Yorkville, IL 
Fox Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: juanbond33 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / --   4 / 327ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket along creek



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
i have had better

1    4/5/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: rohrean
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: - always mowed
- good warm-up course before you go to a real one.
Cons: - all the holes are in the open.
- poor signage
- odd layout
Other Thoughts: I couldn't bring myself to throw more than two holes before I got completely bored. The designer did the best he could with land that was available. It seems to be a waste of 10 good baskets to be placed on this land, just not a good place for a course.

 Not a bad course

1    1/16/2011   1/23/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course actually has some decent hole variety. A lot of this is do to the greens, several are right by various drainage ditches, which pose good risks for roll aways.

-The holes that play around the creek are actually very fun. There are both anhyzer and hyzer holes that force you to throw over it, with some risk/reward surprising for a hole like this.

-There is a tough tunnel shot at this course that is really uncharacteristic of this course, and is actually really fun.

-The baskets at this course are new, and in great shape.

-This course boasts a 450'+ hole, that is a really nice chance to let one bomb out there. While its an easy hole, it's fun, and a good change from the shorter holes here.
Cons: -The signs could use some work, with just hole numbers and distances.

-The flow here is a little odd, but not too terrible.

-Several holes here are really easy, and really breed deuce or die mentality.

-The grass tees leave a lot to be desired. Even if they were just dug up to dirt, to give somewhat better footing, it would still be an improvement.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't quite what you'd expect from a "beginner course" with surprising risk/reward, and a good variety of holes. While I wouldn't go out of my way to play here, it's certainly worth stopping in if you're playing the other courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    1/16/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small neighborhood park, which contains a large drainage ditch. This provides for some hilly areas, along with a small creek/forest on one side. Doesn't seem like any other activities would get in the way of the disc golf, maybe some random pedestrians on the walking path.
- The best parts of this course are situated next to the creek, which is also lined with larger, mature trees. It is designed very well, with a bunch of different shots to be found. There is a RHBH hyzer that has the forest on the left, and a RHBH anhyzer with the forest on the right. There is a hole that involves going over the creek, and around some forest, some extreme lines are needed to get around. Another hole has some guardian trees right off the tee, with the creek directly beneath.
- Drainage ditch area provides some decent elevation to work with, usually in the form of an elevated green/basket. The hyzer and anhyzer listed above have elevated baskets, as well as the one that goes over the creek. This provides a good amount of challenge; there are some definite roll-away spots, and requires some extra accuracy off the tee and on approaches.
- Good variety in hole length, there is a legitimate ace run, a legitimate bomber, a few longer holes, and many that fall in the casual player's range.
- Tees are fine, baskets are good, and signage is good as well (one missing though).
Cons: - A few holes here have really nothing to them, just a basket in a field. This is true for the shortest and longest hole; not much excitement. Overall the holes are on the shorter side, with only one over 315'.
- Drainage area can easily flood, making some parts of the course unplayable. #2's tee is smack in the middle of it, so there could possibly be an underwater tee shot.
Other Thoughts: - If this is considered a beginner course, it is one of the best ones I've played. While there are some throwaway holes, or others that are just plain and boring, there are others that have some good challenge, interesting lines, and tough punishment. All the holes by the creek have some trick to them, and others by the drainage ditch have decent hilliness. A more advanced player will probably be done after one round, but most everyone else will find something that's tricky for them.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 quick round

5+    9/19/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: simplepmart
Played: 100  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great place to practice every shot. Even though there are only 12 holes on this course, it tests many aspects of your game. Several holes have distance of 300+, dogs left, dogs right, tunnel, and shots over water.
Clean park, very little crowding. Retention ponds DO come in to play during spring and after tons of rain adding some difficulty to the course.
Cons: Wish there were 18 holes! Basket on hole number 1 should be moved straight back to the treeline where the old #3 basket previously was. It would add considerable distance and risk/reward to the hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all a fun "home course" for me and my 2 sons. Don't go out of your way just to play this course but if you are traveling through on your way to Jericho, Eagle Ridge or Shorewood, play a quick round here just to say you did.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is

