Disc Golf Center
Noblesville, IN 
Dr. James A. Dillon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 322ft.   3 / 429ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Red Tee (Pin position "A" 322ft.,"B" position 347 ft.)



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Perfect coarse if more trees

5+    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: jrmorin9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Play this all the time. Front 9 is great with a few challenging water shots and well placed trees. Great signage and trash cans. Easy to find holes except 3-4 can be missed if u army careful. Well rounded course
Cons: Expect to lose/find frisbees in the water on hole 1 and 9. Not many trees in the back 9- if there were and if hole 1 and 9 would b less likely to lose frisbees this would b an easy 4.5. If u lose a frisbee a scuba diver or neighboor (if thrown in backyard) will retieve ur disk but it will b a couple weeks wait. Then Dennis will charge u bout 2 bucks per frisbee
Other Thoughts: Bound to find frisbees in the water... If water shots were better protects by trees and if there were more trees in the back 9, this would easily b at least a 4.5

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: NeverStopRoller
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One thing I have enjoyed about this course is that it fits into the park very well. The concrete paths make getting from the front nine to the back nine easy and enjoyable.

One of the course designer's sells discs on site and does retrieval with the neighborhood as well as from the pond.

The course itself is very nice and well maintained by park staff. The front nine offer a good and balanced challenge for those who are just starting out with the sport. The back nine is indeed flat, however it gives those new to the sport a proper set of holes to practice disc control and throwing methods without the risk of losing a disc to a large water hazard.

The course wraps around a nice quiet neighborhood, which depending on what holes your playing on can make your day a boon or a bust if you happen to lose a disc in their yard.

Parking is ample and is provided on both sides of the course. If you want to do the back nine only you can park by the gazebo and hop right onto ten, or park by the skate park and drop right in on hole three.
Cons: Really this course only gets one disc taken off and for two major reasons:

1. The back nine is flat and barren. I only take half a disc for this because the current trees are still growing and they are working on getting more mature trees cross planted into this area. I think what makes this amazing is that the back nine was once a farmer's field I have been told, and seeing as they are continuing to improve it makes this negative just a temporary hindrance.

2. The last quirk with this course is the neighborhood that it surrounds. If your playing on holes 1-5, losing your disc over a fence means you will have to wait until they return it to the park. This can take from a day to several weeks before you can pick it up from Dennis for a small fee. Entering these yards can get the cops called onto you (the yard next to 2 has No Trespassing Signs every three feet along the fence).

However, once you get on the back nine the only yard you need to worry about is the yard with the plastic white fence and the German Shepard that is let loose to wander the nearby holes and growl at park visitors. The yard with he large pine trees and the yard with the small shed are nice and let those who lose a disc on their property come and grab it (was told this by the owner of the house with the pine trees, he said ti was okay if people fetched their discs since he is an avid player in the park).

While normally I would not take away from a review for surrounding factors, having half of a neighborhood block themselves off from the course is a bit of an eerie feeling.
Other Thoughts: Great course, I can't wait to see it improved through tree planting and hopefully some of the neighborhood stops being so up tight. :)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Luckie on Dillon

1    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: swimbikerunluckie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great amenities. The infrastructure sets the bar for other courses. Very accessible. Front nine about as technical as you can get in this area with little elevation. Alternate tee and pin placements make it a dynamic 'home' course for someone playing it often.
Cons: Back nine may seem bland to seasoned players, however, the change in direction of the fairways makes it a great learning course for testing different throws, especially if wind is in the equation.
Other Thoughts: Great local course. Not sure if I would travel too far to play it, so glad it is in my 'backyard'.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A+ for effort, solid B for results

