooded 9 holes

1    1/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will not go into the regular 18 holes but rather the new 9 holes that are tucked away behind the pond. When you get to the cage on hole 8 you will be beside the pump house. There will be signs that point to the wooded 9. Once you get to hole 1, its a gradual uphill, straight about 300 ft. then curves right up to a pedestal where the cage lies. Hole two play to the top of the ridge, above hole 1. its a par 3 straight. Hole 3 lies downhill from 2's basket. This hole is tricky. serious dogleg left down a steep hill. Using a putter is recommended. Hole 4 is located over the hill from 3's cage. This hole plays uphill through trees, there are two lines to take on this hole. you can flick if you accurate or hyzer around the trees which could score big or cause a loss of disc in the brush. Hole 5 is another two line shot off the tee. You can rip it across a pit that is OB and very risky or follow the path around with a long hyzer drive. Hole 6 is called The Glory Hole and for good reason. You stand at the top of this ridge and you are shooting down the ridge to the cage straight and the trees are cleared out all the way down to the hole but if you throw off track...your in tree trouble. Hole 7 is a mando flick hole with a restricted tee box for flicking and this hole lies uphill and far to the right on top of the ridge. Hole 8 is called Ode to Richmond Hills and true in the title. This tee is posted on top of one side of the ridge and the cage sits on the opposite side of the ridge. Footage is about 350 to 400 ft. Straight on drive but this hole is not an easy par. Hole 9 is a sweet hyzer mid range drive. It tees off on top of the ridge and follows the ridge around to the left. I used a buzz on this hole and touched chains off the tee. Beware, if you overshoot this hole, there is a huge drop off 30 ft behind the cage. This is a beautifully made wooded 9 and brings variety to this wonderful course.
Cons: The wooded 9 do not have good signage or maps. Still in the making and probably gonna be a real sweet alternative to playing the back 9 or front. Wish they would concrete the regular 18 hole tees.
Other Thoughts: Still one of my favorite local courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ok at best

1    1/7/2012   1/20/2012
Review By: Chris H.
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The only pro to this course would have to be that it is peaceful, unless you start thinking about all of the nuclear material nearby.
Cons: The place is so far out, and so hard to find, that it made the experience horrible. it needs concrete tee pads and a lot of signage. they need to put up a sign for the course so it is easier to find. course map would be nice, numbering the baskets would help, there needs to be something other than paper plates to indicate the tee location, from hole two you see three different baskets with no way of knowing which one to throw at. Sorry if I sound a bit upset, but it took me 3 hours to get there and it was muddy, so I hated it. Maybe next time I will leave a better review.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Grooving in Groves Park

1    11/5/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~4 sets of tees to appeal to every type of player
~Great flow in a wide open natural setting
~Baskets are in good shape
~Quiet, serene atmosphere that is very peaceful
~Beautiful views of surrounding hills
~A monster of a course requiring power and accuracy
Cons:
~Natural tee pads provide loose footing
~Minimal signage, but tees have colored indicators
~No official indicator that you found the course
~Very primitive and basic amenities (which can be a pro)
Other Thoughts:
I found myself at peace with the surroundings and completely satisfied during a long pleasant round at this exceptionally beautiful course. Played with a friend while visiting Oak Ridge on a warm, cloudless Saturday Autumn morning. We drove up and down the road a couple times as there really is not official indicator letting you know that you've arrived. Hopped out, geared up and played from the Blue Tees which proved to be a fairly long and utterly enjoyable experience. The natural tee pads were mostly muddy and slick so we threw from the grass beside each tee box. Footing was solid, but concrete tees would help with confidence on the long drives this set demands. A medley of holes ranging from long open bombs to wooded areas with a heavy dose of mature trees mixed throughout that traverses gradually sloping terrain. Water comes into play here and there. Don't let the openness fool you as skilled lines and a handful of throwing styles are needed throughout. A spectacular setting with ample room for many groups to roam. Highly recommended...epic experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mounds is fun and long but laid out great!

2-4    6/24/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: m34tba11
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Despite the setting and length of this course it is laid out very well. much better then Victor Ashe (down in Knoxville).

As noted..Long open holes but the new 9 in the woods do give you some added variety.

Great use of an abandoned golf course. They can probably add a few more long open holes on other parts of the golf course and make this even bigger if they wanted to...However not everyone is into 50 holes of power...

It's still under the radar for the most part. I've yet to run into crowds when I play here.

A lot of elevation changes.

Great use of the water hazards.
Cons: I have to drive forever to get there?

It's sitting on nuclear waste?

Watch out for the snapping turtles if you have to take a swim for a disc.


Other Thoughts: I cannot wait to hit the new 9 up in the woods. It will also be nice when dgcoursereview gets that information added.

This is one great little gem in East Tennessee that is off the radar and you can really get out there and work on your power/long game.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/19/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As fans of country music will know, or anyone who has ever been unfortunate enough to be bombarded with this dreck while attending a state fair, Oak Ridge, Tennessee is most famously know for them there "Oak Ridge Boys'. The group that brought you Elvira. Indeed, that's all I know this fine lil' town tucked into the hollers of the Eastern Tennessee Mountains. However, Oak Ridge should be known for their disc golf.

- Tee Pads. Each hole on this course has FOUR, count 'em up kids, FOUR tee pads. Red for short, white for intermediate, blue for long and gold for "where is the hole!"? Each tee pad location changes each hole dramatically and makes the course different every time you walk on to the course.

- Baskets - Brand new Innova baskets that catch like the soft hands of a guardian angel. And if I could learn how to putt, I am sure that I would take advantage of them.

Shot variance - the holes range from long and wide open to super tight, wooded holes that challenge the most experienced golfer.

hazards - bad ass water hazards that come into play, along with a creek that can bother any shot.

scenery - yes, I add this in here. the hills and the use of the terrain is amazing on this course. this is such a beautiful course that it's hard to put into words. coming from someone who plays in city parks, it sure is nice to play where there is ZERO car traffic and no aimless boobs wandering into your fairways. Disc golf belongs in the country.
Cons: buhhhh..I am going to have to nitpick here.

I am not a huge fan of the gravel tee pads...but these were really not that bad. all of them were marked well. but honestly, I find it tough to give a perfect score to a course with gravel and grass tee pads. totally personal preference here.

the signs could be improved. now, there are signs at every single hole that shows the distance from each tee pad, but some of the pads have been moved since the signs were put in I guess.

it's a long walk. and that's only a con for me because I am totally out of shape and need to stop smoking. plus, it was muggier than an alligator's rear when we got into the trees.
Other Thoughts: built on an old ball golf course and repurposed into a great DG course, this place is a must play IMHO. great community and very welcoming people playing this course as well. I can't recommend this enough!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.