Newark, DE 
Iron Hill Share
Uploaded By: De Hermit Hole #13 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Gold Tee



Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Hard but Fair

1    6/7/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great Signage
-Easy to Follow the layout of course
-Set in a beautiful park
-Nice long concrete tee pads
-A lot of variety in that you have multiple pins and tee boxes
-Get to use every disc in your bag
-Variety of types of holes: elevation changes and in and out of the woods adds to a lot of different scenic holes
-Easy lines to follow when throwing through the woods (not necessarily easy to hit, but easy to understand where you should throw)
-Plenty of space so that you wouldn't ever feel overcrowded by multiple players on a course
-You can tell that a lot of time and energy has been put into the maintaining of this course. Kudos to those that work on this course and make it enjoyable for others to play
-Rock lined paths, and stone created stairwells add to the character of this course
Cons: -There will be times where you will need to send a spotter to watch where your disc lands/you are supposed to go.
-Muddy, but to be expected after a lot of rain and in low places
Other Thoughts: My friends and I decided to come play this course as well as two others for a disc golf weekend in Delaware last saturday. We chose to start with Iron Hill to get the "hardest" course out of the way first. We were intimidated at first by the length of the card and seeing how many of the holes are over 500 feet long through the woods. However, once we began to play, we found that the course was very fair as long as you didn't have a drastic mistake. There are many times where you might be able to hit a tiny line and help move the disc down the fairway for the next shot, but sometimes playing it easier on this course will allow you to better set up your next shot. It is very true that being able to line up for your second shot can very much determine how well you score on each hole.
My friends and I are used to playing the two courses at Pinchot State Park in PA...we found Iron Hill very much to be like Boulder woods with an extra 200 feet per hole. We all expected to play a course harder than Quaker, but we all felt that Quaker is much more challenging because the room for error is so much less at Quake. If you went off the fairway at Iron hill, you still had a chance to possibly get a good throw out to move it down the fairway, where if you play quake, if you go off the fairway...typically your best bet is to just pitch it back in the fairway.
We played Iron Hill first, White clay second, and Brandywine third. Iron Hill is a fun course to play no matter what your skill level is. If you want to really push yourself, play the golds, but if you are newer to disc golf, play the white tees to the short pins and you will have a great time.
We played in Delaware three years ago and got to play Carousel....and we wish that course was still around

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice course!!

5+    11/3/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: Ufcfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Awesome signs. Three pads at different distances to start from on most holes and two baskets to throw to. No fees!!
Cons: REALLY HARD!!
Other Thoughts: I started here going from gold tee and after maybe ten times I hated this course. Didnt go back for over a year. But once I started throwing from the white tee, its a lot less frustrating. still harder course but now one of my favorites.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Very Well Done

1    6/22/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a Par 72!!

The tee signs are by far, the best I've seen for hole information. They are extremely accurate. trust the signs! On other courses, I've seen fancy signs with ornate engraving and expensive materials - but the one feature that stood out for me above all else - was elevation change. I had no idea that a simple number telling me the hole was 37 feet below the tee pad would be SO helpful if you couldn't see it from the tee pad! this sets a new standard for tee signs.

The layout was very well done. It was a very good mixture of hyzer and anhyzer (bravo coming from a lefty) and didn't favor, nor reward, a particular style of throwing. The word "Fair" comes to mind. You'll be throwing every trick shot you have in your bag when you come to Iron Hill.

On my visit, i played Gold Tee to Long basket. It was a very good time. I couldnt stop thinking that if i were to play a second round, i could play Gold to Short, or White to Long, or....you get the point. There's Four courses out there...or infinitely more if you decide to alternate every other hole from gold, to blue, to white, from long, to short. You're creativity here is limitless. My suggestion for a fun time: Whoever wins the hole, decides the tee and pin position for the next hole. It would make for a very strategic day of golf with your group.

You'll be threading holes through the woods. Technical players will feel at home.

Did i mention that hole 17 is nearly 900ft...uphill, wooded and the basket is elevated and well protected? Have fun!

