Murfreesboro, TN 
Barfield Crescent Park Share
Uploaded By: Wademade1   (Taken 7/2014)
Course layout



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Par 3 Variety

5+    3/15/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: adambenson87
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety for a par 3 course! Of course, this is my home course, so I'm going to keep my bias and say it's good. It really is, though. If you shoot under par, you earned it. For some courses, it's normal to shoot under par and you expect to make birdie on some holes. Not the case here. You earn every bird, and there's so much variety, you have to make a different shot on each hole to score well. One minute, you're throwing a putter through the woods on your first shot, and the next hole you're throwing a distance driver out in the open. Also, it's just a beautiful course, and they really do a fantastic job of maintaining it.
Cons: I saw the review of the person who marked this course as a 2.5, and saw he mentioned some of paths for the wooded holes were stupidly thin. I have to say that I agree with him for holes 4 (although you need to look high and to the right, because there's an open route that way that only the locals really know), 6 (you just have to flick something or an-hyzer a putter), 13, maybe 15, 16, and maybe 17. For those holes, I would say there is about 65% skill and 35% luck to have a shot at birdie.

Also, I wish there were some holes longer than 390 feet, but that's more of a personal preference. I like the courses that have (PDGA regulated, not recreational) par 4's and 5's (450-1000 foot holes).
Other Thoughts: Beautifully maintained! Every time I come back, I see they have added new trees or something. It always looks in tip-top shape. I am proud to call this course my home course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great local course!!

2-4    4/30/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: Oneshotonekil8
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You first drive up and you see a neat clean park, tons of family oriented activities to enjoy. the landscape of the park is by far the best around the area that i've seen.all the open well kept greens the back half in the woods lye some big rocks with tucked in baskets. def. play all the time
Cons: watch out for the water haz. on 3 on 7 its not to bad. but three position yourself within striking distance to reach the basket. the walk up hill frm 16 to 17 is like hiking not disc golf lol.. but other than that. thats all
Other Thoughts: dont go during high traffic times like fri, sat afternoons tons of ppl and if you play by yourself it tends to draw out the length of time

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in progress

1    4/12/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in the back of a large, well kept public park. Disc golf course is kept mostly away from other park users. Full 18 hole course with concrete pads at all holes. 9 holes are constructed with paved paths and 'greens' around the basket in order to be handicap accessible.

Signs are good and show hole layout and possible basket positions. Pads on handicap accessible holes are huge.

Nice mix of mostly open and heavily wooded holes. About half the holes are open and only have scattered trees. The other holes play through the woods and hills.

Basket positions were good in that they used available obstacles to make the holes more challenging. There is a small pond on #3 in front of the basket and another one on #7 that must be crossed from the tee pad.
Cons: I wasn't a big fan of the concrete around the baskets on the handicap accessible holes. Not a huge problem, just bugged me.

Course navigation is mostly easy, but a few signs would really help. Transition from 12 to 13 was not obvious. Same with the long walk back up the hill after 16. A few well placed signs would help a lot.

Right now open holes don't have a ton of challenge or shot- making requirements to them. This will improve as course ages and trees grow.

I played in the late afternoon and there were some people laying out in the field on 18. That hole may be a problem if the park is busy.
Other Thoughts: Just a really clean, nice course. The open holes allow you to let loose with some drives, and the tight wooded holes force you to hit lines with your mids and putters.

Don't sweat the long walk up to 17. It sets up one of the better holes on the course. You'll get a nice throw from the top down through the trees and rock-laden fairway to the basket at the bottom.

While there isn't a ton of elevation the course does use what there is very well. There are some shorter uphill shots through trees, and there is some cool downhill shots. 16 is a nice, short ace run down the hill.

I really enjoyed this course. It is not super challenging, but the wooded holes could hurt you if you can't hit your line. The open holes are basic now, but as the trees in place grow they should turn into really nice holes. I would definitely recommend this course if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Tale of Two Courses

1    2/1/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I titled this A Tale of Two Courses due to the layout of this course. Barfield has two types of holes - open or tightly wooded.
Here's the open hole portion. Mostly wide open fairways lined with moderately tall trees (most under 12-15 feet). The fairways are very wide and lined with an array of cedars, oaks and other trees that will eventually form a very nice barrier. Occasional older, larger trees are well used to force a route instead of letting the thrower chose their own. The grass is nicely manicured and short which provides a great surface for rollers. The open holes provide more length than the wooded holes and number 18 provides a great finishing hole that is also visually appealing. The open tee pads a gigantic (probably the largest ones I've ever seen out of 100 courses) with paved paths leading from the tees down to the basket. The handicap paved paths sit along side the fairways and provide a nice artificial OB to keep you in the fairway. There's virtually no way you can get lost on these holes from basket to tee and so on.
Here's the wooded hole portion. The layout greatly uses the woods to split up the course to where you play a few open holes, go into the woods, come out into the open, go back into the woods, and finished with one big bomber out in the open finally. Most of the wooded holes have multiple sleeve placements unlike in the open though I don't know how often these are switched up. The fairways are tight but mostly fair in that if you hit your line, you will be rewarded. There's a few spots where luck can definitely go one way or another. The woods forces several different shaped shots to reach the basket and everything is reachable with clean drives. There are more elevation changes in the woods than the open and make for some interesting uphill hyzers and downhill hyzers/anhyzers. Most have lots of outcrops throughout the fairways and greens with number 17's basket perched on top of one. Though the wooded tee pads are smaller than the open ones, they are more grippy during wet conditions.

