Hanover, PA 
Codorus State Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2M
-- / --   3 / 531ft.   3 / 598ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Pro Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Views Of The Lake - Up Close!

1    7/17/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Codorus State Park is the large PA state park on the shores of beautiful Lake Marburg. With three courses here, disc golfers could camp, golf and spend time in the lake. What a ideal vacation spot! The lovely rolling terrain, sometimes open, sometimes wooded with awesome views of the lake and marina make for for great terrain for the courses.

The Red Course is the much more wide open cousin of the Blue Course. The Red features many more chances to air it out and show off that big arm of yours. Like the Blue, the Red Course is extremely well maintained as your playing almost entirely on mowed grass lawns.

The extra nine holes are special and really add to the enjoyment here.

I liked # 9. It's like 390' and banked making for a great hole to throw the long roller on.

The view from the top at # 18 is lovely and the throw is semi-fun indeed.
Cons: # 4 and 5 play right through the beach crowd and sometimes the right move is to just skip over them. I was forced to bypass # 4 as there sun bathers lying right in the way.

I, too, felt that some of the open holes got a boring. I'm not much into throw as far as you can, pick up and throw as far as you can again on an open field.

There are definitely some safety concerns with cars in parking lots and park streets. Be observant for cars on the park's streets before throwing and as for the lots, I just give them a wide berth. I'd rather take an extra stroke than hit someone's car.
Other Thoughts: I liked Blue better. Combine the best attributes of both and you would have one great course. Or just swap a few holes from each and give each course an extra dose of variety. Or just come play all three counting the Mini, enjoy the lake and have yourself a great day disc golfing here at Codorus State Park in Pennsylvania, USA.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational Round

1    6/30/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: CDAWG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As the other reviews describe, the Red Course is scenic with lovely views of the lake. My wife and played on a perfect sunny day with light wind.

Number #15 is a good long hole with a challenging basket and nice vistas of the marina.

Another pro, the marina sells discs and drinks.

Have a seat on the bench at #17 and admire the view before bombing your drive down #18.

Multiple tees per hole in good shape. Grass was well-cut, there were a good many players out.
Cons: As hole #4 plays along the lake, there was a family spread out by the basket fishing. We just walked to the next tee.

The two guys behind us made another choice. One threw into the family and the other threw into the lake.

#5 was unplayable with another family having a picnic.

Even with our printed map the signage was questionable so we let the two guys behind us play through on #7.

On #8 the first guy hit a moving car in the parking lot. On #9 BOTH guys hit cars in the parking lot.

The shots are not that tough and the lots were virtually empty, so some bad luck was involved.

My wife and I played them without incident, yet if the lots were full, we would have just skipped those two holes.

A couple sleeping near the basket on #13 meant we skipped that hole too.
Other Thoughts: The mini disc golf course located by the #1 tee is a must-see.

Overall, very solid course. I would try to get out early to beat the crowds otherwise you will likely be skipping holes like we did due to the people or cars in the way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

1    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Fun course, very scenic with the lake in the distance. TONS of elevation, some challenging up hill throws and some nice long down hill shots.
The course was well maintained, baskets were in good working order.
Cons: Nothing too serious, a couple of holes where the fairway gets tight and you are throwing near cars and people. This was my first time playing this course and navigation was pretty easy for the most part, only needed to bust out the map a couple of times.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the Blue Course slightly better, but I prefer a course with more trees and obstacles, the Red Course has more open holes with more elevation. So pick your poison....both will provide you with a good time though.

 Give me 9 CC's of extra disc golf holes! Stat!

1    6/10/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great views of the lake the rest of the park! I love how some of the holes have the lake in play. These water hazards definitely mess with your head.

- Nice tee variety with the am and pro tees; signage, teepads, and baskets are all in good condition.

- A great place to air our your discs, although this can get boring after awhile (see cons)

- #14 is my favorite hole. The double mando really requires focus and concentration -- not to mention dodging a buinch of trees. Once you clear the tight mando, you still have a good distance to the basket. Fantastic!

- As I said in my cons, the first 18 are somewhat redundant and lack any idiosyncrasy. However, the last nine holes (CC1-9) are phenomenal! No hold is alike, and you must contend with ultra-tight wooded pines, the lake, 90-degree doglegs, thick brush, and a cemetery! These are some of the best holes I've played on any course and it's a shame there's only nine of them. These really help bump up the Red Course and make it a must-play.
Cons: The first 18 holes are nothing to write home about. Few, if any, are memorable ones. It's just a lot of drives up and down hills with few obstacles in the way.

