Layout Extinct

Georgetown, IN 
Garry E. Cavan Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: danhal87 Hole #8
3 / 140ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tees hard to find!

2-4    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: xTOMMYxIRISHx
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of open shots with some real short shots that are in the middle of some fun trees. I'd say it's a fun park that most people will par.
Cons: Tees are very hard to find if you don't know the park and a lot of walking between a few holes. The tees pads are very very short and rubber.
Other Thoughts: If they get some signs for the tees then it will play a lot better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Garry E. Cavan offers a nice layout in a clean, well-maintained park. There are tee signs on all holes, rubber tee pads, and Mach baskets that are in excellent shape. Course maps are available near the first hole, and markers are in place to help guide through some of the areas where the tee pads aren't visible from the previous basket.

The course has a nice design that plays around the outside edges of the park away from other facilities. Navigation was pretty simple with the markers in place where needed. Maintenance on the course was good, but the rough was really rough. Moderate elevations were present and utilized effectively, and there was good variety between straight, right to left, and left to right fairways. The first 7 holes were pretty much wide open, 8-12 are more technical type holes with some dense foilage, and the final 6 holes have more manageable fairways that are a little more forgiving, but still a lot of thick rough if you spray a drive. There is a lot of thick woods and foilage beginning on hole 5 that continues throughout the rest of the course. If you get off the fairways and into this stuff, you can definitely spend a good amount of time trying to find your disc, so be very attentive to where your disc enters the rough.
Cons: First thing to mention is the tee pads. Rubber tee pads don't bother me, but these pads were small, some were very unlevel, and some weren't real smooth. Concrete pads, or better rubbers pads would be a nice improvement.

Tee signs were present, and accurate, but there were no distances marked on any of the signs. There is a location for the posted distance, but none of them were posted. Most all holes had two tee pads, and one sign, so as a newbie to the course, I spent some time having to look at the sign for the hole layout, then go back to the long tee to throw. A couple of the tee signs were positioned several feet (15+ft) from the tee pad, seemed a little odd.
Other Thoughts: All in all a decent little course. In my opinion, the big stretch of open holes at the beginning is a slow start for the course, but once you get through that, the course is fantastic, fun, and challenging. From reading the other reviews, and seeing the initial ratings, it looks like a lot of efforts have been made to improve the course, so I want to recognize that effort. Keep up the good work! If you are in the area, this course and nearby Buffalo Trace are both worth playing.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 lots of potential!

1    8/31/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great space and possibilities! Great mix of open and wooded. the wooded holes are some of the better designed and enjoyable on the course.
Cons: a bit more finesse (short) holes than I'd like. the brush is some of the thickest I've seen. discs can be swallowed by dense vines. some tee pads are very unlevel. however, I assume the rubber tees are temporary.
Other Thoughts: With a little lengthening, brush-clearing, and concrete pads, this place will get 4 stars from me. As this fairly new course gains more popularity (which it surely is!), a lot of the crazy disc-snatching brush will slowly diminish too. overall, I'm impressed with the park and the potential for a great course. Try to add on the Fun Farm to your outing as you just need to stay on Corydon Ridge Rd 10 or so more miles West until you see the sign for the Fun Farm on the left.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/30/2009   1/6/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 215  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of long, short, uphill, downhill, hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots. Elevation comes into play on most holes. There's roughly an even mix of open and wooded holes.

Maps are usually available in the mailbox next to the hole 1 tee pad. Directional signs are now in place to point you to the next tee pad where it isn't obvious.
Cons: If you stray off the fairway on some holes, there is very thick rough (mostly honeysuckle) that will eat your disc up. Don't look away from a bad shot, it might be the last time you see that disc!

This course currently has rubber tee pads and some have lumps or hills in them but I understand there's a possibility of concrete tee pads in the future.

There is a bit of a walk between a few of the holes, but the signs I mentioned earlier make it much easier to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This course has improved drastically since it was first installed, including many changes in December 2008 and March 2009.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center