Noblesville, IN
Dr. James A. Dillon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 242ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red Tee (Pin position "A" 207ft.,"B" positon 242ft.)



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Challeng(er)

1    7/21/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 63  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Concrete tees
Manicured
Beginner friendly
Cons: Very multi-use park
Saw areas where I expected to see quality holes but non there
Lack of shot variety
Other Thoughts: Like the title says, Challenger. Most holes were the same shot over and over and over unless you get creative and like to try new things.
Would recommend for beginners, but not a place I plan to play again.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Starts strong, finishes bland.

5+    4/20/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: lukerichter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good use of the land available, especially the lake that comes into play on holes 1, 6, and 9. Holes 2-5 weave around a mildly wooded area with some good variation of shots.
- Near-perfect condition DisCatchers, well designed tee pads, awesome signage. Impossible to get lost. Two tee boxes per hole, short and long. The long tees make for an arm-tiring round.
- The park is surrounded by a very nice neighborhood and has great amenities (bathrooms, drinking fountain, benches, etc.).
Cons: - While the course starts of very strong in the front nine, it provides a bit of disappointment on the back. Granted, this is a relatively new park and trees have been planted, but as it stands the back nine winds through an open field. Winds are the only obstacle on some holes in the back, besides a creek that slithers behind some holes.
- The course has an overall artificial and bland feel to it. The lake and surrounding area are man made, and I'm sure all the trees on the back are artificially planted. Besides the first few holes, it seems like the rest of the course was built just to fill in space.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I find this course to be overall rather boring besides holes 1-5. The back nine is so dull that you might find yourself just wanting it to be over after maybe hole 15. For beginners, however, this can be a great place to hone your skills and test your nerves around a disc eating pond.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 StarTLing

1    6/12/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Country club look with trimmed trees, beautifully-manicured lawn, many fairways and greens defined by high, thin grass.

Long-n-wide concrete tees, two per hole. Classy signs with all the info at red tees. New baskets. Practice basket.
Cons:
Other than 3-8, which brings the edge of a small woods into play, the course is wide open (although to be fair, there are plenty of small trees planted along/near the open holes).

Baskets 1 and 9 located on slopes near water. Hole 11 has creek running along the left side the entire length. Walking path near about half the baskets and/or fairways.
Other Thoughts:
Other than the water hazards, this is a great choice for beginners and intermediates to play, as the distances are not oppressive, and the course is simple enough to navigate - a cinch with the map. Experienced players can have a birdy blast and some ace runs as less than 1/3rd of the holes require any specific line or turn. Wind was omnipresent.

The review title? From the red tees, my Star TL with a touch of hyzer proved to be a solid choice from the tee on over half the holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: SigmaChris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice signage
New baskets
Multiple tees and basket location
Cons: Short but not a bad thing for families or beginners
Majority of the holes (back 9) are in a wide open green space.
Other Thoughts: No way this course should get 4 out of 5. It has nice equipment but the layout is not interesting enough or challenging enough to get this high of a rating. It may be one of the nicer courses in Indy but the locals need to stop propping this up so high. Go see other 4 or 5 star courses and see that this does not deserve a 4 star. Don't be like me and drive out of your way only to be disappointed.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Starts off well, end is disappointing

1    11/23/2009   3/2/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays around a nicely manicured and maintained park with open fields, some wooded areas, and a small pond. The front nine begins and ends around the pond, bringing the water into play for a nice risk/reward element. I love water shots that let you choose whether or not to take the riskier route to the hole that gives you a better shot at the birdie versus the safe shot that doesn't give you as good a look at the hole, and there are a couple holes like that here.

The front nine brings some nice tree lined fairways into play that dictate some left and right turning shots. There is a good mix of ace run lengths, and some longer holes where you can throw a little more of a drive. The alternate tees offer a nice alternative for different levels of players.

The amenities at this course are fantastic. Both the short and long tees are beautiful textured concrete with painted corners to delineate red and blue tees. The short tees have nice tee signs showing distances and hole maps, as well as the direction to the next tee. There are alternate basket placements that often change the shape and length of the hole.

A lot of work has gone into this course, and it's one of the more enjoyable courses to play in the Indy area because of that. I really liked the created terrain on the back nine that adds a little bit of elevation and obstacles to otherwise open shots.
Cons: The back nine is a huge letdown after the beginning of the course. There's some really minor elevation, and a few saplings, and otherwise it's a wide open field with some baskets scattered around. After playing the front nine and wandering my way through the middle of the park trying to find the back nine (some better signage here would be nice), I wished I had played the front nine again instead.

