Murfreesboro, TN 
Barfield Crescent Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #14
3 / 250ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Barfield

5+    4/3/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: tyler90wm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course

Decent variety of holes with a good mix of wooded and open holes

Great signage / not too confusing to find your way through the course

Throughout my years of going here they are constantly makes changes to the course for the better

There are paved walkways that mark OBs

Great course for both new and experienced players
Cons: The baskets have a circle of concrete around the baskets which can cause a drive that would have been parked to skip away

The course can be a little bit crowded during the weekends or after work during the weekdays. Due to the amount of people, there are a lot of players who don't know common disc golf etiquette; I've had many people who will still start to throw before I've finished.

A couple of the wooded holes have absolutely no fairway at all.

The walk-up to hole 17 (man that is tiring)
Other Thoughts: Barfield Crescent is definitely a course that can offer some fun for all players, regardless of experience. I would recommend to anyone who was in the area; there are a lot of ace opportunities out there as well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Exciting for new comers and pro's

5+    3/24/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: TNDiscGolfer
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are paved walkways to each of the front 9 (with exception of 2 I believe that go to the woods) and even paved all the way up to the chains itself. Nice transition from the open holes to the wooded holes, pretty much wide open on front 9 and all wooded on back 9 (few exceptions). The course is located in a beautiful park with baseball park, kid play areas, covered picnic areas, etc.The tee signs are nice and is pretty informative with which holes are front 9 and back 9. For the most part its easy to find the next hole (only big exception is #16 to #17) The tee boxes are very also nice. The course is located a few miles off the highway and there are plenty of places to grab some food with a good variety. The nature center in the back of the park has discs and bags for sale at a good price.
Cons: The weekends are pretty much always crowded during spring and summer months so kind of a bummer when you pull up and see a full parking lot. Expect to wait a few minutes each hole if this is the case. Some of the wooded holes are way too tight in some areas and seem impossible but definitely not just frustrating for the new comer or newbie to the game. Trust me I know the locals "secret" lines and I still hit hardwood on a regular basis. This place is crazy infested with bee's in bushes and tree's on the open holes during warm months. Some bushes that are real bad with bee's are right beside tees and also in fairways and beside chains where your disc may land so this will frustrate you. Walk from 16 to 17 to me and many people is very pointless. You end 16 just to walk right up a killer hill/mini-mountain to 17 just to throw back down. I will say both holes are nice just will wear you out. Luckily its the end of the course but if you play more than 1 round expect to be tired. Some of the tee's could be a tad longer and when they get wet man are they slippery. People sometimes hangout and picnic to the left of #18's fairway mainly because there is a kiddie area about 150-200 feet left of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Have spotted several small snakes but that's expected in woods. And newbies will hate water holes on #3 and #7 but #7 has a optional hole with no water. If you decide to play it bring your float-able discs or get ready to go diving in dirty brown water. Overall not a bad course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

2 for 1!

1    12/18/2011   12/19/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course plays through a nice park setting and has a mix of open and wooded holes. (50% wooded & 50% open). The course, for the most part flows quite nicely and loops back for 9 or 18 holes. The 9 hole loop is all open and has paved pathways all the way up to the basket making this the first wheelchair accessible course that I have played. The 18 hole loop breaks off of the 9 in various spots and enters the woods.

Baskets show a bit of weathering but nothing that is out of the ordinary. All are cemented firmly in the ground and none are jankety. Concrete tee pads are all quite large with the exception of a few smaller ones in the woods.

Tee signs are spectacular and show the hole number for the easy 9 and the advanced 18 on each sign. They show obstacles nicely including trees and water hazards where applicable. Benches were available every 2-3 holes and trash cans were plentiful as well. Course was extremely clean, fairways well defended, either by trees or paths and the locals were friendly as well.

Elevation mainly comes into play in the wooded holes but number 9/18 is one of the best uses. 370' downhill wide open. Wooded holes have a strong emphasis on accuracy over distance with some holes forcing you to be very meticulous with your shot placement. Also, the wooded holes play on top of large flat rocks which is a nice feature that is not found on every course. Straight, open, wooded, hyzer and anhyzer shots are all needed to excel on this course.

