Layout Extinct

Georgetown, IN 
Garry E. Cavan Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: danhal87 Hole #2
3 / 140ft.   3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Tees hard to find!

2-4    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: xTOMMYxIRISHx
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of open shots with some real short shots that are in the middle of some fun trees. I'd say it's a fun park that most people will par.
Cons: Tees are very hard to find if you don't know the park and a lot of walking between a few holes. The tees pads are very very short and rubber.
Other Thoughts: If they get some signs for the tees then it will play a lot better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth playing...

5+    2/25/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some interesting elevation shots. Three straight grip & rip holes that are all par 4's; yet with elevation/tree challenges to maintain one's interest. Several technical holes through dense woods. Available restroom, water fountain, and multiple trash cans.
Cons: While I really enjoy playing this course, be forewarned that if you get in the ample rough you may have flashbacks to Vietnam! Unless you have an exceptional ability keep your drives in the midst of fairways; then you might want to wear some pants or sweats on this course!
Other Thoughts: While not quite a 4 star course, it is still a fun round to play, especially with how the winds vary throughout the park (Especially on hole #3; and then #'s 14-17).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ok course with some potential

1    4/25/2009   3/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large sprawling park with some minor elevation changes. The course plays counter-clockwise around the edge of the park, playing through grassy fields, and along and through dense woods with punishing rough. Many holes have severe punishment for errant drives, which adds some real risk/reward decisions on these holes.

There is a good mix of shots that are aceable, and holes that let you air it out a little while still calling for some level of accuracy to stay out of the schule. Many holes force specific lines through or along tree lines, and there is a good mix of left and right turning holes. The little bit of elevation in the park is used well to add a little challenge on a couple holes, especially the last couple holes where elevation and woods are in play.

There is a course map, and hole signs that make navigation a little easier. Most holes have two rubber pads for a couple different options on each hole. The baskets are fairly new and in good shape. The grass fairways are well maintained, and the park is clean and pretty with some scenic holes.
Cons: The course plays in one direction along the outside of the park, so a few too many holes have trouble on the right and open fields on the left. It was fun to have some air it out holes, but the holes in the woods were a lot more fun and interesting so I would have liked to play more of that kind of terrain.

The tee pads were terrible. They were tiny rubber pads, usually laid on bumpy and slanted pieces of ground leaving pretty awful teeing areas. They have also clearly been moved around, which leaves the tee signs a ways from the pads and inaccurate. The multiple tees rarely add anything other than a little bit of distance, it would have been nice to have different looks from the alternate tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun round, and has a few fun holes that make the course worth playing. It gets a little repetitive though, which takes away from the fun in the middle of the round. If you only have time for one course in the area, this isn't the best choice, but it's not one to avoid if you have some extra time.

Beginners will be frustrated by the tough thick schule that eats discs and has some thorns to eat skin too. More experienced players will find some cool challenges here, especially in the woods, just not enough variety to make this a top course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place to check out for all levels

1    10/4/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: g1nked
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice course design, long and short mix of baskets with open fields on a couple and tech shots throughout to maintain replay value two tees on most .
Cons: Some treterous rough poison sumac and ivy litter the roughs sprinkled with a ton of briars. stay on fairways and your golden if you go off your looking for a few battle scars.
Other Thoughts: first place I lost a disc and first place I found a disc I play it at least once a month if not more.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Garry E. Cavan offers a nice layout in a clean, well-maintained park. There are tee signs on all holes, rubber tee pads, and Mach baskets that are in excellent shape. Course maps are available near the first hole, and markers are in place to help guide through some of the areas where the tee pads aren't visible from the previous basket.

The course has a nice design that plays around the outside edges of the park away from other facilities. Navigation was pretty simple with the markers in place where needed. Maintenance on the course was good, but the rough was really rough. Moderate elevations were present and utilized effectively, and there was good variety between straight, right to left, and left to right fairways. The first 7 holes were pretty much wide open, 8-12 are more technical type holes with some dense foilage, and the final 6 holes have more manageable fairways that are a little more forgiving, but still a lot of thick rough if you spray a drive. There is a lot of thick woods and foilage beginning on hole 5 that continues throughout the rest of the course. If you get off the fairways and into this stuff, you can definitely spend a good amount of time trying to find your disc, so be very attentive to where your disc enters the rough.
Cons: First thing to mention is the tee pads. Rubber tee pads don't bother me, but these pads were small, some were very unlevel, and some weren't real smooth. Concrete pads, or better rubbers pads would be a nice improvement.