Elevation is a very large part or Iron Hill. Any course with "hill" in the title would warrant such assumptions. Many Uphill holes are followed by a downhill hole and vice-verse. Nothing felt redundant, but if you're used to playing a relatively flat course, you'll learn in a hurry how to account for elevation changes.
Cons:
Muddy. The front 9 (on the day i played) showed evidence of flood erosion and squishy mud. Be careful on your fairway drives if you want to try a run-up. There isnt anything that can remedy the marshy conditions, so see it as an extra variable of the course.

navigation could use some tender-lovin'-care as of Summer 2013. Once you get the hang of looking for the "Next Hole" signs and the painted rocks and trees guiding you to the appropriate teepad, you'll be on your way fast enough. my only recommendation are fixed arrows hanging from the bottom of the basket pointing where to go.

As of June 2013, I played Gold to "Gold baskets" (innova). and the short pins were "silver" (Discraft). For some reason, the back 9 switched up this pattern of Gold to Gold (long) to making the silver baskets the long position. this was very confusing. I dont know if the innova and discraft sleeves are interchangeable. It would be so much easier to keep the innova baskets the long pins. I found myself in doubt on the back ( if i was truly playing the long basket, or if I was playing the wrong route entirely. As i said...trust the teesigns. they are very, very accurate.

Other Thoughts: As i've said in a number of reviews, i cant knock a great course for the little things. Dont get me wrong, this is a great, great course. but a lot of little things, can add up to one great thing!

The course is so long, it would be nice to see some amenities like benches on every hole. Pegs on an upright 4x4 piece of lumber to hold bags at the teepad. A garbage can on holes that run close to the road for quick pickup. Painted/buried rocks on the fairways that indicate how many feet you are from the pin, as in Blue is 300', White is 200' and red is 100 ft. even a few markers 40' from the pin for jump putts. How about a mailbox with scorecards, and a drop box for lost/found discs?

I expected the hardest disc golf course ever made. My home course is Quakers Challenge in PA, and i found this course to be relatively easier. This course, is FUN!! Even beginners can play short tees to short pins and have a blast! Quakers Challenge cannot offer any beginner any amount of dignity or sanity. By NO means is this an easy course if you choose the long to long layout. Even seasoned players will be hoping to walk away breaking 80 when playing long tees to long pins, and Beginner players playing short tees to short pins will be walking away addicted to the sport.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Date: 7/6/2013 Designer Response by: jimimc
I'm glad you enjoyed the course. I do think you were a little confused about the long pins on the back 9. The only long pin that is a Chainstar is hole 14. If you thought any other Chainstar was the long pin you missed something. The Gold baskets are the layout used during the A tier and are considered the Gold course. This layout is meant to be played to the Gold baskets. The Silver layout is different. It allowed us to try some pin positions that some didn't think really fit in with the Gold layout.

  Nice hard course

1    7/28/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: jrigdon76
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nice course well maintained lots of trees but they are tall trees so you arent hitting low limbs all the time. loved the course
Cons: Only pro tees are concrete pads, the others are a mix of mulch, dirt, ect. signs at easy pins would begreat too.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to throw another game here...

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Zoinks!

1    1/10/2012   1/10/2012
Review By: trebor78
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: All Good. Incredibly looong though.
Cons: All Good. Incredibly looong though.
Other Thoughts: Holy moly, I just got completely humbled. Amazing course. But good luck if you miss any fairways! I've never seen a tougher layout, and this is certainly not a course for noobs or those lacking patience. I'll be back. after I build up some confidence......

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Well named!

1    5/6/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three tee pads and two baskets for each hole. Pro tee pads are very nice concrete. Other pads are mix or crushed gravel or rubber pads. Every pad was in excellent condition.

Great signs. Signs showed each pad location as well as each basket position. And each sign showed elevation for each basket position in feet. Very cool.

Navigation was easy. Paths are very obvious and there are signs and painted rocks everywhere to help you out. Piece of cake even without a map.

This is a very well maintained course. Probably one the best cared for courses I have played. Either the park or the club have really done a nice job locally. Well done.

Length!!! And more length. If you like long holes and woods this place is for you. From the Pro tees it seems like every hole is 600+. A little brutal if you have my arm, but that's what short pads are for.

Very well defined fairways and course design. Not one bad hole on the course. Basket positions on several holes add to the layout.

Good use of elevation where available. You get to struggle up some long hills, and let it rip down some others. Nice mix.

Decent hole variety. Not any super repetitive holes.
Cons: None.

If I was going to improve this course probably the only real obvious thing is the visibility of the short baskets. The longs have the bright yellow band, but the shorts have nothing. Some bright tape on the pole or some bright ribbons would help. There, I nitpicked.

