Layout Extinct

Georgetown, IN 
Garry E. Cavan Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: danhal87 Hole #10
3 / 175ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Ok course with some potential

1    4/25/2009   3/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 764  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large sprawling park with some minor elevation changes. The course plays counter-clockwise around the edge of the park, playing through grassy fields, and along and through dense woods with punishing rough. Many holes have severe punishment for errant drives, which adds some real risk/reward decisions on these holes.

There is a good mix of shots that are aceable, and holes that let you air it out a little while still calling for some level of accuracy to stay out of the schule. Many holes force specific lines through or along tree lines, and there is a good mix of left and right turning holes. The little bit of elevation in the park is used well to add a little challenge on a couple holes, especially the last couple holes where elevation and woods are in play.

There is a course map, and hole signs that make navigation a little easier. Most holes have two rubber pads for a couple different options on each hole. The baskets are fairly new and in good shape. The grass fairways are well maintained, and the park is clean and pretty with some scenic holes.
Cons: The course plays in one direction along the outside of the park, so a few too many holes have trouble on the right and open fields on the left. It was fun to have some air it out holes, but the holes in the woods were a lot more fun and interesting so I would have liked to play more of that kind of terrain.

The tee pads were terrible. They were tiny rubber pads, usually laid on bumpy and slanted pieces of ground leaving pretty awful teeing areas. They have also clearly been moved around, which leaves the tee signs a ways from the pads and inaccurate. The multiple tees rarely add anything other than a little bit of distance, it would have been nice to have different looks from the alternate tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun round, and has a few fun holes that make the course worth playing. It gets a little repetitive though, which takes away from the fun in the middle of the round. If you only have time for one course in the area, this isn't the best choice, but it's not one to avoid if you have some extra time.

Beginners will be frustrated by the tough thick schule that eats discs and has some thorns to eat skin too. More experienced players will find some cool challenges here, especially in the woods, just not enough variety to make this a top course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  September 12th, 2009 review

1    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: ParkerBarnstable
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The holes that are a safe distance away from an unusually dense forest are all playable from the longest tee. The pins are all new and for the most part easy to find. The park itself is clean and on a beautiful Saturday afternoon the disc course was empty of players except for me.
Cons: The underbrush in the woods is horrible. It took me nearly 2 hours to play the course for the first time because I lost my disc in the woods twice. The ninth hole left little room for error and the 12th left absolutely none with a narrow dirt path through a thicket of unpleasant underbrush going to the pin. The tee shot at 18 was similar. 15 had a pile of tree limb debris that might as well be a black hole to another dimension so don't go in.
Other Thoughts: Take a bushog and clear out the underbrush and this would be a 4 rated course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sigh...

5+    10/17/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play here quite a bit because it's close to home. Most of the holes are quite fun. I enjoy the course, but see alot of flaws (and I'm a rookie).
Scorecards are always available at the 1st hole. Very cool.
There is very little traffic and we usually have the place to ourselves.
NEW: directional signs have been installed!! and the brush has been cleared on a few holes, made a big difference on #7. thanks. Good job on the recent changes.
Cons: The rubber tee pads suck. They are too short, slick when wet, uneven, and, well, they just suck. Replace them with longer concrete tees to start. I assume these rubber pads are temporary. The course is under construction and it could be that permanent tee placement hasn't been decided.
Grab a scorecard because you're gonna need the map. The first few times we played here we were lost, even with the map. Directional signs would be nice since there is way too much distance from basket to next tee on many holes.
Even after playing there a dozen or more times, I find myself looking around and thinking, "Ok, which direction do I start walking to find the next tee?"
The rough is brutal, but I've learned to deal with that (note: I have also been attacked by the pack of ferrel kittens that upfromtheashes encountered, see his review below).
Other Thoughts: Redesign. Period.
It's a great park, scenic, green, nice terrain, but this course wastes too much space. It has the potential to be one of the best courses in the area. It just needed a little more thought. It IS brand new (just opened this summer). I hope the "under-construction" rumors are true and next spring brings new life. NEW: (Nov. 16) Tee pads have been moved around again, at least one new one added, some holes have been extended. Change is good.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New coarse. YES!!!

2-4    9/13/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a new course in the Metro area... Good course for beginer and intermediat players. Pretty and well maintained. If you go early wait until the rooster calls on 5, trust me your shot will be better.
Cons: Needs some design help, too much distance between holes. Rubber mats..The rough is seriously rough, this course has taken more blood then any other I have played. Think lots of thorn bushes in every brush spot. Do not go in the bathrooms, trust me on this one. Some huge new home construction going on in the area has the path to hole 17 all torn up. You can walk around closer to the road, but if you take a straight line to 17 you are walking through a construction site. I hope that clears things up for you. Thanks, have a great day.
Other Thoughts: With a little adjustment one could squeeze 27 into this space easy. It is a great course for any level player.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.