Water comes into play on 2 holes and are fair. Hole 3Easy/3Advanced has a small pond right before the well defined green forcing a layup or go for it approach off the tee. Hole 7 Advanced has a tee shot over a small pond. Not too large, maybe 70' to the far edge, but just knowing it is there is enough to throw someone off.

This is a large multi use park and there are many other things to do here with playgrounds, ball fields, pavilions, rest rooms, drinking fountains and appear to be dog friendly. Easy directions with signs to Barfield Park from a few miles away really helped and within the park, signs for disc golf were easy to spot. The parking lot was large and could accommodate maybe 20+ cars. With other lots around as well, shortage of parking should be no issue.
Cons: There is not much that is bad about this course that I can say but there are two things that stick out in my mind.

1. From 16's pin, you have to walk back up the hill you just threw down to get to 17's tee pad. I did not see a direct route so we ended walking up 17's fairway, just to throw down it again. Seems like an easy fix would be for arrows nailed to the trees to direct you to the next pin.

2. There were a few holes that were too wooded for my liking. I enjoy playing on wooded courses but some were just too much. Only 2-3 holes were like this so it was not a huge deal but a few holes could be trimmed up and still have a nice wooded course.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I would love to play again. Only 5 minutes off the highway, it was a good stopping point during a small road trip to stretch for a few hours. Not much variety is offered for restaurants except for asian food. A bit more offered on the other side of the highway.

If you do not like my review, let me know why before rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

1    6/25/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: SunOnMySkin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very Clean course.

-Large tee pads in the open holes.

-Well maintained tee pad in the wooded holes.

-Great challenge holes with woods and obstacles used efficiently.

-Good signs that show the holes footage, par and layout.

-Wooded area is hilly and helps with the challenge.

-Most holes are laid out for either side arm or back hand throw with a few exceptions.

-Baskets are clearly marked with hole numbers.

-Well maintained paths between holes.

-Most tee pads have benches for your use.

-Bathrooms nearby for easy access.

-Hole 1 tee pad is on one side of parking area and hole 18 basket on the other.

-A water source at the pavilion by parking area.
Cons: -The water trap on hole 3 is ridiculous. It seems to have been designed with the resale of lost disc in mind. A rip off scheme. If you get a good throw on hole 3 you will most likely end up in this muddy, nasty pond that you cant see anything in. The wall closest to the basket also helps in hindering your throw to the basket.

-The walk up the hill from hole 16 to 17 is more of a hike than a walk. It leaves most people out of breath. Thank the stars there is a large bench at the tee pad of 17 to rest.

-Hole 16 and 17 are nearly identical with the exception of a few trees and the basket on 17 on a large rock and 16's surrounded by boulders.

-Can sometimes be very crowded. This is a big problem especially when a lot of the players want to throw 10 disc each player on every hole. Some very rude players in this sense.

-Need bug repellent due to mosquitos. The nasty, muddy, stagnant water traps are too perfect a place for the pesky insects to grow.
Other Thoughts: This course has a place to purchase a disc if needed fairly close to hole 3's basket.

Over all a really good course with the biggest problem being the water trap on hole 3. I hope that whoever designed the water trap on hole 3 is getting their kickback from the resale of disc and doctors.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Par 3 Variety

5+    3/15/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: adambenson87
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety for a par 3 course! Of course, this is my home course, so I'm going to keep my bias and say it's good. It really is, though. If you shoot under par, you earned it. For some courses, it's normal to shoot under par and you expect to make birdie on some holes. Not the case here. You earn every bird, and there's so much variety, you have to make a different shot on each hole to score well. One minute, you're throwing a putter through the woods on your first shot, and the next hole you're throwing a distance driver out in the open. Also, it's just a beautiful course, and they really do a fantastic job of maintaining it.
Cons: I saw the review of the person who marked this course as a 2.5, and saw he mentioned some of paths for the wooded holes were stupidly thin. I have to say that I agree with him for holes 4 (although you need to look high and to the right, because there's an open route that way that only the locals really know), 6 (you just have to flick something or an-hyzer a putter), 13, maybe 15, 16, and maybe 17. For those holes, I would say there is about 65% skill and 35% luck to have a shot at birdie.