2-4    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: InJonGnito
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As others have indicated, the course amenities are about as perfect as you can possibly get. The parking, shelter, restrooms and pathways are immaculate. The concrete tee pads are pristine, and painted with pro/am markers and distances. The am tees have great hole maps, and bag hooks to keep off the grass (which is very useful for mornings with a lot of dew, like when I played). The grass and trees around the course are beautifully manicured, and the baskets are top-of-the-line.
The first nine holes play around a pond and woods, and these make for careful choices in shots, with some risk/reward involved. The pond does come into play on #1, #6 and #9, but most players with some experience can avoid it. As there are no reeds or high grass surrounding the pond (as it's mowed right up to the edge), you won't lose your disc in the brush. Get careless in your distance or shot shape, or perhaps an unlucky bounce, roll or gust of wind, however, and your disc will be sacrificed to the pond gods.
The back nine are much more wide open. Some find this to boring or repetitive, and I would agree to a certain extent. There were three or four 200-225' holes that had few other obstacles, and made for easy birdie opportunities. In these wide open holes, windy conditions could, however, make for significant challenges. Hole #11 has a creek and deep brush running very closely up the left side of the hole. It's easy to throw an errant shot in it, and you will likely not retrieve that disc. I opted for the wussy way out and shot way right. Why do I mention this? Because a nice feature of many of the holes on this course is that you can be gutsy and try a close approach if you have the confidence and accept the risk; on the other hand, you can also play safe shots and still have fun. This same creek shows up again on a few other holes, but more to guard against long shots over the basket.
All in all, this offers a great variety of long and short holes. It's versatile enough where all skill levels can play, have fun, and want to come back. You can certainly tell that a lot of cost and thought went into making this course as great as possible.
Cons: As one would expect for this part of the country, there is little elevation for the course to work with. On a few holes there is some noticeable shifting of earth to create some variety, but I belive more could or should have been done. However, I believe given what the designers had to work with, it's as good as it can be -- which is still a little disappointing.
As I mentioned earlier, the back nine is quite wide open. This is a real pro if it's windy and there's added challenge, but on most occasions, it just becomes a series of flat, open holes that allows any type of shot and approach. It doesn't challenge you, but as a silver lining, it allows some for some ace runs or an opportunity to practice some shot shapes.
Other Thoughts: I'm very glad I stopped. I wish that more courses would put this amount of investment into them, as it really does show. The open circle area by the pavilion with short mowed grass allows you to easily practice 250-350' shots. I wish I had a course like this closer to me to be able to regularly play with a such variety.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: SigmaChris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice signage
New baskets
Multiple tees and basket location
Cons: Short but not a bad thing for families or beginners
Majority of the holes (back 9) are in a wide open green space.
Other Thoughts: No way this course should get 4 out of 5. It has nice equipment but the layout is not interesting enough or challenging enough to get this high of a rating. It may be one of the nicer courses in Indy but the locals need to stop propping this up so high. Go see other 4 or 5 star courses and see that this does not deserve a 4 star. Don't be like me and drive out of your way only to be disappointed.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Starts off well, end is disappointing

1    11/23/2009   3/2/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays around a nicely manicured and maintained park with open fields, some wooded areas, and a small pond. The front nine begins and ends around the pond, bringing the water into play for a nice risk/reward element. I love water shots that let you choose whether or not to take the riskier route to the hole that gives you a better shot at the birdie versus the safe shot that doesn't give you as good a look at the hole, and there are a couple holes like that here.

The front nine brings some nice tree lined fairways into play that dictate some left and right turning shots. There is a good mix of ace run lengths, and some longer holes where you can throw a little more of a drive. The alternate tees offer a nice alternative for different levels of players.

The amenities at this course are fantastic. Both the short and long tees are beautiful textured concrete with painted corners to delineate red and blue tees. The short tees have nice tee signs showing distances and hole maps, as well as the direction to the next tee. There are alternate basket placements that often change the shape and length of the hole.

A lot of work has gone into this course, and it's one of the more enjoyable courses to play in the Indy area because of that. I really liked the created terrain on the back nine that adds a little bit of elevation and obstacles to otherwise open shots.
Cons: The back nine is a huge letdown after the beginning of the course. There's some really minor elevation, and a few saplings, and otherwise it's a wide open field with some baskets scattered around. After playing the front nine and wandering my way through the middle of the park trying to find the back nine (some better signage here would be nice), I wished I had played the front nine again instead.

The signs are only on the short tees, and the long tees are much more interesting for players with some distance and who want to play the fun water shots. It's frustrating to have to walk ahead to the short tee to look at the sign, then walk back to the long tee for your shot. It also seemed funny to have the tee sign as an obstacle from many of the long tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play a round if you're in the Indy area, especially if you want to play some water shots that you won't find at other area courses. Beginners will find the course approachable but interesting. More advanced players will find some fun challenges on the front nine, but will be bored on the back. There are better courses around though, so don't make this your first stop in Indy.