Short pads could be concrete. If I was real picky. But they were all in great shape. Even the crushed gravel ones.
Other Thoughts: For people elsewhere in the East this course plays a lot like Nockamixon or Nevin to me. Long wooded holes. Nevin is probably tighter and therefore a little more brutal though. But all three have some long wooded holes that can flat beat you up.

Most of Iron Hill's wooded holes have very fair and halfway wide fairways. They aren't so tight as to give you no decent shot. But there are some holes that stood out.

#5 is a fun little 690' uphill challenge with a pretty tight fairway compared to most. If you manage to get through the fairway cleanly you then get to approach to a basket elevated on a small hill of large rocks and boulders. Very cool hole.

#7 is a cool short 370' downhill shot that then turns into a neat dual fairway with an island of trees in the middle. Very cool designed hole.

#12 is a very tight 520' hole that has the basket positioned in some rocks on the slope of a small hill. Great use of basket positioning to add to the hole.

#17 is just a little 860' hole that meanders through the woods and finishes with a basket elevated on a small hill. If you throw as poorly as I do this hole can crush you. There are a lot of trees scattered throughout the fairway that can really hurt your score if you don't execute your shots.

All in all I really enjoyed this course, even if the Pro pads were really too much for my arm. It is not a super scenic course, or offer any epic shots off cliffs, but Iron Hill never leaves you wishing more length or woods. It is full of simply solid shots. If you are in the area I highly recommend stopping at this course.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Challenging Course

5+    4/22/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: mwalter
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's clear that this course has had a lot of work put into it and tends to be in good condition. The tees are fairly well marked and the signs are very good. There is a good variety to the holes requiring numerous different shots and throwing techniques forcing you to think about disc selection. Multiple pins are a definite plus. Many holes have multiple tee pads to temper the difficulty.
Cons: Still a work in progress. The tee signs show some tee pads and pin placements that don't currently exist. Very challenging, which isn't necessarily a problem unless you're an inexperienced player. At some points it's difficult to figure out the flow between holes, but there have been improvements in this area since I first played it.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for a long round. A solo round can take about 2 hours. Getting out of the fairway can add to your score quickly. Definitely the most challenging course I've played in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A long walk...

1    8/4/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: Noill Golf
Played: 112  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Turn down Whittaker and drive past two parking lots all the way to the end of the rode and the larger parking lot. The course opens with holes 1 & 2 in the woods just next to this parking lot. From there, get ready to walk from a wide open field with a protected hole just past the tree line (Hole 3). This will lead you into and out of technical holes in the woods. I'd say that the trees here are mostly second generation following early settlers use of the trees they found there. The brush is readily available but not often too thick and discs are easily found. The land features many smaller rock formations and outcrops. The wooded fairways can be littered with roots and these rock outcrops. Roller shots can prove too risky on the wooded holes.
The course also features elevation shifts throughout the course. Some of these were slight with a mild drop or rise in elevation gradually from tee to basket...proved useful to add to a discs glide time. Other holes showed
off hilly elevation shifts usually in the middle of the hole. These could also be the breaking point for sharp dog-leg turns.
Every hole can play very long with the gold tees boasting 600'+ holes! Gold tees were cement and spacious.
Blue tees were on every hole and were often at intermediate lengths. Most of these were still fairly long and very challenging. Some of the blue holes were also labeled as gold (hole 7 comes to mind). Blue tees were cement, crush stone or natural.
White tees were generally easy to spot and could provide an excellent challenge to newer players or for Ace run attempts. That being said, most of these could also prove risky as a slighly errant disc will find a tree or two along it's path. The white tees at the time of this post were often natural and labeled with two small white flags in the ground...several were harder to spot initially.
In addition to the multiple tee settings, an A and a B basket existed on almost all of the holes. The A baskets were Mach V's and the B baskets were DisCatchers. The A and B baskets were often separated by one hundred feet or other appreciable distance. This alone can provide for randomization from every tee setting making a hole seem completely different.
Next tee signs were on large white-painted rocks showing the next hole number and a large arrow directing where to go next. Very easy to navigate without a map. I found that I did not use the map that I printed out and brought with me.
Cons: Not very many trash cans. While the course was fairly clean, there was some litter around from those less inclined to walk out what they walk in.
Overall, there really isn't anything that could be a con really. This course is incredible for those willing to walk more than the average course and to deal with the treejections.
Other Thoughts: Extremely well thought out is my walk away impression. Be prepared for a very long walk. The course flows naturally from the B basket to the next gold tee pad. If you are playing the blues or whites (or A basket) you will need to walk a bit especially if playing the white tees. It wasn't rewarding enough to hunt out the white tees. The course feels like a gold course as a result. Well aimed shots and safe shooting is rewarded often here. The canopy is generally high enough to allow for lower over-hand shots. Anhyzer / turn over shots as well as forehand shooting opportunities on many holes. A good distribution of tunnel shots both tight and wide are peppered in the wooded holes.
Hole 17 (860' Gold tee to B basket) stands out among all the holes. A truly memorable experience (no spoilers here) making the entire run up to here well worth it. Finish 18 and take a break. You will want to go for a second round or bask in the glory of the first. What a truly amazing experience! Take the drive to come here if in the area.
A truly excellent course and easily one of the best around Delaware, NJ and eastern Pennsylvania.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 As Iron Sharpens Iron

