Crystal Lake, IL 
Prairie Ridge High School Share
Uploaded By: erickmj   (Taken 10/2012)



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
I think her engine is permanently stalled

2-4    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As I pulled into Prairie Ridge HS an old Stones song I had not heard in years came on the radio, so I had "She's So Cold" running through my head during the round. Sadly, that was the highlight.

The Prairie Ridge HS actually has some potential. There are some decent shots, Holes #1 #2 & #7 have good distance and the rough is punishing. There is a certain degree of challenge to the design. There is a bit of elevation in play; # 7 drops off for a fun elevated throw and #8 is a pretty dramatic uphill shot. In another setting with better upkeep, it might be an ok-ish course. There is a nice sign in the parking lot and hole #1 is a pretty nice shot (although the basket for #6 is right there and it is easy to throw at the wrong basket) so after one hole I had high hopes for my round.
Cons: Hole #2 to me looked like an unrealistic pitch between an overgrown strip of shule and a tennis court fence; it's too long IMO to expect people to hit the fairway. Except, it turned out that I wasn't throwing at the fairway. The strip that was mowed was around the tennis courts; the actual fairway and pin placement was overgrown with chest-high weeds. I found the #3 tee there in the same weeds and threw out to the pin placement that I felt was too close to the tennis courts. Hole #4's tee I couldn't find. It had been swallowed up by weeds. I picked a spot and threw to another pin placement that was too close to the tennis courts. Hole #5 I found no trace of. No tee, no basket. Hole #6 I was also unable to find a tee for; the weeds had just swallowed up that entire area. Hole #6 is a pretty stupid blind extreme hyzer around a stand of thick shule with the pin set tight against some really tall, thick grass. I spent 15 minutes looking for a disc that was literally 5' away from the pin. Basically all five of these holes were unplayable the day I was there.

Hole #7 was a pretty fun hole, but the tee sign shows an anhyzer shot wrapping around the swamp. I read the sign and played to #8's basket on my first attempt.

There were tee signs (when you could find them) but no dedicated tee area. Some of the signs like #7 were set in paces where you couldn't tee anywhere close to the sign. The distances seemed off and some of the maps showed holes that were different from the ones we ended up playing.

The course aggressively used the shule in the design. The pins for #2, #6 and #8 were set right up against the shule, and hole #9 is a drive over an overgrown swamp. That would have been fine except that this is is a school setting; having the pins so close to the shule just creates the frustration of punishing basically good shots. Using that sort of challenge is more of an Advanced/Pro-type feature and isn't good at courses where young people will be introduced to the sport. Add to that the fact that so much of the course was overgrown and the overall effect is a lost disc nightmare.

Holes #2/#3/#4 were designed too closely to the tennis courts to be considered safe.
Other Thoughts: Prairie Ridge HS has some potential, but I found it to be more frustrating than fun. Given the setting, you would expect that the course design would have more fun factor than this course does. It's the wrong type of design for the setting, and the poor maintenance makes it bad for any sort of setting. It's not worth the frustration to bother with.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Needs mowing

1    7/27/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 83  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good shot variety. Good use of minor elevation changes. Good use of tennis court fences.
Cons: Not being mowed. If the course were trimmed back around the baskets that would be a huge help. Each basket doesn't need to be 4 feet from rough. The underbrush needs to be cleared to let players get into trouble; not lose discs.

Hole 6 is a gimmick hole.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of potential in this well designed course but the lack of care from the groundskeeping staff, and the lack of clearing the brush around baskets, make this course frustrating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Prairie Ridge, but no Wetland?

1    9/25/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice variety of holes on this 9 hole course. Overall they are mostly open but there may be prairie rough off to the side (on a few holes), there might be some deep wooded rough to the sides of a few holes, and there is a wetland on one hole which spans the complete length of the fairway.

2) Nice DGA signs except on #5 which seems to be a homemade sign (but is adequately informative). They have Hole #, Par, Distance and a layout.

3) I wouldn't say elevation is a positive, but the use of the rolling terrain in general. Sure there might be 20' of vertical rise on a the course in total. There is one hole where you go down about 20', a couple where you go up about 20', and one long hole where you play along a ridge and shoot your approach down the 20' drop, and finally a shot up to the top fo the 20' ridge.

4) The slopes where some of the baskets are perched are a benefit to the challenge on this course because you have to figure out how those slopes might affect your approaches or drives. Rollaways are a possibility on a few baskets and greens.

5) Good balance of shots needed from some anhyzers, a few hyzers, and also a few nice straight shots. This balance is key to a good design in my opinion and tough to do on a 9 holer, but they accomplished it.