If the whole course was like the front nine, I probably would have rated it 3.5-4 discs. If it was all like the back nine though, it would barely make it to 1.5 discs. Averaging those out, and factoring in how disappointing the ending of the course is, I gave it a 2.5.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice DGC

2-4    9/4/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: chuckdisc
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A nice course with 19 new baskets counting practice basket
- 4 holes around pond for interesting shots
- RED & BLUE concrete tee pads for every hole
- two basket locations for every hole
- front 9 holes on one side & comes back around to back 9
- wooded and open shots
- short and long holes
- A creek is on left side down the side of hole 11
- Course layout by parking lot
- Nice tee signs with hooks for bag on every hole. Signs show distance for pro and amateur to both basket locations.
- On hole 18 the basket is sitting on a mound
Cons: - No way to retrieve disc from pond besides swimming.
- Back 9 have a few small trees but not many obstacles to shoot around.
- Some times the grass gets high
- The tee signs are at the amateur tee's only
Other Thoughts: A very nice and clean course around a nice neighborhood. There are bathrooms and a drinking fountain. There is a walk way and benches around course. I prefer to play the front 9, a better mix of shots. I drove a hour twice to play this course and will come back and did for a tourney. It was a very good tourney held by Dennis.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Play the front 9 twice

1    2/15/2010   2/16/2010
Review By: gordonbombay
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well kept park in a sterile suburban setting. Brand new tee signs,concrete teepads and baskets. Beginner friendly course.
Front 9 has some fun holes that make use of what few trees and water that the course has. Holes 3-5 7 and 8 add enough variety and obstacles you will wish they were more evenly dispersed throughout the course.
Back 9 the only hole I found interesting was 18, where the hole plays on a mound.
Cons: Front 9- Although it plays around water (not really OVER it) is not as itimidating as other reviews would make it.
Back 9 has almost no elevation change, no variety of shots, and no character whatsoever.
Other Thoughts: I played in snow so I didnt have to contend with any sort of "rough" shots, but considering the length of the holes would not have been affected too drastically.
I also started on the back nine and was almost bored and left. Im glad I didnt because the front nine had some really fun holes.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park

5+    10/31/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great park! The grass must be mowed once a week - it seems like grass from ball golf courses. Both sets of tees (short and long) are concrete. The short tees have very detailed signs next to them showing you the layout of the hole as well as distances to the TWO different basket placements. The further tees have the distances painted on the corners that correspond to the appropriate baskets. Tees on a hill are still level - well done here.

You can tell there was a lot of money poured into making this course all that it could be. Everything is top-notch - professional tee signs, yellow Innova DiscCatchers, all in a nice park.

There is a nice restroom and drinking fountain that is not too far from any hole (next to holes 1, 9, 10, 18). Also, there is a practice basket for you to warm up on.
Cons: Some holes just are not that interesting. They are so uninteresting that these holes take away from the many holes that are interesting. Plant a tree or something for me to shoot around. With most of the back 9 being about the same distance, it takes the exact same throw every time since they are out in the open field.

Watch out walking from 5 to 6 - you should walk behind hole 2 so you don't walk across the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Watch out - that pond that you run into several times throughout the round WILL eat your disc if you aren't careful. I'm a pansy and always play up on hole 1 and bomb over hole 9.

My favorite holes are in the back - holes 3, 4, and 5. They are a couple technical holes then a bomber through the trees! The technical holes are very RHFH centric.

Great beginner course from the short tees. The longer tees in many cases make the hole more difficult (different angle, behind some trees, etc.) Overall, it is a fun course to play. If you are in the Indy area, it is a no-brainer that you should play this course!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

1    10/7/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: Peachey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is some sentimental value added as this is where I met Disc Gold. The Park itself is exceptionally NICE: parking, bathroom, the view. It's a nice neighborhood. Water Hazards make the round interesting - once you've learned how Not to lose discs here you at least can watch the other folks wade up to their necks sometimes. (Been there) The course itself seems challenging. The park employees alternate the pin sites about every three weeks..keeping things interesting for us regulars. THIS IS A NICE COURSE..and it would be a destination course for me if I didn't live only two miles away.
Cons: There is an unusally heavy amount of litter here...including beer cans in bushes etc. This is disappointing. The number of NO TRESPASSING signs on fencing is depressing. Stories and rumors abound about these homeowners..including one throwing a disc into his trash can rather than returning it to the players who threw it. It seems as if the local club and the Park Staff have alleviated this somewhat..signs at this point in the course suggest it at least.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.