Manitowoc, WI
Indian Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #7 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 270ft.   4 / 445ft.   4 / 488ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Prairie Course needs a little attention

1    8/11/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: discochad
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
Pros: First three holes played really well. Like the blind tee shot and elevated basket of hole #1.

Fairways well mowed and plenty wide.

Really liked holes 14 and 15 as they go into the wooded area. 14 has a nice tunnel throw, and 15 is a nice bender through trees.

Good length on holes - let's you use more discs in your bag.
Cons: Got lost twice. First time was trying to figure out how to get from 3 to 4 and then again from 15 to 16. In fact, never did find the tee box for 16.

Kind of an anti-climatic finish with fairly straight, no obstacles or rough between 17 and 18.

Needs tee boxes better marked. The posts let you know where the tee area is, but hard to find markers in the ground. Could really benefit from concrete or even gravel/limestone pads.
Other Thoughts: I've been trying to play random courses as I travel. As I mentioned, the first three holes started well. I think not being able to easily find hole 4 (actually walked through a hidden wet area to finally find it) put me in a bad mood and I just wanted to finish the round to finish it. So it kind of bummed me out.

 

1    4/7/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek is a mostly open, prairie style course with lots of elevation changes and nice blue baskets. The hole numbers are on 4x4's that doubles as the bag hanger. The tees are marked by yellow markers next to the 4x4. There are also short pads marked with white markers. There are many benches and trash cans on course at the tee areas.

Hole 1 has a slightly elevated basket perched on top of a small but steep hill. Hole 14 is hands down my favorite hole here. It's a 244ft tunnel shot with extreme down hill and the basket is on the right side so a RHBH shot can't hyzer out too much if you want to stay in the circle for your putt.
Cons: The first problem I encountered on this course is there's no park sign by the road. Thankfully I had a GPS to help me, but I was questioning whether I was in the right place or not until I saw a small wood sign by hole 1 with the course name.

When I played here on 4/7/12, the bridge from 15 to 16 was out. This is a big problem I hope is fixed soon as there is no easy way to cross the stream.

Navigation is a little problematic here in a few places. Most notably, there's a long unmarked walked from 3 to 4 forcing you to walk out to the road and cross the bridge there.

There are no tee signs. The hole distance is written on the 4x4 in sharpie.

More than half the holes wide open. There are some sizable elevation changes on the course which helps to keep it interesting, but that doesn't stop it from being so open.

The fairway for holes 16 and 17 are rather close and errant shots from one tee can easily land near the other.

The course is not friendly to new and rec golfers. When I was here the prairie grass was short but I'm sure that will change this summer. And good luck finding the white markers for the short tees.

Apparently there's a putting area here. I didn't see it at all since it's not close to hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a good course for new and rec players because of the prairie grass and the short pads are tough to find. There isn't much of a challenge for the more advanced golfer.

I did enjoy my round here despite all the con's, but all the problems also keep me from rating this course higher.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Creek

5+    3/28/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: discgolfoholicray
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.6 Years
0 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: IT IS A GREAT COURSE! Great Baskets and Placements. Great benches and garbage cans.
Cons: There should be Cement T-Pads and the grass should be cut every other week or so.
Other Thoughts: For people who complain about this Course- Dont Play It!!!!

0 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Challenge in the Prairie!

1    10/15/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses (over 180 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(This is the weakness of this course. There are a lot of open holes (ways too many), but the few wooded holes on the back 9 are really cool both in aesthetics and in challenge/choices posed. The terrain around the basket on a couple of holes that are at max D for me accentuate error and therefore place a premium on accuracy.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me (I rate only from the long tees). I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
(This is where this course shines for me. Despite the openness, the effective length of the vast majority of the holes are the perfect challenge and offer the perfect buzzz for carding a deuce. This frustratingly fun challenge is a huge part of what draws me back to this course so strongly.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(Although this course is not a wooded course, the combination of how the woods and the terrain is used makes things more interesting than otherwise. "On paper" this is a boring course, but in real life there is just something about it that I like…..from the touchy uphill #1, to the quirky downhill bending shot on #3, to the downhill bomber on #7, to the guardian trees on 12 & 13, to the fun and touchy downhill 14, and finally the finicky #15 with a creek right behind the basket, there are actually a bunch of design features to mess with your head.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(With the way the terrain seems to block out the road on 5-9, this course feels more secluded than it actually is. I really liked the views down over the prairie towards the grove of trees that the stream meanders through. It is a pity that more of the holes are not amongst those trees though. The sort of beauty at Indian Creek is not really my bag, but I cannot deny that this is a beautiful course in its own way.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Just another prairie course

1    8/30/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Course is well designed using the property features to its benefit. It isn't an awesome course by any means but they did a good job placing holes to incorporate as many of the property features as possible.

2) Posts by every tee with the hole # and distance. This helps find the next hole more easily.

3) Baskets are in great shape and consistant.

