Newark, DE
Iron Hill Share
Uploaded By: De Hermit Hole #13 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Gold Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    10/15/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 187  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 18.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty. 2-3 tees and 2 baskets on most holes. A few open holes in the beginning. Very well-marked tees and next-hole signs. Very close to I-95. I've never seen a crowd here. Some elevation ups and downs. No matter how frustrated you get, at least play #17 just for the walkway up to the basket. This is a perfect course for a serious pro or someone like me who needs to be reminded that you're not a serious pro. Very challenging mentally. No real water hazards and surprising few lost-disc issues. Also the tall trees cut out most of the 25+ mph winds the day I played.
Cons: Repetitive. Mostly very long, straight, tightly wooded shots. Not a lot of left/right shots, no horse-shoes, just a tee, 600 feet of woods, and then a basket. You can't see many baskets from the tees, so there's a lot of walking the fairways before your drive.
Other Thoughts: The rough can be brutal. The primary obstacle is trees, not as much underbrush. Lots of rocks everywhere - watch your step and don't expect your disc to skip upon landing.

This really is a pro course. It reminded me of getting to play in an NFL game - sounds like fun until you've been hit by Ray Lewis a few times. It also reminded me of one of those jigsaw puzzles that are entirely black. It's do-able but after a little while, as an average player, you get frustrated. If you're out for a fun, easy round - this may not be the course for you. Rec players may rate this a 2 (after walking out 6 holes in) but for great players - this is as challenging a course as I've found. If you want an exceptional challenge, this course is as good as it gets.

Also, map this course on GPS to find short-cuts from the highway.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  No complaints

1    9/20/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Kennyjh3
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Everything. Well thought out course that will challenge you physically and mentally. Signage is excellent as well.
Cons: Blue and White tee pads seem like an after thought.
Other Thoughts: It is a very long course but that can not be counted as a con because the length is well thought out and not repetitive. The rough is very forgiving as well.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 White Tee review

2-4    10/1/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Cooper2397
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It seems like a lot of thought has gone into the white tees . They don't feel like an afterthought and you still get the challenge of the hole without the length. The pars on the whites is great as well. As an intermediate/ beginner, you can walk away from the round with your head held high. You can shot a decent score on the course and be proud of it (For example, par 6 on 17 is really fair for an intermediate/ beginner- I can see myself actually birdieing it one day).

A lot of reviews say this course in repetitive, I don't think so. There are open field shots (3&4), great downhill holes which are all finesse (7 &13) and holes that will bring you to your knees (yea, I'm talking about you #8 and #10).

Signage is awesome--feels like ball golf.

Overall, really good stuff here for all levels.
Cons: Tee boxes aren't as good as the gold tees…. Especially with all the wet weather. With all the positives, I'm not complaining.
Other Thoughts: You can throw in the 270'-310' range and have fun on the whites here.

Special note to noobs like me-- because it is woody, you wouldn't lose alot of discs here.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The gem of the Delaware

5+    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: billcoke
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course will push you mentally and physically the entire round. It is long (really long), hilly, rocky, narrow in spots and complex throughout. If you want to play the best course in the region then play here.

Iron Hill forces you to work on your game. As an intermediate player this course will give you opportunities to work on all aspects of your game.
Cons: This course can quickly discourage a beginner if they go out to play the gold to gold layout and expect their scores to be similar to smaller courses.
Other Thoughts: If you are near Philadelphia and have the opportunity to get down to Iron Hill to play, GO! You will not be disappointed.

I travel frequently and often try out courses in other areas but when I am home I will try to play here as often as the opportunity presents itself.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tough wooded challenge

1    8/21/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course provides a long and tight wooded challenge that will test even the best players. There are three tees and two baskets in place on most holes, with nice tee pads for the gold and blue tees and decent natural pads for the whites. Having 4-6 different options on each hole really adds to the variety and replay value here, especially since many times the alternate tees and pins offered a different look and feel to the hole.

The course is pretty long overall, with only a few reachable holes from the tee. There is a great mix of hole shapes on drives and on later fairway shots, you'll need a diverse shot selection to score well here. The fairways are fair, but can be narrow with some punishing rough. There are some areas that have lanes to throw creative recovery shots but most of the rough is thick enough to make you really pay for errant shots. The course uses the elevation quite well with some fun but tough downhills and some brutal uphills. The signs at the gold and blue tees are very descriptive and make the course pretty easy to follow.
Cons: There are some navigation issues at times, a few more next tee signs would go a long way. The white tees felt like an afterthought, with limited signs and rutted out natural pads I can't imagine them getting much play even though they're the most appropriate for intermediate and lower players. There are some areas that hold water, and others where erosion has made some of the hills slick and muddy.
Other Thoughts: From the long tees to either set of pins (but especially the long pins) this course will test the full skill set of even the best players. The shorter tees offer different options for less experienced players and a ton of variety to keep things interesting through several rounds. Even the shortest tee and pin combination isn't all that beginner friendly, the distances are more reasonable but there are still lots of tight fairways and thick rough.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 not for noobs

2-4    9/12/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: hyperspike
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is the sickest course i have ever played. Sign-age was decent, although i would recommend a map for the first time. Long tight fairways where your control game is crucial. This course is extremely difficult and not ment for noobs, however if you are seasoned player this is the best course in area...didn't wait on a single tee...
Cons: non really.... just bring a map for your first time if you aren't with anyone... oh yeah and the signs says their are tee pads and some of the blue and white markers, but sometimes its just ground... i am sure they are working on it tho...
Other Thoughts: bring your big boy and girl pants, because this one tests your whole game from start to finish

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but hard doesn't equal great.