6) Nice distance variety on this course ranging from the upper 100's to as much as 400'. This is a great feature because that means there are likely 2 shot holes which automatically involve multiple disc usage. I hat eto play any course with just one disc. It makes you know your bag well and use all of your discs.

7) A couple of the obstacles become unnatural feeling. On a couple holes the tennis courts become and obstacle and I would much rather a course be designed around natural obstacles and such.

8) Chainstar baskets are my favorite baskets or all time.

9) Challenging for beginners but still completely playable for new players.

10) Big course sign up front with a course map at the parking lot . . . look for the basket right behind the sign and walk a few more feet for the #1 tee sign on the right side along the wetland.
Cons: 1) The biggest drawback on this course is a drawback to me, but not necessarily everyone. It is the fact that you can only pay outside of school hours and tennis practice or a match. It should also be noted they probably want the course closed (and you should really skip #8 and #9 during a football game) as there will be spectators along the ridge on #8 and near #9 basket and the basket on #8 might be surrounded by the replacement players (or the guys who do not start during the football game).

2) There are no actual tees marked but there are tee signs so you should assume you throw somewhere close and behind the actual tee signs.

3) No garbage cans or benches on this course, but it is a school course so that shouldn't necessarily be expected.

4) The course seems oddly long if you ask me, especially for a school course. I guess I like that it is challenging, I just wish half of the challenge of the course was not due to simply distance.

5) #5 has simply almost no way to birdie the hole. It is short and it is a simply hyzer, but there is a tree that appears to have tipped over and laid completely on top of the basket. If you do not hit the specific hole to get a putt you will likely miss the putt. I think this is a maintenance thing not a design thing because it sure looks like it is a tree that had fallen or tipped out of the soil.

6) Grass tees are never my favorite, but there actually was nothing done around the tee signs to actually create tee areas. Half of your tee shots will be on slopes and you risk breaking an ankel or having an errant tee shot.

7) A key design factor might be that the local disc store will be happy to replace discs with all of the baskets so close to the natural unmaintained areas as well as the wetland on #9. I say this in gest but losing discs could be really easy out here.

8) Blind holes abound at least from the tee . . . Hole #3, Hole #5, Hole #6, Hole #7 (only because it is a 2 shot hole), Hole #8 because it is over the ridge from the bottom of the hill.
Other Thoughts: There is a Prairie and a Ridge but they could also add Wetland to the name. It is a good course especially at a school. It is a good introduction to the game but also challenging to keep those people interested.

My favorite holes would have to be #2 which is a long downhiller to a backet tucked along the natural area. #6 is a good hole which has a unique shot (big spike hyzer IMO). #7 is a great hole running on an anny line along a ridge only to cut hard to the left down a big hill to the basket tucked at the bottom of the hille. #8 is basket is back up the big hill to the top of the ridge and #9 is a risk/reward with a big hyzer over a wetland or a big anny which risks a parking lot OB or a turnover into the wetland. All in all great design.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great terrain to make a challenging course. Lots of different hills throughout the course that adds elevation changes to almost every hole. The raised fairway on #8 was especially enjoyable.
- All different types of shots were needed, like some pretty extreme hooks both left and right in parts, as well as longer holes that curve either way.
- Holes were definitely on the long side, can really let it rip on a couple of them. The shorter holes really forced an accurate shot, to avoid multiple hazards like the tennis courts or thick rough.
- The basket placement on many holes is pretty tough. One is right next to some thick rough, another is on a hill hugging the tennis court fence, another is tucked in a forest. The designer(s) want you to work for it.
- Navigation was easy, thanks to the map in front.
- Good baskets, OK signs
Cons: - Since it is at a high school, it is closed during those hours. I also think it is closed if anyone is playing tennis, which would be understandable. The courts are in play on many holes.
- Had to skip #8 and #9 due to some very territorial birds, the Red-winged Black Bird. Those things will attack, and they had numbers.
- Course is more or less always in the open. Very few trees in play anywhere, just fences.
Other Thoughts: - Grass teepads, still green. It looked like nobody had ever played there.
- Water is present, but not really in play unless you really shank one on #8.
- I found this course pretty challenging, and want to give it another go next time I am in the area. Definitely will go back when I know the birds will be gone.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/11/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good use of the land. Most of the land is open or a bog/swamp. So wooded holes are not really reasonable.
- Length and wind are the major players.
- What trees there are come into play on every hole.
- Certain holes have high risk/reward factors.
- Elevation change comes into play.
- Tennis courts make for some additional obstacle challenge.
- Be inventive and make alt tees.
- Finally have tee signs in place.
Cons: - Dirt Tees
- Uneven tees
- The rough is nasty. Not necassiraly a bad idea to use spotters on #'s 6 and 7.
- The swamp/bog is just mean and nasty for taking discs. i think a troll lives here and the Disc Golf Gods haven't taking notice of it yet.
Other Thoughts: You can't play during school hours. It would be cool if one of the current classes would save up and donate another 9 like the other class did.
Favorite Hole - #8 - First 3/4's of the fairway is flat then it quickly raises up ~15-20' and then back down into a swamp. Basket is just past the crest and the swamp is only about 15' away. Its midrange shot that really requires good power control. too much and you go in the swamp, too little and you dont make it up the hill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Prarie Ridge HS

2-4    6/8/2009   1/18/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located at the Prarie Ridge HS Campus. Excellent exposure to the game and the PE classes use it.

