Newark, DE 
Iron Hill Share
Uploaded By: De Hermit Hole #18 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 250ft.   4 / 540ft.   3 / 350ft.   4 / 640ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Gold Tee



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Nice hard course

1    7/28/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: jrigdon76
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nice course well maintained lots of trees but they are tall trees so you arent hitting low limbs all the time. loved the course
Cons: Only pro tees are concrete pads, the others are a mix of mulch, dirt, ect. signs at easy pins would begreat too.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to throw another game here...

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Hawk's Heaven

5+    5/19/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: hawk12
Played: 200  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 24.8 Years
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As on of the many volenteers at Iron I'm very biased (no hiding that). Yet I'll be honest as possible to give a fair review. Iron is currently a 4.5, will be closer to a 5 when fully completed.

Iron Hill is a pro par 72, designed for Gold to Gold, with A tier tournaments in mind. Gold to long(Gold baskets/Innova yellow bands) is a TRUE par 72 (SSA is very close to 72).
Over the first 4 years, holes have been lengthend (and some shortened) to get each hole close to its stated par, and tournament SSA on each hole as possible. Not kidding, baskets have been moved 20-50-100 feet, some even moved only 5 feet for looks and sight lines - lots of thought and adjustements have happened over the last 4 years.

Awesome large concrete pads, great grip and some surrounded by natural rocks/gravel for erosion and beauty. Fairly accurate tee signs with footage to both pins (as stated, some pins have moved and signs are close but not perfect at this time). Signs have a nice touch of including elevation changes.
Tee pad markers - Gold/Blue/White painted rocks to designate what player level that tee is designed for - AND the hole plays to that level player PAR as stated on the signage!
Directional markers - Every hole has painted sign (or rock) in white with arrows pointing towards next Tee (addition and improvement based early review comments). Each tee is a safe distance from the previous pin, no waiting for the next group to tee; also no long hikes between holes.
Fairway Markers - some of the longest/blind holes have white signs pointing up the fairway in the direction of the long pins to help navigate and guide those monster drives. These white markers are 12-15 ft up trees and visible from the long Tees
.
1st Tee is off the top parking lot in the park, Hole 4 Tee is at the lower parking lot. Old bottow entrance to the park is now closed, as the park opened a new entrance directly off Old Baltimore Pike.

Very long and tight with a lots of elevation changes. Designed to separate scores and skill levels - and it accomplishes that well(See results of any tournament played there for examples).
Players must decide aggressive or safe throws every time you adress your lie. This is where skill separates the men from boys, and your lack of skill/consistency will eventually get punished. To many this is the beauty of Iron Hill, she can crush you one hole and reward you handsomely the next.

Two practice baskets about 150/175 ft apart near top parking lot. Great to warm up!
Cons: Its still not done - short tees are not finalized, some short tee pads they are not even in yet. My bad, as I'm one of the guys who's job it is to get that done...

Difficulty - To some, this is where they just can't man up and subsequently hate the course.
Mental strength is a must for multi-round tournaments here based on above comments.
Am players that falter will be chewed up and spit out. I've played with a lot of Ams that love the challenge, and some that just went home in tears... But they always seem to come back for more. Even seen some total Noobs cut their teeth here, and have become good players. But the Hill is often rough on the Ego...

The back 9 is still tight, despite opening up some holes and larger trees falling on others - 15, 16, 17 have opened up significantly since first year.

Since the entire back 9 is heavily wooded and long, some percieve repitition from hole to hole. It offers the Gold players different shots, but a shorter thrower will have similar 250ft lines on many holes because they simply can't reach the doglegs from the tee...

Iron lacks the natural beauty of Nockamixon's streams and lake view, lacks fields and lake of Carousel, and lacks the city skyscape view of Wickham, (yet it has shade all summer long) and the lack of those natural features may keep it from truley becoming a 5 rated course even when done...
Other Thoughts: Playing from the correct tees will help each skill level appriciate what has been designed. Friends of mine - (good open player and his girlfriend) play from Gold/white tees and shoot similar round scores. The course was designed to playing par 72 for everyone.
Gold tees first went in first to work with the land and improve the overall course layout. The Blue and White tees are STILL in the process of being finalized and will make the course play more Am friendly. We have even dug up some of the original short tees (wood frame & stone base) and moved those shorter tees to accomplish the "play to your level par" idea of Iron Hill. Work in progress.

Great dog park, child playground, pavilion with grills. Portapotties and running water in season. Overall nice park that the county has improved greatly since 2008.

This course was designed, and built to use the land available and incorporate great aspects of other parks. Tyler length and fairways, Morraine lines in the woods, stonework from Nockamixon and Borderland. The "Stairway To Heaven" on Hole 17 was inspired from seeing Borderland in MA specifically.

Enjoy the Hill!

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

  A few good holes

1    4/28/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: alrey
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/4/2012
7 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Top notch construction and pretty good signage. Even on my first time playing there was no getting lost, and I couldn't help but be impressed by three tee boxes and two baskets on every hole. If I was a regular at this course, I don't think there would be much problem keeping it fresh.

The first three holes were really fun, and varied. Some defined fairways, some cool rock formations, and nice elevation.
Cons: After the first three holes the course just became one long, tight wooded fairway after another. I don't think any course is complete without a couple tight, technical holes, but this course has at least twelve of them.

