Noblesville, IN 
Dr. James A. Dillon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 349ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red Tee (Pin position "A" 269ft., position "B" 270ft.)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Getting better with age

5+    9/23/2011   7/29/2009
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 206  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 17 2' to 5' white Pines have been planted on holes 12 thru 18. A few of the taller ones have been placed close to the DISCatchers. 2 have been added on #1, as a safety feature, so it harder to throw over the paved trail. Another tree between #9 Pro/Am tee. Another one to the right of both pin placement on #9. It was planted in the wrong place,it should have been BETWEEN the two pin placements. Two tees & pin placements per hole. Great Houck tee signs,some with bag hooks. Practice hole,between pavilion & bathrooms. Park/Course map by practice tee. Front 9 starts by the disc eating pond. Holes 3,4,5 plays into Mature trees and a creek (creek plays on#3 only). #6 tee by the pond. #7,#8 plays into & out of mature trees. Finish the front 9 by the pond. The back 9 starts on the East side of the pavilion. Previously nothing more than a wide open field. Man-made mounds,Buffalo grass & very young trees have been added for some obstacles. In 5-7 years the trees will be more of a factor.Until then the tall buffalo grass should be played as an O.B. As another reviewer wrote "placement of your drive is key more than pure distance" could not be said any better. Wind is almost always a factor. Fairway grass cut weekly. Discatchers moved between rounds at the Unions monthly tournaments.
Cons: Mostly flat, a few holes do have roll-a-way greens. (#1,#2,#9) Back 9 open, use tall grass as risk/reward. holes become more interesting than they look.
Other Thoughts: Very active club is in the process of adding more grasses in the front and back 9. Bathrooms are locked in the winter,From about Halloween to April fools Day. From #5 to #6 WALK BEHIND #2 TREE LINE TO THE SECOND OPENING,TURN RIGHT FOR #6 TEE, by the pond. Trash cans are located by the bathrooms & Pavilion. Trash cans are used for other park activities, could or could NOT be around the course. Bench by #14 tee. Lost and found discs,out of the water and weeds (#11). You can check for yours when the Unions Pro Shop is open. Go to thehdgu.com for hours and prices. A third pin placement on #7 is in!

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Second to Washington.

5+    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: EMorrow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Brand new course that's well maintained, some holes seemed random (2,6,10,12,16) while others definitely had strategy in mind. Front 9 is among the best in the midwest.
Cons: The retention pond on the front 9 is notorious for swallowing discs, personally I've lost 5-10, with friends 20+, it's also getting pretty nasty with mildew and weeds... there are a couple modest creeks to the right of 3 and the left of 11 that might get your feet wet. Right now (6/22/09) your lucky if you get your disc out of the creek by 11, due to how thick the brush is. The back 9 is somewhat boring, but is still a challenge and almost always windy. The walk from 5-6 crosses the hole 2 fairway....?
Other Thoughts: The long tees provide a decently more challenging alternative, some holes are lengthened 15-20 yards. (5,7,9,11,17,18)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course if you know what you are doing

5+    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: scstone2006
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of shots and evironment. Lake and woods front 9, wide open back nine
Cons: If you are a beginner, the lake will eat your disc almost guarenteed, unless you throw 8 times to get it to the hole. Back nine and be really windy, but challenging and fun at the same time
Other Thoughts: I love it, but I would definately say its not for beginners

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 256  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The signs are excellent and there are two tee pads and two pin positions for every hole. The front 9 plays around some strategically placed trees and OB in the form of a pond, a stream and a walking path. The back 9 is wide open with the exception of two holes. Hole 11 has a stream on the left that can really come into play and hole 18 has sidewalks on both sides of the fairway and a couple trees to watch out for.

This is a fun course and the majority of the holes are medium length (300-350 ft) from the long pads. With the exception of the 4 water holes, I'd say this is a good beginner course because bad shots are not punished (keeping in mind there was no tall grass when I played here).
Cons: The shot variety here is very poor because so many of the holes are wide open, I believe two holes required a turnover shot.

When I played here on 5/6/09, there was no tall grass on the course as some previous reviews mentioned. That would have added some spice to the back 9 and made it more challenging. But no matter how you spin it, about 2/3 of this course is wide open with insignificant elevation change.

The tee signs were at the short tees not the longs. This means you have to walk past the long tee to look at the sign and then walk back, or look at it once you've thrown.

The short pads are nice for beginners but rarely change the shot.
Other Thoughts: I checked out this course here on DGCR before I went and it had a 4.09 rating on 9 reviews. After playing here, I cannot in good conscious give this course a rating that good. Don't get me wrong, I think it's a nice, picturesque course and if I lived within a half hour I'd play it frequently, but this is no 4 disc course IMHO.

