Disc Golf Store
Winchester, KY 
Ironworks Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
It does work

2-4    12/20/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 166  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An interesting variety of holes awaits the Recreational to Intermediate disc golfer at the fairgrounds in Winchester, KY, starting just inside the gate, wending uphill into the woods, and in & out of the open field. There are long bombers up and downhill, a pair of shorter woods holes (also up, then down, the latter being a pure ace run with a ridge behind the basket to stop your overthrows), and room for many temp holes if they ever want to host an event with 18 baskets here.

Ironworks has awesome concrete tees boxes with sturdy timbers, good tee signage and trash buckets, a mailbox for scorecards, very solid small bridges where needed to cross the little creek in the woods, and well-maintained dga baskets.

The signature holes, as far as I was concerned, are the ace run #4, the blind, over ridge, downhill #6, which can be deuced if you get into the woods gap cleanly, and of course, the finishing hole, which tempts the bigger arms, but punishes overthrows with the rollaway downhill basket.

My overall impression of the course is that this is a fun, quick course for folks who've got some distance on their drives, and a good introduction for novice players to sample some variety with minimal frustration.
Cons: On hole 1, don't throw at the open basket on the hill (that's nine), but look to the right, uphill in the woods, for the #1 basket. Then, you'll need to follow the pathways to the next tees, as there aren't any signs (though the map posted here is just about perfect, so take a copy with you the first time).

The tee pads for 5, 6 & 7 all point to the right of the actual pin position, with 6 being the most 'divergent'. The basket actually lies in a line about 1/5 of the way in from the left of the fairgrounds building (or check the picture posted here before you go). And most of the tees for the longer holes feel a bit too short (though they are ground level, so you can run up from behind).
Other Thoughts: I've heard the gate closes at dark, so watch your solar declination! And, meteorologically speaking, playing here once in the rain with gusting winds gave me an appreciation for the challenge of the Kentucky breezes on the five open holes here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun to play if you're nearby

1    10/30/2011   10/22/2012
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun course with a nice variety of wooded and open shots
-great spot to shoot for some aces
-beginner friendly
-nice concrete tees and signs for each hole
-navigation isn't too difficult
-wooded areas aren't so overgrown you'll lose discs
Cons: -parking outside gate is very limited, and there are warnings about parking inside gate since it may be locked
-some holes are fairly short and some people may find the course too easy
-only 9 holes
-no real "hazards" anywhere
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and will make you feel good about your game (I was 2 under par the first time playing). It's very beginner and ace-friendly but if you're looking for real challenge you may get bored. Parking is a serious issue here, and if you park in the only actual "lot" area you end up nowhere near tee 1, so it may make more sense to play out of order. I enjoyed the more technical, wooded holes here, but there are a few open ones where you can just let it rip. This course usually isn't crowded at all and has nice tees and signs. It's only 9 holes and I wouldn't go too far out of my way to play this course, but if you're in the area it's worth a quick game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cute little course

1    6/2/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: Oldmanplayin
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean and well maintained. A fun course to play a quick round. A nice variety of holes to introduce new players to the game. Great for beginners to work on distance and holding lines in the woods. Had fun and will play again!
Cons: Not enough parking. Hole one is at the entrance and was confusing to find, you could start at 8 and end at 7 to keep your car off the road. No extremely challenging lines, little left little right but overall fun especially If you need to tighten up your straight line shots.
Other Thoughts: Thought this course was very easy to play, scored -4 the first time I played and was quessing on some of the open blind shots.
Great for beginners and new players!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/21/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: Trent Fouch
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice little course. Long holes for the big arms and a few wooded for the finesse player. Concrete tee pads, good signs and usually very well kept up. There are some elevation changes and even on the long wide open holes you need to think about where you want to land. #3 and #4 are your must make birdies for a good round here, adn maybe even an ace run.
Cons: The park closing and locking the gates is a little bit of a bother and there is limited parking outside the gate, but as many times as I have played it I have never had a problem.
Other Thoughts: They run a very fun and friendly league here, usually a spring season and a fall season. I suggest everyone come out and play with them sometime.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Rip, Some Grip

1    4/3/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Concrete tees, tee signs, and quality baskets. Easy to navigate - hardly needed a map.
Cons:
Sign says gates may close as early as 1630, not re-opening until 0800, and parking outside the gate is somewhat limited.
Other Thoughts:
For those who like to hurl discs full force, you'll have plenty of chances, with 2/3rds of the holes 350'+, playing up, down, and across a wide-open field. Short holes 2&3 put a premium on wooded accuracy, and three holes have their baskets tucked several feet into the woods at the culmination of long, open drives. Minimal shot shaping required - a subtle right here, a gentle left there, but mostly just straight.

