Brooklyn, MS 
Ashe Lake DGC - 18 Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #9 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 248ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
You should be Ashe-amed if you pass on Ashe Lake

1    10/19/2014   11/23/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ashe Lake's 18 hole DGC makes excellent use of a modest sized patch of woods and the surrounding area to offer a fun round that leans towards the technical. The majority of holes feature at least moderate tree cover, although the specifics are pretty well varied to avoid repetition. There's a focus on hitting tight windows, and a few holes force you to consider landing zones beyond what a typical par 3 course does, in a welcome addition to the course's mental game. The lake comes into play on a few holes, bordering fairways or backdropping pins. It's largely avoidable, but factors in enough to add some wrinkles to your shot. There's a nice mix of distances considering the par 3 format, and even one or two opportunities to air it out, such as on hole 18.

Line shaping is in demand here: everything from tunnel shots to gradual hyzers and turnovers to more severe angles are needed. Shot repetition is truly minimized. There are places where an overhand or controlled roller will do you well, and FH/BH versatility is rewarded throughout. While not incredibly technical, Ashe Lake's 18 has enough challenge to keep you on your toes and challenge you on most holes from drive to putt. It doesn't beat you unrelentingly, but it does make you earn a good score.

Elevation isn't significant, but there are a few holes on the back 9 that take advantage of the slight downward sloping hill towards the lake, most notably the downhill tunnel shot on 14 with a watery border beyond the basket that makes you pay for overshooting. Given the rarity of elevation in the area, even a few such holes such as Ashe Lake has stand to be noted.

The rough is thinned out well which really minimizes the chance of losing a disc. Fairways seem to be regularly mowed. Parking is ample and navigation is clear, especially with a picture of the course map on hand at the course's entrance.
Cons: I struggle to come up with any major cons for Ashe Lake's 18. It's a very solid, enjoyable course as long as you don't mind wooded golf. I'd highly recommend playing a round here.

The biggest quality that sticks out to me in the con department is that Ashe Lake is simply unspectacular. It's very workmanlike, consisting mostly of par 3s that emphasize a single challenge, shot, or feature. Many of these holes work, but some can be bland. The course breaks things up better than most such modest par 3s, but the end result won't wow you, steal your breath away, or redefine your concept of what a disc golf course is capable of. I suppose that if this is a course's lead con, it's doing rather well for itself.

Par 4s and multishot/multistage holes would add some variety here. The majority of holes put you on one specific line, and you either hit it or you don't.

Many of the pro tees are untended and becoming overgrown, making them unplayable. Which is a shame, because they often looked like solid shots that added something to the course.

Controlled burns to regulate underbrush seem to be normal, and while that helps reign in disc-swallowing plant growth it can make for a smokey round.
Other Thoughts: Ashe Lake's 18 holer was the high point of my four round trip to the Hattiesburg area in which I played here and at Paul B. Johnson State Park. I love courses in wooded environments and this one was a very enjoyable balance of challenge and fun. It's well designed and easy to get to, and a quick 15 minute drive from PBJ. I'd highly recommend it if you're in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses I've played.

1    1/24/2014   1/30/2014
Review By: ohPac
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic.

- Finding the place is easy enough as there are a number of signs directing you straight from the highway.

- Gravel teeboxes built with wood on every hole, multiple teeboxes on most holes, and the yardage are all provided in primarily good shape.

- Course flow is very smooth with directional arrows pointing towards the next hole on most baskets when needed. The next tee is most often quite obvious from the previous basket.

- Very clean with little to no trash or debris. As far as difficulty goes the course as a hole proves to be an intermediate challenge. (I managed to pull off a few birdies my first time around on what was looking like a "bad day.") Hole length averages around 250-340 with a few 425's thrown in. Nothing lower than 248. Pro tees add about 30-40 ft on each hole.

- Trees aren't in HUGE abundance but there are enough to make you rethink a few throws and go with the safe route. Water coming into play only majorly on one hole can be a pro for casual players. Overall a good challenge.

