Course Extinct
Colorado Springs, CO 
Hewlett Packard DGC Share
Uploaded By: J.Kasm Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 HP Private

5+    1/3/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: Fishy
Played: 50  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good elevation changes, lots of blind shots, nice hike, as it is private most days there are very few people playing. Quiet and peaceful, there are some very good ace possibilities, some challenging hillside shots. The scenery is fantastic, I have seen lots of deer.
Cons: Dirt tees, poorly marked holes, this is really only for theblind shots (there used to be signs), when the slopes get wet it can be very treacherous (the mud being akin to axle grease), this also goes for the boulders at the bottom drainage, only one set of basket placements.
Other Thoughts: Out of the 5 Colorado Springs courses, this happens to be my favorite, mostly because it is private and there seem to be fewer teens out here. Play it on a weekend and you don't have to worry about security throwing you out, unless you are making a total nuisance out of yourself. Be conscientious about your trash, there are a few bags hanging out on the course, but if you pack it in, pack it out, would be very easy for this to become a "Closed" course. LeewayeDiscGolf's review of the holes is excellent. If you find yourself out here during the week and want to keep a low profile an alternate way of playing is starting at #2 playing to #6 instead of hitting #7, cross the drainage to #18 short walk to tee #10 play normally until you finish #17 and recross the drainage to finish up with 7,8,9, and last with 1 ending near the parking. this keeps you from the long walk between 9 and 10 along the road. Also the course "flows" better this way. Most people seem to play the front nine more than the back, and the alternate play lets you occasionally skip some of the groups without playing through. Less time having to talk to security the better, if you do be prepared to either know someone who works there or be asked to leave. If asked, go graciously, don't become the "reason" why it becomes a "Closed" course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    8/20/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: ragecrage
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: Not too busy making it a great place to play a midday game and have the course to yourself. A great mix of fun and challenging holes will instantly get you hooked. A great gem of a mountain course just 2 minutes off the interstate.
Cons: Tee boxes could use great improvement and finding some holes can be difficult for first timers to the course. Lack of respect by some users leaves the course quite messy at times since it is only cleaned by volunteers. Please pack out your trash. Private course and the parking lot is patrolled by security, so if you dont know someone who works there it's not wise to linger. Being courtious and rspectful goes a long way with the gaurds who patrol the area.
Other Thoughts: Just a great place to throw a round

 

5+    7/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Big Gun
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
Pros: Good all around coarse. Makes you feel like a pro when you can get a 7 under. It can also make you feel like a bum when you roll down a few hills. Good place to go
Cons: Short holes will test your mid range game, but if you play here all the time you'll lose your arm. Too many kids that trash the place, groups of 8, people all over the coarse,freestlye, or just too lazy to walk from 9 to 10

 Well used piece of land

2-4    7/16/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a wonderful use of land owned by corporate America! Hewlett Packard DGC is set on a beautiful landscape, overlooking the Colorado Rockies including Pikes Peak.

Tee pads are natural, marked by a laying 4x4. Most holes have tee signs, some are missing. Some info on the signs are incomplete. Baskets are DGA Mach 3s, in very good condition.

Elevation is a factor on almost the entire course. Alot of uphill and downhill drives, upshots and putts. An enormous amount of risk/reward is involved, where laying up may pay great dividens. Vegetation isn't very dense on the course, but creates interesting obsticles.

Holes are quite unique to each other. No repetition at HP. There are some ace runs on the course, but no garanteed birdies on this course.

The course has a nice flow. Tee pads not to far from previous basket, but not close enough to create a hazard.

Course plays mostly along a gulley. Wind can be a factor, since the course is set in a valley. Beautiful scenery. This course is a hike, especially if you spend any time searching for a disc.
Cons: A few cons come along with the course at HP. None of these would deter me from playing here, but might include upgrades or improvements that could make it a higher rated course.

The elevation matched with the placement of baskets could leave you searching for shots. Its a good idea to have a spotter up the fairway, just to watch for rollaway discs which will occur quite often.

No trash cans located on the course. This has caused a problem on a couple locations on the course.

Tee signs are not exactly sufficient. Tee signs with complete information on about half of the holes. Some that are standing do not include complete information. Playing with a local or bringing a map would be very helpful.
Other Thoughts: HP is a private course, located on private property. Locals say its no problem to play the course most of the time, but have heard of instances where someone has been kicked off the course. Don't give security a reason to keep you from enjoying the course. It's probably a must play in the Colorado Springs area.

I played the course with locals who played the holes in a unique order;
2-6, 18, 10-17, 7-9, 1.
After looking at a map I see how the order we played the holes helped the course flow, and usually isn't difficult to play out here. Course traffic tends to be fairly light, as it is one of the lesser played courses in Colorado Springs.