From the long tees there are numerous 500+ holes, which would be fun if there were fairways to accommodate those kind of big-arm drives. But there aren't. You get the same 20' line through the trees as every other hole.

A good course should be a challenge, but should also be interesting and varied and memorable. This course is just challenging to no greater purpose.
Other Thoughts: I guess there aren't many good open spaces in the Iron Hill park, so they've made the best of what they've got to work with. But, as someone who prefers a mix of open and tight, as opposed to being in the trees on every single hole, this course doesn't seem worth the trip.

7 of 24 people found this review helpful.

  My Favotite course

5+    2/15/2012   2/15/2012
Review By: cbart302
Played: 48  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Great tees, tight fairways, great baskets, amazing baskets, par 3's,4's,'and 5's the list goes on. this course is perfect and a challenge.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Im so lucky to live within ten min. of this amazing course

1 of 22 people found this review helpful.

  Zoinks!

1    1/10/2012   1/10/2012
Review By: trebor78
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.1 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: All Good. Incredibly looong though.
Cons: All Good. Incredibly looong though.
Other Thoughts: Holy moly, I just got completely humbled. Amazing course. But good luck if you miss any fairways! I've never seen a tougher layout, and this is certainly not a course for noobs or those lacking patience. I'll be back. after I build up some confidence......

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 always challenge

1    1/8/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: CUTTER250@AOL.COM
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
1 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: this course is the new age of disc golf and probably 5 years ahead of its time..you need to stop thinking about 2s as.. birdies when you play here beacuse there are only maybe 2 for the average golfer..
Cons: no much negative here,,except losing a disc getting a 6 or 8 which is all controlled by the thrower

1 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Long Walks

1    12/6/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I am a "Long Bomber" and this course indulged that to the MAX though the holes avaraged 600 feet. Multiple options/per tee make this an excellent course. Well mapped at each Tee Box. This is a wooded course that is a total of about 2 miles of walking, if you make it through the whole thing. I was hampered by the weather (rain) but we go to play the first 9. Loved this course and can not wait till I get back to play again.
Cons: Some of the holes could use some fairway markers, the pins are pretty hidden, I don't think there is one that can be seen from the Tees.
Other Thoughts: Bring Drinks, though this is a course, mostly covered by trees, this is a LONG WALK and you should be well hydrated for the day!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/15/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 199  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 20.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty. 2-3 tees and 2 baskets on most holes. A few open holes in the beginning. Very well-marked tees and next-hole signs. Very close to I-95. I've never seen a crowd here. Some elevation ups and downs. No matter how frustrated you get, at least play #17 just for the walkway up to the basket. This is a perfect course for a serious pro or someone like me who needs to be reminded that you're not a serious pro. Very challenging mentally. No real water hazards and surprising few lost-disc issues. Also the tall trees cut out most of the 25+ mph winds the day I played.
Cons: Repetitive. Mostly very long, straight, tightly wooded shots. Not a lot of left/right shots, no horse-shoes, just a tee, 600 feet of woods, and then a basket. You can't see many baskets from the tees, so there's a lot of walking the fairways before your drive.
Other Thoughts: The rough can be brutal. The primary obstacle is trees, not as much underbrush. Lots of rocks everywhere - watch your step and don't expect your disc to skip upon landing.

This really is a pro course. It reminded me of getting to play in an NFL game - sounds like fun until you've been hit by Ray Lewis a few times. It also reminded me of one of those jigsaw puzzles that are entirely black. It's do-able but after a little while, as an average player, you get frustrated. If you're out for a fun, easy round - this may not be the course for you. Rec players may rate this a 2 (after walking out 6 holes in) but for great players - this is as challenging a course as I've found. If you want an exceptional challenge, this course is as good as it gets.

Also, map this course on GPS to find short-cuts from the highway.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  No complaints

1    9/20/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Kennyjh3
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Everything. Well thought out course that will challenge you physically and mentally. Signage is excellent as well.
Cons: Blue and White tee pads seem like an after thought.
Other Thoughts: It is a very long course but that can not be counted as a con because the length is well thought out and not repetitive. The rough is very forgiving as well.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 White Tee review

2-4    10/1/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Cooper2397
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It seems like a lot of thought has gone into the white tees . They don't feel like an afterthought and you still get the challenge of the hole without the length. The pars on the whites is great as well. As an intermediate/ beginner, you can walk away from the round with your head held high. You can shot a decent score on the course and be proud of it (For example, par 6 on 17 is really fair for an intermediate/ beginner- I can see myself actually birdieing it one day).

A lot of reviews say this course in repetitive, I don't think so. There are open field shots (3&4), great downhill holes which are all finesse (7 &13) and holes that will bring you to your knees (yea, I'm talking about you #8 and #10).

Signage is awesome--feels like ball golf.

Overall, really good stuff here for all levels.
Cons: Tee boxes aren't as good as the gold tees…. Especially with all the wet weather. With all the positives, I'm not complaining.
Other Thoughts: You can throw in the 270'-310' range and have fun on the whites here.

Special note to noobs like me-- because it is woody, you wouldn't lose alot of discs here.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.