- Some holes make great use of the elevation.

- There is cement picnic bench somewhere on the front 9. Good place to escape the sun under the trees.

Also, there is no fee for the day. We didn't even see anywhere to pay, nor another soul in sight.
Cons: - THORNS! Control is key on this course, unless you're willing to become Survivor Man and trek through endless thorn bushes and stickers. With that being said, wear pants.

- Water only being in play on around 4 holes can be a con for advanced players looking for a challenge.

- Not all holes had a set of Pro tees. We looked around and determined where we thought some could go.

- A few holes had maps of the hole on the PVC pipe stating the hole number and distance, but not on the ones that really needed help finding the basket. A few times we had to run down the fairway to find where we needed to shoot to.

- No bathrooms at all. Unless once again you favor playing Survivor Man for the day.

- One or two trashcans weakly tied to trees, maybe a few more could be beneficial.

- Along hole 7 there is a barbed wire fence along the left side, just waiting to eat your pant leg trying to retrieve your overstable discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course for intermediate players. Worth the drive if you're coming from Hattiesburg.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 WEED found...420

5+    4/20/2014   10/8/2013
Review By: oldman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/20/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I'm new to discing...Been LOTS at Tatum..
I surfed and found Ashe...I HAD to go...I parked in front of the CLOSED DUE TO NO GOVERNMENT FUNDING...Oh well, I started. WOW...This place looked like a real golf coarse, so far. Grass was a bit tall, but oh well. Threw my first disc...Second shot was kinda close. Missed putt. Made a bogey...Then, 2 drive...right down the middle...I walked past to look for the basket...I had a long way to go...As I walked back to my disc, the Ashe Police pulled up...The Cop said..."You parked RIGHT in front of the sign that said CLOSED" Apparently, the Government shutdown ALSO closed the Disc Golf Coarse at Ashe.....This place looked pretty cool....Well, as far as the second fairway...
Cons: CLOSED due to NO Government funding...
Looks like our current Administration has effected MOST of our fun as well....
Other Thoughts: I wanna go play...Tatum is cool, but a little short until number 18...Just wanted to play somewhere different. I love this Disc Golf thing...I'm looking to put a few baskets in the yard.......LOOK everybody...I've smoked literally TONS of weed, back in the day...On 4-20...lol...I found another HAPPYSACK of weed. "Back in the day" I NEVERNEVER EVER lost my sack...NEVER...Keep it in your pocket...Never let DRUGS get lost on a public property when children are present...I found an Innova disc...THEN a Crown Royal bag with a bit of green and a one hitter pipe inside...BTW, if you can FIND it, good luck to ya...Gunna need some briar britches and maybe a chainsaw...Again...Keep your sack in your pocket...........have a nice day.......

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    9/27/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: JJack39501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout,mix of long and itermediate holes lengths ,most holes have 2 tee pads,signage, trash cans on several holes (took pics of each tee marker we played but missed hole 11 so I wont post distances until next time I play it) Also some elevation makes for added fun.
Great in and out.
Cons: Water in play on hole 11& 12.(watch the trees on these holes because a riccochet can put u in the drink)
Other Thoughts: Absolutely loved playing the course and worth the drive and if time allows theres Foxes Den @ Paul B Johnson park,Ducan Lake plus Tatum Trails (all 3 in Hattiesburg)
So if you got time you'll have lots of fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long But Fun

5+    7/10/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: Mercy_Flush
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course design. Most tee boxes well set up. Challenging but not impossible. Easy t get to from highway.
Cons: 5 dollar entry fee. Almost all the holes are really long. A few more short holes would be nice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I'll be back...