There is a course map near tee #1 and tee signs for every hole.

Discraft Chainstar baskets.

Nicely mowed and well kept grass.

This is a pretty challenging course for more skilled players and has several areas with elevation changes. #7 is a really nice hole. Elevated tee throwing a long shot that sits 10 to 15 feet below. The left side has some nasty rough if you hyzer out.
Cons: Take a picture with your phone of the course map. There are some blind holes and a few areas that are difficult ot navigate.

Natural Tee Pads.

There is some very thick rough. For a school course there are a lot of areas where you can lose discs. Errant shots will be punished.

The course is closed during school hours and sporting events. Several holes play near the tennis courts and you have an option to throw over them. Another plays across a practice football field.
Other Thoughts: Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 pretty nice 9-holer

5+    9/6/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: 815RocSolid
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - some good elevation changes
- nice to see anhyzer holes [RHBH]
- nice baskets
- maintained nicely
- can find discs here [ive found 4]
Cons: - a lot of disc eating hazards during the summer b/c all of the prairies grow out. they cut them once usually.
- cant play during school hours/ tennis practice
- somewhat confusing flow
Other Thoughts: i had to walk around for a little looking for a few baskets, ive spent a lot of time looking for my discs here as well. i like it b/c it is right in town and a nice alternative to play other than lippold or randall oaks.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good exposure

1    9/7/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is on a high school campus, and so is a fantastic way to get kids involved and interested in the sport. There are two schools in the area with courses, and I think it's fantastic that they are using their extra space for this.

The course plays mostly on mowed grassy areas around sports fields and some brush and swamp areas. There is some elevation, and many of the holes use the hills to add some challenge and interest. There is lots of good length, where you can air it out but an errant drive could end up deep in brush or a marsh, making accuracy and shot placement important.

There are nice baskets, and a clear course map with general rules at the beginning of the course. There are signs at each tee area that show the hole layout and distance, and the course is pretty easy to follow. The campus was very clean and well taken care of.
Cons: Some of the design aspects of the course are a bit questionable. A couple holes are very awkwardly shaped, and didn't seem to be well thought out. Too many of the holes interfered with sports fields and tennis courts, which were in use even on the weekend. The course would clearly be unplayable during school or any athletic activity.

For a course designed mostly for players without a lot of experience, there was a little too much thick rough, and too much length, and I could see it being frustrating as a first disc golf experience. I also wish that the hills had been used even more, especially around the 7th and 8th holes (we played an extra hole from the 9th tee off the hill down to the 7th basket for fun).

The tee areas were rarely flat, and were not clearly defined. Many of the holes were longer, and the tee areas didn't provide a good place to throw from.
Other Thoughts: This course is ok for beginners, though many would find the length and rough frustrating. More experienced players will find some fun challenges here, but will also find some of the course design a bit puzzling.

If you're in the area, come check out another cool place that schools are exposing students to the sport! Just on the merits of the course alone though, don't go too far out of your way for this one.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rough Rough

1    7/28/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Map at start lays out where you will go. Dog legs, elevation changes and proximity of baskets to rough areas makes for challenges, esp. for a newbie like me with control issues.
Cons: Prob'ly not a good idea to play when school is in session.
Other Thoughts: Although I came away with all my discs I have a feeling this course eats plastic. I spent more time hunting wayward discs here than I have elsewhere.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad all things considered

1    7/11/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained areas
- Clear signage at all holes marking footage and direction of basket
- Good mix of LH and RH shots keeps things interesting
- Minor elevations changes
Cons: - Course runs through a busy corner of school property with tennis courts in play
- Nasty, thick swampy rough is in play on several holes
- Quite a few blind baskets makes it tough for the first time player to know where to throw to.
Other Thoughts: I thought that this was a fun little course, and a good addition to the school grounds. The course is very well maintained, and the course flow is mostly self explanatory with one basket leading to the next tee. The best part about this course, in my opinion, is that it appears that the high school students designed the layout of the course. While it isn't going to be a tour stop anytime soon, for a self designed course, it holds its own with quite a few 9 hole courses I've played. Worth a stop if your in town, but don't come out of your way.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.