Murfreesboro, TN 
Barfield Crescent Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #8
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    7/9/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: fidei defensor3
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained
-good signage
-trash cans located at almost every hole
-benches at every other hole
-good mix of open and wooded areas
-warm up hole located right by parking lot
-course begins and ends at the parking lot
-18 advanced holes and 9 beginner holes
Cons: -some holes have very dense trees
-holes don't have clear paths to next hole
-water hazards eat plastic
-crowded most of the time
-hole 16 and 17 are the exact same with a hike in between
-some tee offs are very small
-pea field
Other Thoughts: for some reason the park has decided to grow peas in the middle of the course and you lose plastics in there for about 30 minutes each time

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A True review: no whining here!

5+    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: The Uncle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Holes with a Front 9 beginners option and a Practice Putting green.
Benches, trash barrels, and signage with very accurate hole info and pin placement at every tee pad.
50/50 mix of open and wooded holes.
Dual purpose paved walking path set up for handicap access to front 9 from pad to pin.
With the tourneys and monthly's' held on a regular basis by MTDGA (local club) the course is decently maintained by them on top of the already constant upkeep of the City Parks Department.
Parking, restrooms, and water fountains are available in the park.
Park Wilderness center has a small "Pro" shop with a variety of Innova discs available for purchase.
Cons: Most of the cons I list are agreed upon across the board so I will list them but follow up with my after thoughts:
50/50 open to wooded ratio is good but not split up enough.
From the pin at #15 to the pin at #17 there is a very bad flaw in the design. Most people don't include the long walk to the #16 tee pad in this complaint but that's where it starts. Then of course the uphill walk to the #17 tee pad to throw virtually the same hole as #16.
Not enough variety or shot selection.
Aside from basic obstacles that don't usually come into play allot of the holes are just straight shots with varying distances.
The handicap access more often than not is a plastic eater.
My #1 con: The little (a lot of times grown men) gremlins that swim in the 2 water hazards at #3 and #7 for your lost plastic while you are in the middle of a round. Keep an eye open I have good aim!!
Lastly, the back 9 has a trash issue and its mostly after monthly's I noticed.
Other Thoughts: Even though I haven't dealt with them, it seems MTDGA does a decent job of getting info out regarding events and tourneys. Back to the cons I have listed, Just be happy to have a course to play at that is free. The idea is too promote the sport of disc golf. We are lucky to have it here in MT.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  My home course

5+    10/3/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Icculus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This a pretty good course for beginners and more experienced players. It is extremely easy to navigate after a quick look over the map. The entire course pretty much makes a big M.
-There are concrete paths between all the holes on the front 9 which make it wheelchair friendly and clearly defines OB.
-The fairways are maintained weekly and the woods aren't too bad.
-There are two restroom facilities near the parking lot and a water pump by the pavilion. ---Every hole has excellent signage, a trashcan, and usually a bench.
-The course offers a wide variety of shots from long, straight and wide open to short, dog leg shots with a low ceiling.
-Most of the wooded holes have multiple pin placements.
-MTDGA, the local club, is very active at this course and Sharp Springs (north) and has either singles or doubles matches going every weekend.
Cons: -Everyone says the water trap on hole #3 is terrible but as long as you lay up it shouldn't be a problem. The real problem with three is the lack of space around the pin for going straight for it. If you go short you're in the water and if you go long or right you're in the woods. The water trap on hole #7 is about 30ft in front of the tee and the overhanging trees tend to toss your discs in the water if you don't get through the gap just right. Not much of a problem for experienced players but beginners usually skip this one or throw from the left of the pond.
-The concrete around the pins is nice and all but has chewed into many of my discs and makes a good shot skip right past the basket. -Some of the holes have ridiculous lines for rhbh players so having a decent forehand drive helps.
-Tee pads are super slick when wet.
-The pins don't get changed to the alternate placement often enough.
-There is a bit of a hike back up the hill from 16 to 17 but you are rewarded with a nice bench and a fun hole.
-The only downside to the course being located in a rather crowded park is that people will picnic or throw football in the middle of #18's fairway. If it's a couple of ignorant teenagers just yell heads up but sometimes parents will let their children run around out there.

Other Thoughts: This has proven to be a good home course for me due to the wide variety of shots and a good local club. This is by no means my favorite course in the area but is one you should try if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix on this course

1    7/1/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 158  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NIcely maintained by both park personnel and the local disc golf community. I played on July 1st; 12:30 PM. Hot and sunny day. The grass was freshly cut. The all-access for 9 holes is unique; I've never seen that before...very nice concrete pathways leading up to and surrounding each backet. As mentioned this was only on 9 of the 18 holes. The woods portion of the course is very technically challenging to work around all of the trees. I enjoy playing golf in the woods and so this was a pro for me. Good signage.
Cons: A couple of the holes were throw and pray where there was not a clearly delineated fairway. Please someone - updae the tee sign on number 3 to indicate there is a pond of nasty stench water in front of the basket. You cannot see it from the tee and I fell victim. That was my main-stay original Roc!
Other Thoughts: This course is not meant to be a championship caliber course; but there is plenty of land where they could expand and have both a 9 hole all-access and an 18 hole technically difficult course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well Groomed

1    9/9/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: jesullivan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept.
All baskets have concrete pads around them (mulch in the woods).
Challenging woods holes
Many alternate pin placements
Close to parking
Cons: Hard to find next hole in woods.
Many woods holes have NO path to the hole with NO overhead options...plinko

Other Thoughts: Will play again

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Golf in the boro

1    10/5/2008   2/5/2009
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 63  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is solid, with a good variety of shot types. The layout of the course is easy to follow, and makes good use of all the land at the park. Several holes play across a relatively open field, but the majority of the holes play in the woods, along the side of a hill.

