Brooklyn, MS
Ashe Lake DGC - 18 Share
Uploaded By: peteg   (Taken 5/2013)
Parking & Course Map



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
One of the best courses I've played.

1    1/24/2014   1/30/2014
Review By: ohPac
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fantastic.

- Finding the place is easy enough as there are a number of signs directing you straight from the highway.

- Gravel teeboxes built with wood on every hole, multiple teeboxes on most holes, and the yardage are all provided in primarily good shape.

- Course flow is very smooth with directional arrows pointing towards the next hole on most baskets when needed. The next tee is most often quite obvious from the previous basket.

- Very clean with little to no trash or debris. As far as difficulty goes the course as a hole proves to be an intermediate challenge. (I managed to pull off a few birdies my first time around on what was looking like a "bad day.") Hole length averages around 250-340 with a few 425's thrown in. Nothing lower than 248. Pro tees add about 30-40 ft on each hole.

- Trees aren't in HUGE abundance but there are enough to make you rethink a few throws and go with the safe route. Water coming into play only majorly on one hole can be a pro for casual players. Overall a good challenge.

- Some holes make great use of the elevation.

- There is cement picnic bench somewhere on the front 9. Good place to escape the sun under the trees.

Also, there is no fee for the day. We didn't even see anywhere to pay, nor another soul in sight.
Cons: - THORNS! Control is key on this course, unless you're willing to become Survivor Man and trek through endless thorn bushes and stickers. With that being said, wear pants.

- Water only being in play on around 4 holes can be a con for advanced players looking for a challenge.

- Not all holes had a set of Pro tees. We looked around and determined where we thought some could go.

- A few holes had maps of the hole on the PVC pipe stating the hole number and distance, but not on the ones that really needed help finding the basket. A few times we had to run down the fairway to find where we needed to shoot to.

- No bathrooms at all. Unless once again you favor playing Survivor Man for the day.

- One or two trashcans weakly tied to trees, maybe a few more could be beneficial.

- Along hole 7 there is a barbed wire fence along the left side, just waiting to eat your pant leg trying to retrieve your overstable discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course for intermediate players. Worth the drive if you're coming from Hattiesburg.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 CLOSED...Law showed up!!!

1    10/7/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: oldman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I'm new to discing...Been LOTS at Tatum..
I surfed and found Ashe...I HAD to go...I parked in front of the CLOSED DUE TO NO GOVERNMENT FUNDING...Oh well, I started. WOW...This place looked like a real golf coarse, so far. Grass was a bit tall, but oh well. Threw my first disc...Second shot was kinda close. Missed putt. Made a bogey...Then, 2 drive...right down the middle...I walked past to look for the basket...I had a long way to go...As I walked back to my disc, the Ashe Police pulled up...The Cop said..."You parked RIGHT in front of the sign that said CLOSED" Apparently, the Government shutdown ALSO closed the Disc Golf Coarse at Ashe.....This place looked pretty cool....Well, as far as the second fairway...
Cons: CLOSED due to NO Government funding...
Looks like our current Administration has effected MOST of our fun as well....
Other Thoughts: I wanna go play...Tatum is cool, but a little short until number 18...Just wanted to play somewhere different. I love this Disc Golf thing...I'm looking to put a few baskets in the yard.......

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    9/27/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: JJack39501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout,mix of long and itermediate holes lengths ,most holes have 2 tee pads,signage, trash cans on several holes (took pics of each tee marker we played but missed hole 11 so I wont post distances until next time I play it) Also some elevation makes for added fun.
Great in and out.
Cons: Water in play on hole 11& 12.(watch the trees on these holes because a riccochet can put u in the drink)
Other Thoughts: Absolutely loved playing the course and worth the drive and if time allows theres Foxes Den @ Paul B Johnson park,Ducan Lake plus Tatum Trails (all 3 in Hattiesburg)
So if you got time you'll have lots of fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long But Fun

5+    7/10/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: Mercy_Flush
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course design. Most tee boxes well set up. Challenging but not impossible. Easy t get to from highway.
Cons: 5 dollar entry fee. Almost all the holes are really long. A few more short holes would be nice.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I'll be back...

1    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 50  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Two tees on most holes
-Clean and fairly well kept
-Low traffic
-Good use of available terrain
-Flows well
Cons: -No benches
-Few trash cans
-More work needs to be done with tee signs
-$5 entry fee
Other Thoughts: With a little work this could be a very nice DGC. Nothing really stood out but I really want to play this one again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    12/24/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: Scott Allen Miller
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course was not well kept up as of last spring but alot of work was put into it this summer. Ive played 7 courses now and this is by far the best. It is sucluded and has a nice layout in middle of woods. Some tough wooded fairways but not impossible to manuever through.
Cons: The $5 fee is only con I find. I play alone alot and this can get expensive if I play multable times.
Other Thoughts: Not far off 49. A must play for anyone passing through.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    12/23/2010   2/8/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly, wooded area across the lake from the little 9 hole course. Most holes play through enough trees that you have to hit some lines, and thick brush and tall grass are often in play, especially on errant shots. There is a decent mix of hole lengths, with several ace runs and a few longer shots with most in the 250-300' range.

