Sheboygan, WI 
Pigeon River Elementary DGC Share



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/28/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: Course plays around the north and east side of the school. There are large 4x4's with a large sign with the hole number on it. The baskets are Mach 3's that are in good shape. The course is permanent so it can be played year round. This is a great place to just go for aces or try different shots or rollers.
Cons: Pretty much completely wide open with wind being the only challenge. It's on school property so it can't be played during school hours. Most holes feel exactly the same.
Other Thoughts: The idea for a course at an elementary school is awesome to get kids into the sport. However that's all this course is good for. No redeeming qualities for experienced players. If in the area play Vollrath or Jaycee park.

Great for kids, putters

2-4    8/30/2013   5/30/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 solid baskets wrapping around the Pigeon River elementary school. All short distances, and great for younger kids to get acclimated to the game.

Somewhat scenic, with a large drop off/river area on the north side of the grounds. All the obvious playground equipment is here also.

Navigation is a breeze, with decent signs at each hole.
Cons: Natural tee pads, which is to be expected for this type of course.

Being on a school grounds, this course can only be played late at night or on weekends during the school year.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid spot to take your kids, give them a mid and a putter, and have fun. You'll also get 9 ace runs, which isn't always the worst thing in the world. Lots of opportunity for safari holes here, as there's rarely anybody around outside of school hours.

If you're driving by, grab your putter, and give it a run!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 D = Dud no ability to Draw Dave back

1    6/26/2010   3/1/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.5 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: As is usual for elementary school courses, they are designed for elementary aged kids (duh!). It is wonderful that they have this for gym class to introduce the game to kids (I have 3 elementary age kids myself), but I try to review/rate in a way that will be helpful to others who are like me. I try to measure and explain what about a course will draw me back to itself over and over and over. This course has zero/zilch/nada in that ability.

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses (over 110 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D
(Wide open and short. Not much more to add to that.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == D
(With holes ranging from 120 to 230 that are completely flat and devoid of obstacles, there is no challenge and therefore no reward. I suppose you could just run at aces all day long and have some fun.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D
(The only variety would be that the holes go in a lot of different directions, so on a windy day you would be faced with a wide variety of angles at which you would need to negotiate the wind.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(When you are behind the school you are not in view of any houses really except for the school. Even in the front, there are only 3-4 houses you can see so it is nice and quiet. It is not run down, but it is not spruced up or manicured in any way either.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short n easy

1    7/2/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little elementary school course with lengths appropriate for younger kids learning the game and a couple holes with some interesting challenges for beginners. As a school course, this is a pretty good one, and I love seeing places like this exposing kids and the community to the sport. The baskets are in great shape and catch well. There are large wooden posts marking the tee areas, and the course has good enough flow that the lack of more signage isn't a big deal. The last hole is a nice shot into a small grove of trees.
Cons: This is a nice school course, but I try to rate all courses on the same scale. This is an open, short, easy course without any real challenge for more experienced players. I shot an 18 with only a wizard, and I'm a pretty mediocre player, so there really isn't anything to make you work for 2s, the only challenge is trying to hit aces. A couple holes play close to playground areas, especially with newer players who don't have good control of the disc this could be a little bit of a safety issue.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little school course and great for the purpose it was designed for. More experienced players won't find any challenges, with only one interesting hole and nothing that is long enough to justify more than a putter shot. Don't go out of your way to play this one, but if you want to introduce a kid to the sport this is a fine place to start.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course.

1    5/10/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice maintenance, it looked like they had even gone out and mowed lower around the baskets and tees while the middle of the fairways and rough were fairly long. Not a big deal, but it would allow a little more advancement of the disc if you landed it close to the basket.

2) Nice posts indicating the next tee. None are numbered but the route is easy to see, just head to the closest post.

3) Nice baskets.

4) #9 is th ebest hole as the basket is tucked underneath a handful of evergreens. That is nice to force a certain shot into the basket area.

5) #8 is the only hole with any length, plus it is right back into the teeth of the wind.
Cons: 1) Not enough challenege on really any holes.

2) All holes are wide open and no elevation change really.

3) No signage, it isnt a big deal because the holes are short and you can see the next hole easily.
Other Thoughts: I am rating this course as if you are not a beginner so please don't downgrade my review if you are a beginner and enjoy this course. For the most part if you are on DGCR you are not a beginner and will not find much enjoyment from this course because it is so short and easy.

It is a perfect course for people to learn the game. Open holes of varying distances. No water, almost no woods to penalize errant throws.Because it isn't used very much everything is in great condition.

Don't go out of your wa for this course but if you are in Sheboygan and want a warmup for Vollrath or Jaycee Park Quarry hit it up. I played it in between the two other courses. I thought about only allowing myself to use a putter to give that a shot, but I decided against it.Don't expect a challenge. I am actually embarrassed I only shot -4. I didn't even birdie the 121' hole and I tanked a 10' putt on #3.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

6/28/2008   6/28/2008
Review By: joshdarkstar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very easy course. Great for practicing mid-range drives and putting. The whole field is wide open so it's easily navigated.
Cons: Some holes are way too short for anyone other than a beginner. If you are looking for a challenge, this course will be very boring.
Other Thoughts: I believe this course was set up for the kids at the elementary school. The farthest hole is probably around 200 ft. Anyone even decent with a Roc could shoot -9 or better on this course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.