When I first arrived at the course, it was easy to find the first teepad - with a practice basket 50 feet from the parking lot.
Cons: This course is fairly short, but the woods and elevation change makes up for some of that with a bit of added difficulty.

I played this course on a cold and windy day, and it was relatively busy. I can imagine that on a nice day this course can get very crowded.
Other Thoughts: This course has 5 or 6 holes that play in a field with sparse trees. The rest holes that play through the woods. They range from 200-350, with many having tight fairways or dogleg hooks. All of the wooded holes have modest elevation changes, with one drive that requires a throw over a small pond (150 to clear the water).

Hole 17 is the signature hole at this course, playing down a steep hill with rock outcroppings. The final hole is ~410' and plays from the edge of the woods, back toward the parking lot to finish.

The best thing about this course is the elevation change on the wooded holes - it is very similar to Mastin Lake in Alabama if you have played that one.

This course could be improved by having a few more benches/trashcans and maybe an alternate tee-pad or two. This is not a pro-level course, but it is fun to play for all skill levels.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    6/27/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of short and long holes. It also has some open holes and wooded holes. The tee pads are large and the signs are nice. This is one throw over a small pond and some nice down hill throws in the woods. I really love hole #16.
Cons: It seems like this course is either open or too wooded. A couple of holes have absolutely no fairway are you are just throwing and hoeping to get lucky. I also do not understand the concrete around the baskets. This scuffs up your putters and makes approaches skip away. It's just a very bad idea
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course if you are in the area. The have planted a bunch of young trees on the open holes so it will get better in time. It just feels like the holes are too easy or rediculously hard.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/3/2012   7/9/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of open and wooded holes. None of the holes are insanely long- good for the average player. The wooded holes are on the side of rocky hill, providing nice scenery and elevation, almost like hiking. Discs can be purchased at the Nature Center in the back of the park.

You can play the course as "Advanced" which is all 18 holes, or follow the "Beginner" set-up which consists of only the easier, more open, original 9 holes. The tee signs and baskets have 2 sets of numbers.

*Update 11/26/09- They have just created a new water hazard for hole #3. It is in front of the green area, protecting the basket. It is a nice addition that makes it play more like a traditional ball golf hole. (Hole #7 still has its water hazard as well.)

*Update 2/1/10- There is now a brand new large color course map on the kiosk between the parking lot and tee #1. The tee signs have also had a major upgrade as they are now large, full color maps with distances, alternate hole locations, and clearly labeled numbers corresponding to both the 9-hole and 18-hole set-up.
Cons: A few of the wooded holes have very small fairways. (you can just close your eyes and throw and probably do just as well.) It requires a lot of luck to have a great drive on these holes, as even skillfully executed shots still have a good chance of being punished by hitting a tree.

The concrete greens really do damage your discs. (As I mentioned this course began as the 9 open holes with the concrete rings around the baskets, and I have been told the original plan was to have it handicapped accessible.)

Work is constantly being done on this course in the attempt to make it better, as the course is still relatively new. Now I am all for improving a course, but sometimes it appears things are done just to do more stuff and the "improvements" are not always better. Some of the artificially planted trees are in strange spots, just look ugly, and are unnatural.

This course can be pretty crowded at certain times as it is in a decent sized town with a major university (MTSU). And when it is crowded expect a lot of casual players (college students and families).
Other Thoughts: The course is 18 holes (there were attempts to have 19 or 20, but they have been reversed.) The finishing hole features the picturesque gentle open downhill anhyzer to finish. If you can... park your vehicle closer to the practice basket/kiosk and NOT near hole 18- I have seen many cars get hit with tee shots off #18!

Many people consider this their favorite in Middle TN and I would recommend it to someone traveling to the area. I like it ok and think it has the potential to be really good, but right now there are others that I think are better overall courses in the Nashville area. (Sharp Springs, Cedar Hill, Seven Oaks)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Setting

1/12/2008   3/12/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has open fields and woods. Hyzer holes, anhyzer holes, and line drive holes. In a beautiful atmosphere for disc golf.
Cons: Concrete halos around the baskets can mess up some discs as well as cause good approaches to skid 30 feet away. There has also been an attempt to plant more trees...this is very unnecessary. The open meadow portion had plenty of trees to start with and the new ones are poorly placed.
Other Thoughts: The course was fine at the 18 hole layout. The new 19/20 hole layout is just thrown together. Hole 18 was one of the better finishing holes in this area, and it is not really used that way anymore as the old tee is thrown at a new target.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.