Murfreesboro, TN 
Barfield Crescent Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #5
3 / 285ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Training Wheels

5+    8/20/2012   1/12/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place for beginners to get their feet wet, pun intended! The openness of the course will draw out the big arms. A good portion of the course is tightly wooded up & downhill so get ready to pull out that Roc or favorite midrange too. A wilderness station (accessible by car) sells factory 2nds & an assortment of discs. The course provides a neat, well kept place for beginners to do well w/o getting too frustrated & seasoned players will show off. Many rest spots, benches & privacy holes allow for leisurely play.
Cons: The course goes from too open to too tight for my liking. There's no in between or transitioning. The wooded holes are thick & tight with nicked up trees, and it'd be prudent if they took out some to give the holes a theme. The open holes are too open & flat. Paved concrete & sidewalks around each basket will rip up your discs if the rocks in the woods don't, and you may get pissed when your park job skips from under the basket into the road scuffed to hell.
Other Thoughts: The course is a work in progress. Trees are being added on the open holes. Don't be a pansy by going by the (although clear) outdated signage designating many of these open 400ft holes par 4. The Annual Barfield Crescent Open offers an awesome temp course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A little strange, but fun

1    9/26/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: eupher61
Played: 95  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short enough to be quick playing, and not dissuade newbies. Well laid out. The ADA accessibility on the more-or-less-front-9 is great! Easy to navigate, good signage. Park is well-maintained.
Cons: Not really a Con, but the slabs around the baskets are a little strange. It does enhance the accessibility, but any one using a cane or a wheelchair will have to go out into the fairway anyway. I had a couple of really nice throws that skipped 30-40' off of that circle instead of parking for a deuce or par. The rocks up in the woods, while fun, aren't good for the plastic.
Other Thoughts: #3 stink hole shouldn't be much of a problem. I'm a short arm, and drove to the basket with a Roc with ease. Laying up is always an option, and often the best. Fun course, I will definitely play again when I'm in the area. This and 7 Oaks both remind me of Cliff Drive in KC, except much shorter and much flatter.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For me, wasn't worth the drive

1    10/11/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: tjonesbusiness
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: HUGE concrete boxes, nice pathways, plenty of signage
Cons: Half of the course is not challenging, some of the wooded holes are "gamble throws"... no path for a disc flight,
Other Thoughts: I was pretty let down after driving from Nashville. I'm sure in 20 years this course will be great (once the foliage grows). Several of the woods holes were just stupid. There needs to be "some" sort of route for the disc to fly

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cute but Overrated

5+    7/10/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun for new or casual player
- Unique technical shots on back 9
Cons: - Heavily played
- Holes are short with some awkward fairways
Other Thoughts: This course has some elements that would bother a more serious golfer. It is heavily played by large groups with frisbees and thus, is hard to play quickly. The open holes are short and bland, requiring no more than a midrange or fairway driver. Some of the wooded holes have awkward and unclear fairways (16, 17) and need a well placed shot plus some luck to get a putt. Although some claim that it is "well constructed" I would have stretch the open holes and dug deeper into the woods for some shots that require some power and accuracy. Of the Nash area courses, I'd only rank this above 2 Rivers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.