4) Elevation change is used on many of the holes . . . it make straight out prairie holes a little better. The wind also becomes more of a factor when you throw some elevation into the mix.

5) Course apparently has a putting area, it is disjointed from the course though so you would have to know it is there to find it. It is at the far end of the parking area from the first tee and where #18 ends.

6) Portopotty at the first hole is nice and a welcome sign is also there for postings and course info.

7) Course has a lot of garbage cans with lids and benches on some of the holes.

8 ) Dual tees on every hole and a pro tee on about 8 holes. Usually just add more distance and they dont alter the layout or difficulty of the hole except by the additional footage.

9) Course has seen some additional tree planting which is a really good idea, unfortunately if they keep puttin in mature trees they will be spending way too much money. Buy some tree plugs and protect them with PVC and you can put 10 times the amount of trees that way.
Cons: 1) When I played thegrass looked like it hadn't been mowed in a while. It wasn't overgrown but it was quie a few inches tall creating a tough find for some of the discs especially when they went into some patches of clover or other taller weeds.

2) Course is sor tof boring . . . the standard prairie course just lacks the essential components that help make it a great course. At least there are a handful of holes that have some trees and wooded shots, but they aren't enough to improve my overall opinion of this course. Too many boring bad holes to counter with the few wooded well designed holes.

3) Tees leave a little to be desired and are very difficult to find. Painted concrete blocks set at grade. It looks like they changed the white tees to orange because the white ones were to difficult to find in the ground. The orange also looks very similar to the yellow tee color so make sure you are on the right tee. I can imagine the greens where applicable are very tough to find . . . seldom used . . . and green blocks set in tall grass/weeds.

4) #5 tee sign is laying on the ground . . . not sure if this is vandalism of frost heaving from the spring, but it looked like it had been down for a while leading me to believe that not a lot of maintenance happens at this course.

5) Concrete tees would be much better than grass tees worn down to dirt. Maybe they aren't allowed on this property because it is a Sanctuary.

6) Course is not real beginner friendly because of liklihood of losing discs. The fairways look unmowed recently and the rough areas are getting shaggy after a full season of growth. The lack of defined mowed fairways also creates some confusion on some of the first few holes.

7) Course does run through some walking trails and dog runs. I had to wait about 10 minutes for 5 people to walk past hole #12 because the dog just kept running in circles and circles looking for rodents I assume and if I threw I am sure the dog would have gone for my disc.
Other Thoughts: I think this course has more potential that it realized. Some better holes could be designed and taking out some of the repetetive uphill then downhill holes would actually add to the course. I think the addition of a poor hole just to make it 18 makes it less of a course. I would rather it be 15 holes and not repeat the same hole back and forth!

#1 is a blind basket across a small ravine. Kindof goofy for a first hole because you cannot even tell where the intended route would be, there is no fairway possibly because it isn't mowed but there just are too many openings to know which one to try and throw through.
#2 is another bad hole because it is impossible to tell where you are supposed to throw. Keep it left of all the trouble and hug the roadline for an easier approach to the basket. #3 is an ok hole down a small hill and tucked back into the woods. Not real tight but you do have to hit the gap at the right angle to get near the basket that is tucked a little to the left. #4 is wide open and boring. #5 is uphill and open, #6 is downhill and open, #7 is uphill and long and open, #8 is back uphill slightly and open, #9 is back downhill slightly wide open, #10 is back uphill and open. #11 is downhill and open, #12 is fairly flat but up over crestof hill to a basket tucked on a mssive slope. Rollaways will be bad and parking it from anywhere outside of 50' will be tough, #13 is pretty level and somewhat wooded (small stragly trees), #14 goes down a big hill into a wetland area. Keep your disc close to the ground at the crest to resist the wind effect as it gets near the bottom of the hill, #15 is a big anhyzer hole around a large tree and out in the wetland area, #16 is up over a small hill and th ebasket is tucked to the right, #17 is open all the way to the basket and then there are a few trees and a big shrub in your way, #18 is open and flat.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Gwar

1    3/25/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: Sensai Scuba
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has all the major food groups of a disc golf course (wood/field/water/trick shots) and the hazards do pose a serious threat of eating your frisbees but other than that, unimpressive.
Cons: I was so disapointed in this course.... The holes don't seem that well put it was like someone stood in a field and threw a disc then put a basket there, then took a walk and put a tee there and then just tossed a disc again.... Very easy to get lost, tees are marked with a piece of wood sticking out of the ground and once you get lost it is a nightmare of a trek to get around that river/creek to get back to where you parked. I'm going to try to bring myself to play this course again to try and give it a good fair judgement but I'll wait till they get signs that tell you where the next hole is, where the basket it, distance, par, or at least what tee your on....
Other Thoughts: I probably am being too hard on this course. In all fairness I got directions to this one by mistake, I was wanting to play the silver creek one so when I arrived here I was very upset and decided to play it anyways so I wasn't in the best of moods.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 What could have been

