Course Extinct
Colorado Springs, CO 
Hewlett Packard DGC Share
Uploaded By: Fishy Hole #12 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 172ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Precision Over Distance

2-4    1/20/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: LeewayeDiscGolf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I gave this course a 4.5 because for a short course, it delivers a very good mix of holes and terrain and is extremely fun. It's located very close to I-25 and is very easy to find, and you don't get any highway noise. The scenery is amazing and there is a great view of Pikes Peak. There are tons of photo opportunities along this course. Some holes require you to scout ahead to find the basket. #1 has a giant tree centered in the fairway and the basket sits atop a 5' wide ridge which falls off to either side. There is almost always a bag for trash in the bushes by #1's tee. #2 tees by the street and does play blind off the tee. There are twin pine trees by the basket to use as landmarks. A big gulley is waiting if you over throw this hole as well as #3's basket area. #3 tees by the guardrail, right turning, and features a significant elevation drop from tee to hole. A thicket awaits over throws and a gulley waits for those who come up short. After #3 follow the most obvious trail over to #4. This hole plays atop a dam of sorts. 20' wide with rocks and trees to the right and a good sized drop and hole #5 to the left. A rock filled gulley also sits just past the basket. #5 plays against a mini cliff to the left and sits below #4's tee. #6 plays straight forward with your first glimpse off the willow filled creek on your left to play head games. #7 is very short but technical. You throw up and over a tree covered rise into a depression. Good lookin' hole. #8 plays as a left turning hole around giant trees. #9 plays back almost to #1's tee. Depending on your arm, this is one of the only long shot holes. If you fade hard left the cliff may come into play. After #9 walk to the street and follow the guardrail around over the bridge to #10's tee. #10 plays straight forward with #18 on it's left. #11 lives up to it's name in the warmer months, Snake Pit. Slight right turner to a basket up on a hillside. This hillside loves to return your discs if they land wrong. #12 is above #11, sign is down, but log is still there. This hole plays blind to the right behind the thicket. #13's tee is above #12. Straight forward hole unless you fade heavily. #14 sits on the edge of the hillside. It's a good idea to have a spotter by the basket when you tee off this hole. #15 is the most heavily wooded hole here. #16 is all about accurate throws. It sits on a fairly steep hillside which ends in the willow filled creek. Another spotter hole. #17 is straight forward with the creek close by on your right. After #17 head back towards #10 to find the tee. This hole gives you the opportunity to finally let a big drive go. #10 sits on it's left and the biggest, rock filled part of the creek covers your right. Here you really notice the elevation change of this course. After #18 head up the trail towards the road to get back to the parking lot. This is when you realize what a hike this little course is.
Cons: There is always the chance you can be asked to leave. While the dirt tees are nice for my shoes, they do tend to dip down and are muddy at the first sign of moisture. It's not that bad though, as most holes are short enough that it feels like you are throwing your 2nd shot on a long course rather than a big tee shot. In the wet months the bottom 9 seems to stay frozen or muddy. In winter, #11 and #16 are very hard to walk on. On nice days this course can get extremely busy. This is also a popular spot for mountain bikes in the summertime, so watch yourself on the trails between holes. Being private, there are no restrooms.
Other Thoughts: Remember this course is private. Play respectfully and keep it clean. There are rumors that if the course gets too trashed that it will be pulled to protect the property. After #9 follow the trail to your left between the top and bottom halves of the course for a very cool trail with lots of photo ops. I recommend you play early to avoid the wind that Colorado Springs is so fond of. Watch your footing and respect the course and you will fall in love with this course. A short but technical course, HP is on my favorites list.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Keep it Clean!

5+    11/29/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: HpMan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course, challenging, but not long, so good for those who can't crush drives. Good variety of holes. Back 9 is just frustrating enough (particularly fishing your disc out of the cattails when it keeps rolling down the hill on 17)
Cons: Footing on 3 is a little tricky.
Other Thoughts: Lately there has been a lot of trash, bottles, cans and other "junk" showing up at the tee boxes. If you are going to use this course, and I realize most people using it now have nothing to do with HP, please keep it clean! Pick up your trash! There has been serious talk of ripping out the baskets to keep the vandalism and trash from piling up on the property. Seriously, let's not lose this course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short Strenuous Gem

5+    11/4/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: ChainMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lightly used with challenging holes in a beautiful setting. From hole #1 shooting at the top of the ant hill to #7 shooting into a rocky tree lined bowl to pins perched on steep slopes this course is a really great golfing experience. Hole number three drops down 80-90 feet into a ravine and some of the worst lies I've ever seen. Pros should score very well here unless they run into the frequent winds that often scream down the foot hills. Rec golfers can also do well here as long as they can throw accurately.
Cons: As mentioned by others the tee boxes can be challenging. This favors the nimble X-over! It can get windy because of it's proximity to the mountains. The main thing that would make this course even better would be multiple pin positions.
Other Thoughts: Keep all but one of your long distance drivers in the trunk. This course begs for slower speed discs thrown under control. There is decent elevation change and fitness will help. I know someone who works at HP so I play as his guest but after dozen's of plays we have never been questioned. If you'd like to play this course then go out and have fun and help keep the place clean. I think that's why most golfer's don't get hassled is because for the most part golfers take good care of course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 HP

