Newark, DE 
Iron Hill Share
Uploaded By: De Hermit Hole #18 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 250ft.   4 / 540ft.   3 / 350ft.   4 / 640ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Silver Basket



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Long, Tight Course Will Challenge!

1    7/15/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I was guided by Dave, a local Rec player. The two of us are not members of the demographic that this course is designed for, being older totally recreational players. We played from the shorts to the longs. From this setup, I would say, the course plays as a difficult, very technical, recreational course. But the short tees are sometimes 200 feet shorter than the longs and feature much easier lines. Playing long to longs would be a beast.

The pars on the signs are fairly forgiving, featuring some makeable par 4's so even the average player can rack up an occasional birdie.

There are some classic basket placements up in the rocks. The course is set in a grand old forest with some lovely rock outcroppings. The long baskets are different models from the shorts making is easy to identify your intended target.

There are no open "grip it and rip it" holes here. Fairways, although always narrow, seem fair with lines to the baskets. Hitting those somewhat narrow lines proves the problem. Combine these narrow fairways with some uphill throws made for a couple of extremely challenging holes. The rough for as tight as it is, is pretty forgiving. It's certainly not as thick or unforgiving as our rough can be in Oregon or Washington (The state).

The signs for the Gold tees have all the information needed. Sometimes, it was helpful to walk ahead to read them before teeing off from the short tees.

My favorite hole was # 15. It's a downhill hyser shot with the usual narrow window. Hit the window and good things can happen. If your tee shot is just a bit off, a bogie might be in your future.

Iron Hill really did remind me of a couple of those highly acclaimed Charlotte area courses that advanced and above players love like Rennie, Nevin and The Hornets Nest.

Cons: Some recreational/older type players will just get beaten down by Iron Hill's length and tightness. And I realize, what some find a con, more skilled players will view as one of the course's major strengths.

I found Iron Hill to be lacking the "Wow Factor". That one hole that sometimes defines a courses, like Delaveaga's Top of the World shot. A hole that you're talking about as you're driving to and from the course. Also, there's no water and no breathtaking views here.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad I was able to come and experience Iron Hill. It's not a course I personally would choose to tackle on a regular basis. That doesn't mean it's not a wonderful, challenging, well designed course in a great location. I see it as long, technical course providing an excellent challenge both physically and golf wise in a wooded setting. For Marines and disc golfers up to the challenge, enjoy!

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but hard doesn't equal great.

2-4    7/10/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: This course is challenging from drive to putt. There are no gimme shots anywhere, and it forces you to be on top of your physical and mental game. Signage is outstanding, both with hole descriptions and with next tee signs. The course is well maintained.
Cons: From the long tees,iIt's almost as if some of the holes are designed to have players throw a roc/midrange and the 2nd shot is reserved for the long range driver. Until you're familiar with the course, you basically need to walk each hole before you throw.
Other Thoughts: I live in Baltimore, I'd drive the extra hour to play PawPaw before I came back to Iron Hill.

4 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Very Challenging

1    3/24/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: NurseRandy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained and very well marked. It has concrete tees (for the pro/gold tees, some other tees are not done or not there on some holes, see below) and new baskets. It is well designed in a loose figure 8 with holes 1 10 and 18 all near the parking lot/portapoties. Some benches and trashcans throughout.
Cons: Not finished yet. Missing or incomplete tees on some holes, misssing alt/silver basket on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I did not find this course to be very fun. It consists almost exclusively of long tight wooded lanes. This is a great place to improve your game, but not a good course for a day out with the crew. Getting through this course felt like a real workout.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Will mature into greatness one day......

2-4    11/5/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm glad I was forewarned of the length and percieved par of this course, as it helped put me get a proper frame of mind for tackling it's challenges. There were a few par 5's and many par 4's. Anybody who can't count above 3 needs to go back to school. Also, having a variety of pars makes it more fun and won't discourage those who think that these holes should play as all 3's. As for the course, I am thrilled! This is really a challenging and pretty course. It plays different than most, as many fairways are very narrow, and a few others don't seem like fairways at all (a reasonably open drive followed by thick trees that requires a lot of luck in addition to skill). Some light elevation changes on several holes adds to the variety. No water. Nice pro (gold) tee pads with great traction. The signs are excellent which show the footage and hole layout. There are multiple pin placements that (I hope) will all become permanent so that one has a choice to play a variety of layouts - 6 total with the 3 tee pads!!
Cons: I would recommend a map to get around as there are a few confusing points. There are a few "next tee" signs, but there could be more. I played in the fall with leaf litter and many paths were nearly invisible.

I am a little mixed emotionally about the gold to gold layout. I scored about 5 over the posted par my first time and much worse my second time. It is a quite difficult affair for an advanced player like me, but I know this is designed for pros. Keep this in mind. I plan on playing the shorter tees next time, and think it will be more fun. The main frustration is that you should be using fairway drivers or mid-ranges on most of the holes because the fairways are SO NARROW, you need to set up for good approaches, and if you stray from the fairways, you often have to chip out of the (mostly) thick rough, and will likely bogey.
What I'm trying to say is that when you're new to the course, the hardest thing to predict is the landing zones (on longer holes) that will set you up for the next shot, so you can tend to overshoot everything and end in trouble- making it a frustrating round. Compare this course to the WR Jackson course in GA, which has similar long holes, but much wider fairways.

Another suggestion - for variety , I thought there should be at least 2 or 3 holes from 250-300 that are aceable (from all tees). This is part of the game of golf that has always existed and a major part of the games fun factor. They don't have to be easy aces- but should be there.
Other Thoughts: I think that this course, having multiple pins could follow the wonderful idea that Tyler St. Park in PA has shown. They have a rotating dial below the hole map on the tee that rotates to indicate what the current pin placement is. It's much easier than walking down the fairway to investigate. 

I have not played the blue tees yet, so can't say if this is suited for beginners, but I think this course is a great place to hone your skills and will only get better with time. Stay in the fairway with controlled shots, and you will find you will score better.


10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Epic battle

1    7/4/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: dancordle5360
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 30.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and basket locations make this course very playable for all skill levels. Extreme challenge Gold to Long. This is a very nice park setting with many other things to do. Perfect concrete tees.
Cons: This course should have a Bethpage Black sign "Extreme Golf, only for professional disc golfers". Way too many good drives that land in the "fairway" are directly behind trees with no chance at reaching green for a birdie. Very narrow dirving lanes. All holes seem the same.
Other Thoughts: This course will make you a better disc golfer on any other course......you have to see it to believe it.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.