A few holes play near the lake, with a couple cool shots that actually use the water as a hazard to add a little risk/reward element. All the baskets other than one are in nice shape, a little rust but they catch well (one was crushed by a fallen tree, not sure how long that's been the case so I won't count it as a con against the course).
Cons: It's a little hard to find the course in the first place, you have to drive up a little dirt track off the main road, and park in the dirt area off to one side. There are no signs or course maps, so navigation is a struggle in several places, especially with several baskets in view from a few tees. The tees themselves are in pretty bad shape, most are carpet or gravel, and they aren't very smooth or level at this point.

The holes get a little repetitive in spots, it's just not all that creative of a design. I would have liked to see better use of the elevation changes and the water hazard, so it was a little disappointing. The maintenance was a little lacking, with tall grass on several of the fairways. I'm not a big fan of long grasses as rough, and I'm even less a fan of long grass that hides discs covering whole fairways. If it's like that in the winter, I'm guessing it gets pretty gnarly in the late spring and summer.
Other Thoughts: There are a few nice challenges here, but overall it's not all that exciting a place to play. I do like the idea of having a beginner friendly 9 and a tougher 18 in the park together, with a little work and a few changes this could be a cool complex. Beginners might find the rough a little punishing, but there's a nice beginner friendly course across the lake. More experienced players will find some challenges here, but not enough variety to make it worth repeated trips.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not bad~not great

1    1/2/2011   1/2/2011
Review By: Zootaroonee
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes. There are some nice long shots. A couple of the holes are short enough for a newer player to possibly ace. Some nice elevation changes with some up and downhill shots. Its out of the way so its not crowded.
Cons: No big sign showing the course layout. Its pretty well overgrown. No benches, trash cans or restrooms. No signs at the tee pads showing the distance or anything. They have white pvc pipes sticking up next to the pads with the hole number on there and thats it. The briar patches abound here and there are a few piles of dead trees to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: Its a nice course as far as the layout. Once you start playing its fairly easy to figure out where the next hole is but some of the baskets are hard to find. On hole 6 there is a hard left you need to make. Throw at the basket you see (#9) to the tree line and when you look left you'll see the 6 basket. Its one of those that could certainly be a par 4. The basket for 10 is left of where you will see a basket down by the water which is the 11 hole. A tree has fallen on the 13 basket and smashed it unplayable. With just a little work this could easily be a course worthy of a 4 rating. If you play it once, it'd be worth a trip back since you'd know where the holes are but its a tad confusing at first. Most of the holes you can throw down the fairway and figure it out but mehh dont we all just like to know where we really want to throw the first shot? :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a little rough

2-4    7/21/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 84  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice wooded setting with lots of different shots. good mix of holes with some water in play along with heavily wooded holes and some more open shots. beautiful setting and no one else was on the course.
Cons: hard to navigate. The tees have numbers but no description of the holes or even yardage. On 2 holes we all threw at a basket that was straight ahead of us only to find out when we got to it that it was the wrong basket. The tee pads are big but in bad shape. They are made of crushed gravel with a type of pad over it but the padding is coming apart and it makes the footing uneven. No amenities right there but you can go back across the lake to the other course for restrooms and water fountains (short drive)
Other Thoughts: This is a long and challenging wooded course. There are some pro pads that make it even harder. This could be a really excellent course with a few changes and additions.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Outing

2-4    6/5/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots and great use of terrain and foliage. The fairways were a little high (mid calf) but not overly noticeable. Water is only in play in one or two instances on the full 18 hole course. Tees were good to average depending on the wear and tear, but none were unusable. Each tee is marked with a numbered PVC pipe marker and all were in good shape except for hole 3. All of the baskets were in great shape except for 18 which was a little crooked.

The 9 hole handicapped course was a blast as well. Played it with an approach and a putter as a Par 2 course and had fun. It would be an ideal warm-up before tackling the 18 hole course across the lake. Great spot for a picnic and a round of 9 with smaller kids or novices. Peaceful park and serene surroundings.
Cons: The gravel/carpet tee boxes are kind of a mixed bag. Some are in OK shape and others are pretty rotted. Scraping off the carpet and a couple of inches of gravel and replacing with concrete would vastly improve the play of several holes.

It was a little tricky to navigate at times for a first time visitor, but the baskets are numbered so a little bit of scouting if you have any doubts would allay any confusion. Underbrush is controlled for the most part and only had thick brush on a couple of holes.

No signage on the road to indicate a parking lot for the course or even the existence of the 18-hole course. If this site didn't list this course, you'd never know it was there.

You have to pay the $5 park fee to play (if you're honest) and for a solo thrower that may be a bit much, but for a car load of guys, it's pennies. Not a big "con" for me personally.
Other Thoughts: This course is a diamond in the rough. Just a little bit more maintenance, an online map (or other improved navigation), and some promotion by the local community and this course would easily be rated a 4 or higher.

As a visitor, I can't really stress how much a little bit of maintenance by the park service or the local DG community would go a long way. There wasn't any trash or anything like that, just an overgrown parking lot, some fairways that need attended to, and perhaps a re-thinking of the gravel/carpet tees. The forms are there (around the gravel) for concrete boxes so an upgrade wouldn't be difficult and would add a half rating in my mind. Navigation is the biggest issue after maintanence and a posted map in the parking lot (similar to the excellent maps on the 9 hole course across the lake) would be awesome. I intend to play this course every time I visit the Hattiesburg area and I enjoyed it more than Paul B. Johnson even with it's warts.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.