2-4    8/20/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course starts very short the first few holes (the 1st hole is maybe 150' ace run with no obstacles), but the holes get long as you proceed through the course. It runs along a small wooded creek that has some good risk/reward type throws, but most of the holes are open. The course is right next to a neighborhood and the course designer did as much with it as he/she could. there are a few wooded holes that require tight shots, but most are open. A great place to work on your game. There is a practice hole near the road (which is always nice) that makes for a decent 14th hole on your way back to the car.
Cons: This is obviously a beginners course, but is fun none the less. The tee boxes are dirt and could get muddy if you come after a good rain. Navigation can be difficult as there are no signs as to where the pins are nor where the next hole is. If I hadn't been there with people who had played there before I don't know if I would have found some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This course may play a lot harder in the fall and spring as many of the holes play along retention ponds that are currently dry, but will be serious obstacles is full of water. Given the area and land to work with, the designer did a really nice job creating a course that is both fun and geared for beginners. Quick rounds add to the fun and should be a decent local course for kids in the neighborhood to get to know this sport we all love. the third hole is fun, as it is a blind shot over a small creek to the left. The creek is shallow enough that if you hit a tree you can get your disc back (as I had to do).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open course but fun

1    8/4/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a medium sized multi-use park with some minor elevation changes. Some holes play near a creek at the edge of the park, and this presents a hazard to errant throws. Much of the park is open with some scattered young trees, with some brushy wooded areas along the edges of the park. The holes against and in the wooded area add a nice complement to the open holes, and offer a bit more challenge.

There is an ok mix of longer and shorter holes, with most holes reachable on a good accurate drive. Around the edges of the park, you'll need right and left turning shots to have runs at the basket. Two holes stood out, a tunnel shot through the woods, and a shot through a gap in the trees over a creek, and these two holes helped make the course more memorable.

The baskets are nice new DISCatchers that are easy to see, including a practice basket at the beginning of the course. There are small posts as hole markers with the number and distance, and most holes are visible from the tee. Navigation is fine throughout the course, especially if you check out the course map near the practice basket.
Cons: The tees are grass, and don't always provide the best footing especially on the longer holes where a drive is required. The areas that were worn and obviously used as the tees were right on top of the hole markers, making it difficult to do any kind of run-up on the tee area at times.

Though there were some cool holes, many of the open holes felt very repetitive. The designers did a nice job with what they had in the field areas of the park, but there wasn't much to work with until some of the small trees grow up.

Hole maps at the tees would be nice, as there are a few blind holes that you might have to scout the first time through. A couple holes played near or over busy walking paths, so be prepared to wait on pedestrians to clear the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is a great beginner course, with lots of reachable holes, some more difficult shots, and not too many places where discs will really disappear. More advanced players will enjoy a couple of the more challenging holes, but find the open field holes a little easy and similar.

This is a fun little course to play if you're in the area, and it's great to see a nice course that had neighborhood families out playing. Stop by if you're in the area, but don't drive all the way out here just for this course. If you've got some extra time after Jericho Lake and Oswego, this is a nice easy way to end the day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 B = Bery Bery Nice 12-Holer

1    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Big time kudos to the course designer for milking every bit of potential out of the land available - impressive!

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B (It is a very open course but the flow makes excellent use of the woodline at the edge of the field the make a L-R balanced course and force some unique throws. Ingenious! The terrain that is there is used to max and adds a little variety on several holes if you do not park it.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/25/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: blong
Played: 70  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a decent course. The mild elevation changes help keep it interesting. Not many obstacles on the open holes. The baskets are new. There are grass tee pads, which in my opinion, should be changed to concrete. Especially once this course becomes more popular. Tee signs are ok; distance appears to be accurate; no mandatories or OB defined, but it's pretty evident. The holes flow fairly well. For those who haven't played here before, knowing where to go after each hole could be a little confusing. The holes vary in distance. Number 12 is a par 5, which seems rather generous, it should be a 4. The park is well maintained. Garbage cans are present. OB is thick with thorns and brush. I went OB twice, resulting in scrapes while retrieving my disc. A couple holes run along a creek (which flows surprisingly fast for a creek), so a wide throw could prove troublesome.
Cons: Very windy. No shade or mature trees on the open holes.
Other Thoughts: No other golfers there when I played. Probably not too popular. Parking is on the street. There's a baseball diamond in the park, but it doesn't interfere with the course. When there's a game or practice, parking could be an issue.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: Noah Karnes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was an enjoyable course to play. There is a good variety of shots. Most are pretty open. Only a couple longer holes (over 350ft.) One hole has you throwing an big anhyzer over a creek. Another is a tunnel shot through the woods.
Cons: Only 12 holes. The wind was a big factor when I played.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course by any means. I would rather make the extra drive to play Oswego or Jericho Lake.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.