- I'm not a big fan of the criss-crossing nature of the holes from 10-13. I can see interruptions happening on these holes when it's busy.

- Some holes play very close to the parking lot and walkways. Mandos are in place to discourage you from throwing, but the likelihood is still high. Take #15, for instance. It plays pretty close to a road and parking lot, and one of my valkyires almost hit a car parked there. Yikes!

- Not a whole lot in terms of technical/wooded holes or extreme doglegs. I'd like to take some from the Blue Course and transplant it here!

- Windy! Playing here versus the blue course is like night and day in this regard. Make sure to pack an overstable disc like a firebird or a wasp to compensate for this factor.
Other Thoughts: Codorus Red would be a 2.5 without the CC holes, but they're so fantastic that they really bump up the course's fun and beauty factor! All in all, with the CC holes, nice views of the lake, great amenities, and 27 chances to smack chains, it's a great disc golf experience.

Make a day trip out of it and play all 54! Plus the mini holes!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic

5+    5/20/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: GroundHog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice alternative to Blue when not too windy, particularly following significant rain.
Little 'patio rocks' at hand.
Well looked after.
Cons: Proximity of picnic tables, athough I have never had a particular problem dealing. .
Other Thoughts: I unintentionally stunned an unsuspecting groundhog with a drive on Hole 3.
The double mando on the back 9 is challenging.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't miss the CC holes!

1    2/28/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wide-open if you like that sort of thing. More gorgeous views and excellent park maintenance. CC holes are designed for modern discs and are more challenging, winding through the woods. Two pads per hole. Many OB roads, parking lots and even water come into play, which is great for tourneys.
Cons: No rec tees, so weaker arms may be frustrated. Most of this layout comes very close to picnic tables, trails, roads and parking lots, so certain holes may be unplayable during busy seasons.
Other Thoughts: If it's really busy, you should consider playing all 27 blue holes and the 9 red CC holes, and skipping the traditional red layout.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Backdrop

1    12/29/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
27-holes, three 9-hole loops (1-9, 10-18, 1CC-9CC) all ending near the same parking lot.

Plenty of parking, permanent bathrooms, water fountains.

Two rubber teepads per hole. Signs on each basket pointing you to next tee.

Map and scoresheet available for downloading.

Some mandos to make things a bit more interesting.

Very scenic - many holes will play with the lake serving as the backdrop.

Favourite hole: #4. Long, fairly open hole with the lake to your left the entire length of it.
Cons:
Map needs a bit of updating - only one basket for #2 (the farther one); hole #6 plays uphill, not along lake.

A good number of holes pay along/near OB roads/parking lots.

Least favourite hole: #3CC. Between you and the basket 265-feet away, find hundreds of 6-inch diameter pine trees randomly arranged.
Other Thoughts:
For the most part, the first 18 holes are fairly open, with an occasional tree or mando to make you alter your approach.

Holes 10-18 seemed much easier (by seven strokes) to my friend and I who played the course.

The cross-country holes, labeled 1CC-9CC, were mostly wooded, slightly more lefty-oriented, and the ground was much marshier than the other red holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    4/7/2007   7/3/2008
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2008
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Part of the 54 hole marathon available at Codorus; Nice mixture of open and wooded holes. Nice place to have a picnic. Mini course also on site and open to the public.
Cons: I didn't bring water and paid the price. Several holes had nasty bushes, fortunately I didn't lose any discs.
Other Thoughts: I'd love to be back sometime.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Relaxing golf course

7/2/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: gameboy9
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are very few trees you need to contend with, so this makes it a great course for beginners. There is plenty of beautiful scenery to take in, especially on holes 3, 4, and 5. The course is very well maintained, and there isn't a lot of "bad territory", but there are also some challenging shots for the pro in you, especially if you play the cross country holes.
Cons: There are no benches to sit on, there are very few distance lengths mentioned, and there are no maps on site. Those problems are minor, but the major problem is picnickers. They are pretty much a given while you play, especially from the 4th hole through the 7th hole. This means that you will likely be forced to skip parts of or entire holes if you pick a popular time to visit the park. But if you go to the cross country holes, you shouldn't have a problem with the picnickers.
Other Thoughts: You can enjoy this course in shorts and sandals, but you may want to consider jeans and sneakers if you go into the cross country course. Make sure you consider sunscreen, because you will not be in the shade a decent portion of the time, except in the cross country holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.