Tee signs were present, and accurate, but there were no distances marked on any of the signs. There is a location for the posted distance, but none of them were posted. Most all holes had two tee pads, and one sign, so as a newbie to the course, I spent some time having to look at the sign for the hole layout, then go back to the long tee to throw. A couple of the tee signs were positioned several feet (15+ft) from the tee pad, seemed a little odd.
Other Thoughts: All in all a decent little course. In my opinion, the big stretch of open holes at the beginning is a slow start for the course, but once you get through that, the course is fantastic, fun, and challenging. From reading the other reviews, and seeing the initial ratings, it looks like a lot of efforts have been made to improve the course, so I want to recognize that effort. Keep up the good work! If you are in the area, this course and nearby Buffalo Trace are both worth playing.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  September 12th, 2009 review

1    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: ParkerBarnstable
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The holes that are a safe distance away from an unusually dense forest are all playable from the longest tee. The pins are all new and for the most part easy to find. The park itself is clean and on a beautiful Saturday afternoon the disc course was empty of players except for me.
Cons: The underbrush in the woods is horrible. It took me nearly 2 hours to play the course for the first time because I lost my disc in the woods twice. The ninth hole left little room for error and the 12th left absolutely none with a narrow dirt path through a thicket of unpleasant underbrush going to the pin. The tee shot at 18 was similar. 15 had a pile of tree limb debris that might as well be a black hole to another dimension so don't go in.
Other Thoughts: Take a bushog and clear out the underbrush and this would be a 4 rated course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 lots of potential!

1    8/31/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great space and possibilities! Great mix of open and wooded. the wooded holes are some of the better designed and enjoyable on the course.
Cons: a bit more finesse (short) holes than I'd like. the brush is some of the thickest I've seen. discs can be swallowed by dense vines. some tee pads are very unlevel. however, I assume the rubber tees are temporary.
Other Thoughts: With a little lengthening, brush-clearing, and concrete pads, this place will get 4 stars from me. As this fairly new course gains more popularity (which it surely is!), a lot of the crazy disc-snatching brush will slowly diminish too. overall, I'm impressed with the park and the potential for a great course. Try to add on the Fun Farm to your outing as you just need to stay on Corydon Ridge Rd 10 or so more miles West until you see the sign for the Fun Farm on the left.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, Fun Little Course

1    7/30/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: benbobbins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several of the holes were nice and open, and several of them were back in the woods. There was a good amount of variation between hyzers and anhyzers, but usually not so bad that they were out of the question. Several of the holes were duece opportunities, and more than half of them had good, challenging pin locations that were tucked in the woods or guarded by obstacles. It was inviting for a beginner player (like myself) but not too over-the-top difficult for me to not enjoy myself. The course borders a park, and the walk is nice and long. It is well-maintained, easy to find, and finding the next hole is usually very simple.
Cons: The first seven to eight holes were almost completely open shots, which concerned me until I got to the ones in the woods. They did make these more challenging by setting the pins in a grove of trees or mixing up the hyzer/anhyzer shots. Also, as refered to in other reviews, the tee pads were rubber and short, and many of them were not on level ground. Some tree limbs and branch debris from the ice storms was still present and in the middle of some fairways. I didn't like the idea of this debris becoming an "obstacle" whereas prior to the storms there would be nothing in the way at all. None of the tee signs had the distance on them.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course. It wasn't intimidating and I had no trouble finding discs when I threw them off course, which is a BIG plus for me. (It happens a lot.) This course could get an instant 4 or 4.5 from me with concrete tees. It was a lot of fun to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course close to the interstate

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With the recent changes (3-15-09), I hear the course is much improved. My host, who plays this course all the time, showed me some of the old layout, and I must say it is a big difference. He also told me that by this summer they may have concrete tees and six more baskets.

Memorable holes:
3 - Over a rise, basket tucked into the trees, be careful not to throw too high, or your fad will send you into some thick brush.
6 - Annie shot that hugs the trees on the right, tough drive, but can be rewarded with a deuce if you place it right.
7 - Throw from the open into the trees, dogleg right and basket is tucked back in the woods. I had a good drive and BARELY missed hitting a 2 from about 75 feet out.
10 - Hole 10 just re-done, tight tunnel, over a creek, very challenging.
17 - Nice annie up over a hill, very difficult to get the right angle on it and not go too far left or right, which will really hurt your score.

The course plays around the outer ring of the park, as to no impede too much on the other facilities, which are adequate.

Baskets are nice, and parking is very handy right next to Hole 1 tee and Hole 18 basket.
Cons: Rubber tees are bit short and can be slippery, but as I understand concrete pads should be installed pretty soon.

Some of the holes are a little short, but again I understand a redesign is still in progress.

I will re-play and revise my review appropriately.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, and due to it's proximity, I feel certain that I will be playing it as often as I can, and hopefully the changes coming will make it an even more enjoyable course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/30/2009   1/6/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of long, short, uphill, downhill, hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots. Elevation comes into play on most holes. There's roughly an even mix of open and wooded holes.

Maps are usually available in the mailbox next to the hole 1 tee pad. Directional signs are now in place to point you to the next tee pad where it isn't obvious.
Cons: If you stray off the fairway on some holes, there is very thick rough (mostly honeysuckle) that will eat your disc up. Don't look away from a bad shot, it might be the last time you see that disc!

This course currently has rubber tee pads and some have lumps or hills in them but I understand there's a possibility of concrete tee pads in the future.

There is a bit of a walk between a few of the holes, but the signs I mentioned earlier make it much easier to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This course has improved drastically since it was first installed, including many changes in December 2008 and March 2009.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.