Noblesville, IN 
Dr. James A. Dillon Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 319ft.   3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Fun Course

1    5/3/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: edge3281
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Great signs. (they have all the necessary information even where the next tee pad is located) Nice concrete tee pads clearly marked for red or blue tee pad. Dual Tee pads and multiple pin locations allows for different course layout each time you play. Excellent Baskets. Front 9 and back 9 play like completely different courses. Park is well kept. 3 holes have a pond in play and 2 have a creek to worry about providing a psychological obstacle. There is a practice Tee and basket so that you can warm up. It is in between the parking lot and hole 1 so it isn't out of the way. The tall grass on the small hills provides a different kind of challenge.
Cons: Red tee pads didn't provide much of a challenge even for a relative beginner. Tall grass and 5 wholes that have water in play make it easy to loose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Next time I will play from the blue tees which will add more distance to the hole and provide a little more of a challenge. If you like long courses this course isn't for you. The course is pretty busy though the people are friendly and seemed to move along a a pretty good pace.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Links in the Mix

5+    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 118  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent teepads, signage, and baskets! There is a practice basket to warm up on, The park is in an excellent part of the city (very well taken care of and very safe-feeling), There is a great variety of holes and distances.
Cons: Restrooms were locked. Hole info was only available at the short distance tees. There was a long walk from 9 basket to 10 tee (10 tee is on the opposite side of the pavilion).
Other Thoughts: What a great course! This course was beautiful in a beautiful park. It was almost like playing two different courses; the front nine had holes a long a pond, in and along the woods, and around mature growth. The back nine on the other hand was in the open, however, the fairways are lined between long grassy clusters. Playing in late winter, it felt as though a course the British Open (ball golf) would be played on with the heather.

I really liked the integration of the pond on the 3 holes it was in play as well as the small amount of woods that were available; it made for some challenging holes.

The course offers plenty of challenges from both the long and short tees. I hope to come back in the summer when the tall grassy fairways make the course more challenging.

I highly recommend this course to anyone that is in the area. You will not be disappointed.

***Edit***
I have played this course a few more times since my initial review as well as a quite a few more courses. This is a NICE course, but in my opinion, it is not a great course. It has nice baskets, pads, signs, multiple pin positions....but the variety is lacking. The back 9 holes are mostly open. I do like the buffalo grass, but it really doesn't add any challenge. A few trees were recently added which will come into play a few years down the road. I am changing my rating from a 4.5 to a 3.5.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/29/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New Course. Great signs. 2 sets of tees.
In a fancy suburb of Indy- very, very nice and safe neighborhood (especially compared to what others say about other courses in Indy).

1st 9 plays around a pond and creek, and you have the option of playing safe but to get birdies you have to face the water hazards!
2nd 9 was fairly open. The tall grasses weren't there being December, but in the summer they could present a great challenge.
Cons: Signs were only at the shorter tees, so you had to walk past the long tee to look at the sign and then go back. It had just rained and a lot of snow and ice had also melted so the course was a muddy marsh. At one point I must have had at least 5 pounds of mud on my shoes!!!
Restrooms were closed and water fountains were off for the winter.
Other Thoughts: I rate this course a 3 based on the how the extreme winter conditions affected it. But I think this course in the summer, with the tall grasslined fairways, could make this a higher rated course once it matures.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Park

1    11/6/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Everything about this park is great, very nice tees and pins, very nice beautiful park, wide variety of shots, the landscaping is awesome, alot of fun shots around the water.
Cons: I loved this park.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the best park Ive played so far, it's just to far away.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Indy area

2-4    11/5/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: Spurlocm
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured , beautiful area, favorite so far in Indianapolis area. Blue tees make this a challanging course with a nice variety of shots. No extremely long holes but several approaching 400. Excellent signs, good tees and very fun. Water in play on four holes but not really a concern except on hole 1 ( watch the disc's role) and I believe 9. Once the grass grows back up fairways will make this a more challanging course.
Cons: None that i have seen so far but have only played twice,
Other Thoughts: If you don't like the areas that washington, brookeside, or Northwestway are located in or don't like the traffic then this is an excellent place for you. There is a walking path but this was not a problem at all when I played.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, 2 personalities

5+    8/16/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: Recon0321
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in Indiana. Requires real golf course management. Hitting lines, shaping shots, and placing the disc to set up second shots take a higher priority than pure crush.
Challenging water hazards require control on some holes and power on others, some holes require both. Good variety of holes both distance wise and placement wise. Some holes have moderate foliage, others are wide open. Well groomed and taken care of. Facilities available on course as well as several water fountains, plenty of parking, out buildings, BBQ pits, plus a practice tee. A great place to spend the day with friends and family.
Cons: Cons: WHO CUT THE GRASS!!!!!! What would have been added in as a big Plus is now a BIG Con, along the back nine where there used to be 4-6' grass around most holes and fairways, there is now none. The grass is my opinion acted to make this back nine more challenging and more aesthetically pleasing as well. Without the grass in place the back nine is somehow missing something. PLEASE LET THE GRASS GROW BACK :(
Other Thoughts: A good degree of control and/or power is required to stay out the water on some of the holes, good for beginners or avid players alike due to the multiple tee box's. Can be crowded, but overall everyone there is nice and friendly. Easy place to lose a disc or two. A big thumbs up and a thank you to those of you that volunteered your time to make this course possible, Great job!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I Disagree!

1    8/13/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: Discsloth
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: the front 9, the blur, the woods and lakes. The damage control. The lost Tee Bird.
Cons: Serengeti back 9, but I adored the grass.
Other Thoughts: See my complete review with photos here: http://discjag.blogspot.com /

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Bad Grass!

1    8/8/2008   8/8/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Full 18 and practice hole with multiple tees, also multiple hole locations which change frequently. Beautiful park and pond. Fun hole locations and many different kinds of shots required.
Cons: Really unnecessarily high grass which prevents viewing the holes and makes finding a disc very difficult. Many disc eating hazards to avoid (Creeks, ponds), high chance of losing at least one disk. No hole information on tees as of (8/8/2008) Not much elevation changes, mostly flat. Not too many 500'+ shots.
Other Thoughts: I love the potential this course has, it can be the best in the Indianapolis area. But the 6 foot high grass was killing it for me, it was everywhere on the front 9. Grass does get cut sometimes though. I spent soo much time looking for discs, and even on well placed shots. I'll definitely be going back and playing the course again to be fair, but it was as aggravating as it was fun.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Noblesville's New Course

5+    7/31/2008   8/2/2008
Review By: ZipperBlueZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2008
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tees and Dual hole positions. 18 holes. The front 9 have you shooting along the banks of a large pond (which has already eaten many discs) before traveling into a nice shaded woods areas with a few dogleg right shots to keep you honest. Next, you come back out of the woods and play the final 2 holes on the opposite bank of the pond. The back 9 holes are out in open fields with well placed high wild grass used as obstacles, defining the fairways and rough (in this case, the rough is the 2-6' tall wild grass!).
Cons: The holes are pretty short. I don't think any, even from the pro tees, are much more than 400". This isn't a huge con though, since the holes are pretty varied and challenging.
Other Thoughts: I had been waiting for this course to be completed ever since I had first heard it was going to be built about 5 years ago and It was worth the wait to have this high quality course basically in my backyard...It's the best thing my tax dollars have ever paid for.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.