Estes Park, CO 
YMCA of the Rockies Share
Uploaded By: johnkirch Hole #13 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 467ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 high and mighty

5+    7/7/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course in a great setting, i was happy to have this course at my disposal during a family reunion at the ymca resort. not a beginners course. the holes were pretty well laid out and offered a challenge. i played the course 8 times in 4 days, and it wore me out.
Cons: most of the holes were righty hyzer shots, the wind and altitude were the major factors as far as difficulty go. some of the distances were off by alot on the tee signs. hole #18 ...after finishing this hole i had to walk back up to our lodge, the altitude kicked my ass...
Other Thoughts: hole #15 and #17 were my favorites of the course. i played early in the morning and after lunch everyday i was there, and saw deer and elk every morning. for a ymca course i was very impressed with the course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 By FAR the poorest of the mountain courses on my vacation

1    8/1/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The surounding scenery is amazing. But, you don't play the surrounding scenery, you play in a YMCA commune on a subpar course which I will begin to outline in the CONS. There are nice new Discatchers in most instances (a few are the old style with only one outer band of chains). There are tee markers with distances but I think they are WAY off.
Cons: First off, the flow of this course is AWFUL. As mentioned, holes 1, 2, 11, 12 are gone. I saw baskets 2 and 11 and tee 12, but the rest of the hole is gone. Yes there was some construction, but if they would have put any effort into this course, they could have easily reinstalled the baskets very close to the remaining layout, and easily added a new tee (because the existing tees suck so bad, new ones couldn't possibly be worse). Anyway, when you finally start on #3 (if you can find it amongst the congested traffic and one way roads) you will find that as you wind around the course, after you finish 18 you'll be roughly 1/2 mile from the start (or further if you parked where we did due to no available parking). Second biggest con is that the tees SUCK. They are natural, short, EXTREMELY rutted, and very uneven. Most of the holes are relatively unimaginative and do not utilize the terrain to the fullest. There are a few on the back nine among a neat valley piece of terrain, but the hole is not designed the way a professional disc golfer would appreciate. What I mean is that there are sporadic trees blocking any type of controlled fairway shot. The holes are just random in my opinion with no thought put into throwing some specific tee shot to execute and navigate the fairway. And once again (as I've seen on many of my colorado courses) the baskets are simply plunked in odd locations like right behind a tree, or in a clump of bushes. These are no risky or rewarding greens, just oddly placed. What I liken it too is limited long term planning. No one wanted to build a long term championship or even high quality course here that would stand the test of time. As the trees and shrubs grow, there are holes here that will HAVE to be redesigned. I think that is idiotic. Once again, I believe disc golf here was just an afterthought, just some employees or camp patrons who got approval to put in a course - by amateurs. All of this is placed among the surroundings of lots of cars and pedestrians that make you wait to play your round as they leisurely make their way around the complex.
Other Thoughts: This one was the poorest overall of all the "sweet" mountain courses I had planned to play while in the Denver and Fort Collins areas. While Winter Park was much more rough and pretty horrible as far as BAD tees, unmowed fairways, ridiculous greens, non-creative use of the hill, and no signs, YMCA is a HORRIBLE course. This is not a disc golf course, this is simply tossing a disc on a poorly designed layout, among poorly designed holes, with no effort put into reconfigutring tees or baskets after construction, all within an overcrowded YMCA commune. For those of you vacationing, sure you'll get a chance to fling here at YMCA Estes, but PLEASE do not go out of your way to play here, true disc golf fanatics will be SORELY disappointed - I was!!! It just lacks solid and long lasting design. I bet every year it changes - it almost HAS to! This will NEVER be a destination kind of course for large groups of travelers.
UPDATE: This is better than other courses I have rated 2. Bumping up to 2.5

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 played under construction

2-4    7/17/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: RevDrDisc
Played: 89  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 37.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice mountain course with some tight holes in the trees, some up and down shots, some open, and fairly well played. I was glad to find it and hope to play it again sometime when it is back to 18.
Cons: 17 and 18 are in amongst the Thistles. My disk fell short of the road and the thistles were so thick I gave up looking for it. Unfortunately the sign post are starting to fall down. I guess that is what you get with pine poles. You end up down hill from where you start and it is a bit of a walk to get back to refreshments.
Other Thoughts: Along with the construction has come a lot more car traffic. The course may need to move further into the woods and get renumbered.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will be great when finished.

1    7/8/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great and varied challenges. Good distance variances and terrain challenges between the holes. The greenery makes for a different sort of difficulty between the trees and scrub brush. The layout would be pretty easy to figure out even without a map if all the of the holes were in play.
Cons: Holes 1, 2, 11, & 12 are NOT playable right now due to construction. There are some pars that seem off, but that's pretty normal for a course. No facilities that seem to be public.
Other Thoughts: I think the only thing that made my experience sub-par was the lack of holes. This course will be wonderful once the construction is finished though. I was amazed that it was free considering the campground that it appears to be in.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a great Mountain course

5+    3/15/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: CONSTRUCTION IS OVER, newly designed course is taking shape, Tee boxes are getting a major lift, still dirt but bigger, level, and not rutted (taking a bit of time, one man job here.) New map posted soon. Great setting. You'll get lots of exercise.
Cons: lots of trees, but luckily it's in the Rockies so there's no shortage of rocks to get your disc out of the trees. The wind can get pretty bad. Natural tee pads for now, a glimmer of hope for concrete pads.
Other Thoughts: There are NOT any holes that cross roads, or even run too close to them. Updated hole signs, with proper "laser" distances, on the way soon.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Used to be a great course!