The teepad for #6 is not in-line with the basket - throw over the front-left corner! Somebody etched a useful arrow into the concrete, hinting at this, but I didn't notice until after I had already thrown. :-(

Fun course to air it out, but you'll need to work on your turns/fades elsewhere.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ironworks Hill

2-4    11/17/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course that gets expanded for any tournament play. The permanent holes make good use of the land. The first hole is mostly flat then up a pretty step hill to the pin. Good mix of wooded and open holes. A few ace chances. Most open holes play over hills making for the blind tee shots. 9 is the ling signature hole along the trees and down hill if you over shoot the hole you are doomed, since there is a steep hill close behind the pin. The elevation changes aren't just decent its good and makes you work really hard on your drives or place them very carefully, also causing some very strategic positioning for your approach shots if you play smart and don't just always wing your disc as hard as you can. A good challenge for new and experienced players.
Cons: The open holes are a little confusing to navigate to the next holes. The open holes are just kind of generic. Not very often will you be forced to make any strategical moves when playing.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun tournaments go on here. They add in another nine and do a pretty good job of that with the land they have to use.
I have been playing this a lot more recently. The more I play the more I realize how good it is and its only 9 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good Beginner Course

5+    5/28/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: Mikie4
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. A good mix of short and long holes with little chance of losing a disc. Couple holes in the trees that will allow for practice on throwing a line. Clean course.
Cons: Not all of the tees are complete but there are plans to finish them.
Course is probably a little on the easy side for an experienced golfer.
Only 9 holes but there are plans to expand it to 18.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this course to anyone introducing friends to the game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, but not great either.

5+    9/10/2008   9/10/2008
Review By: adam423
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage. Clear paths between holes. Use of rolling hills adds some challenge to a couple of the wide-open holes. Trash cans at every hole. Club keeps scorecards/events printed off in the mailbox at hole #1. All the tees are concreted now. I used to have the thick undergrowth listed as a con, but the course is cleared out much better now, not much to worry about if you throw one in the woods. A good place to bring beginners without worrying about losing a disc.
Cons: Open holes will more than likely stay that way, as the course is built on the fairgrounds. Not a good place to work on shot variety, most holes are fairly straight forward, exceptions being 2 and 9, which are both long anhys or forehands Gets a little soupy in some places after a rain. Walk to 7 is along 6's fairway, possibility of getting a disc thrown at you.
Other Thoughts: The course makes pretty good use of the few obstacles at its disposal, although I think #6 could have made better use of the water.

A decent course, not too challenging for beginner's, and I think even pro's could find something to like about it, such as practicing distance driving in the wind.

The course will eventually be turned into 18-holer, its waiting approval from higher ups.

Not really worth driving out of the way for, but it is the furthest east in Ky, except for Ashland.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

2-4    8/15/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: jazz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I saw a bit about this course on this site a couple of months ago, and went to see it. It was a few weeks before its official opening (which I didn't know at that time). It was a little rough. Then I heard about the opening, and while I didn't go to that event, finally returned there last week.

I was surprised, and in a good way. Things are well-marked, I had no confusion getting from one hole to the other. The grass was a bit tall, but not enough to cause many problems in finding discs.
Cons: Not really any. The tee pads are a little strange, and one was still being worked on, I guess.
Other Thoughts: In ball golf, not every course is a Pebble Beach or an Augusta National, and that is a good thing. Back when I played ball golf, I usually played the local munis and par 3 courses, and found those quite challenging enough.

Ironworks Hills is a solid course. It may not be very testing to the better players, but so be it. It's a good one for new players to get a good taste for the sport, and it can be enjoyable for those of us who are not all that good at it just yet.

All-in-all, well done.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Fun

1    8/16/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: jeffro
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is brand new is in very good shape. It's very well signed and the baskets are new. Well cut trails between holes along with very well made bridges. A very fun family course.
Cons: It's not the most difficult course. My wife and I had a blast playing it, but it may not challenge the more experienced players. Course is also 9 holes, but I saw one of the guys responsible for making the course and he said that the land on the opposite side of the road will eventually be used to expand the course to 18 holes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center