The signs are only on the short tees, and the long tees are much more interesting for players with some distance and who want to play the fun water shots. It's frustrating to have to walk ahead to the short tee to look at the sign, then walk back to the long tee for your shot. It also seemed funny to have the tee sign as an obstacle from many of the long tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play a round if you're in the Indy area, especially if you want to play some water shots that you won't find at other area courses. Beginners will find the course approachable but interesting. More advanced players will find some fun challenges on the front nine, but will be bored on the back. There are better courses around though, so don't make this your first stop in Indy.

If the whole course was like the front nine, I probably would have rated it 3.5-4 discs. If it was all like the back nine though, it would barely make it to 1.5 discs. Averaging those out, and factoring in how disappointing the ending of the course is, I gave it a 2.5.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 I am not sure what the fuss is about.

1    9/21/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: GaryBlevins
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park that seems very well maintained. There is a medium sized pond that come into pay on 3 holes and with a odd wind current running threw the park it is easy to donate. However, there is a non-profit group that pulls the disc out and will call you or you can look for yours on Saturdays when they show up with a tent.

The front 9 was very interesting with 3 water holes, a hole into the woods and the next hole out of the woods. They used the terrain well and the signs and tee pads were top notch. This course has the best bathrooms I have ever seen at a public park.
Cons: The overall design is ok, strong use of the available trees and water, but this entire park was man made giving a very artificial feel. Obviously, the need to cross the second fairway to get to the tee pad for 6 is hazard, but the hole is very open so you can see the tee pad and they can see you crossing. The course was fairly easy to follow, but there are a few points that would loose you if you are without a map or a guide.

The wind on the the water holes can be very tricky and if you are from out of town or just passing threw (as I was), there is almost no chance to get your disc back.

I played the course the first dry after a few days of rain, so the creeks and pond were very full, which forced me to play more conservatively for fear of loosing discs.

The biggest shortcoming of this course is the back 9. They are all in the wide open with very few small obstacles to deal with. It has virtually no elevation change and very little rough, except for 11 and 13. These holes come very close to some nearly impossible rough and a creek. The holes in this area range from 250 ft. to 400 ft. most which could be made in two with a strong drive and decent putt. The true challenge of the back 9 comes from a swirling wind that is very difficult to predict. The wind on this course makes almost any put outside of 20 ft exceptionally difficult. On a 300 ft. hole, it is entirely conceivable to drive 280 ft and still take a 4.

Other than the bathroom building, I didn't see any trash cans and the course shows it. Also, I did not see any benches.

This course is in a nice suburban area, but it looked like a few of the neighborhood kids had been swinging on the younger trees. I saw two that were broken and laying on the ground.
Other Thoughts: I stopped to play this course on my way from Cincinnati to Chicago. I had never play any of the Indy courses and I wanted to see what was what. I found the course pretty easily (10 min off of I-69) and pulled into a gorgeous park and was looking forward to a great round.

Whenever I play a new course, I try to play with the locals. It usually make everything easier. I waited a few minutes and jumped into a group as the 4th. I told them my situation and they informed me that I had chosen wisely, as this was the best course in Indy. I was grateful to these guys for letting me play with them, but I was frustrated when they threw trash on the course. As the guest, I didn't want to make a big deal, so I discreetly tried to pick up after them.

The course left me feeling a little disappointed, but I was glad to have played this classic midwestern style course. However, next time I will hold out for Lemon Lake or Valparaiso.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The signs are excellent and there are two tee pads and two pin positions for every hole. The front 9 plays around some strategically placed trees and OB in the form of a pond, a stream and a walking path. The back 9 is wide open with the exception of two holes. Hole 11 has a stream on the left that can really come into play and hole 18 has sidewalks on both sides of the fairway and a couple trees to watch out for.

This is a fun course and the majority of the holes are medium length (300-350 ft) from the long pads. With the exception of the 4 water holes, I'd say this is a good beginner course because bad shots are not punished (keeping in mind there was no tall grass when I played here).
Cons: The shot variety here is very poor because so many of the holes are wide open, I believe two holes required a turnover shot.

When I played here on 5/6/09, there was no tall grass on the course as some previous reviews mentioned. That would have added some spice to the back 9 and made it more challenging. But no matter how you spin it, about 2/3 of this course is wide open with insignificant elevation change.

The tee signs were at the short tees not the longs. This means you have to walk past the long tee to look at the sign and then walk back, or look at it once you've thrown.

The short pads are nice for beginners but rarely change the shot.
Other Thoughts: I checked out this course here on DGCR before I went and it had a 4.09 rating on 9 reviews. After playing here, I cannot in good conscious give this course a rating that good. Don't get me wrong, I think it's a nice, picturesque course and if I lived within a half hour I'd play it frequently, but this is no 4 disc course IMHO.

***UPDATE*** I heard there have been some improvements made to the course since I was last here. I will updated my review once I play the course again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.