Estes Park, CO 
YMCA of the Rockies Share
Uploaded By: peteg Hole #16
3 / 300ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: About 250 ft down the fairway, then hard left and up the hill.



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course for a YMCA

1    9/28/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Relatively easy to navigate - challenging - good variety of shots used - restrooms - well maintained - a good hike up and down the hills

I was really impressed with this course. Mostly because it is at a YMCA and the Y's that we have here are nothing like this one. Overall, it was well worth the drive from Denver. Lots of hilly terrain and beautiful, wide open views of the mountains. A lot of fun shots and the people we ran into on the course were very nice/helpful. I assume the course gets a lot of amateur play because it is on the Y campus. Despite that, the course offered a great challenge with a lot of different shots from short to long, left to right and uphill to downhill.
Cons: Natural tee pads - poor course signage

There were places where it was difficult to tell where to go next. They would benefit from some good tee signs and "Next Hole" signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall gorgeous scenery and a lot of fun to play. I'm glad we made the drive out there. I did loose 1 disc on hole 18, and oddly got a call nearly 10 months later from a 12 y/o kid who was trying to return it. He said he played, so I just let him keep it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

High Altitude Disc Golf

1    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Proper tee signs with distance. Innova Baskets are visible from tee pads thanks to the bright yellow band on top. Maps are available and navigation is mostly easy, just follow the trails. Foliage is under control, and mature pines and aspens make for very challenging lines. There are benches at many tee pads, particularly on the back 9. Elevation is utilized very much here adding another element of challenge; duh, you're playing in the Rockies and starting at 8000+ feet. That being said, the scenery here is absolutely gorgeous. The course starts easy and gets very challenging by the back 9, culminating with the 714 foot downhill bomb on 18. I like the flow. Restrooms are accessible at the main administrative building at the camp and are much nicer than most restrooms you find at a disc golf course. Free to play, discs available for rental for a $10 deposit. A great place to fit a round in before visiting Rocky Mountain National Park.
Cons: A lot of point and shoot holes. The trees keep it from being a cakewalk, but there's only 1 dogleg. Some tee pads need to be leveled better. The layout is not optimal, the basket for 18 is quite far from the beginning of the course. If you're going to get lost, it will be between 13 and 14. Also it's easy to mistake 17's basket for 16's.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to play. I wish there was a little more creativity in the course design, but other than that I don't have a whole lot that I can say about this course that's very bad. I love playing mountain courses like this one so come on up and let the plastic fly through the Rocky Mountain air!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Holy slang in Estes Park

5+    7/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: MarkDuper85
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You're in the Rockies, so.......
Cons: Tee boxes are rugged. Hole one is nearly 3/4 mile from 18.
Other Thoughts: Once you figured out where to start and where you finish, park your vehicle in front of the RAINBOW building lot. This is the closest place to park by 18, so you arrive, walk or jog to 1 getting a little stretched and loose, you will love your parking spot when you complete this hike. So awesome dudes

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 a great Mountain course

5+    3/15/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: CONSTRUCTION IS OVER, newly designed course is taking shape, Tee boxes are getting a major lift, still dirt but bigger, level, and not rutted (taking a bit of time, one man job here.) New map posted soon. Great setting. You'll get lots of exercise.
Cons: lots of trees, but luckily it's in the Rockies so there's no shortage of rocks to get your disc out of the trees. The wind can get pretty bad. Natural tee pads for now, a glimmer of hope for concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: There are NOT any holes that cross roads, or even run too close to them. Updated hole signs, with proper "laser" distances, on the way soon.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Course has changed!!!!!

5+    9/19/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The new lay out of the course is awesome. All of the holes that were under construction have now been moved to new locations. No more along the road shots, will know what I am talking about if you have been there since they have put in a new road and a couple of new buildings, and Holes that were directly affected by construction are now in new obscure places.
Cons: The Construction is done!!! But now there is a new road that plays through the heart of the course. It creates a busier atmosphere.
Other Thoughts: This is the most scenic course I have ever played. While playing make sure to stop and take in your surroundings to fully enjoy this course. For awhile the construction seemed to take out the flow of the course but now that they have re-arranged the holes(Old Hole 3 is now Hole 1 and they added Old Hole 1 and 2 to between Old Hole 5 and 6---they also moved 10's location. Put in a new Hole 11 and put in a new pad for 12 which plays to Old Basket 11. They have moved 13's Basket and Pad location and 18 no longer plays over the canyon but now through it---Left to right... I love this course and now that it has been re-done it is better than ever. A bit too many people camping during summer weekends for a relaxing round but still a good time regardless.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun course with a beautiful view

7/20/2007   7/19/2008
Review By: peteg
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very scenic. Good mix of short technical shots and big elevation blasts.
Cons: The teepads are not in very good shape. Most of them are small and washed out. It's annoying to try to throw a huge rip on hole 18 with such a small and uneven teepad.
Other Thoughts: Like any mountain course, it is a hike, and the weather is unpredictable. The picture taken of hole 9 was taken 15 minutes after the picture taken on hole 5. Be prepared for anything.
Also, the signs basically call any hole over 400 feet a par 4. The course is not that difficult and should be played as a par 54.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.