1    10/5/2008   4/17/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A beautiful setting in the rockies makes this course a scenic experience as well as a fun and challenging disc golf round. It is not uncommon to see deer walking around during play. The course layout is great with a few open holes, and the rest being technical, hilly, and moderately wooded holes requiring various skilled shots shots anywhere from 240' to over 520' in length. Some big elevation changes give this course a lot of character. This is a good example of what disc golf can offer in the rockies. Maps are provided if needed for hole layouts and a score sheet. You can even check out discs to use if you don't have any. There is a small place to eat as well as a convenience store for snacks in the main building.
Cons: With all of the construction going on, hole #1, #2, and a few other holes are unplayable. Construction waste is being littered heavily in some areas. The tee pads are natural, and really not that good. It is hard to get a run up for a great drive. I drove from standing position for a majority of the holes. Without the recent construction I would easily give this course a 4 out of 5 for its layout, technicality and visual appearance. You have to watch out for residential cabins on some holes. Be careful on the last few holes. The trees are known to gobble discs and the thick brush at the bottom of the ravine on the last hole is the worst place for a disc to land. Bring hiking shoes and warm clothing just in case of stormy weather.
Other Thoughts: This course would be one of my favorites if it had some work done on the tee pads and the construction was over with.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course has changed!!!!!

5+    9/19/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The new lay out of the course is awesome. All of the holes that were under construction have now been moved to new locations. No more along the road shots, will know what I am talking about if you have been there since they have put in a new road and a couple of new buildings, and Holes that were directly affected by construction are now in new obscure places.
Cons: The Construction is done!!! But now there is a new road that plays through the heart of the course. It creates a busier atmosphere.
Other Thoughts: This is the most scenic course I have ever played. While playing make sure to stop and take in your surroundings to fully enjoy this course. For awhile the construction seemed to take out the flow of the course but now that they have re-arranged the holes(Old Hole 3 is now Hole 1 and they added Old Hole 1 and 2 to between Old Hole 5 and 6---they also moved 10's location. Put in a new Hole 11 and put in a new pad for 12 which plays to Old Basket 11. They have moved 13's Basket and Pad location and 18 no longer plays over the canyon but now through it---Left to right... I love this course and now that it has been re-done it is better than ever. A bit too many people camping during summer weekends for a relaxing round but still a good time regardless.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Unimpressed

1    10/17/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: dcarpent
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is in a great setting, with beautiful mountain views. There is elevation changes on nearly all of the holes, as well as a significant number of difficult tree shots. Holes 14 through 18 are very nice. It plays through a series of mountain cabins, that line many of the holes.
Cons: A large number of holes play over paved streets, number 13 throws directly down a street. Construction has pretty much destroyed hole 1 & 2, we didn't even play them. A huge hill of loose dirt was placed directly in front of the basket on number 12, and playing around it ruined the hole. A construction fence kind of crowds the tee shot on hole 17. The tee boxes are dirt and many are in bad shape, which makes it difficult to get that full power in your drive. Some of the tee boxes are difficult to find, and it's impossible to know where to throw on some of the drives.
Other Thoughts: While the setting is spectacular I was not very impressed with this course. The course seems slightly out of place, playing over roads right next to cabins kind of takes away from the experience. Maybe three stars before the construction, but in the current state barely two.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Estes Park, Oct 2008 - PJaxon Review

2-4    10/1/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: pjaxon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout. The course starts out a little slow, but that's just to get you warmed up. Front nine offers several birdie opportunities, and the back 9 makes you work for it. Great elevation changes, scenic views, and nice baskets complement the full length course.
Cons: The tees suck, but everyone has to deal with it... so at least it's an even playing field (of really un-even tees). Most are fine, but the ones that you want to really launch from keep you from being able to really go at it. Also, right now (Oct. 2008) there is some nearby construction on #1, #2 & #13 thru #16... which gets in the way of things.
Other Thoughts: All in all... this is in my top 5 courses for sure (of about 40-50 I've played).

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun course with a beautiful view

7/20/2007   7/19/2008
Review By: peteg
Played: 73  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very scenic. Good mix of short technical shots and big elevation blasts.
Cons: The teepads are not in very good shape. Most of them are small and washed out. It's annoying to try to throw a huge rip on hole 18 with such a small and uneven teepad.
Other Thoughts: Like any mountain course, it is a hike, and the weather is unpredictable. The picture taken of hole 9 was taken 15 minutes after the picture taken on hole 5. Be prepared for anything.
Also, the signs basically call any hole over 400 feet a par 4. The course is not that difficult and should be played as a par 54.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.