1    4/10/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two baskets per hole. Gold-level concrete teepads with excellent signs, showing distance to each basket and elevation change, too. Plans for multiple tee locations per hole. Lots of length, and plenty of challenging basket positions. Two practice baskets. Next tee signs, benches, trash cans. Conveniently located to I95 and not too far from food/petrol options.
Cons:
Tees still a work in progress - if not playing from the gold, need to scout ahead to see if the blue and/or white tees are available. Closer baskets, since they have no flag nor colour band, are not always easy to spot. Despite playing primarily on mildly-sloping land, some areas manage to hold water.
Other Thoughts:
Looking for a challenge? Come here to experience an incredible combination of length and wooded-tightness, requiring a great mixture of shots in your arsenal. Other than a couple across-meadow holes near the start, this course will keep you in the woods the entire time. Well-defined throwing-paths, ranging from generous to tight, but nothing ridiculous. With so much length, you'll have plenty of opportunity to work on your shot-shaping - and/or recovery shots. Very even blend of left/right/no/S-turning shots needed off the tee - and, at times, from the midpoints of the fairway. About 2/3rds of the holes had modest elevation changes. The last 1/3rd of the course can, at times, feel a bit like pinball.

As you enter the park, there is a small parking lot to your left - #14 starts in the near left corner; Farther on, there is a small parking lot near tee #4; Finally, the larger parking lot near the practice baskets and tee #1.

Some favourites: Hole #1 - a long, flat, sweeping right-turner. Long-basket #5, nestled amongst a small collection of boulder and trees. Hole #13 - a long, downhill, slow left-turner. Long-basket #17, sitting atop a small raised plateau.

Very much looking forward to the complete installation of the blue and white tees with corresponding signage. With new and improving Carousel not too far away, northern Delaware is quickly becoming a mecca for disc golf.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Kick Ass

2-4    4/10/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multi tees and dual baskets on the majority of the holes. Well defined fairways, though some are very tight. Plenty of next tee signs and course navigation isn't too difficult, even if one doesn't have a map. Tee signs at each hole's gold tee. Tee sign gives plenty of information, such as basket locations as well as alternate tee pads. Gold tees are very nice, big and flat concrete. Most of the alternate tee pads were nice as well, however, they are crush stone.

Trash cans and benches throughout the course. Nice use of elevation to increase the challenge and/or beautify the course. Good mix of left and right turning holes. Because it is so wooded, plenty of shade for the summer heat. Good mix of par 3, 4 and 5.

Very convenient to I-95, just a few minutes off the highway. The free park entrance for us out of staters is a big plus :-). Porta Johns on site. Tot lot for the younger family members.
Cons: Shade prevents the course from drying out, and can be swampy in some parts. Rugged and long terrain might be too much for the young ones. Tight lanes make a lot of ricochets off of trees. This puts you off the fairway and can increase the possibility of losing a disc.

A few of the holes seemed too similar, long and tight. Hard to locate some of the alternate tees, not sure if I couldn't find them or they were not installed yet.
Other Thoughts: Northern Delaware is becoming a hot bed for champion level courses, with Carousel Park around the corner and the already existing courses in the area. Even in the shortest configuration, this isn't really a beginner level course. The course reminded my a lot of the South central courses of Pennsylvania, then the other Northern Delaware.

Some memorable holes, lots of challenge we want you coming back for more, even if it kicks your butt.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.