Also, I wish there were some holes longer than 390 feet, but that's more of a personal preference. I like the courses that have (PDGA regulated, not recreational) par 4's and 5's (450-1000 foot holes).
Other Thoughts: Beautifully maintained! Every time I come back, I see they have added new trees or something. It always looks in tip-top shape. I am proud to call this course my home course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in progress

1    4/12/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in the back of a large, well kept public park. Disc golf course is kept mostly away from other park users. Full 18 hole course with concrete pads at all holes. 9 holes are constructed with paved paths and 'greens' around the basket in order to be handicap accessible.

Signs are good and show hole layout and possible basket positions. Pads on handicap accessible holes are huge.

Nice mix of mostly open and heavily wooded holes. About half the holes are open and only have scattered trees. The other holes play through the woods and hills.

Basket positions were good in that they used available obstacles to make the holes more challenging. There is a small pond on #3 in front of the basket and another one on #7 that must be crossed from the tee pad.
Cons: I wasn't a big fan of the concrete around the baskets on the handicap accessible holes. Not a huge problem, just bugged me.

Course navigation is mostly easy, but a few signs would really help. Transition from 12 to 13 was not obvious. Same with the long walk back up the hill after 16. A few well placed signs would help a lot.

Right now open holes don't have a ton of challenge or shot- making requirements to them. This will improve as course ages and trees grow.

I played in the late afternoon and there were some people laying out in the field on 18. That hole may be a problem if the park is busy.
Other Thoughts: Just a really clean, nice course. The open holes allow you to let loose with some drives, and the tight wooded holes force you to hit lines with your mids and putters.

Don't sweat the long walk up to 17. It sets up one of the better holes on the course. You'll get a nice throw from the top down through the trees and rock-laden fairway to the basket at the bottom.

While there isn't a ton of elevation the course does use what there is very well. There are some shorter uphill shots through trees, and there is some cool downhill shots. 16 is a nice, short ace run down the hill.

I really enjoyed this course. It is not super challenging, but the wooded holes could hurt you if you can't hit your line. The open holes are basic now, but as the trees in place grow they should turn into really nice holes. I would definitely recommend this course if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Tale of Two Courses

1    2/1/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 220  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I titled this A Tale of Two Courses due to the layout of this course. Barfield has two types of holes - open or tightly wooded.
Here's the open hole portion. Mostly wide open fairways lined with moderately tall trees (most under 12-15 feet). The fairways are very wide and lined with an array of cedars, oaks and other trees that will eventually form a very nice barrier. Occasional older, larger trees are well used to force a route instead of letting the thrower chose their own. The grass is nicely manicured and short which provides a great surface for rollers. The open holes provide more length than the wooded holes and number 18 provides a great finishing hole that is also visually appealing. The open tee pads a gigantic (probably the largest ones I've ever seen out of 100 courses) with paved paths leading from the tees down to the basket. The handicap paved paths sit along side the fairways and provide a nice artificial OB to keep you in the fairway. There's virtually no way you can get lost on these holes from basket to tee and so on.
Here's the wooded hole portion. The layout greatly uses the woods to split up the course to where you play a few open holes, go into the woods, come out into the open, go back into the woods, and finished with one big bomber out in the open finally. Most of the wooded holes have multiple sleeve placements unlike in the open though I don't know how often these are switched up. The fairways are tight but mostly fair in that if you hit your line, you will be rewarded. There's a few spots where luck can definitely go one way or another. The woods forces several different shaped shots to reach the basket and everything is reachable with clean drives. There are more elevation changes in the woods than the open and make for some interesting uphill hyzers and downhill hyzers/anhyzers. Most have lots of outcrops throughout the fairways and greens with number 17's basket perched on top of one. Though the wooded tee pads are smaller than the open ones, they are more grippy during wet conditions.