***UPDATE*** I heard there have been some improvements made to the course since I was last here. I will updated my review once I play the course again.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    5/3/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: edge3281
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Great signs. (they have all the necessary information even where the next tee pad is located) Nice concrete tee pads clearly marked for red or blue tee pad. Dual Tee pads and multiple pin locations allows for different course layout each time you play. Excellent Baskets. Front 9 and back 9 play like completely different courses. Park is well kept. 3 holes have a pond in play and 2 have a creek to worry about providing a psychological obstacle. There is a practice Tee and basket so that you can warm up. It is in between the parking lot and hole 1 so it isn't out of the way. The tall grass on the small hills provides a different kind of challenge.
Cons: Red tee pads didn't provide much of a challenge even for a relative beginner. Tall grass and 5 wholes that have water in play make it easy to loose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Next time I will play from the blue tees which will add more distance to the hole and provide a little more of a challenge. If you like long courses this course isn't for you. The course is pretty busy though the people are friendly and seemed to move along a a pretty good pace.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Links in the Mix

5+    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 143  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent teepads, signage, and baskets! There is a practice basket to warm up on, The park is in an excellent part of the city (very well taken care of and very safe-feeling), There is a great variety of holes and distances.
Cons: Restrooms were locked. Hole info was only available at the short distance tees. There was a long walk from 9 basket to 10 tee (10 tee is on the opposite side of the pavilion).
Other Thoughts: What a great course! This course was beautiful in a beautiful park. It was almost like playing two different courses; the front nine had holes a long a pond, in and along the woods, and around mature growth. The back nine on the other hand was in the open, however, the fairways are lined between long grassy clusters. Playing in late winter, it felt as though a course the British Open (ball golf) would be played on with the heather.

I really liked the integration of the pond on the 3 holes it was in play as well as the small amount of woods that were available; it made for some challenging holes.

The course offers plenty of challenges from both the long and short tees. I hope to come back in the summer when the tall grassy fairways make the course more challenging.

I highly recommend this course to anyone that is in the area. You will not be disappointed.

***Edit***
I have played this course a few more times since my initial review as well as a quite a few more courses. This is a NICE course, but in my opinion, it is not a great course. It has nice baskets, pads, signs, multiple pin positions....but the variety is lacking. The back 9 holes are mostly open. I do like the buffalo grass, but it really doesn't add any challenge. A few trees were recently added which will come into play a few years down the road. I am changing my rating from a 4.5 to a 3.5.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/29/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 265  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2011
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New Course. Great signs. 2 sets of tees.
In a fancy suburb of Indy- very, very nice and safe neighborhood (especially compared to what others say about other courses in Indy).

1st 9 plays around a pond and creek, and you have the option of playing safe but to get birdies you have to face the water hazards!
2nd 9 was fairly open. The tall grasses weren't there being December, but in the summer they could present a great challenge.
Cons: Signs were only at the shorter tees, so you had to walk past the long tee to look at the sign and then go back. It had just rained and a lot of snow and ice had also melted so the course was a muddy marsh. At one point I must have had at least 5 pounds of mud on my shoes!!!
Restrooms were closed and water fountains were off for the winter.
Other Thoughts: I rate this course a 3 based on the how the extreme winter conditions affected it. But I think this course in the summer, with the tall grasslined fairways, could make this a higher rated course once it matures.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Park

1    11/6/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Everything about this park is great, very nice tees and pins, very nice beautiful park, wide variety of shots, the landscaping is awesome, alot of fun shots around the water.
Cons: I loved this park.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best park Ive played so far, it's just to far away.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Indy area

2-4    11/5/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: Spurlocm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured , beautiful area, favorite so far in Indianapolis area. Blue tees make this a challanging course with a nice variety of shots. No extremely long holes but several approaching 400. Excellent signs, good tees and very fun. Water in play on four holes but not really a concern except on hole 1 ( watch the disc's role) and I believe 9. Once the grass grows back up fairways will make this a more challanging course.
Cons: None that i have seen so far but have only played twice,
Other Thoughts: If you don't like the areas that washington, brookeside, or Northwestway are located in or don't like the traffic then this is an excellent place for you. There is a walking path but this was not a problem at all when I played.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, 2 personalities

5+    8/16/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: Recon0321
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in Indiana. Requires real golf course management. Hitting lines, shaping shots, and placing the disc to set up second shots take a higher priority than pure crush.
Challenging water hazards require control on some holes and power on others, some holes require both. Good variety of holes both distance wise and placement wise. Some holes have moderate foliage, others are wide open. Well groomed and taken care of. Facilities available on course as well as several water fountains, plenty of parking, out buildings, BBQ pits, plus a practice tee. A great place to spend the day with friends and family.
Cons: Cons: WHO CUT THE GRASS!!!!!! What would have been added in as a big Plus is now a BIG Con, along the back nine where there used to be 4-6' grass around most holes and fairways, there is now none. The grass is my opinion acted to make this back nine more challenging and more aesthetically pleasing as well. Without the grass in place the back nine is somehow missing something. PLEASE LET THE GRASS GROW BACK :(
Other Thoughts: A good degree of control and/or power is required to stay out the water on some of the holes, good for beginners or avid players alike due to the multiple tee box's. Can be crowded, but overall everyone there is nice and friendly. Easy place to lose a disc or two. A big thumbs up and a thank you to those of you that volunteered your time to make this course possible, Great job!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.