Noblesville, IN 
Dr. James A. Dillon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 347ft.   3 / 457ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee (Pin position "A" 429ft.,"B" position 459 ft.)



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Clean Neighborhood Park

5+    4/1/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park was and is still a great addition for disc golf in the Indy Area.

Baskets - 18 Innova Discatchers. Each hole has an A and B position that changes frequently. A practice hole (tee and basket) is also on site (see cons).

Signs - Signs are located at the AM tee for each hole. Includes detailed picture, length for both tees and both pin locations, par, and next hole sign.

Course map at the start of the course.

Tees - 2 concrete tees per hole. AM tees have corners painted red. Pro tees have corners painted blue and also lists the distance and the par (since the signs are at the AM tee locations)

Variety - 4 holes (3 without hole 1) surrounding a large pond, 4 holes bordering a creek, 3 holes that have plenty of trees as obstacles, one moderately wooded hole, the remaining holes are in the open with distinct fairways due to buffalo grass.

Water hazards! Not many courses in the area have water hazards. It changes things up a bit.

Trash cans and benches throughout the course.

Bathrooms and water fountain on site near holes 1 and 9.

Course is 2 separate loops. 1-9 is much more challenging than 10-18. 1-9 has more water hazards and trees as obstacles. 10-18 is beginner friendly with a few holes bordering a creek. Wind can be a major factor.

Course is aimed towards beginners and intermediate players.

Clean park.
Cons: Hole 1 basket was removed for a large period of time. Comes close to a yard and the person did not like trespassing. It is back up!

Water hazards swallow discs. I have thrown a disc slightly into the water where it is visible. I got in to get it and got it, but the water made me smell pretty bad.

Paint on tees is faded. They could use a fresh coat.

Back 9 could use a few more trees to make it more challenging. It is very repetitive. I could be satisfied if I only played 1-9.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. There is not much that can be done to improve it. 2 tees per hole and basket locations can change. There are great signs. It is a great course to use to introduce the sport to new players. It starts off challenging and ends with more simple holes.

If it is too easy, you could try the Hills or Hazel Landing. If it is too hard, stick to the back 9.

I would definitely recommend this course to any beginner or intermediate player looking to improve their game. There are several nearby courses as well so you could make a trip out of it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good course

5+    12/3/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 2 sets of concrete tees.
- good signage
- bathrooms april-oct
- at least one of every shot in the bag (rhbh,rhfh, hyzer/anny)
-Ace Runs as well as big arm shots depending on tee/basket combination
-2 basket positions / 2 tee positions
Cons: -Back 9 is VERY open. I enjoy playing it, but there isn't a lot of difficulty back there if the wind isn't blowing. But since it is so wide open the wind is normally a factor.

-a solid RHBH straight/hyzer will get you in a good spot on 14/18 holes. So not a ton of variety there.

-pond is "off limits" Not supposed to get into it to get discs, but people do and keep them. Despite signs that the local club will dredge and return the discs.
Other Thoughts: A fun place to play. it's in a nice part of town, so safety isn't an issue like at some courses in town. Open until 11pm, so night golf is perfectly good here.
It is an all-purpose park, but i've never had to skip a hole due to any park activities, unlike some courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hole 3

5+    9/25/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 11/20/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course, concrete tees, 18 holes, alternate basket locations. Lots of water, wide open spaces. A few holes with trees. Back 9 is very forgiving (except 11) great for trying new discs. Lots of room. Course is well kept, nice amenities.
Cons: Needs more trees, I think they are working on that. Trees are on 3, 4, 5, 7 & 8 but the back 10-17 is very open. Watch your discs on holes 1 & 9, great place to lose them in the pond!
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course. I particularlly like holes 3 & 4. This is well worth the visit if you are in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Classic

5+    9/9/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: Sstetson21
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Disc Golf seller at the course on the weekends. Brings truck full of discs (brand new & used discs. The front nine holes is very constructed with good difficutly in wooded and water holes
Cons: easy for beginners to lose discs on water hazard holes. Back nine holes does not have as much activity as the front nine, most all holes are straight free shots.
Other Thoughts: Easy to find holes, tee boxes are very nice.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/12/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Zefranz
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The concrete tee pads are excellent. For newer people like myself that are quickly picking the game up, Dillon is pretty good. Has some water, creek, and wooded shots. Decent alt locations and blue pads. Very good signage and easily found both tees. Good place for walking, very well taken care of course. Bathrooms are very clean. Pleasant place.
Cons: Few trash cans that are spread out, but there are some there. It's a multi use park, but typically not in the way of disc golfers. The pond does eat discs, aim away if you can - if you go swimming, you'll be awfully stinky.
Other Thoughts: Beginner-intermediate course, I find it very pleasant and my friends and I's usual stomping grounds. It's very well taken care of and now with the rain out, the grass is coming back nicely.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challeng(er)

1    7/21/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Concrete tees
Manicured
Beginner friendly
Cons: Very multi-use park
Saw areas where I expected to see quality holes but non there
Lack of shot variety
Other Thoughts: Like the title says, Challenger. Most holes were the same shot over and over and over unless you get creative and like to try new things.
Would recommend for beginners, but not a place I plan to play again.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Starts strong, finishes bland.