1    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: The Crit Piece
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although very short, the holes are still challenging in places with trees, shrubs, wildlife (I seriously almost got destroyed by a good size buck on the course) and elevation changes. There is also a stream that runs through or along side a few holes that makes for a nasty hazard if you toss one in there. The back 9 is a solid hike to kill some extra calories. The scenery is also top notch like a lot of the courses in CO. Many holes are on sharp declines which requires your drives/approach shots to be deadly accurate in certain cases on the back 9. Since it is a private course and apparently no one who works at HP plays it so its very open with minimal traffic.
Cons: This is a private course so getting kicked off by the dude who cruises around is a real possibility or so I hear. The tee boxes are brutal in places. Apparently someone thought all dirt (unmaintained) with one tiny piece of wood was a good idea (it wasnt) There are signs but they arent very helpful. Tees and baskets can be hard to find at times. The back half is a decently long walk from 9. Go with someone who has played the course so you dont have to deal with it.
Other Thoughts: Play in the evening, after like 6 and you can avoid being bothered by the fun police who patrol HP. Wear good shoes when you play, there are some hikes and some really unstable ground you have to walk through. No sandals here boys and girls. Fun little course that promises a good time so check it out

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    6/10/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: SeanMeacham
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short, easy holes....Great scenery and you get a nice workout with the elevation changes on the back nine. The course is never crowded and I have not been booted yet (knock on wood).
Cons: Besides hole # 18, you can't huck a drive. The holes are all pretty short, with not much to them. Also, I wish the pin placements were not static.
Other Thoughts: It is hard to know how to get to the back nine if you haven't played there before. After hole nine, follow the road around until you see a few white signs marking the back nine.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

5+    6/14/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: J.Kasm
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a huge variety of shots: hyzers, anhyzers, long and short. This gem of a course is hidden along a beautiful scene of mountains. I had a great time playing this course and found that it is more technical than Widefield and Cottonwood. Also, this course is full of elevation...bring your best hiking shoes. The top nine are a little shorter than the bottom nine.
Cons: The tees are natural, so if you go out to play after a rainfall, expect them to be muddy. On the bottom nine, some of the tees are marked so it's best to go with someone who's been there. Other than these two things, there aren't really any cons. What more could a disc-golfer need? Great shots with great surroundings! Grip it and rip it!
Other Thoughts: Remember that this course is private and for HP employees only! We didn't have any issues and had no issues. There were only two other golfers ahead of us. Also, there's a few chances to lose a disc if you're not careful. Check out the photos and see how beautiful of a course this is!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I Crashed It

1    4/25/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a cool course!! This is a private course that my wife and I crashed and loved every minute of it. There are so many different looks on this course from the hole 1 pin placed on a 15 foot high mound to the hole 14 pin placed on the edge of a 75 foot very steep drop off into a ravine. A lot of holes are short, but some of these tee shots are scary and other are just plain cool. I loved hole 4 tee shot as a big winding shot to the right with the hole at least 70-80 feet below the tee area. The wind really started howling on the back 9, which made some of these tricky pin placements even more treacherous.
Cons: The tees are natural dirt with an inlaid plank. Most of them are uneven with wear, but I could easily overlook it.
Other Thoughts: This was my first mountain disc golf experience and I loved it. It is a private course, but people didn't wonder why we were there or try to kick us out. Instead, they actually helped us out by telling us where the pins were. There are many blind tee shots and it is definitely to your advantage to walk ahead and locate the pins.

We were staying in Marriott, which we found out is right next door to the course. If you are staying there, use the trail that leads from the outdoor pool and you will be there in about 5-7 minutes. If I worked at Hewlett Packard, I would play this every day. Living in Southwest Florida which varies from 5 to 10 feet above sea level, it was so much fun to traverse all of the elevation changes that this course covers. I am so glad that we crashed the party and I can't wait to play it again someday.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty nice course

6/19/2008   6/20/2008
Review By: coolkid32901
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Since the course is private and you usually need to know someone that works at HP to play it, it doesn't ever get crowded which is awesome. Some of the holes are shorter than usual but the course makes up for the lack in distance by making some of the pin placements very hard and on steep hills.
Cons: There are only a few downsides to this course. One would be that the tee boxes are all natural dirt and a lot of them are uneven. Secondly this course is pretty hilly so be prepared for a work out. And lastly there is only one pin and one tee per hole.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to anyone looking for a challenge on the course as well as finding it and not getting kicked off of it haha.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.