Layout Extinct

Georgetown, IN 
Garry E. Cavan Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: danhal87 Hole #8
3 / 140ft.   3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Well worth playing...

5+    2/25/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some interesting elevation shots. Three straight grip & rip holes that are all par 4's; yet with elevation/tree challenges to maintain one's interest. Several technical holes through dense woods. Available restroom, water fountain, and multiple trash cans.
Cons: While I really enjoy playing this course, be forewarned that if you get in the ample rough you may have flashbacks to Vietnam! Unless you have an exceptional ability keep your drives in the midst of fairways; then you might want to wear some pants or sweats on this course!
Other Thoughts: While not quite a 4 star course, it is still a fun round to play, especially with how the winds vary throughout the park (Especially on hole #3; and then #'s 14-17).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place to check out for all levels

1    10/4/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: g1nked
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice course design, long and short mix of baskets with open fields on a couple and tech shots throughout to maintain replay value two tees on most .
Cons: Some treterous rough poison sumac and ivy litter the roughs sprinkled with a ton of briars. stay on fairways and your golden if you go off your looking for a few battle scars.
Other Thoughts: first place I lost a disc and first place I found a disc I play it at least once a month if not more.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, Fun Little Course

1    7/30/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: benbobbins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several of the holes were nice and open, and several of them were back in the woods. There was a good amount of variation between hyzers and anhyzers, but usually not so bad that they were out of the question. Several of the holes were duece opportunities, and more than half of them had good, challenging pin locations that were tucked in the woods or guarded by obstacles. It was inviting for a beginner player (like myself) but not too over-the-top difficult for me to not enjoy myself. The course borders a park, and the walk is nice and long. It is well-maintained, easy to find, and finding the next hole is usually very simple.
Cons: The first seven to eight holes were almost completely open shots, which concerned me until I got to the ones in the woods. They did make these more challenging by setting the pins in a grove of trees or mixing up the hyzer/anhyzer shots. Also, as refered to in other reviews, the tee pads were rubber and short, and many of them were not on level ground. Some tree limbs and branch debris from the ice storms was still present and in the middle of some fairways. I didn't like the idea of this debris becoming an "obstacle" whereas prior to the storms there would be nothing in the way at all. None of the tee signs had the distance on them.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course. It wasn't intimidating and I had no trouble finding discs when I threw them off course, which is a BIG plus for me. (It happens a lot.) This course could get an instant 4 or 4.5 from me with concrete tees. It was a lot of fun to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course close to the interstate

1    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With the recent changes (3-15-09), I hear the course is much improved. My host, who plays this course all the time, showed me some of the old layout, and I must say it is a big difference. He also told me that by this summer they may have concrete tees and six more baskets.

Memorable holes:
3 - Over a rise, basket tucked into the trees, be careful not to throw too high, or your fad will send you into some thick brush.
6 - Annie shot that hugs the trees on the right, tough drive, but can be rewarded with a deuce if you place it right.
7 - Throw from the open into the trees, dogleg right and basket is tucked back in the woods. I had a good drive and BARELY missed hitting a 2 from about 75 feet out.
10 - Hole 10 just re-done, tight tunnel, over a creek, very challenging.
17 - Nice annie up over a hill, very difficult to get the right angle on it and not go too far left or right, which will really hurt your score.

The course plays around the outer ring of the park, as to no impede too much on the other facilities, which are adequate.

Baskets are nice, and parking is very handy right next to Hole 1 tee and Hole 18 basket.
Cons: Rubber tees are bit short and can be slippery, but as I understand concrete pads should be installed pretty soon.

Some of the holes are a little short, but again I understand a redesign is still in progress.

I will re-play and revise my review appropriately.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, and due to it's proximity, I feel certain that I will be playing it as often as I can, and hopefully the changes coming will make it an even more enjoyable course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Changes to course...

1    10/27/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: naad
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting with little traffic. Signs have been put up to point you in the direction of the next tee. Holes #2, 3, 7, 9, 13, and 14 have been recently trimmed and opened up making them much more playable. Holes #2, 7, and 14 have had the long tees moved back adding some length to the course. Definately a work in progress. Plans are to move some alternate basket locations this fall and winter to add some more variety. Maps/scorecards always available at tee #1.
Cons: Holes #10, 11, and 12 need some work and will be addressed this fall and winter.
Other Thoughts: This course was not designed for the "area pros". This course was designed with everyone in mind and FREE. Not sure what MulliganStew was talking about with the path to one of the latter holes torn up. Pictures uploaded here are not up to date.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

5+    8/17/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: discpilot.com
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is spread across 55 acres and is located in a very well maintained park. The course has a variety of shots, consisting of both hyzer and anhyzer shots that vary in distance (depending on which tees are played). While several holes are wide open, a stretch of open/strait holes will provide players with a good opportunity to work on developing more distance.
Cons: The course is not complete! The parks department is still working to develop several holes to make the course more playable/enjoyable. Trees and debris are still being cleared from many areas of the course, especially the wooded holes. Additionally, several baskets are being relocated to make the course more challenging which will provide some added distance to a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is very new and with work and time it can become a very nice/competitive disc golf course. There is a lot of potential in this 55-acre park!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.