5+    4/20/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: lukerichter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good use of the land available, especially the lake that comes into play on holes 1, 6, and 9. Holes 2-5 weave around a mildly wooded area with some good variation of shots.
- Near-perfect condition DisCatchers, well designed tee pads, awesome signage. Impossible to get lost. Two tee boxes per hole, short and long. The long tees make for an arm-tiring round.
- The park is surrounded by a very nice neighborhood and has great amenities (bathrooms, drinking fountain, benches, etc.).
Cons: - While the course starts of very strong in the front nine, it provides a bit of disappointment on the back. Granted, this is a relatively new park and trees have been planted, but as it stands the back nine winds through an open field. Winds are the only obstacle on some holes in the back, besides a creek that slithers behind some holes.
- The course has an overall artificial and bland feel to it. The lake and surrounding area are man made, and I'm sure all the trees on the back are artificially planted. Besides the first few holes, it seems like the rest of the course was built just to fill in space.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I find this course to be overall rather boring besides holes 1-5. The back nine is so dull that you might find yourself just wanting it to be over after maybe hole 15. For beginners, however, this can be a great place to hone your skills and test your nerves around a disc eating pond.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/1/2009   2/1/2012
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is well taken care of and is in a safe area. Pro and am concrete tee pads with signage is always a plus. There are a couple of decent holes that require a good shot: 3, 4, 7, and 8. A pond and a creek come into play on the front nine.
Cons: The back nine on this course is pretty boring. There are some trees that have been planted that should come into play over time. No elevation on this course either, which isn't really a negative since its located in central Indiana and elevation is at a premium.
Other Thoughts: This is a clean and family friendly course. Dillion is a good place to start playing the game, but there are better courses that aren't too far away.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Both Hand Hyzer Friendly

5+    1/19/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Has a parking lot. Has concrete tees. Has nice baskets. Has restrooms. Has drinking fountains. Practice basket is a plus. It has a pond and a creek. Very beginner friendly.
Cons: The shot you need to bring is a hyzer. Right or left hand hyzer on most of the holes. The pond really comes into play twice. If you can't throw over 200 ft then maybe 4 times. There is 1 RHBH Annie. The alt tees and pads only lengthens the holes. Most the shots have no lines. If you mis-tee you will probably still get a 3. I don't even want to talk about the back 9!
Other Thoughts: I know what the land was before and you can only use what land is given, but that does not make it a "good" course. A "good" course will make you use all of your shots and punish you when you make bad ones. This course only punishes you when you throw in the water. A intermediate player usually doesn't come close to these hazards.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Excellent

5+    12/20/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: johnnyq77
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I have been playing this course since I have started playing the sport, and I still enjoy going to it. There is a ton of variety in several places, with a lake, 2 creeks, woods, and wide open spaces. Even from the blue tees, it is not incredibly hard. The holes are marked very clearly and it is easy to find the next hole. Another good feature of it is that the parking lot acts as a divider between the front nine and the back nine. That allows you to easily play nine holes, or stop by your car for a break between the two halves. Along with being divided, the front and back are different, with the front nine being either in the woods next to a creek, or around a lake. The back nine is a good change as it is very wide open. I am a pretty rubbish back hand player, so the course being wide open suits me, but that depends on personal preference. Dillon park includes also a skate park, a splash park, and paths for running, walking, or taking the family out for the day. There is also a Kroger and McDonald's very close to hole #3, which always come in handy after the round. I would definitely recommend this course to any other disc golf player.
Cons: I think the back nine being all wide open is not a great thing, as it does not add variety but they have planted some trees which will grow soon and add a bigger challenge. On beautiful days, which will make the park very busy, you have to be careful not to hit people on the paths or other fairways, which is easy to do (not that I have). On the front nine, it is easy to lose a shot into the lake, of have your shot bounce off a tree and into a creek.
Other Thoughts: I have played a few courses around the area, and this is by far my favorite. After a round or two, anyone will get the hang of it and I am sure they will start to like it. It is just down the road from The Hills at Northview course, and is 15-20 minutes away from Morris. I would encourage any people who have not been to this course to try it out.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.