Murfreesboro, TN 
Barfield Crescent Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #18
4 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

5+    7/9/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: fidei defensor3
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -well maintained
-good signage
-trash cans located at almost every hole
-benches at every other hole
-good mix of open and wooded areas
-warm up hole located right by parking lot
-course begins and ends at the parking lot
-18 advanced holes and 9 beginner holes
Cons: -some holes have very dense trees
-holes don't have clear paths to next hole
-water hazards eat plastic
-crowded most of the time
-hole 16 and 17 are the exact same with a hike in between
-some tee offs are very small
-pea field
Other Thoughts: for some reason the park has decided to grow peas in the middle of the course and you lose plastics in there for about 30 minutes each time

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A True review: no whining here!

5+    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: The Uncle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Holes with a Front 9 beginners option and a Practice Putting green.
Benches, trash barrels, and signage with very accurate hole info and pin placement at every tee pad.
50/50 mix of open and wooded holes.
Dual purpose paved walking path set up for handicap access to front 9 from pad to pin.
With the tourneys and monthly's' held on a regular basis by MTDGA (local club) the course is decently maintained by them on top of the already constant upkeep of the City Parks Department.
Parking, restrooms, and water fountains are available in the park.
Park Wilderness center has a small "Pro" shop with a variety of Innova discs available for purchase.
Cons: Most of the cons I list are agreed upon across the board so I will list them but follow up with my after thoughts:
50/50 open to wooded ratio is good but not split up enough.
From the pin at #15 to the pin at #17 there is a very bad flaw in the design. Most people don't include the long walk to the #16 tee pad in this complaint but that's where it starts. Then of course the uphill walk to the #17 tee pad to throw virtually the same hole as #16.
Not enough variety or shot selection.
Aside from basic obstacles that don't usually come into play allot of the holes are just straight shots with varying distances.
The handicap access more often than not is a plastic eater.
My #1 con: The little (a lot of times grown men) gremlins that swim in the 2 water hazards at #3 and #7 for your lost plastic while you are in the middle of a round. Keep an eye open I have good aim!!
Lastly, the back 9 has a trash issue and its mostly after monthly's I noticed.
Other Thoughts: Even though I haven't dealt with them, it seems MTDGA does a decent job of getting info out regarding events and tourneys. Back to the cons I have listed, Just be happy to have a course to play at that is free. The idea is too promote the sport of disc golf. We are lucky to have it here in MT.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Training Wheels

5+    8/20/2012   1/12/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great place for beginners to get their feet wet, pun intended! The openness of the course will draw out the big arms. A good portion of the course is tightly wooded up & downhill so get ready to pull out that Roc or favorite midrange too. A wilderness station (accessible by car) sells factory 2nds & an assortment of discs. The course provides a neat, well kept place for beginners to do well w/o getting too frustrated & seasoned players will show off. Many rest spots, benches & privacy holes allow for leisurely play.
Cons: The course goes from too open to too tight for my liking. There's no in between or transitioning. The wooded holes are thick & tight with nicked up trees, and it'd be prudent if they took out some to give the holes a theme. The open holes are too open & flat. Paved concrete & sidewalks around each basket will rip up your discs if the rocks in the woods don't, and you may get pissed when your park job skips from under the basket into the road scuffed to hell.
Other Thoughts: The course is a work in progress. Trees are being added on the open holes. Don't be a pansy by going by the (although clear) outdated signage designating many of these open 400ft holes par 4. The Annual Barfield Crescent Open offers an awesome temp course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Barfield

5+    4/3/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: tyler90wm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course

Decent variety of holes with a good mix of wooded and open holes

Great signage / not too confusing to find your way through the course

Throughout my years of going here they are constantly makes changes to the course for the better

There are paved walkways that mark OBs

Great course for both new and experienced players
Cons: The baskets have a circle of concrete around the baskets which can cause a drive that would have been parked to skip away

The course can be a little bit crowded during the weekends or after work during the weekdays. Due to the amount of people, there are a lot of players who don't know common disc golf etiquette; I've had many people who will still start to throw before I've finished.

A couple of the wooded holes have absolutely no fairway at all.