1    5/26/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: thefranchise3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wooded holes and open holes. Pro tees on open holes really allow u to let it fly.
Cons: Tees are dirt at best.Hard to navigate the first time.Open holes are to open and boring.
Other Thoughts: This course isnt that old but need to be touched up .It has potential.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course

2-4    6/18/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: theycallmejg15
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lack of people
Long holes, short holes, wooded, and some difficult angles
Wide open so you can really let your drives fly
Cons: Need bridges by the holes that you have to cross the creek to get to the next tee. The railroad bridge is freaky as all heck! The grass that isn't mowed is tall as heck and losing a disc in there will take sometime to find.
Grass on the fairways could be cut shorter.
Tee pads?
Other Thoughts: They are starting to update the course. We did see that they planted a bunch of maple trees throughout the course to add some trees to the mix. they put nice benches and garbage cans at most of the holes. Maybe someday they will add concrete tee pads..
This course has the makings to become another plamann park. But in the long run if everything is done right this place will become better than plamann ever will be.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Skip this one

2-4    6/1/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes 1-3 and a few in the woods are pretty nice. They utilize some elevation, water hazard, and sporadic trees to force a specific throw off the tee. I love this kid of "required skill" to play a hole. Unfortunaely that's where my PROS will end here.

There are three tees on some holes but in most cases all they add are distance because they are located on the wide open prairie holes.
Cons: Wide open and not much elevation. Anyone who has read my reviews knows I hate wide open holes that may be mowed or have a tee sign which shows a certain direction of play. If there are no obstacles between you and the basket (as the majority of holes at Indian Creek are), then there is no required skill to play here. The course will not force you to play outside the norm and not make you a better player without challenge. The only challenge will be finding your disc in the long grass, but it don't worry, your upshot will still be wide open.

Not enough wooded holes! There are some excellent woods right nestled in with the creek that flows through. 3-5 more holes could be in those woods which would create so much more balance, character, and challenge.

The parks department could do wonders for this park by bringing in some large mature trees as defined fairway routes and borders. But unfortunately worthless and useless people would probably destroy them too.

This was an old dog park, and there is also a kennel nearby so you can hear dogs barking CONSTANTLY!
Other Thoughts: Skip Indian Creek - I personnally hate that the disc club down there crams Indian Creek down your throat! It sucks that Manitowalk in the Park tournament (a fantastic event!) has been downgraded and forces you to play one round on each course instead of enjoying the beauty of Silver Creek twice.

No one likes Indian Creek, it's just quieter than the overrun Silver Creek park. Go a few miles (30) north and play WINTER PARK!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Has a "Links" Look at Best, but Falls Short

5+    9/13/2008   6/5/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. While much of the course could be considered open, the designers really worked with the land's features to deman all types of shots. I was impressed teeing off on #1, an uphill dogleg (although a straight-over route isn't out of the question), followed by some downhill shots with late trouble, a few chances to really bomb some drives, and an intimidating water hole on the creek. UPDATE: MANY NEW TREES BEING PLANTED!
2. When the grass gets cut, this course has a really nice look (almost ball golf "links" style with the mowed fairways and undulations, little disturbed land), and it's not as busy as Silver Creek, so the noticeable litter is at a minimum (at the time of this review).
3. Alt tees. Like Silver Creek, dual tees can be found on every hole here, with a few champ tees also like Silver Creek.
Cons: 1. The last time I played, there were some awkward hole transitions. From 3 to 4, you have to go up by the main road, hop the crash barrier and walk ON THE SHOULDER, and then hop the barrier at another spot and cross a creek over what appeared to be flimsy plywood. After you finish #15 (which is a really cool hole, the RHFH shot with a HUGE punishment if you go deep...Indian Creek), there's a marked path to #16 that leads up through some woods (follow the orange tape) and over a railroad bridge. My kids were absolutely terrified to cross this thing, and it took over half-an-hour to convince them it was safe (safe, but scary as hell for young kids or adults terrified of heights/water). There simply was NO OTHER WAY to cross the creek; it was too wide and flowing too fast. In my opinion, these are major design flaws that can easily deter returning players, though I understand efforts were being made to install bridges (they did install a temp bridge for last year's Manitowalk tourney, which subsequently washed away after a downpour). UPDATE: BRIDGE FINALLY UP ACROSS THE CREEK!
2. An pretty lackluster finish. I don't mind some open bomber holes, and I understand that this was probably the most logical place to have the course end, but some simple landscaping (drop a few boulders out there or something!) could improve the 18th significantly.
Other Thoughts: A stray kitten came up to us during one of our rounds out here...emaciated, crying, looking dehydrated and about to test the creek. This little guy hopped through the tall grass and followed us back to the parking lot, so we decided to drop him off at the Humane Society. Should you encounter a stray out here, rest assured knowing that the Humane Society is the parking lot just south of Indian Creek, so you don't need to go out of your way. I don't know why I'm including this little anecdote in my review, but we were unaware the HS was right next to us and drove around for a while before figuring it out!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.