Murfreesboro, TN
Barfield Crescent Park Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #8
3 / 320ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Mixed Bag

1    2/12/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: zensuit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrific open hole layouts that use OB and a few well placed trees to reward/punish a player if they just rip it. 1/2 of the wooded holes are pretty well done, especially 15, 16, 17. Hole #6 comes out of the woods and sets up for a really nice finesse drive for a birdie. Clean, well groomed. Great place to play.
Cons: Concrete Basket pads are hard on discs. I used my Blowfly just because I didn't want to mess up my money approach disc. Half of the wooded holes are pinball holes. A little judicious trimming is needed.
Other Thoughts: This could be a world class course. The distances are fair so that even a 275 average drive arm like mine can play the holes to pro par. A little attention to fixing the random penalty effect of some of the wooded holes would make this a truly exceptional course. Worth stopping at if you are in Tennessee.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Golf in the boro

1    10/5/2008   2/5/2009
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is solid, with a good variety of shot types. The layout of the course is easy to follow, and makes good use of all the land at the park. Several holes play across a relatively open field, but the majority of the holes play in the woods, along the side of a hill.

When I first arrived at the course, it was easy to find the first teepad - with a practice basket 50 feet from the parking lot.
Cons: This course is fairly short, but the woods and elevation change makes up for some of that with a bit of added difficulty.

I played this course on a cold and windy day, and it was relatively busy. I can imagine that on a nice day this course can get very crowded.
Other Thoughts: This course has 5 or 6 holes that play in a field with sparse trees. The rest holes that play through the woods. They range from 200-350, with many having tight fairways or dogleg hooks. All of the wooded holes have modest elevation changes, with one drive that requires a throw over a small pond (150 to clear the water).

Hole 17 is the signature hole at this course, playing down a steep hill with rock outcroppings. The final hole is ~410' and plays from the edge of the woods, back toward the parking lot to finish.

The best thing about this course is the elevation change on the wooded holes - it is very similar to Mastin Lake in Alabama if you have played that one.

This course could be improved by having a few more benches/trashcans and maybe an alternate tee-pad or two. This is not a pro-level course, but it is fun to play for all skill levels.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Two Different Scenes - Field to Woods

5+    12/20/2008   12/21/2008
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good overall use of the space. The course starts out open and flat - the first three holes provide a good chance to get warmed up. I like the pond that has been added to protect the 3rd green.

With the 4th you enter the woods for the first time. The 7th takes you out from the edge of the woods and over a very short pond - good confidence builder for relative hackers like me. The 12th starts a second stretch in the woods, and it's one of my favorite holes. Lots of fairway for the drive, but you have to know when to cut right to find the hole. Look for the huge dirt mound, and aim in front of that. 14 provides a choice for either a hyzer or anhyzer drive through the woods. The 17th is a fun downhill to the basket on a rock ledge, again through the woods. Good tee boxes throughout.
Cons: By the time you finish the second set of open holes, 8-11, the straight back and forth begins to feel a bit repetitive, although 9 adds a dogleg slightly uphill left to the mix. 16 and 17 are both short wooded downhills. You have to walk back up the hill from the 16th to get to the tee at 17. At least it's pretty well marked.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of flatrock ground among the woods. This provides an opportunity for long skips on shots - most of the time favorable. Every once in a while, though, approaches can go out of control. That's the case with the asphalt around the open field baskets as well, but I don't see that as a huge problem. Almost all the holes are in the 300-400 ft. range, with a few shorter holes in the woods. The course managers set up some shorter basket options the most recent time we played. This layout was easier than I remember from previous rounds. The wilderness station at the southeast edge of the park is a decent source of discs, as well as snacks and general info about the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    6/27/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of short and long holes. It also has some open holes and wooded holes. The tee pads are large and the signs are nice. This is one throw over a small pond and some nice down hill throws in the woods. I really love hole #16.
Cons: It seems like this course is either open or too wooded. A couple of holes have absolutely no fairway are you are just throwing and hoeping to get lucky. I also do not understand the concrete around the baskets. This scuffs up your putters and makes approaches skip away. It's just a very bad idea
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course if you are in the area. The have planted a bunch of young trees on the open holes so it will get better in time. It just feels like the holes are too easy or rediculously hard.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/3/2012   7/9/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of open and wooded holes. None of the holes are insanely long- good for the average player. The wooded holes are on the side of rocky hill, providing nice scenery and elevation, almost like hiking. Discs can be purchased at the Nature Center in the back of the park.