The walk-up to hole 17 (man that is tiring)
Other Thoughts: Barfield Crescent is definitely a course that can offer some fun for all players, regardless of experience. I would recommend to anyone who was in the area; there are a lot of ace opportunities out there as well.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Exciting for new comers and pro's

5+    3/24/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: TNDiscGolfer
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are paved walkways to each of the front 9 (with exception of 2 I believe that go to the woods) and even paved all the way up to the chains itself. Nice transition from the open holes to the wooded holes, pretty much wide open on front 9 and all wooded on back 9 (few exceptions). The course is located in a beautiful park with baseball park, kid play areas, covered picnic areas, etc.The tee signs are nice and is pretty informative with which holes are front 9 and back 9. For the most part its easy to find the next hole (only big exception is #16 to #17) The tee boxes are very also nice. The course is located a few miles off the highway and there are plenty of places to grab some food with a good variety. The nature center in the back of the park has discs and bags for sale at a good price.
Cons: The weekends are pretty much always crowded during spring and summer months so kind of a bummer when you pull up and see a full parking lot. Expect to wait a few minutes each hole if this is the case. Some of the wooded holes are way too tight in some areas and seem impossible but definitely not just frustrating for the new comer or newbie to the game. Trust me I know the locals "secret" lines and I still hit hardwood on a regular basis. This place is crazy infested with bee's in bushes and tree's on the open holes during warm months. Some bushes that are real bad with bee's are right beside tees and also in fairways and beside chains where your disc may land so this will frustrate you. Walk from 16 to 17 to me and many people is very pointless. You end 16 just to walk right up a killer hill/mini-mountain to 17 just to throw back down. I will say both holes are nice just will wear you out. Luckily its the end of the course but if you play more than 1 round expect to be tired. Some of the tee's could be a tad longer and when they get wet man are they slippery. People sometimes hangout and picnic to the left of #18's fairway mainly because there is a kiddie area about 150-200 feet left of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Have spotted several small snakes but that's expected in woods. And newbies will hate water holes on #3 and #7 but #7 has a optional hole with no water. If you decide to play it bring your float-able discs or get ready to go diving in dirty brown water. Overall not a bad course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

2 for 1!

1    12/18/2011   12/19/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course plays through a nice park setting and has a mix of open and wooded holes. (50% wooded & 50% open). The course, for the most part flows quite nicely and loops back for 9 or 18 holes. The 9 hole loop is all open and has paved pathways all the way up to the basket making this the first wheelchair accessible course that I have played. The 18 hole loop breaks off of the 9 in various spots and enters the woods.

Baskets show a bit of weathering but nothing that is out of the ordinary. All are cemented firmly in the ground and none are jankety. Concrete tee pads are all quite large with the exception of a few smaller ones in the woods.

Tee signs are spectacular and show the hole number for the easy 9 and the advanced 18 on each sign. They show obstacles nicely including trees and water hazards where applicable. Benches were available every 2-3 holes and trash cans were plentiful as well. Course was extremely clean, fairways well defended, either by trees or paths and the locals were friendly as well.

Elevation mainly comes into play in the wooded holes but number 9/18 is one of the best uses. 370' downhill wide open. Wooded holes have a strong emphasis on accuracy over distance with some holes forcing you to be very meticulous with your shot placement. Also, the wooded holes play on top of large flat rocks which is a nice feature that is not found on every course. Straight, open, wooded, hyzer and anhyzer shots are all needed to excel on this course.

Water comes into play on 2 holes and are fair. Hole 3Easy/3Advanced has a small pond right before the well defined green forcing a layup or go for it approach off the tee. Hole 7 Advanced has a tee shot over a small pond. Not too large, maybe 70' to the far edge, but just knowing it is there is enough to throw someone off.

This is a large multi use park and there are many other things to do here with playgrounds, ball fields, pavilions, rest rooms, drinking fountains and appear to be dog friendly. Easy directions with signs to Barfield Park from a few miles away really helped and within the park, signs for disc golf were easy to spot. The parking lot was large and could accommodate maybe 20+ cars. With other lots around as well, shortage of parking should be no issue.
Cons: There is not much that is bad about this course that I can say but there are two things that stick out in my mind.

1. From 16's pin, you have to walk back up the hill you just threw down to get to 17's tee pad. I did not see a direct route so we ended walking up 17's fairway, just to throw down it again. Seems like an easy fix would be for arrows nailed to the trees to direct you to the next pin.

2. There were a few holes that were too wooded for my liking. I enjoy playing on wooded courses but some were just too much. Only 2-3 holes were like this so it was not a huge deal but a few holes could be trimmed up and still have a nice wooded course.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I would love to play again. Only 5 minutes off the highway, it was a good stopping point during a small road trip to stretch for a few hours. Not much variety is offered for restaurants except for asian food. A bit more offered on the other side of the highway.