There is excellent signage at each tee with each sign showing where the next tee pad (especially useful in the woods). I noticed there's a lack of trash cans at least on the wooded holes, so if you pack it in, pack it out. All of the baskets are in great condition and catch well.
Cons: The open holes generally around the same length (310'-390') and don't provide as much of a challenge as the shorter wooded holes. Recovery shots here can be very easy compared to the woods. There's no indication of which sleeve the baskets are in on the wooded holes which will lead to more walking/searching for baskets. The mono-toned gray color of the baskets doesn't help the search either. Though the open tee pads are oversized, they can be very slick when wet. The wooded holes are not part of the handicap accessible portion of the course and have smaller tees. As in smaller, I mean, normal sized tee pads. The walk from 16's basket to 17's tee is ridiculous since both 16's and 17's tee pads are at the same elevation on the hill. Feel like there could have been a different design for 17 to lead to 18 just the same.
Other Thoughts: Barfield Crescent is an immensely fun course that provides a little something for everyone. The open holes provide a great place to let 'em rip but not without some control and is also a great place to practice rollers of varying distances. The wooded holes showcase the typical Tennessee fairway with tight lines and a little luck. I found those to be very fun and they kinda remind me of some North Carolina fairways. I kinda find it laughable that people complain about the concrete circles around the baskets eating away at discs yet they don't complain about trees doing the exact same thing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: Fleet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Aesthetically, probably the nicest course in middle TN. Definitely the best tee box signage I've seen.

You could live inside the concrete tee pads they have. The things are massive so you have plenty of room to make your drive.

Reasonable mix of wooded and open holes.

Water holes that aren't daunting.
Cons: Next tees aren't clearly marked on occassion. A lot of people get lost between 12 and 13. After 12, walk like you're heading back towards the 12 tee box, except stay up in the woods and you'll find 13 with no problem. From there it's pretty easy to find your way.

The tee boxes for 16-17 are right next to each other, and they both play downhill. So once you've played 16, you have to trudge back uphill to the 17 tee and play down again. Poor course design, in my mind, but it's really the only thing they could do given the locations of those holes.

You can skip a disc another 60 feet if you manage to land it on one of the concrete borders around some of the holes. This is usually a bad thing.

Go early or you're going to be waiting for a long, LONG time.
Other Thoughts: If you've played Seven Oaks at all, you won't mind the wooded holes with "no fairway".

Aside from the fact that I seem to never do well on this course, the only thing that really bugs me is the crowd. Even if I go early I still find myself in a bottleneck at some point. Overall, I enjoy it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Barfield Crecent Review

5+    4/22/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: slowRoll
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of long, short, open, and wooded. Water comes into play on 2 holes leading to a go for it or lay up decision on number 3. Clean park. The local club and parks personel do a great job maintaining this place. High Quality DiscCatcher baskets, reduces likelyhood of cut throughs.
Cons: The wheelchair accessable concrete pads that surround the baskets can be murder on your discs. This place is always windy, and there are a ton of people on the course on nice days with MTSU being so close so expect a wait on some teepads.
Other Thoughts: I don't know what the guy that said this course is too easy was talking about, he obviously didn't play on or beyond walkpaths and in flowerbeds/mulched areas as OB like the course is meant to be played. The people complaining about the wooded holes being too tight need to understand that this are classic examples of Tennessee tunnel type fairways and just enjoy them for what they are. Hole 13 is the most unfair, but can be deuced with a great hyzer or thumber. As an advanced level golfer myself; I am happy to make it out of this course at even par and with no discs lost in the water. I'd call Barfield challenging, but fair. In just a few years all those small trees placed throughout the course will mature and the difficulty level will be cranked up even more. Great place to play.

Not trying to pub myself , but I did create a complete course directory if you plan on visiting and playing in middle TN. You can walkthrough these courses via slideshows and read a brief writeup of any of our courses in under 2 minutes.

http://mtdga.sports.officeliv.../Courses.aspx

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/23/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: Mark Kelley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Handy cap accessable, and good to take the girlfriend with because its pretty easy.
Cons: The blue on top of the baskets makes them harder to see when it starts getting dark
Other Thoughts: They are making some more water and will be really nice when its done

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.