Marshall, MN 
SW Minnesota State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Can be better, but not horrible

5+    6/11/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: 2and31guy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well mowed course
Challenging for a beginner, but not so much to lose interest
Cons: No signage whatsoever
Tee's are dirt, so new players to course will take a while to find them
Layout could be refigured flow better
Other Thoughts: This would be considered my home course and I wish the School would take more pride in it. After playing it, you get the hang of the course and it is an enjoyable little course. No major hazards in SW minnesota, but the wind always is a hazard, so it makes up for the lack of actual hazards.

Come play it if your in the area!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

2-4    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Full 18 holes
-Decent hazards with water, trees, roads
-Some holes had an orange flag on top which said what hole it was at least.
-Decent length on some of the holes
Cons: -Poorly marked (I stopped when the Student Center wasn't open and I didn't know enough to stop there anyway)
-Portable baskets, they are chained down but can be tipped over
-The course doesn't loop back around, you finish far from where you start.
-Dirt tees.
-There is better area for a disc golf course right next to this one but they don't use it.
-May have to watch out for students during the school year.
Other Thoughts: Signage is a huge thing for me in ratings. The less I have to search for the next basket or tee box the better. With just the addition of signs this course would go up to 2.5 or 3 with potential to go even higher. Go get the map for sure. I didn't look on here before I played this course. It is right on a route that I travel often so I just stopped by on a whim.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/24/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a beautiful course with nice baskets...The course provides a nice re-fresher to the, other-wise, dull area.....Nice Baskets and a typical, heart of the Southern MN, feeling to this one!
Cons: Without a map, this course is horribly marked....Dirt Tee Pads with minimal signage (at the best).....Although this course poses a good alternative to the surrounding area, it lacks in creativity and posture.....Moveable Baskets w/bad signage creates for a questionable product!
Other Thoughts: Wow! This course is the tru meaning of and Up & Down Course!......Meaning that it has great potential with legitimate hazards including Water, Thick Brush, OB and a Roadway...but are all under-utilized!!.......This one is a "Pontential-Freak" but is under-respected and also under-utilized....The course needs a few tweeks and it'd be Thee Top Course in the area!!!!!..... But until then, it plays as just a nice change to your every-day course.....Over-all, this was a fun one and I recommend the stop if you are traveling along MN HWY 23 or anywhere close.....It's not a destination spot but certainly worth a stop if you are close.....Just make sure you have a Map! (they are provided at one of the college buildings during school hours)........Good Atmosphere with some serious future potential (Give this one 10 years and it will be twice as good!)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Room for Improvement

2-4    11/18/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: Rakshim
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Course has been updated and made more challenging since its initial setup.
+ Some water involvement, especially in the Spring when the water overflow ditch in the middle of Holes 3-5 is full.
+ Trees do make for some interesting shots.
+ Area is out of the way on campus so you probably won't have to wait long at each tee to play
Cons:
- Tees are not very visible, they are usually only marked by small yellow stakes in the ground.
- Not a terriblely large amount of variety. Only Holes 4, 5, and 14 have elevation changes.
- Ending point of Hole 18 is a considerable distance from the start of the course.
- Can't park around the start of the course on class days - they will ticket you!
Other Thoughts:
Since the tees can sometimes be difficult to find, I would strongly recommend getting a map from the Information Desk at the Student Center. Course does have a lot of potential if they could make the tees a bit more visible/permanent and perhaps expand more of the course into the nature area by Holes 14-18. Students can also check out equipment to play, so could be a decent way to get more young people interested in disc golf.

As for parking, I found a 2-hour parking area on Birch St. by Sweetland Hall. From there, I'd recommend stopping at the Student Center for the map and using the school's tunnel system to get to the SS building.

Overall, it's a decent course with some room for improvement. I would be willing to give it a 2.5 or 3 if they added more permanent and easy-to-find tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: teddyman23
Played: 48  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good variety of shots as well as well as water being brought in to the equation
Cons: Markers are not very good at this time and need to be more permanent
Other Thoughts: This course is now layed out way diffrent and is a very nice course and rumour has it Teepads are being cemented in sometime in August 2011

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It's a start

2-4    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Zahl
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At least there is somebody making an effort to bring disc golf to the area. Baskets are decent... My dogs enjoyed chasing rabbits and running wild without me having to worry about them bothering anyone since i was the only one there.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate due to the lack of signs. On several occasions I threw to the wrong basket and I had no idea where i was supposed to be going next and this was the second time i've attempted to throw here. No change in elevation.
Other Thoughts: If you're going to have a course at least have some signs. Tough to play when you have zero idea on how to navigate around the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Doesn't have much variety

2-4    7/10/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: tom04
Played: 59  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2009
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: There are baskets there so you can practice putting and learning your short game can help, there is access to the University
Cons: absolutely no variety, very easy course, every shot is a simple hyzer, and 18 downs are doable.
Other Thoughts: If you go here the course is a plus, but other than that don't drive out of your way to play it

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.