If you do not like my review, let me know why before rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  My home course

5+    10/3/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Icculus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This a pretty good course for beginners and more experienced players. It is extremely easy to navigate after a quick look over the map. The entire course pretty much makes a big M.
-There are concrete paths between all the holes on the front 9 which make it wheelchair friendly and clearly defines OB.
-The fairways are maintained weekly and the woods aren't too bad.
-There are two restroom facilities near the parking lot and a water pump by the pavilion. ---Every hole has excellent signage, a trashcan, and usually a bench.
-The course offers a wide variety of shots from long, straight and wide open to short, dog leg shots with a low ceiling.
-Most of the wooded holes have multiple pin placements.
-MTDGA, the local club, is very active at this course and Sharp Springs (north) and has either singles or doubles matches going every weekend.
Cons: -Everyone says the water trap on hole #3 is terrible but as long as you lay up it shouldn't be a problem. The real problem with three is the lack of space around the pin for going straight for it. If you go short you're in the water and if you go long or right you're in the woods. The water trap on hole #7 is about 30ft in front of the tee and the overhanging trees tend to toss your discs in the water if you don't get through the gap just right. Not much of a problem for experienced players but beginners usually skip this one or throw from the left of the pond.
-The concrete around the pins is nice and all but has chewed into many of my discs and makes a good shot skip right past the basket. -Some of the holes have ridiculous lines for rhbh players so having a decent forehand drive helps.
-Tee pads are super slick when wet.
-The pins don't get changed to the alternate placement often enough.
-There is a bit of a hike back up the hill from 16 to 17 but you are rewarded with a nice bench and a fun hole.
-The only downside to the course being located in a rather crowded park is that people will picnic or throw football in the middle of #18's fairway. If it's a couple of ignorant teenagers just yell heads up but sometimes parents will let their children run around out there.

Other Thoughts: This has proven to be a good home course for me due to the wide variety of shots and a good local club. This is by no means my favorite course in the area but is one you should try if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A little strange, but fun

1    9/26/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: eupher61
Played: 95  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short enough to be quick playing, and not dissuade newbies. Well laid out. The ADA accessibility on the more-or-less-front-9 is great! Easy to navigate, good signage. Park is well-maintained.
Cons: Not really a Con, but the slabs around the baskets are a little strange. It does enhance the accessibility, but any one using a cane or a wheelchair will have to go out into the fairway anyway. I had a couple of really nice throws that skipped 30-40' off of that circle instead of parking for a deuce or par. The rocks up in the woods, while fun, aren't good for the plastic.
Other Thoughts: #3 stink hole shouldn't be much of a problem. I'm a short arm, and drove to the basket with a Roc with ease. Laying up is always an option, and often the best. Fun course, I will definitely play again when I'm in the area. This and 7 Oaks both remind me of Cliff Drive in KC, except much shorter and much flatter.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

1    6/25/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: SunOnMySkin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very Clean course.

-Large tee pads in the open holes.

-Well maintained tee pad in the wooded holes.

-Great challenge holes with woods and obstacles used efficiently.

-Good signs that show the holes footage, par and layout.

-Wooded area is hilly and helps with the challenge.

-Most holes are laid out for either side arm or back hand throw with a few exceptions.

-Baskets are clearly marked with hole numbers.

-Well maintained paths between holes.

-Most tee pads have benches for your use.

-Bathrooms nearby for easy access.

-Hole 1 tee pad is on one side of parking area and hole 18 basket on the other.

-A water source at the pavilion by parking area.
Cons: -The water trap on hole 3 is ridiculous. It seems to have been designed with the resale of lost disc in mind. A rip off scheme. If you get a good throw on hole 3 you will most likely end up in this muddy, nasty pond that you cant see anything in. The wall closest to the basket also helps in hindering your throw to the basket.

-The walk up the hill from hole 16 to 17 is more of a hike than a walk. It leaves most people out of breath. Thank the stars there is a large bench at the tee pad of 17 to rest.

-Hole 16 and 17 are nearly identical with the exception of a few trees and the basket on 17 on a large rock and 16's surrounded by boulders.

-Can sometimes be very crowded. This is a big problem especially when a lot of the players want to throw 10 disc each player on every hole. Some very rude players in this sense.

-Need bug repellent due to mosquitos. The nasty, muddy, stagnant water traps are too perfect a place for the pesky insects to grow.
Other Thoughts: This course has a place to purchase a disc if needed fairly close to hole 3's basket.

Over all a really good course with the biggest problem being the water trap on hole 3. I hope that whoever designed the water trap on hole 3 is getting their kickback from the resale of disc and doctors.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix on this course

1    7/1/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 158  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NIcely maintained by both park personnel and the local disc golf community. I played on July 1st; 12:30 PM. Hot and sunny day. The grass was freshly cut. The all-access for 9 holes is unique; I've never seen that before...very nice concrete pathways leading up to and surrounding each backet. As mentioned this was only on 9 of the 18 holes. The woods portion of the course is very technically challenging to work around all of the trees. I enjoy playing golf in the woods and so this was a pro for me. Good signage.
Cons: A couple of the holes were throw and pray where there was not a clearly delineated fairway. Please someone - updae the tee sign on number 3 to indicate there is a pond of nasty stench water in front of the basket. You cannot see it from the tee and I fell victim. That was my main-stay original Roc!
Other Thoughts: This course is not meant to be a championship caliber course; but there is plenty of land where they could expand and have both a 9 hole all-access and an 18 hole technically difficult course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.