Murfreesboro, TN 
Barfield Crescent Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #14
3 / 250ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 For me, wasn't worth the drive

1    10/11/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: tjonesbusiness
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: HUGE concrete boxes, nice pathways, plenty of signage
Cons: Half of the course is not challenging, some of the wooded holes are "gamble throws"... no path for a disc flight,
Other Thoughts: I was pretty let down after driving from Nashville. I'm sure in 20 years this course will be great (once the foliage grows). Several of the woods holes were just stupid. There needs to be "some" sort of route for the disc to fly

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: trippin4knuggs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best front nines around. Many ace opportunities spread through course.
Cons: Very rocky course especially the back nine. Can easily bang up some discs.
Other Thoughts: Tons of things always going on at this course. A great place to find some pro's help out your game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well Groomed

1    9/9/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: jesullivan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept.
All baskets have concrete pads around them (mulch in the woods).
Challenging woods holes
Many alternate pin placements
Close to parking
Cons: Hard to find next hole in woods.
Many woods holes have NO path to the hole with NO overhead options...plinko

Other Thoughts: Will play again

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worst design ever.

2-4    5/18/2010   9/3/2009
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Attractive park area, pro shop with friendly staff, rocks look nice until your disc hits them, close to Interstate, the open holes have well placed trees that will be more significant as they grow.
Cons: Crowded park, wooded holes without defined fairways, no par/distance/map signs on the holes that need them most, concrete around some baskets, inaccurate pars when posted, some too small tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I suppose this is a good place to go if you want to destroy some discs on the unnecessary concrete, misplaced rocks, or uncleared trees. It was easy to get to from the Interstate which thankfully made it easy to leave!

UPDATED EIGHT MONTHS LATER: Some significant improvements have been made such as informative tee signs and the much needed clearing of some trees. More defined fairways are still holding back some holes, but at least the course is playable now. I doubled my rating after this visit and no longer consider the place an embarrassment to the sport. Congratulations!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Course

5+    7/24/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: msudog_
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/20/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's been 7 months since my last update.

Barfield is a great course for beginners. It is designed so that beginners can play the 9 open holes as a beginner level, or they can play the full 18 with 9 additional holes of woods.

The park is very well maintained. Barfield is a young course, so there are a lot of smaller trees that have been planted on the open holes over the past few years.

They have new tee signs, so you shouldn't get lost anymore. They also have benches and trash cans on most of the holes.

You will have several options on a lot of the holes, so you will be able to use all the shots in your bag.

Some of the holes have multiple locations, and the baskets are moved every month or so. There are also 2 small ponds now that you throw over.

The 9 open holes are handicap accessible. The only downside to this is the concrete ring that surrounds the basket. It can scuff up your discs pretty well, but that's not a big deal.
Cons: The only real problem I have with this course are a few holes (4,13, 16 long, 17) that don't have a defined fairway.

The woods are rocky, so they can be slick when it's wet.

It can get crowded after 3 on weekdays and then most of the weekend. When I have played before 3, the course flows pretty well.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course and I found it a great course to learn on. Most of the open holes are 320-375, so a little short if you have a long arm, but great for beginners.

Barfield is doing a good job of working and developing the course for the future. I really look forward to playing this course in the future because of the additions and growth this course is having.

As of today here are my favorite Nashville area courses:

1. Cedar Hill Park
2. Crockett Park
3. Liberty Park
4. Sharp Springs Park
5. Barfield Crescent Park
6. Seven Oaks Park
7. Two Rivers

I haven't played Sanders Ferry, Cedars of Lebanon, or Triple Creek.



3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cute but Overrated

5+    7/10/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: RayRay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun for new or casual player
- Unique technical shots on back 9
Cons: - Heavily played
- Holes are short with some awkward fairways
Other Thoughts: This course has some elements that would bother a more serious golfer. It is heavily played by large groups with frisbees and thus, is hard to play quickly. The open holes are short and bland, requiring no more than a midrange or fairway driver. Some of the wooded holes have awkward and unclear fairways (16, 17) and need a well placed shot plus some luck to get a putt. Although some claim that it is "well constructed" I would have stretch the open holes and dug deeper into the woods for some shots that require some power and accuracy. Of the Nash area courses, I'd only rank this above 2 Rivers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 amazing course

5+    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: ChronoDisc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is such a beautiful course. it is well maintained. mowed every morning. it has concrete paths leading to each hole that is in the open. lots of beautiful plants and trees in the front nine area. baskets are in great shape. concrete tees on each hole. a tournament is held the last saturday of every weekend also. this course is well worth the trip from any point in tennessee. the wilderness store is a little ways down the road from the course just in case you need a spare disc. the rocks add a nice touch to some of your throws.
Cons: there tends to be a lot of people. it gets slick and muddy when it is wet. the rocks can be hazardous to your discs... i know from experience.
Other Thoughts: my personal favorite course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    3/15/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course in a great park. The course is very clean and appeared to be well maintained. Lots of young trees and shrubs are planted around the course on the open holes and will be really nice when they reach maturity. The flat rocks among the hardwoods and cedar trees made for a really nice setting in the woods.

The average holes are in the 300' range with some shorter ones in the woods. Of the open holes number seven stands out with a punch out crossing a small pond. The wooded holes can be challenging with the thick trees mixed with some sweeping doglegs here and there. Thirteen, sixteen, and seventeen stand out to me of all the wooded holes. Thirteen is an uphill shot with lots of trees to navigate around. Sixteen and seventeen are downhill shots with doglegs right and left. Also Seventeen should be noted for having the basket set on the edge of a 3' rock cliff. Eighteen is a fun way to end with its 380'~ downhill shot to the parking lot. You will want to throw several discs at this one for sure.

Concrete tee pads, benches, and signs were a nice feature along with the practice basket near the parking lot. Most signs say "par 4" and "pro par 3". I think most players would agree that these holes should all be played as par 3.

Cons: Even with rainy weather we still saw lots of people out on the course. The course would be very busy on weekend days with good weather. There are 10' circles of concrete around the baskets on several holes.
Other Thoughts: Just 2-3 minutes off I-24 makes it even more worth while to stop and play, especially if you are driving through the area. H.V. Griffin is only about 20 minutes down the same road as Barfield Crescent from 1-24. Playing both on the same day would make a trip even more worth while.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cute

1    3/12/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: Bornabuckeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Shows that a short layout can be challenging.

Very well placed obstacles

Design was maximized given the land used.
Cons: Short

Tee signs dont reflect actual par, everything should play a 3.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course to play. Me and some pals drove up to murfreesboro from atlanta to go to white castle and were very surprised by the design of the course. Its a short one, but the course uses key placement of trees and OB sidewalks to fight back.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    1/31/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: Dan_Dizzle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very good disc golf can be played here. Good distances and a lot of tight holes once you get to the woods. A lot of shots will be used on this course.
Cons: Sometimes they take a long time to mow the grass and they keep adding trees and a lot of holes would be hard to find for beginners on the last 8 holes because of the lack of signage.
Other Thoughts: Good course to learn to play. Lots of fun with big groups and usally not too craowded.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.