You can play the course as "Advanced" which is all 18 holes, or follow the "Beginner" set-up which consists of only the easier, more open, original 9 holes. The tee signs and baskets have 2 sets of numbers.

*Update 11/26/09- They have just created a new water hazard for hole #3. It is in front of the green area, protecting the basket. It is a nice addition that makes it play more like a traditional ball golf hole. (Hole #7 still has its water hazard as well.)

*Update 2/1/10- There is now a brand new large color course map on the kiosk between the parking lot and tee #1. The tee signs have also had a major upgrade as they are now large, full color maps with distances, alternate hole locations, and clearly labeled numbers corresponding to both the 9-hole and 18-hole set-up.
Cons: A few of the wooded holes have very small fairways. (you can just close your eyes and throw and probably do just as well.) It requires a lot of luck to have a great drive on these holes, as even skillfully executed shots still have a good chance of being punished by hitting a tree.

The concrete greens really do damage your discs. (As I mentioned this course began as the 9 open holes with the concrete rings around the baskets, and I have been told the original plan was to have it handicapped accessible.)

Work is constantly being done on this course in the attempt to make it better, as the course is still relatively new. Now I am all for improving a course, but sometimes it appears things are done just to do more stuff and the "improvements" are not always better. Some of the artificially planted trees are in strange spots, just look ugly, and are unnatural.

This course can be pretty crowded at certain times as it is in a decent sized town with a major university (MTSU). And when it is crowded expect a lot of casual players (college students and families).
Other Thoughts: The course is 18 holes (there were attempts to have 19 or 20, but they have been reversed.) The finishing hole features the picturesque gentle open downhill anhyzer to finish. If you can... park your vehicle closer to the practice basket/kiosk and NOT near hole 18- I have seen many cars get hit with tee shots off #18!

Many people consider this their favorite in Middle TN and I would recommend it to someone traveling to the area. I like it ok and think it has the potential to be really good, but right now there are others that I think are better overall courses in the Nashville area. (Sharp Springs, Cedar Hill, Seven Oaks)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

6/4/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: ChrisULM
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept. They are constantly planting new trees and brush to make the first 9 holes more challenging (which was needed). Good course for beginners, because nearly all of the holes are fairly short (250ft-350ft). Well placed OB's that add some difficulty. COLD water fountains and well kept bathrooms.
Cons: Concrete around baskets which causes discs to skip away from the basket. Usually crowded with newer players who haven't quite grasped the etiquette of the game. Watch out for players driving at the basket while you're still putting!
Other Thoughts: This is probably the most fun course to play in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Setting

1/12/2008   3/12/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has open fields and woods. Hyzer holes, anhyzer holes, and line drive holes. In a beautiful atmosphere for disc golf.
Cons: Concrete halos around the baskets can mess up some discs as well as cause good approaches to skid 30 feet away. There has also been an attempt to plant more trees...this is very unnecessary. The open meadow portion had plenty of trees to start with and the new ones are poorly placed.
Other Thoughts: The course was fine at the 18 hole layout. The new 19/20 hole layout is just thrown together. Hole 18 was one of the better finishing holes in this area, and it is not really used that way anymore as the old tee is thrown at a new target.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not my favorite course

6/1/2007   8/1/2007
Review By: shaggydabomb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, strong club, good mix open & wooded..(very tight in woods)
Cons: concrete around baskets on original nine
Other Thoughts: lots of OBs added for tournaments

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.