1    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Two tees on most holes
-Clean and fairly well kept
-Low traffic
-Good use of available terrain
-Flows well
Cons: -No benches
-Few trash cans
-More work needs to be done with tee signs
-$5 entry fee
Other Thoughts: With a little work this could be a very nice DGC. Nothing really stood out but I really want to play this one again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    12/24/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: Scott Allen Miller
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course was not well kept up as of last spring but alot of work was put into it this summer. Ive played 7 courses now and this is by far the best. It is sucluded and has a nice layout in middle of woods. Some tough wooded fairways but not impossible to manuever through.
Cons: The $5 fee is only con I find. I play alone alot and this can get expensive if I play multable times.
Other Thoughts: Not far off 49. A must play for anyone passing through.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    12/23/2010   2/8/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly, wooded area across the lake from the little 9 hole course. Most holes play through enough trees that you have to hit some lines, and thick brush and tall grass are often in play, especially on errant shots. There is a decent mix of hole lengths, with several ace runs and a few longer shots with most in the 250-300' range.

A few holes play near the lake, with a couple cool shots that actually use the water as a hazard to add a little risk/reward element. All the baskets other than one are in nice shape, a little rust but they catch well (one was crushed by a fallen tree, not sure how long that's been the case so I won't count it as a con against the course).
Cons: It's a little hard to find the course in the first place, you have to drive up a little dirt track off the main road, and park in the dirt area off to one side. There are no signs or course maps, so navigation is a struggle in several places, especially with several baskets in view from a few tees. The tees themselves are in pretty bad shape, most are carpet or gravel, and they aren't very smooth or level at this point.

The holes get a little repetitive in spots, it's just not all that creative of a design. I would have liked to see better use of the elevation changes and the water hazard, so it was a little disappointing. The maintenance was a little lacking, with tall grass on several of the fairways. I'm not a big fan of long grasses as rough, and I'm even less a fan of long grass that hides discs covering whole fairways. If it's like that in the winter, I'm guessing it gets pretty gnarly in the late spring and summer.
Other Thoughts: There are a few nice challenges here, but overall it's not all that exciting a place to play. I do like the idea of having a beginner friendly 9 and a tougher 18 in the park together, with a little work and a few changes this could be a cool complex. Beginners might find the rough a little punishing, but there's a nice beginner friendly course across the lake. More experienced players will find some challenges here, but not enough variety to make it worth repeated trips.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not bad~not great

1    1/2/2011   1/2/2011
Review By: Zootaroonee
Played: 88  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes. There are some nice long shots. A couple of the holes are short enough for a newer player to possibly ace. Some nice elevation changes with some up and downhill shots. Its out of the way so its not crowded.
Cons: No big sign showing the course layout. Its pretty well overgrown. No benches, trash cans or restrooms. No signs at the tee pads showing the distance or anything. They have white pvc pipes sticking up next to the pads with the hole number on there and thats it. The briar patches abound here and there are a few piles of dead trees to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: Its a nice course as far as the layout. Once you start playing its fairly easy to figure out where the next hole is but some of the baskets are hard to find. On hole 6 there is a hard left you need to make. Throw at the basket you see (#9) to the tree line and when you look left you'll see the 6 basket. Its one of those that could certainly be a par 4. The basket for 10 is left of where you will see a basket down by the water which is the 11 hole. A tree has fallen on the 13 basket and smashed it unplayable. With just a little work this could easily be a course worthy of a 4 rating. If you play it once, it'd be worth a trip back since you'd know where the holes are but its a tad confusing at first. Most of the holes you can throw down the fairway and figure it out but mehh dont we all just like to know where we really want to throw the first shot? :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a little rough

2-4    7/21/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice wooded setting with lots of different shots. good mix of holes with some water in play along with heavily wooded holes and some more open shots. beautiful setting and no one else was on the course.
Cons: hard to navigate. The tees have numbers but no description of the holes or even yardage. On 2 holes we all threw at a basket that was straight ahead of us only to find out when we got to it that it was the wrong basket. The tee pads are big but in bad shape. They are made of crushed gravel with a type of pad over it but the padding is coming apart and it makes the footing uneven. No amenities right there but you can go back across the lake to the other course for restrooms and water fountains (short drive)
Other Thoughts: This is a long and challenging wooded course. There are some pro pads that make it even harder. This could be a really excellent course with a few changes and additions.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.