2-4    7/10/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: This course is challenging from drive to putt. There are no gimme shots anywhere, and it forces you to be on top of your physical and mental game. Signage is outstanding, both with hole descriptions and with next tee signs. The course is well maintained.
Cons: From the long tees,iIt's almost as if some of the holes are designed to have players throw a roc/midrange and the 2nd shot is reserved for the long range driver. Until you're familiar with the course, you basically need to walk each hole before you throw.
Other Thoughts: I live in Baltimore, I'd drive the extra hour to play PawPaw before I came back to Iron Hill.

4 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Well named!

1    5/6/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three tee pads and two baskets for each hole. Pro tee pads are very nice concrete. Other pads are mix or crushed gravel or rubber pads. Every pad was in excellent condition.

Great signs. Signs showed each pad location as well as each basket position. And each sign showed elevation for each basket position in feet. Very cool.

Navigation was easy. Paths are very obvious and there are signs and painted rocks everywhere to help you out. Piece of cake even without a map.

This is a very well maintained course. Probably one the best cared for courses I have played. Either the park or the club have really done a nice job locally. Well done.

Length!!! And more length. If you like long holes and woods this place is for you. From the Pro tees it seems like every hole is 600+. A little brutal if you have my arm, but that's what short pads are for.

Very well defined fairways and course design. Not one bad hole on the course. Basket positions on several holes add to the layout.

Good use of elevation where available. You get to struggle up some long hills, and let it rip down some others. Nice mix.

Decent hole variety. Not any super repetitive holes.
Cons: None.

If I was going to improve this course probably the only real obvious thing is the visibility of the short baskets. The longs have the bright yellow band, but the shorts have nothing. Some bright tape on the pole or some bright ribbons would help. There, I nitpicked.

Short pads could be concrete. If I was real picky. But they were all in great shape. Even the crushed gravel ones.
Other Thoughts: For people elsewhere in the East this course plays a lot like Nockamixon or Nevin to me. Long wooded holes. Nevin is probably tighter and therefore a little more brutal though. But all three have some long wooded holes that can flat beat you up.

Most of Iron Hill's wooded holes have very fair and halfway wide fairways. They aren't so tight as to give you no decent shot. But there are some holes that stood out.

#5 is a fun little 690' uphill challenge with a pretty tight fairway compared to most. If you manage to get through the fairway cleanly you then get to approach to a basket elevated on a small hill of large rocks and boulders. Very cool hole.

#7 is a cool short 370' downhill shot that then turns into a neat dual fairway with an island of trees in the middle. Very cool designed hole.

#12 is a very tight 520' hole that has the basket positioned in some rocks on the slope of a small hill. Great use of basket positioning to add to the hole.

#17 is just a little 860' hole that meanders through the woods and finishes with a basket elevated on a small hill. If you throw as poorly as I do this hole can crush you. There are a lot of trees scattered throughout the fairway that can really hurt your score if you don't execute your shots.

All in all I really enjoyed this course, even if the Pro pads were really too much for my arm. It is not a super scenic course, or offer any epic shots off cliffs, but Iron Hill never leaves you wishing more length or woods. It is full of simply solid shots. If you are in the area I highly recommend stopping at this course.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Challenging Course

5+    4/22/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: mwalter
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's clear that this course has had a lot of work put into it and tends to be in good condition. The tees are fairly well marked and the signs are very good. There is a good variety to the holes requiring numerous different shots and throwing techniques forcing you to think about disc selection. Multiple pins are a definite plus. Many holes have multiple tee pads to temper the difficulty.
Cons: Still a work in progress. The tee signs show some tee pads and pin placements that don't currently exist. Very challenging, which isn't necessarily a problem unless you're an inexperienced player. At some points it's difficult to figure out the flow between holes, but there have been improvements in this area since I first played it.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for a long round. A solo round can take about 2 hours. Getting out of the fairway can add to your score quickly. Definitely the most challenging course I've played in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Are You Worthy?

5+    11/13/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: ENold
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Varied in terrain, hole length, and hole layout, Iron Hill really is the crown jewl of Delaware's courses. The vast majority of holes are set in dense woods with fair fairways. Elavation comes into play all over the place. Here, natuarally elavated pins, steep downhill shots, gradual uphill punishers, and fast greens come into play often. Risk/Reward is always there. If you think your "the man" and you want a bird and you aren't "the man" then you will be severly punished. Two practice baskets sit just off the parking lot for warming up. Porta-Johns are available off of the parking lot. Unlike most Delaware courses, carousel being the other exception, this course has no entrance fee.
Cons: It's just quite not finished yet.Some of the shorter tees have yet to be either finished or addaquatly marked or even completed. Some silver baskets have yet to be installed but these things take time and of course, lots of money.
Some older heads or fattys find the terrain too rough. It does require hiking so expect a workout.
Other Thoughts: It's important to play the tees assigned to your skill-level. Leave your ego home or Iron hill will rip you to shreds if you think you can play Gold-Gold with the best of them. I'm an AM so I play white-gold and I find that layout to be more fun than any other course in Delaware. AGAIN, YOU WILL NOT HAVE FUN PLAYING FROM THE GOLD IF YOU AREN'T A GOLD PLAYER.I'm not even sure that gold players have fun gold-gold.
There is a box by 1s tee to place found discs in.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.