If you have the opportunity check it out. Scenic hiking and disc golf? What more could you ask for?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good All Around Course

1    7/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.3 Years
Pros: Great place to play. Like a true course the front 9 are on one side of the ravine, and the back 9 are on the other side. It reminds of a small Conifer. A lot of great dog legs e.g. 2, 3, and 5. Has 2 short holes but if you over shoot it your in trouble as the are big drops offs e.g. 14 and 16.
Cons: Tee pads could have been better, even with the dirt, but concrete would be great. Needs better signage on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Bring water pretty good hike. Not any really big arm shots but none the less great course.-To get to the back nine, follow the street down across the bridge. The tee box is on the other side.

 SWEET COURSE!!!!

2-4    5/21/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Drew Heintz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is awesome with a really good layout. I read some other reviews on how it could be layed out better, or the tee boxes are too small or they are made of dirt. Whatever. This course is awesome just the way it is! I compare this course to Conifer/Beaver Ranch, just not as extreme. Also has the feel of Red Rocks Community College course, but has 18 instead of 9.
All the holes have different names, VERY COOL!
Cons: Just a couple of cons-
1-The fact that it is a "private course" is lame. That course is so awesome that it should be available for the public. I mean HP got their money from the public to build that course anyways. So why not let the public use it?
2-to get to the back nine, follow the street down across the bridge. The tee box is on the other side. There is no map that tells you this and me and my friend were stuck for awhile, climbing up and down looking for the 10 tee box.
Other Thoughts: Bring water on a hot day because you will need it. If you get lost wait for the group behind you or watch where the group in front of you went.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!!!!

2-4    9/21/2009   4/30/2010
Review By: johnny11
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation was a nice challening factor due to the fact I'm from WI. Weekday discing was very sparse on the course where as weekends were fairly busy.
Cons: To few trees for my liking but the elevation makes up for that.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, wind is a factor because of the altitude. very good designing of the holes. I liked the fact that every hole is named as well.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rocks, hills and wind.

1    4/3/2010   4/8/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety of shots here! Long striaght shots to shorter more technical shots. Uphill and downhill shots. A few open shots, but most are either heavily wooded or with some shrubs to get in the way. The front nine is easier then the back where careful placement of your apporach shot is required or else it will roll back down the hill. Baskets were in decent shape. Secluded, no other people in the area except to throw discs.
Cons: Signs, what happened to them? As time goes on, more are missing/vandalized. Print out the map before you go or you can easily get turned araound. Definate navigation issues on the back nine as to where to go and where to throw. Why must people do such things? The teepads are hard to find in the back due to a lack of signs and the teepad itself is mainly just a piece of wood on the ground. The teepads are getting a bit worn and uneven. Trash is everywhere on this course from beer bottles/cans and even diapers! It is terrible what others have done to this course. No respect at all!
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and the challenge it provides that is hard to find in the surrounding area. The back nine will surely challenge many due to baskets being placed on steep hills. If you don't stick your upshot, then you might have your disc roll far downhill from the basket. Play conservative or you you may struggle to get a bogey on the back half. The lack of signs and the navigation issues in the back part of this course really hurts it. I walked many fairways trying to figure out where to go, very frustrating. Lots of blind shots. New signs, new teepads and open to the public and I could easily give this course a 4.0. In general a good course and one to play if in the area. It is unfortunate that this course couldn't get developed more. The land is just perfect for an awesome course that could easily fit in 27+ holes. Since it is on private land, I don't think that will happen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain DG is grand!

1    3/11/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful and rugged. Situated in the foothills of the Rockies makes for a nice getaway round. I was just visiting, so I was blown away by the views. There are some very challenging and unique shots offered. This course is one of the best I've ever seen for elevation changes. There are several holes on this course that are very unforgiving if you "go for it."
Cons: Dirt tees, FATIGUE (this course is a lot of climbing!), and the possibility of being kicked off due to it being a private course. This course is a little short overall.
Other Thoughts: Played while in the area with some locals. This course has virtually no traffic. It was worth it to get off the beaten path and throw a round. Truly breathtaking views if you are a visitor. I probably should have more to say, but in the end, I just thoroughly had fun during the round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not that great

5+    9/16/2008   2/16/2010
Review By: coonmanx
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 31 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: To me there just isn't that many pros to this course. Scenery is good.
Cons: Poor course layout. When I go there (which I haven't in a while) I just think about how the course could be laid out. If they had put in a few bridges, so that you could play back and forth across the valley, it would be a much better course. There are also no alternate pin positions. This could be a great course, but it just isn't.
Other Thoughts: Once thought about how to put a good Safari course out here. Would require bridges. It's just too bad that someone with no knowledge of course design put in this course. Could be so much better!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.