There is excellent signage at each tee with each sign showing where the next tee pad (especially useful in the woods). I noticed there's a lack of trash cans at least on the wooded holes, so if you pack it in, pack it out. All of the baskets are in great condition and catch well.
Cons: The open holes generally around the same length (310'-390') and don't provide as much of a challenge as the shorter wooded holes. Recovery shots here can be very easy compared to the woods. There's no indication of which sleeve the baskets are in on the wooded holes which will lead to more walking/searching for baskets. The mono-toned gray color of the baskets doesn't help the search either. Though the open tee pads are oversized, they can be very slick when wet. The wooded holes are not part of the handicap accessible portion of the course and have smaller tees. As in smaller, I mean, normal sized tee pads. The walk from 16's basket to 17's tee is ridiculous since both 16's and 17's tee pads are at the same elevation on the hill. Feel like there could have been a different design for 17 to lead to 18 just the same.
Other Thoughts: Barfield Crescent is an immensely fun course that provides a little something for everyone. The open holes provide a great place to let 'em rip but not without some control and is also a great place to practice rollers of varying distances. The wooded holes showcase the typical Tennessee fairway with tight lines and a little luck. I found those to be very fun and they kinda remind me of some North Carolina fairways. I kinda find it laughable that people complain about the concrete circles around the baskets eating away at discs yet they don't complain about trees doing the exact same thing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Barfield Crescent Park

1    11/17/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: eng2joe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very Clean park. The maps at each tee were in great shape. Easy acess to the park and to the course.
Cons: Cement surrounding each basket in the front 9 will eat up a disk quickly.
Other Thoughts: I had only a little of daylight left to play. I got the first 9 in and it was too dark to play the back half. Front half, was well groomed, clean and great for beginners.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course!

2-4    9/27/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. The water holes are fun and not intimidating. Most holes in the back 9 play through some very scenic rocky landscapes. Excellent signage and layout.
Cons: The same rocky landscape, though pretty, can be rough on discs. Pretty crowded, as most awesome parks tend to be.
Other Thoughts: I will make the 45 min. drive and add this to my regular rotation of courses to play. Worth a trip. I played this course a few years back and they have put a ton of work into since then. Keep up the good work!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: Fleet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Aesthetically, probably the nicest course in middle TN. Definitely the best tee box signage I've seen.

You could live inside the concrete tee pads they have. The things are massive so you have plenty of room to make your drive.

Reasonable mix of wooded and open holes.

Water holes that aren't daunting.
Cons: Next tees aren't clearly marked on occassion. A lot of people get lost between 12 and 13. After 12, walk like you're heading back towards the 12 tee box, except stay up in the woods and you'll find 13 with no problem. From there it's pretty easy to find your way.

The tee boxes for 16-17 are right next to each other, and they both play downhill. So once you've played 16, you have to trudge back uphill to the 17 tee and play down again. Poor course design, in my mind, but it's really the only thing they could do given the locations of those holes.

You can skip a disc another 60 feet if you manage to land it on one of the concrete borders around some of the holes. This is usually a bad thing.

Go early or you're going to be waiting for a long, LONG time.
Other Thoughts: If you've played Seven Oaks at all, you won't mind the wooded holes with "no fairway".

Aside from the fact that I seem to never do well on this course, the only thing that really bugs me is the crowd. Even if I go early I still find myself in a bottleneck at some point. Overall, I enjoy it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

5+    8/21/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: siscownage
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place for beginners and pros alike. In my opinion the cleanest park in middle Tennessee.
Cons: The wooded holes are almost unreasonable, especially if the pins are placed farthest from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Do not speed in the parking lot, cops are always all over this place. Also my 2nd favorite place to play in middle Tennessee.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Barfield Crecent Review

5+    4/22/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: slowRoll
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of long, short, open, and wooded. Water comes into play on 2 holes leading to a go for it or lay up decision on number 3. Clean park. The local club and parks personel do a great job maintaining this place. High Quality DiscCatcher baskets, reduces likelyhood of cut throughs.
Cons: The wheelchair accessable concrete pads that surround the baskets can be murder on your discs. This place is always windy, and there are a ton of people on the course on nice days with MTSU being so close so expect a wait on some teepads.
Other Thoughts: I don't know what the guy that said this course is too easy was talking about, he obviously didn't play on or beyond walkpaths and in flowerbeds/mulched areas as OB like the course is meant to be played. The people complaining about the wooded holes being too tight need to understand that this are classic examples of Tennessee tunnel type fairways and just enjoy them for what they are. Hole 13 is the most unfair, but can be deuced with a great hyzer or thumber. As an advanced level golfer myself; I am happy to make it out of this course at even par and with no discs lost in the water. I'd call Barfield challenging, but fair. In just a few years all those small trees placed throughout the course will mature and the difficulty level will be cranked up even more. Great place to play.

Not trying to pub myself , but I did create a complete course directory if you plan on visiting and playing in middle TN. You can walkthrough these courses via slideshows and read a brief writeup of any of our courses in under 2 minutes.

http://mtdga.sports.officeliv.../Courses.aspx

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/23/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: Mark Kelley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Handy cap accessable, and good to take the girlfriend with because its pretty easy.
Cons: The blue on top of the baskets makes them harder to see when it starts getting dark
Other Thoughts: They are making some more water and will be really nice when its done

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.